1/8 Baby AMPS (No Shot will be given) +20.5 289

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Nicole & Baby, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paige

    paige Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

    Good to know she is acting normally. I am sending a ton of <<hugs>> and <<purrs>> to you both!!! You are not alone.
     
  2. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

    Nicole:

    Jill is one of our long time Lantus/Levemir users and has walked countless people though situations like this. I trust her completely and encourage you to follow up on her suggestions. She will keep Baby safe.
     
  3. Kelly & Logan

    Kelly & Logan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

    Wow, what a first day! Hang in there, though, you're doing great. And just think of everything you've learned today! Next time she goes low, you'll know exactly what to do. :mrgreen:
     
  4. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

    glad you called the vet. like i mentioned before, he'll probably want you to bring her in.

    that's ok. don't worry she will be fine.

    because lantus and levemir are long acting insulins, when overdosed there is a chance of this lasting for many hours. it's not unusual for the effects of the shot to last for around 14, 16, or 18 hours. the vet will put her on a glucose drip and monitor her.
     
  5. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

    Thanks, Jill..still waiting on call back...I am up & will stay up & test as long as needed...6 hour mark is in about 20min & I will test again..
     
  6. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

    if it's been 15 minutes since the last time you tested...

    please test her now.

    do not wait another 20 minutes, k?

    post the number.
     
  7. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

    Just tested again... 46
     
  8. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins 42

    rub a little more honey on her gums now. and retest in 15 minutes.

    just my opinion, i would just take her to the vet. you don't want to take the chance of her vomiting which could cause the bg to go down even more.
    it's still early in the cycle when considering this is an overdose situation. they'll know what to do.
     
  9. Miriam and Putty (GA)

    Miriam and Putty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    I think I would go to the vet. The possibility that this could last another 12 to 18 hours would be exhausting for you and Baby. It would mean constant testing and feeding and I don't think she could eat much more.

    Good luck and keep us posted.
     
  10. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    I rubbed Honey on her gums...will test again in 15 while waiting on the Vet to call.
    Maybe things are Ok, since the Vet meters read higher? Who knows..am taking all advice & doing as told...I just want her Ok, I don't care about me..
    Will keep everyone updated. Thank you again, to each & every one of you.
     
  11. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    Has the vet's office called back? If not, call again and stress this is an emergency. If the receptionist hems and haws, tell them you'll be there in 10 min. with Baby. Bring your meter and, like Jill said, honey. Stressing that this might be the result of the vet telling you to give 4u wouldn't hurt in terms of getting their attention. (It's a small twist of the truth!)
     
  12. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    yes, she may test a little higher at the vets, but... if she does something unexpectedly... if she refuses to eat or vomits... her numbers *could* drop quickly.
    for safety reasons, i urge you to let the vet handle this. they will know exactly what to do.
     
  13. Lindyloo

    Lindyloo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    Good point Sienne!

    Yeah I would start packing Baby's bag for a trip to the vet. Better to be safe.
     
  14. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    I agree with Jill and Miriam, the vet will be able to bring this number up easier than you can by using a glucose drip. You must be getting tired. Please keep us updated.
     
  15. Lindyloo

    Lindyloo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    I just sent you a private message with my phone number in case you need someone to talk to while you are at the vet. Or if you want me to post updates for you while you are at the vet. I will be starting my one hour commute home though in about 30 minutes so will be away from the computer but near the phone.
     
  16. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    Does anyone know how to update the subject line to say more? For example - I will want to give her latest #s, but am restricted on room.
     
  17. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    hit reply. when new screen comes up, delete (erase) the current subject line and put in the new number.
    what is the new number?
     
  18. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    hope you're on phone with vet.

    if not, have an update?
     
  19. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32, +4 62, +5 46, +5.25 42, +5.5 46

    I do think you are restricted on how much you can enter in the subject line.

    I edited the line for this post which will save a little space. 15 min = .25 hrs. 30 min = .5 hrs, etc. That will save space of writing out minutes.
     
  20. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

    +6 was 50
    Sorry for the delay...was on phone with Vet - Vet confirmed everything you all are telling me - I am doing the right thing..rubbing, honey etc.
    She said that she does not have anyone in the office over night to watch Baby on a Glucose Drip & she would certainly not leave her in the office alone.
    She is calling the Emergency Vet & talking to them & faxing Baby's chart over - just in case. She said she would test every 30 mins until it keeps going up or levels out. But to get over to the ER if something does not seem Ok...so... I am going to keep a close eye on her, continue testing every 30mins & go from there. She has kept all food down, acting normal & I am not going to over react - I think that honey, HC gravy & a close eye & TESTING are going to get us thru.

    By the way..the ER Vet is about 4miles away... thank you again for everything - keep us in your prayers & well wishes.. I think Baby is blessed in the middle of Mom's huge Mess! grr_red
     
  21. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

    (((hugs))), you are doing good. If vet says to keep doing what you are doing, then you are doing good :)

    Just keep an eye on her and if things look off at all, get her to the ER vet.
     
  22. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

    ok, some things i want to make sure you're aware of...

    baby's numbers may drop again. if she drops below 50... do NOT wait 30 minutes to test her, k?

    instead retest every 15 minutes if she drops below 50.

    if it's been awhile since she's eaten... try to feed her a small amount of food... like a teaspoon's worth. small amounts of food will help. i don't want her to get too full, but on the other hand, food will keep the numbers up longer than honey. that being said, don't hesitate to use honey when needed.

    please continue posting numbers. someone is always around and i imagine there a many, many eyes on this thread.
     
  23. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

    It's good that you have an emergency vet nearby. As part of your cautionary preparations, just be sure you know how to get there. :D When I've been concerned, I've also put Kitty's carrier in the car, prepared with fluffy blankets, with a note about what I need to bring (in your case, honey and your meter, plus your records) -- ready to go, just in case.

    It's only natural that you feel frustrated with yourself, but let go of it as soon as you can. You're just a bean, doing your very best for your kitty.

    Have some :coffee: until it's time for that drinking24 !
     
  24. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

    You are going to be completely wrung out. Is there someone you can call who can hang out with you if for no other reason to make sure you don't fall asleep from the emotional overload? Likewise, if you need to go to the ER, It doesn't hurt to have company. You need to take care of Baby but you also need to take care of yourself.

    Also, unless Jill or your vet tell you otherwise, do not give a shot tonight.
     
  25. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

    ditto! do NOT give a shot tonight, k?
     
  26. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

    Jill, will do & thank you again for everything. I do appreicate everyone's prompt responses.
    If below 50, will go back to testing every 15mins. Will most definitely keep everyone in the know....
    Will NOT give any shots........tonight.....
     
  27. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

    May I just suggest that you call the ER vet and introduce yourself. As this may be the first time you're going there, ask them what their procedures are if you do need to bring her in.

    I say this, because the closet ER place to me, will not allow walk ins, you must call first and tell them what's going on and only then will they open the door to let you in.

    Also while on phone with them, reconfirm their location. Again, if you are rushing, you may not think about where they are and go to the wrong place.

    And did we say, you're doing great!
     
  28. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50

    (((((nicole)))))
    you're doing great! keep on, keepin' on...
     
  29. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    The Vet is letting the ER know..I do know the location (unfortunately)
    Baby tested 51 at +6 1/2 hours now (latest test)
    She just ate a bit of Wellness Chicken & is still lively as ever... will keep everyone posted.
     
  30. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby51 @ +6.5

    good. glad she's eating a little bit. you can mix a little bit of hc in her lc if you'd like...
     
  31. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +5 & 15mins42 +15 46

    Linda..no PM came thru with a #, but it warms my heart & I feel so blessed that you would even offer. We are doing OK & even though I am alone..I will stay up all night if need be. The outpouring of education & wonderful advice & direction has Baby & I moving in the right direction. THANK YOU again for such a sweet offer.
     
  32. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Nicole, is there anyone close by that u can call to come over? A friend, family member?
    Someone mentioned you could get very exhausted tonight, believe it has happened, please try if u can get someone to hang out with you.
    I'd go - I love testing - but I have no passport to cross the border :lol:
     
  33. kate and lucky

    kate and lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Re: 1/7 Baby 51 @+6.5

    Hi Nicole,

    late to the party!

    I think I read earlier you hadn't got heaps of HC. If not add honey to your LC.

    Remeber what Jill has said about 15 minute checks.
    Use your own observations of her behaviour too as a guide.

    We had a similar experience on Lucky's first shot, 5u but administered by the vet!!! :roll:

    Lots of eyes watching over you.
    Your doing great :D
     
  34. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    you're in good hands, nicole and have instructions from the vet and support here.
    i have to go off-line now, but i'll check in on you later tonight.

    please, i can't emphasize this enough... if you think the numbers are getting away from you pack her up in a warm blanket in her carrier, take honey with you, and go to ER.
     
  35. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Will keep testing..things are still going good so far...
    Late to the party.. ha ha ha party_cat
    I guess Baby had a party..on her old treats & High Carb LOL
     
  36. Michele and Esse

    Michele and Esse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Nicole, you rock. You're doing amazingly well, and you are in no way, shape or form a bad mama. You're actually a very good mama...

    If there's a friend or neighbor who can run to the market for you, and get some hc and more test strips (and some cheese and crackers, and wine...ahem...), why not see if they can do that for you?

    Hang in there, all right? You're doing really, really well.

    Best-
    Michele
     
  37. paige

    paige Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    I will be watching you for as long as I can tonight. You are doing amazingly well.

    I am sure this is an experience you won't forget for a long while----unless you have that wine once Baby is in the clear. :thumbup
     
  38. kate and lucky

    kate and lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    and Momma bean has a sense of humour :lol:

    Very good mixture, especially if your in for some late nights!

    I'm not sure where you are with your most up to date number in your message line. I had copied Jills but unclear if this line is the most up to date one (just done diferent?)

    I know your missing your shot tonight, when things calm down, might be an idea to get clear in your mind what the dosing scale is on your syringe, so you know where to shoot on your next shot.
    You can upload a pic of your syringes to show other beans if your not sure.Then they will tell you where you need to draw up to.
    Something from earlier makes me think you may have whole unit syringes? (each black mark account for 1?)
    You can get that sorted for tomorrow, just if your bored (yep, my SOH it's nearly midnight here)might fill your time too.

    On a serious note you focus on Baby, like others have said you could be in for a long night of monitoring (paws crossed not,but...)

    Good luck, will peek in in my morning to see how your both doing-Oooo just think of that nice chunky chocolate bar and bottle of wine cooling for the w/e ;-)
     
  39. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    From you SS, it looks like your +7 = 28. You need to feed HC with this number or you need to go to the ER -- or both. Please post and let us know what you're doing.
     
  40. kate and lucky

    kate and lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    +7 28!!!!!!

    Ack lost everything-no your right Sienne-HAS ANYONE GOT A CONTACT NUMBER FOR HER?
     
  41. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    I may get noodles, but I'm re-posting the 911 for the thread. It may get Nicole's attention.

    ETA: Thought it would put the alert on the main board. Not the desired effect. My apologies to the powers that be.

    ETA again to remove the 911.
     
  42. kate and lucky

    kate and lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Good idea!

    Hope we're not hearing as she has gone off to ER. It's getting on for 30mins since her last post, hope at the least it means she will update again.
     
  43. Laura and Quincy

    Laura and Quincy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Maybe she's offline to feed and test... I am hopeful we've underscored the importance of treating such low numbers seriously and aggressively...
     
  44. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Alert of you to see that, Sienne.
     
  45. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    If you can, let us know what's going on Nichole. Feeding?? On the way to the ER??
     
  46. kate and lucky

    kate and lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    I know there's a few of you watching this thread.

    Do you still give your contact numbers?
    Been out of the loop the last few weeks and with board changing, who holds them if you do now?
     
  47. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    I don't think it's been updated in a while.
     
  48. Helene & Tizon

    Helene & Tizon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    I'll be here for another 45 mins or so... I'll keep an eye open for her.
     
  49. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    looking for an update as soon as you can...

    (((((Nicole))))
     
  50. CD and BigMac

    CD and BigMac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Nicole is brand spanking new... first day on Lantus. I don't think anyone has any personal info about her yet.
     
  51. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    It was updated a few months ago -- I remember giving my info. But I don't know who has it.

    It would be great to encourage all newbies to update their info (though they don't know us yet).
     
  52. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  53. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    I'm hopeful that Nicole has headed to the vet. She's been in constant touch today, and she understood Jill's ideas about it.
     
  54. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Where should we put personal info?

    This rather nerve-wracking thread has me wanting to get mine in place asap!

    Hang in there, Nicole! So many people have your back!
     
  55. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    PM either D & Shadow, Cyn and Cosmo, Joan and Madison or Lynn and Bear (not sure if she's registered here yet) and one of them will get you an email addy or place to send it.
     
  56. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Thanks! Will do.
     
  57. Lindyloo

    Lindyloo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Gosh Im worried. I pm'ed my cell phone number to her this afternoon in case something like this happened but she said she never got it :-(

    I was confident that by the time I got home Baby would be out of the woods. nailbite_smile

    I hope they are at the vet now and Baby is ok.

    Sending good vibes.
     
  58. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

    Everyone..had a reading of +28, freaked out & went to ER VET, extremely snowy here..rough commute there (so I know Baby was super stressed) but gave a BG reading there of 69, alert - acting good - they gave her oral Dextrose & said they could monitor tonight - but don't feel with her BG 69 & eating/alertness that it warrents her staying. I opted (due to finances) to bring her home & they sent me home with Oral Dextrose to give if the #s drop. We just got home - she just ate - I am a mental mess..but hanging in here..will give her a bit (she needs it) before I BG again...will keep you posted.
    I have not gone thru the thread...just walked in the door - so I aplogize for not answering questions..just wanted to give an update.
     
  59. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

    thanks for the update, we assumed that's where you were but it's good to know for sure. ((((Nicole))))

    Her number could still go up and down for a while, so please test again by +9.
     
  60. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

    Great news Nicole...thanks for updating...
    You take care of Baby now and rest up...you did very, very well today! just a suggestion....
    either set an alarm for yourself every hour on the hour just in case you dose off maybe?
    So glad you went to the vet...Kepp posting and updating..we are here... :D
     
  61. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

    You are doing a super, super job, Nicole.

    Was that 69 with your meter or the vet's? They are calibrated differently, of course.
     
  62. paige

    paige Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

    Oh Nicole! So glad you got to the ER and that they got you something. HUGS!!!
     
  63. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

    The 69 was the Vet's reading with their meter, tack stress on to that..I bet she was still very low.
    I am going to test here in a few minutes, she is eating now & did use the litterbox.
     
  64. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

    The 69 was the Vet's reading with their meter, tack stress on to that..I bet she was still very low.
    I am going to test here in a few minutes, she is eating now & did use the litterbox.
     
  65. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

    Oh thank you for the update! So glad you went.
     
  66. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

    Don't worry about going through the thread. We were all speculating that you got the 28 and jumped in the car. We'll be here. Use the 911 icon on your first post of the day if you need to. We'll respond.

    Obviously, we'll respond. I wonder if this has broken all records for the longest condo. It certainly has on the new board!!! (lol)
     
    Ashleigh & Ares likes this.
  67. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    Since being home, she has used the litterbox 3 times (in the past hour) but hadn't gone all day. She is also very very hungry, still alert...
    Have vowed to stay up all night & test.. thanks again for everything..just hoping this Lantus will wear off! Hate to think of the damage I have done, with all the high carb/sugar today.
     
  68. Laura and Quincy

    Laura and Quincy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    Nicole, so glad to read that you took Baby to the ER and got the help she needed with that low +7 reading. Talk about trial by fire! You two will get through this and will be able to face all sorts of things for having done so!

    Please keep us posted... and good job!
     
  69. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    is Baby still feeling full? Need to feed her something to bump her up a little higher. Has she had any real food lately or just the dextrose? A tsp of high carb food, with extra gravy, might be good. Then test in 30 minutes.
     
  70. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    It sounds like you did a great job and I think you'll be fine. Of course, tomorrow, you will feellike you've been hit by a truck...

    We're thinking about you!
     
  71. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    She is non stop eating, she has definiely eaten! I know it needs to be higher...thru all of this..she has eaten quite a bit..to the point that I dont want her to vomit. Still acting alert & normal...
    Eating again.. Wellness Chicken & I put some of the oral dextrose on top..just a little to see...
    Has kept everything down...but I feel she has eaten soooooo much, so nervous about it coming up....dont want to deny her eating though...gosh..we are 2 hours away from 12 hours, I pray this tapers off soon. Am staying up all night though.
     
  72. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    You need to not give her so much food!! You can always give more over time. Are you adding any honey to the food. A drop or two will add some carbs and bring Baby's numbers up a bit. You can always rub a bit of honey on her gums.
     
  73. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    better to not let her eat nonstop, because if she DOES vomit her numbers could drop out. Also, we need to be able to keep feeding her small bits of food for however long it takes for her liver to kick in, and if she gets too stuffed she may not eat for us when we need her to. Sienne's suggestion to add a little honey to her food is good, then she can get more of a bump with less food.

    Hang in there, your attitude is great, I'm very impressed. :D
     
  74. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

    Nicole, the only thing you missed is that many of us have provided our contact info to a central contact board, where one of the experienced leaders can reach you if they see something of concern. You can PM one of the above if you'd like to do that.
     
  75. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    I will go put my information there.
    She is napping now...will test again shortly.
     
  76. Laura and Oreo

    Laura and Oreo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    You are doing a great job Nicole! Just keep doing what you're doing. Chocolate for the bean is in order, for now. Wine later!
     
  77. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    Things are not so good now..just tested & she is at 27, gave Dextrose & Honey..still acting fine.. was just a BG test that showed me this, I am getting scared.
     
  78. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    please test in 15 minutes.

    What brand of meter are you using? Answer later, take care of Baby first.
     
  79. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    and is it now +10 after the shot?

    Might be a good idea to go back to the vet. I know it's expensive.
     
  80. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    The Walmart Rel Micro one..I know that it is a little off..on hold with the ER VEt
     
  81. Laura and Quincy

    Laura and Quincy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    Or maybe call the ER vet and tell them about the +10. I know it's snowy out too and that transporting Baby back to the ER vet may not be a good trip, in addition to the cost.
     
  82. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

    good. I don't want you to be scared. Baby is acting fine and that's because she probably feels fine. Several people here have had cats in the 20's and they've been fine, no symptoms at all. In your case, it's as much about the time as the number. Unfortunately we don't know how long it will take the extra insulin to work out of her system. All we can do is take it one step at a time, test and treat whatever we find. But if you get too tired or Baby gets too full, then it will get harder. Sorry.
     
  83. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Talked to the ER Vet, she said it is really hard to say how much the meters differ, etc. She basically said - how is she acting? I said besides the hunger fine. She said I could bring her it to monitor tonight, or continue testing, getting food, honey or dextrose into her here at home. It is just waiting for the Insulin to work its way out. I am up for this long night..I just cannot afford the ER Vet..so will keep testing & going off how she is acting... I am hoping that as we near the 12 + hour & later that it will begin rising...I do know that it could still drop..so will keep testing. As I finish typing..she is still acting normal.
    Thank you again..
     
  84. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    47 is better. Yes, keep testing, we'll be here.
     
  85. Michele and Esse

    Michele and Esse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Yes, keep testing. And yes, find a way to stay awake. But really, Nicole, you're doing amazingly wonderfully. I am sincerely impressed; and you should be proud of yourself. It may take some time to get the insulin through, but you've handled a lot today, and you'll be able to handle more.

    If you run out of dextrose, some bottled water with a wee bit of sugar can substitute. And sugar on the gums, although honey is easier. Don't worry about the difference in meters right now; use the one you have, and track her that way.

    Hang in there...her liver will kick in soon, and she'll bounce. I think you've earned the right to be quite dratted proud of yourself, and go hug Baby for a bit. No testing, no feeding, just some lovies and snuggles. The both of you will feel better for 5 minutes of cuddles...

    Best-
    Michele
     
  86. Laura and Quincy

    Laura and Quincy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Sending good thoughts and lots of sugar your way Nicole!

    Remember that you need to monitor not only the BG # but symptoms as well. The link that I shared waaayyy earlier is here and I've pasted the list of symptoms below so you have them handy.

    SYMPTOMS
    Some cats may have NO symptoms whatsoever, but here are the most common ones:

    MILD HYPOGLYCEMIA
    Sudden ravenous hunger
    Shivering
    Weak or lethargic

    MODERATE HYPOGLYCEMIA
    Disorientation
    Trouble with vision... bumps into furniture
    Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking in circles or acting drunk
    Changes in head or neck movements
    Restlessness
    Urgent meowing
    Behavioral changes, such as aggressiveness

    SEVERE HYPOGLYCEMIA
    Convulsions or seizures
    Unconsciousness

    And of course you know there will pretty be eyes around the clock here for moral support!
     
  87. Laura and Quincy

    Laura and Quincy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    BTW, I think maybe when this is over, you should play the lottery with some of these BG #s! :D
     
  88. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Thanks again, she is just napping & I will test again in 20mins...
    I cannot say how much I appreciate all your words of wisdom & assistance... I am scared, but strong for her.
    The dextrose seems easier, because the honey is sooo sticky & I now have a furbaby who has honey in her fur (least of my concerns)
    Her hunger has subsided for the time being & I think GOD she has kept it all down.
    She is responsive & just sleeping like cats do...but I am looking..because I dont want her to go unconcious..I don't know how that typically happens..if they just get tired or what?
    I am not tired..we will beat this. How I long for those yellow #s back!!!
     
  89. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Nicole,

    ur doing so well! Just wanna say....DON'T LIE DOWN!!!
    I-) no zzzz's for u just yet

    got it?

    eat chocolate, drink coffee, splash ur face! lol
     
  90. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    I promise no ZZzzs for me..I am not even tired at all.....
    Still too scared..have not even eaten today! Please God let me test here in 10mins & atleast maintain...not another 20 something reading...
     
  91. Miriam and Putty (GA)

    Miriam and Putty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Nicole you need to eat something high carb so you will be able to stay awake. @-)
    It has been a long day for you but you are doing great!'
    Baby still has no idea what all the fuss is about.
     
  92. Mal and Tubby (GA)

    Mal and Tubby (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    I would think Baby would show some mild or moderate symptoms before showing severe ones. :coffee:
     
  93. Michele and Esse

    Michele and Esse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Nicole. YOU need to eat, all right? You'll do Baby no good if you go hypoglycemic...

    Hang in there. You're doing well.

    Best-
    Michele
     
  94. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Praying, hoping here.. 11.5 BG 46 (this would have been the drop to the 20s from what I can tell) but then again..who knows what I know right now!
    Still acting normal..just chillin, alert, looks & acts content..doing the eye thing where they slowly blink.
    Will test again at 12 which is 30 more mins.
     
  95. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    better :smile: see ya in 30 minutes.
     
  96. Michele and Esse

    Michele and Esse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    How ya doin', Nicole? Have you eaten something? things are under control (as best they can be)?

    Best-
    Michele
     
  97. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Thanks, Michele.. in all honesty, I feel guilty that this board has been all about me & Baby today. I am sorry.
    I have not eaten & really don't think I will....just no appetite...will test here again in a few minutes to see what her latest reading is & that will determine my mood. Praying, hoping..hanging in here..still by myself..without all of you.
    Baby is very content still.... just on her furniture perch looking out the window..
     
  98. paige

    paige Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    Hang in there. I think your adrenaline all day has kept you awake. There is no way I would be able to feel tired. Once Baby's levels start going up you may collapse though :dizcat

    Thinking of you xoxoxo
     
  99. paige

    paige Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

    OMG! Do not feel bad. You have had soo much help you should feel blessed. This is what family is all about. We are family for our kitties!! We take care of our own!!

    Listen to me.....I am still a newbie but everyone has been so welcoming and supportive.

    You have needed all of this help. I just wish I could have offered help too. But I am here if you need anything.
     
  100. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36

    +12 36
    gave some dextrose orally to help her maintain... any ideas on when maybe this Lantus will wear off? I know ECID & Baby was given 5units & she was 11bs, so it will be awhile, but now that we just past the 12 hour mark..just wondering if there were any ideas? Thanks again everybody! Sadi needs some love too.....feel bad for her!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page