1/31 Maggie"+11.5 BG 110 HELP/ADVICE"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi, I don't yet have a spreadsheet but am getting some low numbers. Maggie is newly diagnosed early January.
My kitty had been on 2 units, but because of some low readings she was switched to 1 unit (per Vet) this past Friday.
Her scores were up and down the chart, so the Vet then increased the dosage to 1.5 units on Saturday. Her glucose was 88 mid day Saturday, then 94 right before her evening shot. This morning at 7:30 am her score was 79. Just a short while ago though (approx 2 pm) her score was 63. I gave her some food. She is not showing any symptoms of hypoglycemia. She is not due for her next shot until 8:15 pm -- I am in CA. Do think I need to go back down to 1 unit.
Now I see the top part where I can access the Board, but for now I will wait for any answers.
 
Re: Help with BG readings

Hi again

welcome to the Lantus forum,,,,,a few new people here, so bear with us, can u tell us how many hours from now is your PMPS (PMPreShot)

You'll want to read a bit if u can, get familiar with Lantus, check others out, open spreadsheet (SS) links - that will give you an idea of how the SS works and looks.

New to the Group information stickie:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157

"Stickies" are up above, highlighted with a "star" icon.

You are home testing right? Sounds like you are.
It sounds like you are not on a 12/12 hour schedule for shots...you'll want to keep AM and PM shot times as close as possible to every 12 hours.

Did you shoot this morning?

I'm hoping someone with dosing experience can help you here, but from what I can tell you - you will need to do a bit more spotcheck testing just after you give the shots.

Please get the spreadsheet going and fill in the blanks,

when you get to one hour before you are due to shoot tonight, please test the BG and post an update in this thread ok?
 
Re: Help with BG readings

Hi,
I just started hometesting a week ago. I did give her insulin this morning at 8:15 am. Her amps was 79 with 1.5 units. I am on a 12/12 schedule. i GOT WORRIED WITH THE 63 READING MID DAY. Her pm shot is due 8:15 am.

Yes, sorry I will need to get familiar with everything. It is a bit overwhelming. I will test her before the evening shot.
 
Re: Help with BG readings

Maggie11 said:
Hi, I don't yet have a spreadsheet but am getting some low numbers. Maggie is newly diagnosed early January.
My kitty had been on 2 units, but because of some low readings she was switched to 1 unit (per Vet) this past Friday.
Her scores were up and down the chart, so the Vet then increased the dosage to 1.5 units on Saturday. Her glucose was 88 mid day Saturday, then 94 right before her evening shot. This morning at 7:30 am her score was 79. Just a short while ago though (approx 2 pm) her score was 63. I gave her some food. She is not showing any symptoms of hypoglycemia. She is not due for her next shot until 8:15 pm -- I am in CA. Do think I need to go back down to 1 unit.
Now I see the top part where I can access the Board, but for now I will wait for any answers.

Welcome to Lantus Land! Can you do us a favor - as you can see there are a lot of cats here. Can you please change the subject line of your FIRST post to read 1/31 Maggie help please so we can easily find you again?

The 63 at +6 is not an unsafe number, but since you and Maggie are pretty new, it might be good to go to a lower dose and get used to testing more. You might even go to 0.5 units, let that settle in for a few days, and see where to go from there.
 
Re: 1/31 Maggie Help with BG readings

Hi,
Thank you both for the welcome. Did you mean from 1.5 units to 0.5. I probably need a different syringe with half markings. I have the 0.3cc 29 gauge 1/2" needles.
 
Re: Help with BG readings

Hi Maggie! And welcome.

It is overwhelming!

It would help enormously if until you have a spreadsheet put together if you could list your pre-shot (PS) test numbers and at what times you gave tests and the results in + times. In other words, if you tested mid-day and it was 6 hours after your morning shot, that would be +6. If you could list the times as:

Saturday, Jan 30
AMPs = ?? (i.5u - changed from 1.0u on Friday)
+ ?? = 88
PMPS = 94

If you can provide us with whatever data you have in a format that can be easily viewed, it will help us to look at your numbers. Please include doses as I've noted.

Just so you are aware, the dosing protocol that we use generally does not encourage large, rapid changes in Lantus dose. The changes are usually made in 0.25 increments. The numbers that you listed are blood glucose (BG) that are in a normal range and not anywhere near what would be considered dangerous. Could you provide a bit more history -- what was your cat's BG when first diagnosed?
 
Re: 1/31 Maggie Help with BG readings

Thank you. I will get to work on the spreadsheet. Maggie was diagnosed January 5 with BG of 406. I just started home testing a week ago and got acclimated to the blood pricking of ear. After a week of being on 2 units Lantus, her BG was 126. It's a relief that the 63 BG does not mean she's in danger.
 
Re: 1/31 Maggie Help with BG readings

Hi again,
One more question. I just checked Maggie's BG, and it was 110. She is presently on 1.5 units. Her shot is due in 40 minutes. Do I give her the 1.5 units or decrease it to 1 unit or 0.5 units?

Thanks.
 
BUMP

will u be up to testing BG's this evening?

are u able to stall the shot if need be? and make up the time for the morning shot?

hang on ok? see if we can get some eyes on u, can u EDIT ur first post SUBJECT/TITLE line to say "+11.5 BG 110 HELP/ADVICE"
 
Hi,
Would it hurt to stall the shot or skip it until tomorrow morning. I hate to break the cycle of the insulin working, so what about 0.5 unit. With her glucose being 110 now, if I gave her 1.5 units, would she become hypoglycemic?
 
Hi,
Yes, I changed her diet to Fancy Feast, certain ones with no gravy. Before diagnosis she was on both dry and wet. She has some dry DM Purina, but she rarely eats any of it
 
since you're so new, I don't feel comfortable advising you to shoot unless Maggie goes above at least 150-180 or so. Maybe it's best to wait until morning and see where she is. Even if she is above 150, I wouldn't shoot more than 0.5 unit as a starting dose. I think the diet change did great things for Maggie!

She might go up more in the last 40 minutes before shot time, so if you can test again at shot time that will help. If she has gone up over 150-ish, then you might want to shoot a little (post here first). If she is about the same or lower, then I would just skip until morning. We need to get more data on Maggie before we can advise shooting under 150-180.
 
Smart kitty! Most of them don't like the DM for good reason.

Just for future reference, if you test before you shoot and get a number that you feel uncomfortable shooting, do not feed. Post and we'll help you decided what to do. If you feed and have to re-test, the number will be inflated due to the food. We refer to it as a food spike.

I'm hoping you've seen Janet & Binky's Food Charts. There are varieties of Fancy Feast listed on both the new and old canned food charts. Not all FF is low carb (LC; less than 10% carb).
 
if you stalled for an hour tonight, would you still be able to shoot 12 hours after that in the morning? Or do you go to work tomorrow?

I'm still leaning toward skipping tonight, unless you have lots of time to stall.
 
ok then, if you want to test at +13 and see what that number is, if it's high enough you can shoot the 0.5 units. I won't be up, but there is usually someone here to help.
 
Thanks everyone. It's nice knowing I'm not alone as it is complicated at first. I think the 118 was due to feeding her. I think I would be comfortable with the 0.5 dose. I found some instructions when I called the Vet, and he said if the levels fall below 80 to give 0.5, and if they are above 200, go back up to 1.5. does that make sense?
 
well, here with lantus they like to start low and go slow, so not to miss a possible ideal dose...

Libby said this earlier....

..... Even if she is above 150, I wouldn't shoot more than 0.5 unit as a starting dose. I think the diet change did great things for Maggie!


plus with the food change and collecting and building up your spreadsheet, it makes things a lot easier and manageable!
 
Maggie11 said:
I found some instructions when I called the Vet, and he said if the levels fall below 80 to give 0.5, and if they are above 200, go back up to 1.5. does that make sense?

No, that is a sliding scale and those don't work well with Lantus, Lantus works better with a consistent dose given every time. When/if it is time to shoot, I would shoot no more than 0.5 no matter what the number is (even if it is really high, which could happen but don't fall into the trap of giving more insulin because the number is high).

I have to go to bed, I'm sure there will be people around later so keep asking questions!
 
Oh gosh thanks. The vet had me doing 1 unit for a day and a half, and then he upped the dose to 1.5 when her numbers got high. No wonder she is all over the chart.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top