2/14 Joe - AMPS 112, PMPS 135, +1.5 79

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 180 NEED ADVICE

Mel- will you be home to do spot checks today?
Do you have high carb food available?(well, you have the dry-not really recommended)-read thishttp://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
The fact that you removed the dry food has lowered Joe's numbers which is fabulous!!
What time do you shoot?--You are shooting 1.00 yes?
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 180 NEED ADVICE

I would shoot 1.0 in the next few minutes.

I have high carb dry. all the wet is low carb.

Leaving the house in about 2 hours and will probably be gone for a couple hours.
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 180 NEED ADVICE

Very nice! cat_pet_icon Combination of dropping the dry and filling the shed and now you have a nice preshot number. Hope someone comes along soon to advise...not enough info for me to even guess. It sure would be great to know where the numbers went after that 160 last night. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 180 NEED ADVICE

Nice curve yesterday, now you're getting some action!

Need to get some higher carb wet food - dry will take too long to get into his system if you need to feed a low spot. You have karo syrup you could add to low carb if necessary, make your own? Don't think you'll need this today, but you should be ready always.
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 180 NEED ADVICE

You should have some hc food on hand--Fancy Feast grilled, roasted or with gravy flavors will work..What canned food do you use?
You can stall a 1/2 hour to see if the number goes up, if you are worried about the 180--
If you are shooting, you do need the hc in case he goes low, dont want him to go too low, we want a nice surf.
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 180 NEED ADVICE

I have Friskies Classic Pate, 9 Lives Super Supper, and some Fancy Feast low carb varieties. I do have karo syrup if we had to. Will pick up some high carb wet.

Going to check again. Usually shoot at 6:30 so I have about 15 minutes

oops I didn't hit submit

211. I feel better about shooting now but I'll watch him VERY closely.
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 180 NEED ADVICE

OK- Great job! Now just take a look at the 2nd link to janet & Binky's lists & check out HC foods--
I actually use Friskies meaty bits gourmet grill for HC, and elegant medleys chiccken tuscany which is med. carb but brings Moonie up nicely..
You need to create a hypo kit, complete with different foods that you may need for low numbers control..
Hope you see great numbers today! The dry food exclusion really makes a difference!~!
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 180 NEED ADVICE

Just as an FYI, in a pinch, you can mix a few drops of Karo into LC to bump up the carbohydrates. There are a few beans here who will do that routinely because their cats can't tolerate the gluten in the HC food.
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 180 NEED ADVICE

Mel, you'll probably want to change your post since you didn't shoot at 180. Make it something like +12 180 AMPS 211.

You did good!
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - +12 180, AMPS 112, +2 137, +6 68

68 at +6

How low is too low?

Picked up some Fancy Feast Grilled Liver and Chicken Feast in Gravy. Looks like this should be High Carb.
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - +12 180, AMPS 112, +2 137, +6 68, +7 83, PMPS 135

I've read and re-read the protocols but want to make sure I'm prepared for tomorrow morning. The lowest number I saw today was 68. I know I don't want him to go below 50. I can probably check once tomorrow but not until +5 or +6.

In general should I be ok to shoot if he is over 100 PS?
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 112, PMPS 135 - Question about tomorrow

Can you get a +2 tonight, and then a before bed test? That will let you know what Joe is doing tonight (he'll probably bounce from today's green).

For tomorrow, if you can get a +11 or +11.5 that will help you make your decision. If he's dropping, like his rebound is breaking, then it's not quite as easy to shoot lower than usual. Otherwise, it should be ok to shoot but you can always post for advice.

I'm happy to see this green, looks like the food change is making a difference already. :smile:
 
Re: 2/14 Joe - AMPS 112, PMPS 135 - Question about tomorrow

Recap

+12 112
AMPS 180
+2 137
+6 68
+7 83
+8 89
PMPS 135
+1.5 79

I can get one more tonight and one at +10 or so. DH will be up for awhile so he can keep an eye on him but he's not comfortable testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top