WCF and Meowzi
Very Active Member
arrrgggghhhh!
be back in a bit with yesterday's thread/responses.
be back in a bit with yesterday's thread/responses.
12/27 Meowzi AMPS 258, PMPS 258
Posted by: WCF and Meowzi (IP Logged)
Date: December 27, 2009 10:33PM
Previous thread 12/23
WCR: She seems to be feeling pretty good. Going out into the LR and getting on her steps to look outside, playing with her new Hot Cats links. Even climbing onto the kitty tower (not seen in weeks, if not months!). Eating decent amounts. But BGs have been bouncing. I think.
I think this latest round of bouncies started yesterday morning when she dropped 41% in 2 hours. Anything more than 15% per hour sets her off. Here's a summary of the last couple of days:
12/26
AMPS ~ 256
+2 ~ 150 (-41%, or -20.5% per hour on average)
+5.25 ~ 113 (-8% per hour on avg)
PMPS ~ 199
+3 ~ 200
+5 ~ 162
12/27
AMPS ~ 258
+1 ~ 261
+2.25 ~ 192 (-21% per hour on avg)
+4 ~ 128 (-22% per hour on avg)
PMPS ~ 258
I did feed her breakfast late by an hour yesterday, but didn't think it was a factor. I fed on time this morning and still saw that sharp 20% drop; that confirmed to me that food wasn't a factor.
Looking back, I think similar bounces may have been happening even a month ago, around 11/26:
AMPS ~ 239
+3.25 ~ 76 (-21% per hr on avg)
...
PMPS ~ 221
+3 ~ 99 (-18% pr hr on avg)
That set her off on bouncies for the next few days. Some were mini-bouncies, not very noticeable unless I'm looking for it (or imagining it!)
Dosing team, am I imagining the bouncies?
If they are real bouncies, I'm wondering if it's foolhardy to consider shaving her dose to even out the bouncies before bringing her dose back up again. We did something similar after switching to Lev on 1/19/09 - the dose we started on was too high and just sent her on a bouncing marathon. Had to lower dose to level her out before we started working on bringing the curve down.
I had been reluctant to shave her dose; thought she'd just have to learn to ride this out, but she's now been above her r/t for three consecutive cycles. I got two positive urine glucose readings tonight. That makes me kind of antsy. Should I just stick with this dose or shave? Or raise, except that would set off even more violent bouncies?
That she's been able to hit the sub-150s pretty consistently, and sometimes even the greens, on this dose is suggesting to me that her dose is not insufficient. Or am I wrong?
eta: just wanted to add about her appy. DH thinks it's reliable now, but I'm not as sure as he is. I do think it's almost, but not quite, back to where she was at September where she would reliably eat on days 1 and 2 of mirtz. We're still handfeeding her 1/2 to 2/3 of her calories most days.
Cassandra and Sasha Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I'm not seeing bouncies like what you saw when you
> first switched to Lev. Had lots of pink back then
> as well as green - much more up and down. She's
> pretty flat now comparatively.
If she has food on
> board at PS or +1, those drops could just be the
> food spike wearing off coupled with onset.
> I would probably be inclined to fatten the dose a
> little just to see if the PS could come down a bit
> and keep her below renal - try and flatten the
> range out to mostly blue if that would happen,
> perhaps with a touch of green. Would probably
> start with literally just a small drop and
> increase verra slowly in hopes of easing her down.
> I understand why you may not want to do that,
> though, especially if her appy isn't what you
> consider to be back to normal.
Tomorrow's here> Think the others will weigh in tomorrow with more
> ideas too.
Cheryl and Winnie Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> where is the mirtz in her cycle?
> both day and time ?
>> *civie* wolf who has been getting some abynormal
> bg numbers, was highest on mirtz day.
> possibly a coincidence. haven't given again yet...
> cause had to f.fed anyways and fasting tonight for
> f/u bw am.
>> just wondering if you ever noticed any pattern --
> esp since she does have a strong reaction to the
> dose.
> Wolf's repsonses have also gotten increasingly
> stronger in a neg way to the mirtz on day 1. what
> about meowzi?
> give the princess and her pal callie a pat for me.
WCF and Meowzi said:Responses to couple of posts
Cheryl and Winnie Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
I had *thought* mirtz raised her numbers last year, but not significantly enough to warrant pursuing it further. Just something to keep in back of mind and shrug. But didn't diligently collect data to prove or disprove
No, not too negative, I think. She's more anxious, sometimes takes close to 6 hours to get ravenous, and she can pace a bit, sometimes yowly, but she doesn't seem too distressed. Have you considered shaving Wolfie's dose? Not by a full 1/4, but just take a butter knife and shave a little powder off?