2/18 Maki AMPS 39, +.5 232, +4 203, PMPS 225

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Patricia & Maki (GA), Feb 18, 2021.

  1. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Partner just brought Maki into bedroom for testing. She tested 39
    Gave her gravy lovers, now what?
    Help
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  2. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
  3. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Skip the shot. Test in 20 minutes after feeding.
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Can you get another test right away to see if it was a bad strip? How long since she was fed?
     
  5. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Feed 4 minutes ago
     
  6. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Tested twice 42
     
  7. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Fed her half a gravy lovers can and some treats. Anything more?
     
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OK. How is she? Looking okay?

    How much of the gravy lovers has she eaten?
     
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Should be fine for now. Test 20-30 minutes after the meal.
     
  10. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    She devoured the gravy lovers. Still acting hungry. She is alert and following my husband around.
     
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It takes 20-30 mins for the food to make a difference to the numbers.

    OK. The food change really did it. The fates were waiting for you to buy that large vial of insulin! :D
     
  12. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    So will she be off insulin because of the food change?
    Watching her. No change in behaviors. She is hiding though my partner reports.
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hopefully. Sooner rather than later!

    Ok. I will wait for the next test.
     
    Patricia & Maki (GA) likes this.
  14. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    +.5 = 232 after hypo feeding
     
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Woah! That's quite a spike. Get another test after 3 hours from this meal.
     
  16. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Yeah, makes me wonder if the low numbers were real. I mean she ate but I sure didn't think 232 with. So confused?
     
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. That was quite a bump. Even for a bounce.
    But you said you did get 2 tests, right? 39 and 42?
     
  18. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    yes, so I have no idea what's going on. Maybe I sent her too high? Still no insulin? I even checked the meter after to make sure I didn't misread the meter.
     
  19. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Ok, found this out. Since I cannot walk, I can't go downstairs to check cans of food. Partner now says last night he fed Weruva Mediterrean Feast instead of FF and thru night fed Tiki Cat. Basically he just grabs a can...like when he used the FF gravy. Should that make any difference?
     
  20. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If that 39 was indeed correct, it is better to skip.

    As long as he fed only LC, it doesn't matter if they are different brands.
     
    Patricia & Maki (GA) likes this.
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Skip no matter what.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    When in doubt its best to skip when you see a test under 40. I am confused though about last night. You told us she was 191 and asked if you should shoot. You were not able to update the ss. Now looking at your ss that was +9. You can’t call a +9 a PMPS. It has to be right before you shoot. Maki could have dropped a lot lower in that 3 hour time period. It’s very important going forward if any insulin is being considered that a test be done prior to EVERY shot. It’s also essential that no food be given two hours before. The same holds for amps.
     
  23. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Elise, I will reread this several times today to "get it". Thank you for specifics.
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ask me questions as you have them. I don’t mind if you keep asking. I want to help get Maki OTJ. I hope you are feeling better. :bighug:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  25. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    PMPS 225
    Fed and shoot .5U, correct?
     
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes.if you can monitor and or feee.
     
    Patricia & Maki (GA) likes this.
  27. Patricia & Maki (GA)

    Patricia & Maki (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    PMPS +2 239. Acting happy.
     
    tiffmaxee and Bandit's Mom like this.

Share This Page