2/2 Max AMPS 352~+4 185~+6 87~PMPS 438

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Good Morning and Happy Ground Hogs Day

I'm not too happy with the 352 AMPS. Guess it is better than starting out red and considering he had a nice day in yellows with the decrease, I shall not complain yet.
Max had 287 at +4 PMPS last night so I decided to get to bed at a decent time. Maybe he went a bit blue by +6 but I just couldn't wake to check. Hoping for some nicer movement
today.

Curious. If this dose is not bringing him back to blues and greens does he get increased
again? I do not understand the impact of movingdoses down and up and down.

WCR: Very present in the house. Meowing a lot and very busy wandering around.
His Grandpa brought lots of presents for him from Florida last night. We got the 5 meal feeder, a Feliaway diffuser for the kitchen so he doesn't do peepe there and a whole bottle of cat attract litter sprinkles. Do you think we have evrything covered, lol.
The only strange thing is that Max did not finish his breffy this morning. Same food, stange!

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

All I can say is that Max is doing well, and wait it out to see how this dose holds, u know?

Hope u have a good day!!
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

Randi,
I know squat about dose lowering - hey, I am thinking that Shadoe knows only one direction: up! haha_smiley
But anyways, I am sure that there must be a fair amount of adjusting going on. If you are getting less juice, that has to result in some sort of reaction. Maybe look at some ss for others and see how their decreases went. I would naturally expect a bit higher number initially because increases make numbers go down, so if you decrease, then the numbers may just say whoa! where's my juice? then go up and then settle down again.
Then again, what do I know? haha_smiley

Moving on ... the feeder! YAY!
I put in the batteries and set some times, then let it turn so that Shadoe could get used to the sound.
All the presents! Max must think that Santa lives in Florida!

Have a great day and Shadoe hopes Max's numbers get back to nice colors real quick
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

Sounds like Max has a great grandpa! I know nothing of decreases, either, so I can't help you there! I'm with Gayle - we only go up! :YMSIGH: I've seen other kitties get a decrease and it not hold...they go back up. I think some kitties go up and down before settling in at the right dose. Best of luck - just see how it plays out and don't be too discouraged if you have to go back up.
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

You would go up again if this dose isn't working..you go back to the last effective dose....
(sometimes people just fatten the dose too instead of going up the .25u..it all depends...
just wondering how Max is doing in the kitchen lately...has he been have accidents? Haven't really seen
anything about that lately...
That's so nice that Grandpa brought all those nice gifts....isn't that great?
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I know squat about dose lowering - hey, I am thinking that Shadoe knows only one direction: up!
I know, Gayle, I know :cry: We will get there. I'll play around with the feedre andf see
what the reaction is. Might be difficult with the 3 cats though. I will need to figure that one out.
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
just wondering how Max is doing in the kitchen lately...has he been have accidents? Haven't really seen
anything about that lately...
That's so nice that Grandpa brought all those nice gifts....isn't that great?
So far since I cleaned everything, set up a new litter in my dining room I have seen him
go there and not the kitchen. I did catch him a few times still sniffing the floor but no accidents yet. I have to put those febreeze towels back down just in cse.
Yeah, dad has a soft spot for Max. He always sits on his lap when he comes to the house.
Sent my parents running to Petsmart. :lol:
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

Randi, all I know is that after a dose change, Basil seems to give us his strangest numbers a couple of days after the change. THEN, he levels out.
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

RANDI!!! Being an up & down dose cat as Moonie is, I have looked at your SS--Dosing is done by the Nadir Number, not the preshot number!
Max seems to be doing better--Look at your ss from 2 months ago!
When a cat hits a number in the 50's for a newbie, 40's for an oldie, a dose reduction is indicated--This number usually occurs during their cycle, near nadir, or getting close to it..
Max hit a number low enough--Lowering a dose Must be held for 6 cycles=3 days--
I find that Moonie waits till the very last millisecond of the 6th cycle to come down on a new dose..You need to wait it out & see what happens.
Sometimes you need to go up the dose, to come back down..Hope you see results today!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

Fingers and paws crossed you see some action on the new dose today. I can't offer you any advice on that because MY Max has always been a pretty flat cat.
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

You said something in Shadow's condo about the harpoons...which are you using...the shorties?
I was disappointed to only find the 29gauge since I had used the 31g short needles...
It took some getting used to but Shadow doesn't seem to notice too much now at all. (the longer needle does keep the smell of the insulin on it too so I noticed that a lot in the beginning....and I know I hadn't given a fur shot...

Not sure if it has made a difference after the moon crazies, but I have them and will keep on using them. I had read in Brenda & Morris' condo that Jojo thought they were more effective. So I decided to try them....( I will try almost anything... :lol: )
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
You said something in Shadow's condo about the harpoons...which are you using...the shorties?

Yup, I'm using the shorties. That's what I was told when I was a newbie, lol. Now maybe I have graduated to midbie.
Are they really long? I can see actually being able to get the insulin nice into the tent but I'd be afraid of going right through but I do have to say I don't love them this short.
I just thought maybe, maybe, all this harppon talk from Pat and Shadow's numbers have been nice. I'm going to compare mine to the u-40's (don't worry I wont use them). I'm just going to compare the needle length.
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

Considering the outstanding selection of syringes available in Canada (hmmmmm hmmmmm), you are likely using the shorties, which are the same shorties as I was using... and they are tiny. As a little note, I was once told by someone on this board to 'count' one-kitty-two-kitty-three-kitty as I am pressing the plunger due to the tiny gauge of the needle (vs shoot and run). Apparently, it gives the insulin a touch more time to exit the syringe properly..... now, I don't know if it's gospel, but it worked for me.

Other note re: Max's dose. Look at the progress since early December! You will have to wait for the rebound to clear to see whether this dose is sticking (72 hours I think). It's good that you had some bloo today... Max is a fast learner. Ususally, just when you think... oh I should increase... bam.... some greenage.... just to contradict you!

You are doing well!
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352~+4 185~+6 87

Helene & Tizon said:
Other note re: Max's dose. Look at the progress since early December! You will have to wait for the rebound to clear to see whether this dose is sticking (72 hours I think). It's good that you had some bloo today... Max is a fast learner. Ususally, just when you think... oh I should increase... bam.... some greenage.... just to contradict you!

Thanks for the syringe advice Helene.
Just checked his ss and we have green. Looks like he is learning to clear rebound quickly.
He isbut now grooming himself. Not a care in the world. DPS gave 2 tsp of LC, whcih he was not interested in and will check in 30 to see what direction he is going.
Oh happy Day.
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352~+4 185~+6 87

Can you hear the sound of a healing pancreas? Cos that's where I think you boy is going....
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352~+4 185~+6 87

Helene & Tizon said:
Can you hear the sound of a healing pancreas? Cos that's where I think you boy is going....

Could that be true?? I think he has been diabetic for so long that I figured those pancreas
would never work again.
The fact that he is showing green so quickly on this dose decrease is really good right?
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352

WOW....look at Max this afternoon!!!!! Yay!!!

I just compared to my U40 and they are the same gauge and everything.
I bought the Reli-On 3/10ml 29G 12.7mm 1/2"

I got used to the short ones and I really liked them. Then decided to try something new. (after reading what Jojo said)
I am wondering if the side you shot on matters. It might be my imagination, but I think he gets better insulin action
when I shoot on the left side.
Should probably do some research and document it....as if we don't have enough things on our SS...but I read somewhere from someone..sorry...that her husband shot in the flank and she was shooting around the scruff area and when she did the shots, the insulin seemed to be more effective on her particular kitty.

All this is fine and interesting, but when you really think about all the variables, it could drive you crazy. I think Shadow is affected by the moon phases if there is something unusual....like the closest full moon to the earth or the new moon when there is a partial eclipse. Then, there is the bounces that may or may not have to be figured in. And how many days on one dose before noticing any changes. BGs are not a constant and the variables are numerous. Really challenging, eh? :-D
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352~+4 185~+6 87

I was looking for an arrow smilie that pointed UP and that is where you should go!
Just look back at your initial post on that amps - just like they said, look instead close to nadir, and put those sometimes nasty amps/pmps out of the way for a bit.

Max, you are looking so handsome in those colors; you are ready for the party already for Shadow!

I hope the rest of the day continues in this exciting fashion for you and Max.
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352~+4 185~+6 87

looks good Randi!! Mr Pancreass coming out for a little workout!! flip_cat

wish we could make a pancreass smiley :lol:
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352~+4 185~+6 87

Looks like Max is still seeing those Blues and Greens. Way to go Max, much better than the pink and red. Keep those greens and blues coming.
 
Ouch
I hope Max didn't hurt his sweet little head when he bounced to the ceiling.
When I saw him go green this afternoon I said, there goes sleep tonight because if he is
green during the day which he never is, what is going to happen tonight.
I have another 1 hours to see a +3 so that hopefully will give me an indication where he is going (I hope)
Cracked open a tin of EVO 95% chicken and turkey to see if I could get him to eat it and maybe get better results, but civvie sister nudged him out of the plate.
Oh well, we will try it for breakfast.
 
I think Max gets the rainbow kitty of the day award! (Gabby was a previous award winner so we like the company!)

If you had any doubt about Max reading his condo, you now know that he does. Threaten a dose change and you see blues and greens!!!
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I think Max gets the rainbow kitty of the day award! (Gabby was a previous award winner so we like the company!)

Wow, I missed that. Max's covered all of the colours. How pretty.
He is such a good boy tonight keeping us company in the office.
I am still surprised over his blue and green today.
 
Wow Max! You were a busy boy today. Now be a busy boy tonight (not pj party busy, ok?) and start heading down!
 
Amy and Six said:
Wow Max! You were a busy boy today. Now be a busy boy tonight (not pj party busy, ok?) and start heading down!

Oh you so read my mind Amy. I'd like to see him come down but not plummet 400 points within 6 hours. Yikes,
Very interesting though. He has not stopped grooming, cleaning his claws, walking around and
just totally socially. I think I'm a bit nervous to see where heis +3 will be.
 
Re: 2/2 Max AMPS 352~+4 185~+6 87

Ronnie & Luna said:
wish we could make a pancreass smiley :lol:

focus on the organ part.... I'm thinking that would be like the full moon smiley! :lol:

I agree that Max gets the rainbow kitty award today!
Sorry about the rubber kitty... I hope it clears soon... perhaps tonight will be S-A-S day.... yeah, I know the last time I said that it didn't last very long... but that's a good thing! :mrgreen:
 
verra good sign that Max hit green again after the dosecrease. :mrgreen:

Jojo made me switch Lucy to long needles after a while, but in her case it's because she's fat (shhhhh!). It did seem to make a difference, I think maybe the insulin just wasn't all getting through the fat layer before. I kind of liked the extra thickness of the needle, too, because I could feel it pop through the skin so I knew it went in.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
verra good sign that Max hit green again after the dosecrease.

Jojo made me switch Lucy to long needles after a while, but in her case it's because she's fat (shhhhh!). It did seem to make a difference, I think maybe the insulin just wasn't all getting through the fat layer before. I kind of liked the extra thickness of the needle, too, because I could feel it pop through the skin so I knew it went in.

Well you really helped us get through those nights Libby so a thanks goes out to you!!

At 18.5lbs, you think Max is skinny? :lol:
The funny thing is he is not round fat, just big.
I have a pretty big stock of the short needles that I was able to get while in the states.
I guess I can order some long ones and check it out. You never know. I just feel like I'm not getting good shots but obviuosly I am doing something write because he is responding.
Maybe it could be better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top