13.01. Simba PMPS 106 +1 117 +2 79 +2.5 67 +3 65 +3.5 85 +4.5 92 +5.75 94

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lina and Simba, Jan 12, 2021.

  1. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You can give 12-20% as mc.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  2. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Good thing I did a double take on the can, that was a 1.2%. Fed him 20grams of 14%. Test in 30mins?
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Test 20-30 minutes after the last time he ate. Good catch on the carb % it takes about that long to register.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Have you been feeding lc the entire time? Please list the percent carbs you fed each time when you post next. Thanks.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  5. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I'm updating the SS with the carbs that I know of. But since joining the FDMB I have swapped him to LC only.
     
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I just need to know what you fed today for now.
     
  7. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    @AMPS 75g 6.7% + 2tsp 18%
    @+2.5 6g 6.7%
    @+3.5 6g 6.7%
    @+7 2tsp 6.7% + 1tsp 10%
    @+8.5 1/2 tbsp 7.2%
    @+9.5 18g 6.7%
    @PMPS 50g 12%
    @+1&20mins 25g 12%
    @+2 20g 18%
    @+2.5 25g 18%
    @+3 20g 14%
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  8. Hercule's mum

    Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Are you trying to beat the record for tests on one day? It is not worth it.... and Butters will get upset! :smuggrin:

    Now seriously, well done for managing a whole day like this. It takes nerve of steel!
     
  9. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Simba is very competitive, just like his mama! :p I couldn't do it without the FDMB!
     
  10. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I fixed my SS with the carb% and grams. Will stop with the tsp and tbsp too :D What a mess!
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You are doing great! :D
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  12. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +3.5 85. Phew!
     
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Aren’t you glad you didn’t give the 33%? We actually reserve it for under 50. Test again in an hour. If you want you can give a little lc to keep him surfing.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Everybody has their own method for how they feed. I used teaspoons. Just be consistent with whatever works for you.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Also lc is 10% and under. Mc is 11-24 and hc is usually 25+. Since every cat responds differently we need to determine based upon how carb sensitive a cat is. Cats fed mostly 4% might find 20% to be hc
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  16. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yeah I'm happy about that now! If I give LC in 20mins can I test in 1 hour?
     
  17. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    From the massive food order I placed most of it was around 7%. I think I might need to stock up on some more MC after tonight! Do you have any recommendations on MC food? The ones I've got now are basically leftovers from before I knew about his diagnosis.

    Also, maybe feeding him that 33% diluted with 12-18% for over a year might have made him less carb sensitive? Or the opposite...
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s good to have fancy feast gravy lovers around as the carbs are in the gravy. There’s a food chart link on main. You dint need to test for an hour.
     
  19. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Sadly we don't have those in Finland. :( I've seen pouches that have the labelling "with sauce" so that might be the equivalent?

    I'll be back at +4,5.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Probably anything with a sauce will be higher carb. You can look at manufacturers’s sites. Also ask on the main/health. I’ve been feeding only raw since I got my two so don’t know.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  21. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +4.5 92. Does this mean I could have a little nap and come back at +6? :confused:

    Simba is asleep next to me and I can hear his little belly working overtime with all the food I’ve fed him! I hope he doesn’t feel ill.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Stop testing. If you are able test in 2 hours just to make sure he’s up without food. If too tired just leave a little lc out and go to sleep. If he wants it needs to eat he will have food. Good job.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  23. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I’ll put an alarm on for +7 and go from there. He is greedy so he will eat anything I leave out! Or mums cat will, if Simba is asleep. :D

    If Simba continues like this, will I have to repeat this process every night? When would he be eligible for a reduction? :cat:
     
  24. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Wow I missed all the excitement tonight! Great job team Simba!!:woot: Elise is an excellent teacher. You followed her instructions well, and being able to do that is so important. You got a beautiful surf out of him.

    As Simba is a newly diagnosed diabetic, a reduction is earned with a one time drop below 50 as per the TR protocol.
    Or if Simba regularly has his lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.

    FWIW, I measure out Butters' food on a scale in grams and record it in her spreadsheet as grams. I also figured that 1 tsp = 7 grams, which = 1/4 ounce. So that's how I maintain consistency.
     
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You won’t need to test this much even every cycle once you learn the response to carbs and have more data. It gets easier. I promise.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  26. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I tested him @+5.75. 94. :)

    Can I test two hours from now? To get a +8? I’m trying really hard to get some sleep but I’ve got some kind of nasty throat infection bothering me. :(
     
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No more testing needed. Go to bed.
     
  28. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    No testing up until AMPS?
     
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. He’s nice and flat. It’s what lantus often does when you shot low. Good night.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  30. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you. I will message in the morning.
     
  31. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I would have been very lost last night without @tiffmaxee :bighug:
    Gosh, I'd be scared for him to drop below 50. But I guess that's bound to happen sometime! Do you thing he would've dipped <50 if I hadn't fed him MC throughout the first couple of hours after the evening shot?

    I think I will stick to grams too, it's the easiest!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi. I do think he would have dropped under 50. Start a new thread with your amps so we can figure out what to do this morning.
     
    Lina and Simba and Bandit's Mom like this.
  33. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He might have. Butters dropped to 25 in tonight's PM cycle. :eek:
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  34. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    New thread started. There has been an unexpected twist with my health.
    I saw!!! Lyla did such a great job getting him back to safe numbers!
     

Share This Page