1/5/10 Shadow AMPS=140 (longer than usual LOL)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Very Active Member
+4=92
+5=50
+6=50
+5.25=60
+7=63
+8=60
AMPS=140 F1.0u Lev (4thd day...it was kind of a chubby 1.0u as opposed to a fat one...)

Details of last night's pajama party: Shadow napped on DH's recliner, Mama on the couch. A fun time was had by all. @-)
Yesterday

Shadow is all purry this morning, ate his breffis all up. Humph...acts as if he doesn't have a care in the world....Grooming his beautiful self now right near the doorway here. I, on the other hand, feel as if I have entered the Twilight Zone....the coffee just isn't waking me the way it should. It's like having an out-of-body experience. @-) I remember being really happy at some point last night that he is doing so well....the feeling escapes me now.... @-)
Ok. No more whining. I am doing great. Repeat. I AM doing great! (sigh) I hate broken sleep.
Happy Tuesday everyone! (have I mentioned lately how really GREAT Shadow looks? He is so "filled out" and muscular looking...gorgeous fur...soft and clean and puffy .... and he is so alert...waiting on the testing towel for his shot after eating...he has gotten so smart! ;-)

He is here and looking/doing so well because of all of you out there !! You beautiful, generous,, wonderful people who have taken the time to share your experiences with me....I have felt such comfort coming to these pages ~ all of us, living in a big commune in cyberspace! This forum is a warm place to come to share our fears and joys, learn more about dealing with our kitty's diabetes as well as a host of other issues and concerns..

We send cyber y((hugs)) to each other, hold each others' hands, pray for one another and for our kitties. A place that held so much written information and adds this special forum too!! We have parties to celebrate monumental achievements of both the kitties & the Beans...we laugh together...we cry too. Sometimes our tears are ones of joy; other times, we cry for another who is experiencing something very, very sad. Our hearts break along with theirs as we try to send words of comfort....of hope...of love....
How blessed I am to have found you all!! My FRIENDS....

Faceless people with the biggest hearts I have ever known. Mention a name and the picture of their beautiful kitty pops into mind. For that is what its all about. Out Kitties!! Every person here is either going through this presently, or has been on the path in the past. With unselfish dedication, they come and visit and smile. The veteran residents have gained much knowledge about this disease and how to manage it in the best way. Time proven plans to help the kitties and their "servants" :-D are shared with all who come and simply ask.... ;-) It seems that all they as in return is that we hold each others' hands as we go along from day-to-day and share what we have learned with those that follow us.....

What a comfort you have been for me!! I did feel quite alone with my two kitties after diagnoses, as many of you felt yourselves. I paid my money at the vet's, got my supplies as was shown the door basically. No one from that vet office has so much as called to ask why I haven't been back for my refill of Vetsulin in October...or how my to diabetic kitties are doing. on the bid doses of 4 and 3 units..... :o but when I log on to this forum here, people are here who know us and ask how we are. :YMHUG: They have helped me learn to test and use the spreadsheet...monitoring the BGs from hour-to-hour at the crucial times. I am thankful to have found FDMB on Aug 13th....

I sit here alone at my computer...but I am linked to years of experience when I am in LL. I have received many suggestions from you all and I have found that your ideas have proven to be the best for my kitties. My two have thrived as yours have in the past. It seems that what worked well for others, worked well for my two although ECID. They have improved when I have simply done what YOU have all done. Listening to your stories or ideas allowed me to have options that were not given to me by my vet. Sound ideas made sense to me. With all the knowledge I received from these pages, I was able to make sound decisions on what to do for my two. I thank you all for sharing your knowledge with the 3 of us during these past months since that day I first came to LL back around Oct 13th....this is my home and I am so happy to be here :mrgreen:

Raja had her OTJ party here on Dec 5th....what a wonderful day it was for me. :RAHCAT And you were all there to share in my happy day with that wonderful party! And Shadow...well, he is lying here at my feet now, in all his glory...waiting to use the computer I think :lol: ...but doing 200% better than he was previously.

Yes, I am blessed to have found you all here...and blessed to have been taken care of the way only YOU guys can ....to see my two kitties do so very well is the best gift of all. I thank you all for that gift....I am overwhelmed ~ I never thought it was possible to actually live with this diabetes diagnosis and have them experience such improved health, and yet, it has come to pass!!! As an added benefit, I have met wonderful people who have become an important part of my daily life...I never expected that! You have opened your hearts to me, and I am truly blessed!

((Hugs)) and thanks to each and every one of you! :mrgreen:
 
((((Pat))))
Congratulations on Raja's anniversary today. I have a lot to say, but I have to go buy some more tissues 'cuz I seem to be tearing up a lot lately.

Your post...sniff.... sniff...I can't say much right now except... I am so touched and I have the same love and affection for all the help I received here and the new friendships...sniff... now where did I put that tissue box?

Love,
CD
 
Another Happy Annifursary of one month to sweet Raja--You have so much to be thankful for!! Two happy kitties, and world full of helpful understanding friends, who are with you all the way!! You made me cry in happiness for you..and for myself for having found this wonderful board.. Shadow is well & doing great & maybe maybe, she will follow her brother(antijinx) I SO Wish it for you...Many Hugs today for the 3 of you! party_cat
 
YAY to Raja and the one month celebration!
I have no doubt that Shadow will be follow quickly right behind.

That was one lovely post, and one that each and every one of us here can relate to, in one or all ways.

Now it's time for you to get some more ~O)

have a great day you three.
 
(((Pat))) What a beautiful post!

So many of us have been helped & consoled here on the boards, as we watch our kitties thrive. But only our eloquent Pat could effectively put the experience into words! laptop_smiley

What a great day for you! Raja's 1 month OTJ & look at Shadow's ss! Have a wonderful day, my friend. :YMHUG:
 
Oh, Pat, you made me cry!!! But everything you say is true...Lantus Land is a truly unique experience, one that we wouldn't wish on anyone but one that, if you need it, you will consider a Godsend...hope that makes sense??? :?

Raja was an inspiration and now Shadow is following in her footsteps...we are all blessed to have found this place.

Now get some coffee ~O) and grab a nap if you can (a cat nap?) Will check back later for more news.
 
Re: 1/5/10 Shadow +2=248, +4=185, +6=149

+2-248
+4=185
+6=149

I didn't let him see his
SS or his numbers from last night...so maybe he won't have to over react. (Key word=maybe :mrgreen: )
 
What a beautiful post.
Congratulations on Raja's 1 month anneversary OTJ.
You are amazing Pat how much you have done with not only one kitty with FD but two. You should be so proud. :-D
 
Pat

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful post this morning, and on this wonderful 1 month anniversary.

We are all lucky to have each other.
Enjoy the kitties. What wonderful gifts we have been blessed with.
 
Happy 1 month Annifursary. What a lovely post and sentiment. It really applies to all of us. I don't think we could ever count how many kitties have been helped here. But, you are right, it works. Hope Shadow joins Raja in OTJ but just knowing you have improved his health is great. You are doing double duty as a bean with 2 sugarbabies. You have done a fantastic job.
 
Pat you have a way with words.....you expressed beautifully what so many of us here is LL have been through and continue to live with everyday. You are an inspiration in the way you have dealt with the challenges of 2 kitties with FD. Congrats to Raja on 1 month OTJ. Your post brought tears.... (((Pat)))
 
Re: 1/5/10 Shadow PMPS=162

+6=149
+7=159
+8=154
PMPS=162 ~ F1.0u

Now, this was a nice day for shadow...sailing the ocean blue! I loved it!

Drooler update: DD and her dog Nico and her BF and his dog came up for dinner. Everyone was busy and didn't notice the two curious doggies walking down the hallway, past my bedroom door and into the computer room. But SHADOW noticed.....
He had been hiding out in my bedroom and he went to the doorway...staring into the computer room...he gave his low guttural growl at the two startled dogs. (Of course, he was redy to bolt at the slightest movement from the dogs..LOL)
but he put on such a good show...we heard the growl and I went to investigate.

There were the two dogs huddled in the computer room as Shadow stared them down . :o
They really looked petrified!!! LOLOLOL
I called the attack cat off....and then, the dogs needed a LOT of coaxing to come out of the room and past the bedroom door...
ha haaaaa

Little Shadow has really shown amazing courage during the drooler visits......surprise surprise! haha_smiley
Normally, he is such a sweet little guy.... bcatrun_gif
 
Hahaha! Go Shadow, get those doggies! You have to admire him for that. Glad you rescued the doggies though, they have a right to not live in terror.

Awesome numbers for Shadow the Brave!
 
I've been waiting for more Shadow adventures. lol He's so funny!!!
Beautiful first post Pat - and yea, I teared up too, why u gotta go make us all cry? :lol:

((Hugs)) to Shadow and HAppy (Balloons)) to Raja!
 
oh wow, I stopped in here on my way to bed, and I see great numbers and a great WCR, a one month OTJ celebration, and then I started reading your post and now I'm crying! I love LL. :smile:
 
Pat, Seriously....what are you trying to do to me? Do you like it when my face is puffy and my eyes are red? ;-)

A beautiful post, a fabulous day for Shadow, and a special annifursary for Raja. You've had a busy day, my friend. :smile:

grouphug3.gif
 
What a beautiful post Pat - I am sure everyone on this board can share in those sentiments. What a wonderful world FDMB and LL is!!

Congratulations to Raja on 1 month OTJ. And to Shadow the drooler hunter - let us award the medal of bravery.

Thanks again for your post. Tears and memories flood back. ((hugs))
 
Re: 1/5/10 Shadow +5=57

Hi Cassandra!!! :mrgreen:
How ARE you? So nice to see you...your face isn't puffy...and your eye don't look red...you look great! love your outfit....
(I am so laughing and feeling all thankful that we aren't on a live feed cause I am a MESS!! LOLOL)

Reporting Shadow's +5=57. Right on schedule...he was 57 @ +5.5 last night....
not sure if I want him to earn ANYTHING right about now....he is so frustrating...but he is doing so well.
I just don't understand why he has to do so well in the wee hours of my nights... :lol:

I think I am going to have to reign him in a little...I think someone stole his pancreas at some point.....not too sure about it at all...
but, if he goes too low, then a lowered dose might not help him. Raja was easy...I was always rooting for her to get a dosecrease.
HE is another story.

Hope everything is going ok for you.....are you well and happy? :-D
 
Re: 1/5/10 Shadow +5=57

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Reporting Shadow's +5=57. Right on schedule...he was 57 @ +5.5 last night....
not sure if I want him to earn ANYTHING right about now....he is so frustrating...but he is doing so well.

You could always do what I do with Sasha when I am trying to hold a dose.....stuff her full of food. ;-) Probably why she is such a fat fat fatty. :lol:

Shadow has to be his own kitty. Can't be too much like Raja, because that just wouldn't be any fun. The fact that he is different gives you more experience and more opportunity to learn from him. Plus you get a little extra bonding too. Nothing wrong with that. :-D

I am simply excellent. :mrgreen: Spent the whole night doing inventory (ick! someone has to count it, though) and I'm drinking vats of coffee in order to finish some more work and make it through some condos. How are you doing? Are you well and happy?
 
Re: 1/5/10 Shadow +5.5=38, +6=56

Shadow
+5=57
+5.5=38
+6=56

Guess he took ANY decisions right out of my hands... :o I am glad I decided to check him before the +6. :shock:
Might as well be making myself useful, right? I didn't really anticipate THIS number at THIS time...here I am, thinking I can save him from a doscrease by feeding him before his +6... Ha.
Loaded the bowl with HC gravy...and some freeze dried salmon flakes. He inhaled it. What a difference from that first low number he got so long ago when I had to use the syringe to get the gravy into his mouth! He eat when he goes low now, thankfully.
So, from a fat 1.0u to a what? skinny 1.0u? Or do I have to lower it to a fat .75u cause of the number in the 30s....

So, where were we?
Oh yes...I am well thank you Cassandra.... :mrgreen:
I was very, very tired a few minutes ago but now I have this adrenaline rush I guess. LOL

And I agree..you ARE excellent ! :thumbup
And you sound so chipper...doing inventory? Wow...you are really something else. :smile:
 
Dang it, Shadow! You were supposed to stay above 50! Silly kitty!

The fat 0.75u and a skinny 1u are about the same to me, so whatever you want to call it works. :smile: There may be a drop difference in them - whatever is easy for you to measure consistently.

I don't know if counting pairs of jeans and shirts qualifies me as 'something else', but whatever you say. :lol:

As far as chipper, well.....that's the coffee talking. ;-)
 
Re: 1/5/10 Shadow +7=57

+7=57
he is on DHs recliner and I on the couch...another pajama party for us here...
Another nap before +4 and then it's of to my real bed. Yes, the are the same anyway,right?
Last time he went to a fat.75....tomorrow I think we will cal it a skinny 1.0u! Maybe he will like
it this time around...

Thank you, Cassandra! Hope you have a good night...what's left of it anyway!
:mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top