? 12/21 Cosmo AMPS 187 - PMPS 407 labs back, pancreatitis

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by thebigfuzz, Dec 21, 2020.

  1. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Congrats on the reduction. Couldn’t do it during the day, Cosmo?
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Congrats on the reducie. They do like to keep us on our toes. I hope Cosmo surfs safely today.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  4. Cheryl & Jazzy

    Cheryl & Jazzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Congrats on the reduction, Cosmo :cool::D
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  5. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Yay, Cosmo made it AMPS :cat: Sorry about the early morning - hope your shift goes well at work and Cosmo behaves while you are gone :bighug:
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  6. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    So...just got the blood test results back and it seems Cosmo has pancreatitis :( I am at work, so cannot update labs right now on the SS, but the vet would like an ultrasound scheduled and for us to pick up meds tomorrow am. Luckily, Cosmo has a great appetite right now and energy is quite good. I knew something was up when he started trending higher again...

    I wonder if the cartrophen injection gave him some pain relief?
     
    katy and mo (GA) likes this.
  7. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Spec fPL 11.1
    Range 0.0-3.5ug/l
     
  8. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  9. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    oh no. I'm sorry to hear this:bighug:. That could explain his numbers, though. So glad he is eating well. Do you know what meds they are giving you? I'd probably ask for some appetite stimulant meds also. To have on hand just in case his appetite changes. i have cyproheptadine for butters but only had to use it in the beginning.
     
  10. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    @tiffmaxee
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  11. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Labs updated in SS.

    Cosmo has an ultrasound appointment for tomorrow morning (that was fast!) and we were given some gabapentin to give him a few hrs before. I think 1ml? Sounds like a lot, but I think they want him basically sedated with just gabapentin for the ultrasound.
     
  12. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Ok...settled in from work.

    Cosmo is doing well, bouncing, of course from this morning’s adventure in the lagoon. Eating, drinking, peeing, pooping, ‘playing’. No vomiting since 11/12, and even then, it was not much. Just overnight and we thought he was hungry or the MD wasn’t agreeing with him.

    The vet loved how proactive we have been, but thinks his resistance to insulin treatment is odd and worth investigating. That is a reason for the ultrasound. To get a closer look at the pancreas and rule out anything on his pancreas. After that, I’m not sure what else she has in mind.

    Tomorrow, she wants to put him on some antibiotics and we can talk about pain management. I wonder if the cartrophen helped his pain a bit to lower his numbers last night?

    Thoughts?
     
    katy and mo (GA) likes this.
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s so strange that his appetite is so good yet he has pancreatitis. Medication for it is only to treat the symptoms. It does explain the trouble regulating his bg. I think buprenorphine for pain is what you need. You were thinking he was in pain and I bet you are right. I don’t understand antibiotics though. That’s not usual treatment for pancreatitis. An ultrasound is a good idea. Sorry he has it. :bighug:
     
  14. katy and mo (GA)

    katy and mo (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    As long as he's eating and drinking then that's a very good sign. You don't want him to get dehydrated, which happened to my boy when he had pancreatitis. It sounds like you've caught it early though! It sounds like your vet is onto it :)

    Wishing all the best for Cosmo!
     
    tiffmaxee and thebigfuzz like this.
  15. katy and mo (GA)

    katy and mo (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Mo was given antibiotics, just in case the pancreatitis was caused by an infection. That's what they told me anyway.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    My vet never gave antibiotics in case of an infection. He would need to see something in the blood tests like elevated white count.
     
  17. katy and mo (GA)

    katy and mo (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    I find a lot of vets (and doctors tbh) give antibiotics as a "just in case" thing whether they're needed or not. Sounds like your vet was good to not just give antibiotics willy nilly.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    True but there were times I wish he had when there was a chance of a kidney infection. When given too freely they lead to resistant strains of bacteria though.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  19. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Cosmo does have some congestion, so not a terrible thing to have a round of antibiotics? My antirobe supply has long expired anyhow. I was rummaging through my cat medicine cabinet and found some relevant meds. All expired of course.

    Any idea on the gabapentin dose... supposed to give 1 ml a few hrs before the appt.

    Should I be giving insulin in the am? @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2020
  20. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I’m sorry he has it too, but glad we caught it before the vet clinic closes for the holidays. I’m super glad he is eating. Elie had pancreatitis and was really sick for a while ...
     
  21. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I see the pre appointment instructions say to fast him 8hrs prior to the appointment...I am not sure how well that will go? I guess no insulin in the am? His shot is usually at 8:50 am and the appt is at 10:30am.
     
  22. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I'm thinking no shot too. Like in a dental where there is fasting involved. @tiffmaxee ?
     
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would not shoot. It’s not bad to try the antibiotic.
     
    Bandit's Mom and thebigfuzz like this.
  24. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    It seems strange, because besides the gabapentin, he is not being sedated for the appt.

    Wishing we didn’t have to skip. I feel like we finally got the depot back :(
     
  25. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Cartrophen doesn't have much pain relieving properties, it's more a lubricant for the joints.

    How is Cosmo at the vets? None of mine were ever sedated for ultrasounds. Though Neko once need a bit of sedation for an echocardiogram - just mild one at the vet. Is the vet doing the ultrasound, or a specialist? Neko was never fasted for her ultrasounds either and I always shot a full dose. It's not like having anaesthesia. If he's pink or red in the AM, you could shoot the full dose and take along his breakfast so they can feed him when they are done. The only times he drops lower when starting that high, it's the end of the AM cycle and he should be home by then.
    It's usually by mg, 50 or 100. What is the concentration of the 1 ml of liquid?
     
  26. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    A specialist is doing the ultrasound. It was either tomorrow or in January.
    He is usually really good at the vets, but squirmy by nature. He growled at them last visit when they tried to put him on his side. I think that’s why they are wanting the gabapentin.
    The liquid says 100 mg/ml
    Notes about the insulin and food. He dropped a bit from PMPS to +1.5, so he may be breaking a bounce?
     
  27. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Trying to figure out the possible reason for the greens last night...
     
  28. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Cartrophen never impacted Neko's numbers, but buprenorphine did. There were a couple nights with no tests, so can't tell if this was his first greens. Cosmo does seem all or nothing though. :rolleyes: You've still got some 3.5 unit depot going tonight.

    If Cosmo has never had gaba before, 100mg will definitely sedate him. 50mg did the same for Neko, but I've seen others give 100 for sedation. Neko's was more an attempt at pain relief.

    Great you've got a specialist. Just wondering if it's one of the travelling ones I've seen before. My current vet let me be there and help during ultrasounds by the specialist, made a huge difference in keeping kitty calm. Obviously not this year of course.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    None of my cats were ever sedated fir an ultrasound. I hope it shows all is good! Vetty vines.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.

Share This Page