A couple of things...
Since you are new to the forum (and with all of the changes to the Board), the assumption is probably that Gentle is a newly diagnosed diabetic. If you could put the date of Gentle's diagnosis into your signature, you won't have to keep reminding everyone.
For a kitty who has been diabetic for more than a year, BG needs to drop below 30. Given that this is an established treatment protocol backed by research, if it weren't safe for a cat to reach those numbers, the protocol would not survive. Many (most) of the cats here reach these low numbers and do not have symptoms of hypoglycemia. Rather, we are able to manage the numbers with food. Most vets get very nervous with numbers under 150 and will suggest what we would consider extreme measures (e.g., karo) for numbers that would not earn a decrease. If you see someone asking for help with a low number, read the condo. Depending on where the number is, we feed -- it may be LC, MC or HC food. Numbers in the 30s or lower typically get HC (but ECID and some will respond to LC). The first time you get a low number, it's a bit nerve wracking. You'll become confident of your ability to steer the direction of Gentle's numbers and people will be here to help you.
As for feeding, I give Gabby about a teaspoon of food every couple of hours. This is referred to as feeding the curve. If I'm not home, I leave food in a timed feeder or I make 'catsickles' and leave them out. (Catsickles are a combination of cat food and enough water to make the mixture soupy. I freeze the mixture in an ice cube tray.) It can help to keep your kitty surfing as well as soften a sharp rise or drop.