11/16-GIDEON BLUE-AMPS=121,+2=110,+4=64,+5=90,+6=115,+8=92,+10=79,+11=97,PM=94

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Shiloh567, Nov 16, 2020.

  1. Shiloh567

    Shiloh567 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-144-3-65-3-5-77-4-105-6-103-9-134.238595/

    We are now down to Lantus 1 unit BID. We have slowly reduced several times over the last week. Each time the decrease is .25 units. I am hoping these decreases stick. He is drinking less water for sure. Appetite is good, and he is so happy!

    I am working tonight, which I normally would not. Hopefully husband will have a night where he can sleep.

    Thank you all.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Congrats on the reducie. It sounds like Gideon is feeling good.
     
    Shiloh567 likes this.
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Not only is he earning reductions but he’s stopped bouncing! Exciting for sure.
     
    Shiloh567 likes this.
  4. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Very nice.
     
    Shiloh567 likes this.
  5. Shiloh567

    Shiloh567 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Gideon's BG @+2=110, and +4=64. Tonight his Lantus dose will decrease by .25 units to .75 units. Just gave him 1 TBSP of 14% carb food. Will retest at +5.
    Hoping we have no deep dips tonight, since I am working!!!!

    +5=90, after the 14% carb food.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2020
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think the depot is effecting his cycles but since you are working the decrease makes sense. If he’s low you might consider skipping tonight and depending on the amps either reducing or sticking with 1.0 as that will drain the depot some most likely. Just another option.
     
  7. Shiloh567

    Shiloh567 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Good idea. What would you consider a low number that I would not give insulin tonight? Normally I wouldn't give below 68, but should I hold if under 100? I had planned on giving 0.75 units tomorrow AM, depending on BG, but if I skip insulin tonight, he might be higher in the AM.
     
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Honestly, I would skip tonight and stick with 1.0 in the morning. Wendy suggested this for @thebigfuzz . Have a look at yesterday’s condo.
     
    Shiloh567 and thebigfuzz like this.
  9. Shiloh567

    Shiloh567 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Ok. Will skip tonight,'s dose and resume 1 unit in AM.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.

Share This Page