2/1 Mally PMPS +4 62, +4.5 70, +5 60, +6 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Mally

Active Member
Yesterday

WCR - Mally is off to a good start this morning and seems to have cleared her little bounce after going low again yesterday. She was awake and relaxing on my bed when the alarm went off this morning. I did her AMPS right on the bed instead of taking her into the kitchen to do it. She struggles a bit when I get close to her testing area so lately I've just been doing the tests wherever she happens to be sleeping, which is typically on my bed. She ate a good breakfast and is now back on my bed having her morning bath.

Have a great day, everyone! :smile:
 
Re: 2/1 Mally AMPS 98

Beautiful AMPS Mally....good job in just grabbing a test where she is at the moment.
My Shadow never seems to mind when I do that...he just kinda turns his head so I can get to his ear...
I think he rolls his eyeballs too but I try not to notice....(here is that foolish woman again with that dumb meter!) :lol:
 
Re: 2/1 Mally AMPS 98, +3 59 Gave some MC

At +3 she's at 59 and I don't want her to go too low again today. I gave her a little bit of MC food in hopes that it may help her surf a little bit. She only ate a few bites of it so I don't expect that it will really cause a big food spike.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally AMPS 98, +3 59 Gave some MC

Are you home to monitor?

Here's how I think about the LC, MC, HC thing.
The basic idea is to keep our kitties surfing in the 50 - 70 range to promote their pancreas to heal. The more time in these numbers, the better for the pancreas and the better to calm down and reeducate a panic prone liver. When and what you feed also depends on where in the cycle lower numbers happen and how quickly the numbers are dropping. That said...

With numbers in the 50s, I tend to feed LC -- about 1/8 can. It should get Mally on a surf board. If numbers are in the lower 40s, I would probably consider MC. Numbers below 40 would generally indicate HC. All of this also depends on Mally. Gabby's numbers in the high 30s (like today) will usually respond to MC.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally AMPS 98, +3 59, + 3.5 79, +4 86

I get what you're saying about the LC, MC, and HC , Sienne. Since my cats are free fed, there's always LC available for Mally should she need it. Sometimes she'll get up and get some food herself if she's going low and other times I have to put the dish in front of her. She dropped into the 30's twice within three days and since I have to go out for a while today, I wanted to make sure she was stable and not getting seriously low again. Now that the MC brought her up a bit, I can go out and try not to worry about her too much. She didn't eat a lot of the MC and I expect her to drop again later in the cycle.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally AMPS 98, +3 59, + 3.5 79, +4 86, +8 63

At +8 Mally is back down again. I didn't get to test her between +4 and +8 because I had some errands to run. I'm guessing she surfed for those four hours. She's eating her dinner now and won't get her PMPS for another 3 1/2 hours. I'm curious to see where she'll be at PMPS because she sometimes double dips.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98

Hey Chris! I haven't check in with you and Mally for a while. Her SS is looking great!!! Great work :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98

Thanks, Paige! :smile: Her PMPS is exactly the same as her AMPS was. We shall see what the night brings.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53 Concerned about her #'s

I know the 50's are good numbers, but I am concerned about Mally's drops recently. She's only at +2 and already down to 53. I will make sure I keep on top of this tonight so she doesn't go too low, but these drops have me concerned.

Any thoughts or opinions?

Thanks!
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21 !!!!!!

I rubbed Karo on her gums and gave her HC. Thank God I tested her right away again.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21 !!!!!!

Chris. I hope you are feeding HC now. I'm npt an expert, but 21 is low enough to feed HC, I am sure, and to test in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21 !!!!!!

Take a deep breath..You can do this--You are in control. Please update in 15 min OK?
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21 !!!!!!

We're here, Chris...how is Mally doing now? If she gets sluggish, or does anything unusual, how far is the nearest ER vet? Good call on the karo...

best-
Michele
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39

more gravy and test in another 15 minutes. They can bobble around quite a bit for a while so stay on top of it until you get at least into the 60's.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39

That's good, Chris, really good.

Her number came up a bit, but since it's so early in the cycle, I'd expect this dance to go on for a while until her liver decides to kick in (if it does). Keep posting, and there will be lots of help.

HC gravy and karo are great tools...hang in there, breathe and remember you're in control...follow Lib's advice - lather, rinse, repeat at 15...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39

WHEW!!! Great catch & Great job!! Mally is sure giving you a run for your money :lol: !!
Did the same yesterday!! You are becoming quite the pro at this :shock: :shock: !!
Really great progress here--This cat is doing very well--
For tonite, lather, rinse, repeat just what you have learned here-no sleepus just yet--I have spent many nites up with Moonie doing the same..
Put the coffee on for a little while longer-OK? ~O)
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39

I played with the idea earlier of not even giving her a shot tonight because she's been go so low lately. I don't think I'm going to shoot in the morning. She has a vet appt. tomorrow at noon.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57

She's up to 57 now. Okay, now I feel better. I know I have to keep doing this for a while, but having her at 57 makes me feel so much better.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39

And has your heart rate slowed down yet?

Mally is a great example of the difference between a symptomatic hypo vs. low numbers. You're doing great! You might want to offer more gravy on top of some LC -- keep the gravy on top so Mally will lick it off. Don't give too much of the LC since you don't want her to get too full. Her numbers may bobble a bit - you just need to keep testing for a bit to make sure the trend keeps going up for a while.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57

Sienne, that 21 took my breath away. When I tested her at +2 and she was at 53 I had a bad feeling. She doesn't usually drop until later in the cycle.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57

whew, much better!

At this point I would make sure she has had some food, not just gravy (or were you feeding the food part of the HC in addition to the gravy?). The gravy (and Karo) help bring up the numbers quickly, and the food part helps them stay up.

Mally has earned a dose reduction to 0.1!!! Here is a picture: http://www.flickr.com/photos/29764149@N ... otostream/

One thing Jojo always says is that symptomatic hypo is not possible at these tiny doses. I'm not one to ever say something is impossible, but I'll say that I haven't seen it here. Low numbers, yes. Symptomatic, no. Don't know if that helps at all. :smile: Usually a bite or two of food is all that is needed to overcome these small doses. You did great!
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57

Wow you two have had quite the day haven't you? You have done so well though. I hope Mally gets on a surfboard for you now for the rest of the night. I'd get a few more tests in before I'd call it a night just to make sure it's holding.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57

nice catch, chris!
continue feeding small amounts and testing until you see a nice upwards trend.
congrats on the reduction to 0.1 unit!
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57

Don't make any decisions about the morning shot now. Skipping a shot is always an option but so is a reduced dose. More to the point, a lot can change between now and AMPS. Mally could have a big bounce.

I wouldn't regard the 53 and the little voice in the back of your brain saying, "Test soon!" as a bad feeling. It's just the way you are putting information about Mally together even if you haven't quite sorted out what all of those subtle signs are. It's you knowing your cat at an entirely different level. I know Gabby's numbers are going to be running low by the texture of her coat and how she follows me to the kitchen and stares at her bowl like I haven't fed her in a week. FD is teaching you about your cat and how she responds to insulin and how she is communicating with you. This is a very good thing!
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS 98, +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57

Sienne and Gabby said:
Don't make any decisions about the morning shot now. Skipping a shot is always an option but so is a reduced dose. More to the point, a lot can change between now and AMPS. Mally could have a big bounce.

I wouldn't regard the 53 and the little voice in the back of your brain saying, "Test soon!" as a bad feeling. It's just the way you are putting information about Mally together even if you haven't quite sorted out what all of those subtle signs are. It's you knowing your cat at an entirely different level. I know Gabby's numbers are going to be running low by the texture of her coat and how she follows me to the kitchen and stares at her bowl like I haven't fed her in a week. FD is teaching you about your cat and how she responds to insulin and how she is communicating with you. This is a very good thing!
What she said. It's a good thing. Yes, it was a scary result, but the whole idea that you saw - even if you don't "know" what you saw - something going on and were right on top of it is a very, very good thing.

Esse has some things that are cluing me in to what's up, and when I should grab the pokey thing...and I've noticed her blood is different when she's between 40-150 than at any other times (I'm weird, but I notice things like that). I haven't identified what they are, exactly, but it's the same "feeling" that you're talking about...and it's not bad.

You have done really well, Chris. Now, I'd better get off this thread before Esse decides to mimic Mally...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57, +3.25 61

She's up a little bit more. She also ate a little more LC. The thing is, she doesn't usually go low until later in the cycle so even with what she's been eating, I'm afraid she'll drop again.

She was sleeping on the back of the sofa when I tested her at +2 and then again at +2.5. She would have slept through the whole thing if I hadn't gotten her up to eat.

That 0.1 does is scary. I had a feeling we were going to get to that dose soon and I keep thinking how in the world am I going to measure that amount. When she goes to the vet at noon, he's going to be real surprised at the turn of events over the past week.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57, +3.25 61

Oh, and I don't want to forget - THANK YOU! everyone for being here for us again. And thank you Libby, for that very scary picture of a .1 dose. :smile: Seriously though, it helps a great deal. CD & Big Mac gave me a photo of the .25 dose and at the time I thought to myself it's a good thing I bought a head loupe so I could see the numbers on the syringe better.

Thanks again, everyone!

I'm drinking coffee and had a chocolate covered doughnut. And the civies got a taste of HC tonight because everyone was crowding up when Mally had hers so I had to give them some. Everyone is happy now! :lol:
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57, +3.25 61

Chris:

You are going to need to keep testing for a bit longer -- or at least I would. You've got a good upward trend going. The idea is that you want to make sure this is a surf or the trend is still up. There may be some wobbling. If you are dead on your feet and need to go to sleep, Mally's earned the decrease so you could always HC (or MC) to keep Mally's numbers up.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +2 53, +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57, +3.25 61

Sienne, I'm planning on testing her until her +5 and then will set the alarm for +7 to see where she's at. I'm about to take her +4 test in a few minutes. She just ate a bit more LC. I've been able to get her to eat if I sprinkle some Pure Bites freeze dried chicken on her food. She loves that stuff so I sprinkle some of the "dust" on her food and she eats.
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57, +3.25 61, +4 62

I am sitting here at 1:30 in the morning with colored water and a syringe practicing the 0.1 dose. :smile:
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57, +3.25 61, +4 62

Chris & Mally said:
I am sitting here at 1:30 in the morning with colored water and a syringe practicing the 0.1 dose. :smile:

lol! been there. just do your best to be as consistent as possible.
warning: when you shoot 0.1u it kind of feels like you're not shooting anything at all! :-D
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +2.5 21, +2.75 39, +3 57, +3.25 61, +4 62

The .25 dose felt like nothing. :lol:

She's up to 70 now.

Recap:

PMPS 98
+2 53
+2.5 21
+2.75 39
+3 57
+3.25 61
+4 62
+4.5 70

I'm going to get a +5 in half an hour and then sleep for a bit.

Thanks again, everyone!!!!!
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +3.25 61, +4 62, +4.5 70, +5 60

Well, shoot! She dropped a little bit. LC or MC to help her surf for a while?
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +3.25 61, +4 62, +4.5 70, +5 60

go ahead and give her some mc. she's already earned her reduction... she has nothing left to prove tonight. :-D
 
Re: 2/1 Mally PMPS +3.25 61, +4 62, +4.5 70, +5 60

Thanks, Jill! Maybe the MC will keep her numbers from falling and she can surf a little bit.
 
Thanks, Mike. :smile:

Mally is back up to 72 and had another snack of MC. She ate a bit so hopefully she surfs for a few hours.

Going to go to bed and sleep for a few hours or I'll be dead on my feet tomorrow - I mean later today.

Thank you once again everyone for being here! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top