2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 +3~42 4.25~61 +5.25~67

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=60 DO I SHOOT????

questions people might have you could answer until you retest..

dose decrease last night, right?

will you be around to test today?
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=60 DO I SHOOT????

Yes dose decrease last night and no I will be going to work and won't be back to check til +5.

Crazy nailbite_smile
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=60 DO I SHOOT????

Retest is 72. I did catch him eating right before I did nis AMPS with what food was left out from overnight.
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=60 10 min later=72 DO I SHOOT????

i have no experience in this so i can't advise...

what's the lowest you've shot?

this is what tilly protocol says but not sure how helpful it really is...

It is likely, because of the way Lantus and Levemir work (they appear to work for >12 hours, therefore producing overlap between doses), you will face the problem of having a low pre-shot BG and wondering what dose you should give. Try reducing the dose the first few times to see what happens - in all likelihood the cat will have higher BGs as a result. A second alternative is to feed the cat, wait 1 to 2 hours, test again, and when the BGs start rising, give the normal dose. A third alternative is to split the dose: feed the cat, give most of the dose immediately and give the remainder 1 to 2 hours later when the BGs start rising. However, in most cats none of these alternatives have shown themselves to work as well as consistent dosing. You will have to learn how your cat reacts to Lantus/Levemir before you determine the best way to deal with this problem.
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=60 10 min later=72 DO I SHOOT????

Thank you Amy. The lowest I have shot is 82. Hmmmm, I don't want to lose all the progress we have made. I might just shoot a half dose. Thank for being here and looking that up for me. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=60 10 min later=72 DO I SHOOT????

no problem...wish i could help more. webber is making some serious progress and whatever you decide to do...he will continue to make progress. i would find it hard to shoot a 72 especially after the weekend he has had. fingers crossed someone will see this soon...but it is a monday morning. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=60 10 min later=72 DO I SHOOT????

Looks good he is rising, can you wait another 15 min and if he is still rising go ahead and shoot you new dose (earned a reduction yesterday?) remeber you are not shooting the number you have now, but what he will have in 2-3 hours. You have a 12 pt. rise in 10 min. if he keeps rising in 2 hours he will be over 100 when the insulin starts working, you will be there at +5 to test leave food out and he should be fine.
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=72 GAVE 1/2 DOSE

I gave him a 1/2 dose to be safe before I read your post Monique. I will come home for +5. Would it be worth giving him the other 1/2 at that time if his BG was high? I am thinking the answer to that is no.

He is playing like crazy this morning :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=72 GAVE 1/2 DOSE

I am thinking the answer to that is no.

You would be correct :-D There is such a thing as split dosing, but it is complicated and IMO doesn't make much difference. Is your new dose after he earned a reduction .75U or 1U? He kinds earned 2 reductions in a row (which is ok, but sometimes we like to aviod reducing one right after another) he hasn't bounced much so it would be ok to try. If you gave 1/2 his dose would that be .5U? At least you haven't ruined the shed, you put some insulin into it, he may be higher though this cycle, I don't think it will result in much of a set back though he's doing great!
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=72 GAVE 1/2 DOSE

Good morning Paige.
You are right about NOT shooting more insulin.
Webber is doing great.....congrats on the dosecrease. :mrgreen:

edited after seeing that Monique answered your question as I was typing.
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=72 GAVE 1/2 DOSE

(((Monique))) Thank you for saying that....it hopefully won't result in a setback. He is making wonderful progress and I don't want to ruin that. His dosecrease last night was to 1U. However I only gave him 0.5U this morning to be safe. I agree I do not want to give him 2 dosecreases either (even though he earned one again last night). I would like to keep him on the 1U for a while to see. I will be here all night to monitor his PM cycle so that is good news.

Thank you again.....I was NOT expecting these numbers this morning. Rather I was expecting a high number from his dosecrease. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/01 Webber AMPS=72 GAVE 1/2 DOSE

Looks like Webber had a fantasic weekend. A little scary on the lows, but you did a fantasic job stablizing them.
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 GAVE 1/2 DOSE

Thank you Miriam and TIna and Amy!! That was quite a surprise :o
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 GAVE 1/2 DOSE

Webber is doing great-You wait to retest before you feed..The food will drive the bg up & you wont get an accurate reading!
Let's see what happens today--It is exciting!!
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 GAVE 1/2 DOSE

Libby & Lucy said:
And no, no new dose reduction tonight, sorry. Tonight's cycle is still running on some shed action from this morning's dose, so we wouldn't do two reductions in a row unless he went way too low.

So, based on input last night, you needed to hold Webber's current dose just like you thought!

Since Webber managed to sneak in a few bites of leftovers, it's hard to know if his AMPS was 60 and rising. While it's great to be able to shoot low, you need to do what you're comfortable with. I would have second and third thoughts about shooting that low of a number if I'd not done so before and if I wasn't able to monitor the first time I shot that low of a number.

(Please remember to link your condo from the previous day.)
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 GAVE 1/2 DOSE

I took away the food as soon as I saw him nibbling. Did not expect him to be doing that. I was prepared to test and get a number in the 100's :? That is when I got the 60. You are right, it was probably rising because 10-15 minutes later it rose 12 points. I then fed and gave the half dose shot (half dose based on his new 1U dosecrease).

So, based on input last night, you needed to hold Webber's current dose just like you thought!
Sienne - Do you mean that I was right to hold the one dosecrease? Or should I have done something else?
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 +5~51

Inquiring minds want to know - how is he doing this? Is he getting insulin from his shed? I only gave 0.50U this morning.
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 +5~51 Question

Is .5 the same as .50? Did you dosecrease twice (since he earned 2 last night) or just one dosecrease?
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 +5~51 Question

I only gave 0.50U this morning because his AMPS was 72 (gave a 1/2 dose to b safe with numbers that low). We deceased only once to 1.00U last night.

He is eating now
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 +5~51 Question

Yup he using his shed, plus it looks like maybe his own little pancreas is helping out. Will be interesting to see what he does this PM.....he doesn't seem to be bouncing much, hopefully he won't. Maybe you will get to take that double decrease he earned afterall! Hope he surf nice till PMPS then you will have to calculate what your dose is. Very strange but very nice! Webber is on his way to ..............ha!
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 +5~51 Question

Good news is I will be back home in a little over 4 hours. There is still food out, I just hope enough ;-)
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 +5~51

paige said:
Inquiring minds want to know - how is he doing this? Is he getting insulin from his shed? I only gave 0.50U this morning.

I don't think so. As I understand it the insulin you shoot will be used first. And when there is some left over it goes to the shed. When you don't shoot the insulin from the shed will be used directly.

Btw... all those green boxes. Nice. :mrgreen:
I would almost stay on the 0.5 you gave this morning. Considering that he goes to 51 on that dose.

Am curious what more experienced users have to say.
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +0.5~74 +5~51 Question

Hey Paige
Webber gives you exciting mornings and Max gives me exciting middle of the nights!
Go figure.
You are doing great!! listening to advice, your gut and Webber. You are in control
I am so happy for you.
Keep up the good work. Gold star for you today. :smile:
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +5.5~57 +10.25~57

I find this strange to say the least. He is still running in the 50's since this morning. @-)

There is still a little food out and he is snacking to keep himself stable. I really don't want to take it away from him in case he needs it between now and his PM shot (2.5 hours away).
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +5.5~57 +10.25~57

Do you want to change your subject line and add a question mark in hopes that someone can stop by and assist you for this pm?

Nice surf...in fact, pretty darn amazing! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +5.5~57 +10.25~57

wow!!!!!! what a day for you and webber and this on 1/2 dose. wow.

agree with carolyn and edit your subject so the right peeps look at your condo.

you are doing great!!!!! such progress.
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +5.5~57 +10.25~57

Wonderful-he's surfed all day :mrgreen:

As your playing in low numbers make sure no food for the last 1 1/2-2 hours.

Lucky did this but the dose didn't hold (not to say it won't with you).
I guess his shed was still overflowing.

Remember there is a 20% variance on your meter so when you don't get much of a jump in number it is essentially the same.

It is highly likely his Pancreas is doing some work, just you don't know how much.

As for shot tonight,partly depends on your ability/wanting to get spot checks with the possibility of HC.If he's still surfing, to be safe I'd be inclined to go for another reduced shot, either .5 or .75u (bearing in mind the other 2 comments above).

You strike me as quite confident, so go with your gut instinct too. Remember you can see Webber we can't. :smile:

ps-when you get to these numbers it's a whole new experience you gotta get your head round :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +5.5~57 +10.25~57

Thank you all!! Honestly it's kinda freakin me out :o

However I think I need to wait til close to shooting time, he has stopped eating.

OMG as I am typing he gets up and goes to munch! :lol:
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +5.5~57 +10.25~57 Take away food?

Point taken thanks
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +10.25~57 +11.5~84 DOSE ADVICE

Webber has gone up from 57 to 84 in one hour. It could be from food. He was eating a little when I came home and I was afraid to take it away because he was low.

His shot time is 30 minutes from now. I will be getting another reading before then. Should I go ahead and give the dosecrease from last yesterday AM cycle (1.00U) or dosecrease again based on his <50 again last night?

I think I feel good giving him his dosecrease of 1.00U. Thoughts?
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +10.25~57 +11.5~84 DOSE ADVICE

Wow, nice day!

Webber is a new diabetic, I would be comfortable with you trying 0.75 if you want. It looks like that would probably hold. Or you can shoot 1 unit and he'll probably earn the dose reduction to 0.75 tonight anyway. :smile:
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +10.25~57 +11.5~84 DOSE ADVICE

Thank you Libby. My stomach is a mess of butterflies. nailbite_smile He keeps surprising me. But I am willing to stay awake all night if I have to. IMy gut is telling me to go with the 1.00U tonight. Thank you for your input. It is always nice to hear someone else assure you.
 
Re: 2/1 Webber AMPS=72 +5~51 +10.25~57 +11.5~84

Good luck with what you choose! I would do .75, but go with your gut ... you know yourself & your kitty!!
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88

I went ahead and gave him the 1.00U dose.

Kate - I am sorry I did not see your post. I must have posted at the same time you did. What you said made me feel better. Thank you ;-) This is a whole different thing to wrap my head around indeed!
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88

What is this boy up to? I think he's been on your computer when you're not home looking at all the OTJ parties going on and thinking he might want one soon for himself.

Good luck tonight with the 1.0 dose. :smile:
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88

Wow, Webber is full of surprises.

Good luck with tonight's cycle - and tomorrow's, as tonight's will still be influencing tomorrow's.
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88

OH Nina!!! Thanks for reminding me :shock:

jk

Thank you all for your support. I really need it cuz I have no idea what I am doing. :-D
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 Earn another dosecrease?

Got out of the shower and caught Webber eating. Figured he must be low so I tested (I was going to test at +2 anyway). Has he earned another dosecrease tonight to make his new dose 0.75U?
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 Earn another dosecrease?

He has earned 3 now.. but you are picking which ones to do LOL
Way to go Paige!!
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 Earn another dosecrease?

LOL! Last night it was suggested not to do two in a row....haha. I should have listened to you all and just shot the 0.75 tonight but I wanted to make sure not to empty his shed.

But I am thinking that I will be in the same place tomorrow morning. :sad:
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 Earn another dosecrease?

Paige:

Wait for one of the experienced beans to give this decrease the OK. I'm honestly not sure if it's too close to your last decrease. If reductions are too close together they don't hold and I'd hate to see Webber lose the momentum.
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 Earn another dosecrease?

Gosh.. I wish I would have know that.. I was told to decrease 2 days in a row... went from Fat .50 to .50 to .25.. dang it.. I shouldnt have done 2.. but listened to advice!! :?
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 +2.25~48

I do believe I will leave this condo up all night so Esse can read it...'cause this is how it's done! (needless to say, I'm reading it too...and am quite impressed with both you and Webber...).

:mrgreen:

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 +2.25~48 Dosecrease?

Michelle - you're a trip :lol:

You don't see me over here staring at Webber and watching the clock to make sure he is surfing :-|

ETA - Sienne I will wait, thank you
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 +2.25~48 Dosecrease?

paige said:
Michelle - you're a trip :lol:

You don't see me over here staring at Webber and watching the clock to make sure he is surfing :-|
No, but then again, you don't see me doing pre-meal sticks on a patient, and discussing their results as compared to my cat, either. LOL, the patients always are so surprised that my cat is diabetic, gets poked, and is shot BiD Lantus. LOLOL...too funny with those patients. They sure get a kick out of Esse's diabetes...

As for you watching the clock, you should see me when Esse is down there...I'm standing there, watching seconds, with the pokey thing and the meter in each hand. She usually just gives me "that look"...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 +2.25~48 Dosecrease?

webber has a flare for the drama, doesn't he? what a day!

pj party tonight?
 
Re: 2/1 Webber PMPS=88 +1~81 +2~44 +2.25~48 Dosecrease?

I will try to clarify a bit of the dosecrease questions... and I'm sorry if you know this already

In a newly dx cat, a dosecrease is 'earned' with a number measured and recorded under 50. Basically, it's an indication that the cat has overgrown his/her dose. So.... we gravy the kitty up and up he/she goes again.

At the next shot time (c1 of new dose), we typically decrease the dose (unless we shoot thru the rebound, but let's not go there for simplicity sake) by either a shave of the dose or a 0.25U. Unfortunately, the 'shed' is still helping with the new and reduced dose... right? So even if kitty goes to 50 or below again, he/she hasn't overgrown the dose yet because the 'bonus' was from the shed. Make some sense?

The following shot, however (so c2 of the new dose), another dosecrease can be earned as the shed is typically back to where the current dose is (so no extra).

The goal is keep kitty's pancreas on 'special care' the longest possible to promote maximum healing.

I hope this helps clarify a bit.

Webber is going very very well! Well done!!!

ETA - you're feeding the 40s now right? It's a touch early in the cycle, so if you want to add a touch of gravy - you may get to bed a touch earlier!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top