11/24 Ruby +11.5 102 +12 90 PMPS 94/+1 89/+2 68/+3 72/+4 90

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Katherine&Ruby, Nov 24, 2020.

  1. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Yesterday.

    Well, you said it, and it happened! Blue AMPS, so holding the dose of 1.75. YAY. I'm dreading the idea of increasing, will obviously do it if necessary for Ruby, but the less insulin we need to control her the happier I will be!

    We're all having a good morning here. It's finally cold outside, looking forward to my riverside run later. Ruby is increasingly unhappy with her shots, so I have to chase her around the room a bit before she settles down and accepts it. I must be doing that wrong as well, have to review my technique. Sometimes catching her at the food bowl works but today she moved away every time I approached with the needle and tented her fur.

    Healing thoughts to all of the sick kitties and hugs to all you beans who love them so. Have a beautiful day everyone. :bighug:
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2020
    Colio likes this.
  2. Cheryl & Jazzy

    Cheryl & Jazzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    I save a little bit of Jazzy's food to give with his shot. I administer it up on the kitchen counter. He eats from his bowl on the floor, but he knows there's more food waiting in another bowl on the counter. So he comes to me chirping, waiting to be picked up for the rest of his meal. Any other time he won't let me pick him up, little stinker. Maybe give that a try, see if it works for you.
    Ruby is looking good :cool: Have a great day :)
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Nice start for Ruby this morning, hope you see some green today and she
    surfs safely , have a good run today :cat:
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  4. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Nice start for Ruby. I hope she surfs safely today.
     
  5. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Sounds like a good start to the day - enjoy your run!
     
  6. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +3 = 67. Not panicking. Not panicking. :) Feeding her some LC.
     
  7. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Aren't you glad you didn't increase :p? Also, that's a 50% drop since AMPS - I'd get a +4.

    And for AMPS/PMPS time, I get Jax's food, testing supplies, and insulin all ready. I'll usually test with him nibbling on freeze dried chicken, get the number, hand over his dinner, and shoot. I test and give insulin probably within a minute or two of each other. I also never ever have worried about Jax not eating.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  8. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +4 = 64.

    SO HAPPY I didn't increase! Thanks @Vyktors Mum for nudging me in that direction. Also thrilled with how flat she is right now in the greens. Just stay here, baby girl, just stay here!

    Going to feed her a little more LC as she is starving. She's sitting in my lap right now, which rarely ever happens. A hungry cat makes this cat mama very happy. :)
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  9. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Yay good job, Katherine & Ruby! If it were me, I'd test every hour until you see her rise and keep her surfing with LC. If she goes in the low 50s, you could try the tsp of MC so she doesn't earn a reduction just yet. Great job :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  10. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +5 = 60. Feeding her more LC but she's looking pretty good. :)
     
  11. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +6 = 65. Do we call this "swimming with the sharks"? :cool: Or is that reserved for <50?
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  12. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Surfing in the lagoon! Keep going Ruby :D

    We like to say there is no need to visit the sharks (<50) :p
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  13. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +7 = 76. Perfect numbers today, baby girl! :kiss:
     
  14. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    :D I had my suspicions :D gorgeous numbers for Ruby today :D

    If per chance you do need an increase in the future though, don’t look at it as a bad thing, it’s just a step to a healthier cat so it’s really a good thing in its place :)
     
  15. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    I'm so grateful to you for replying to me last night so that in the morning when that blue number popped up I did the right thing! Thank you! I had been setting a 2 AM alarm every night on the off chance I could catch Ruby in the greens after two disappointing days of high numbers.

    I know giving her the insulin she needs is the most important thing, and now that I've got the right testing technique that doesn't bother Ruby too much anymore I feel better about monitoring her if she goes low on a higher dose. That being said, I keep looking for reductions rather than increases in the hopes of achieving remission. Perhaps that's a newbie fantasy, but I hold on to that dream still.
     
    Colio likes this.
  16. katy and mo (GA)

    katy and mo (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Go Ruby! Keep surfing safely for mama :bighug:
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  17. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +11.5 = 102. Do I shoot? Smaller dose? Or do I just go for it? :nailbiting::rolleyes:

    UPDATE: Stalling to +12. What are the chances that she will bounce tonight?
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2020
  18. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    What's your PMPS #?
     
  19. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Just got it. 90.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  20. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    I haven't shot yet. Should I give a token dose? .5 skinny? I can monitor her through the night but I'm worried because the PMPS number is lower than the 11.5. @Vyktors Mum @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
     
  21. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    You can stall 20 min and test again.

    Or you can shoot as long as you can monitor (strips, MC, HC, karo). I can check in for the first hour or two but can't stay on with you (though there should be people on the board).

    I can't speak to reduced doses...all i know for sure is the depot is always in play so you have the monitor the first half the cycle if you give a reduced dose.
     
  22. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    If you stall, you can re-familarize yourself with the shooting low sticky - I think I read it weekly :p.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  23. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I know you tagged people but you can also edit your title (take down all your BG #s and say "11/24 Ruby STALLING - PMPS 90 - FIRST GREEN PS - NEED ADVICE"
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  24. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Done! Thanks for having a clear head and guiding me here!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  25. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Have you gotten +12 and 20 min?

    I'll retag as I'm not sure how editing a post and tags work - @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee - can you all help advise Katherine & Ruby? Ruby had a beautiful day and gave Katherine a green PS. She hasn't fed yet and is grabbing a +12 and 20 minute soon.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  26. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Shoot full dose, if you can monitor and have plenty of strips and HC. You've shot 136 before. This is a Lantus double dip, where kitty does a second dip at the end of the cycle, not as low as the first one. Perfectly safe to shoot, provided you are ready for it.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  27. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Correction, you shot 123 a few nights ago. Not that much higher.
     
  28. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Shooting a reduced dose is no guarantee that she won’t fall under 50. I would either shoot the full dose or skip. If she’s not higher on the retest you will need to make a decision because without food she will drop lower.
     
    Katherine&Ruby and JaxBenji like this.
  29. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    She's 94 @ +12.75. Shooting full dose! Thanks all!
     
    Colio likes this.
  30. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    When you shoot your lowest yet, always a good idea to get a +1 and a +2. Just in case you need to intervene early with carbs.

    Well done! A reward for your first green shot.

    [​IMG]
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  31. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Will do! Poor Ruby, she's gotten poked so much today...

    THAT IS HILARIOUS! Thank you! :bighug: :joyful:
     
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    @Wendy&Neko Thats a much better one than the one I have! congrats Katherine!
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  33. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    What is your normal feeding schedule at night? Just wondering when she would normally get food.
     
  34. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    I feed her at shot time, 7:45-8:00 PM, and then usually before I go to bed, between 10:30-11:30 PM. I have intentionally fed her less tonight so far than I usually do to keep her hungry in case I need to prop her up with food later.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  35. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +2 = 68. Feeding her some LC now.
     
  36. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Looking good.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  37. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Steady as she goes Ruby.:D
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  38. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Should I keep testing every hour until she goes up?
     
  39. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Sounds good. If she gets down to 50's, might test in 1/2 hour.
     
  40. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +3 = 72. I’m going to test her again at +4, and if she’s still going up, I’m going to bed. How does that sound, Wendy?
     
  41. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +4 is 90. It’s a fine number to end a very eventful day for me and Ruby. We are both tired.

    Immense gratitude to all of you who, every single day, support me, give me words of advice and cheer us on. It helps me so much to know we are not alone. :bighug: Good night!
     
  42. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    What a perfect night. Sleep tight.
     
  43. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    And so you should, a very high percentage of cats who start TR soon after diagnosis will achieve remission and there’s no reason to think Ruby won’t be one of them. Nice shooting tonight and what a wonderful green streak you were rewarded with. Soon you’ll be shooting those greens without batting an eyelid :D
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.

Share This Page