2/9 Dillan PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52 +3 52 +5 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dillan420

Member
Good Morning Everyone,
Starting the new morning schedule with Dillan's AMPS at 113. Dillian is sooo talkative this morning so he must be feeling good, we'll continue with the 0.25 of a unit and see how it goes early on and then hopefully the GF will be able to get us some after I take off. Thanks everyone.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5508
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113

Good morning!

does Jodi know your feeding routine as u were getting the lower number lately?
If anything, please have her check at +2 or +3 to start.

Another good number, have a good day!
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113

I'll be here for another hour and a bit so I will see his biggest drop and get her all set up. :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88

His number is coming down again almost just like last night but a half an hour faster
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59

Number is still dropping out I fed a 1/8 of a can (5.5 OZ) chunk of LC and a teaspoon or so of HC Gravy on top before I left. Jodi should be giving me a +2.5 soon.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59

Dillan doesn't mess around, does he? He gets right into those green numbers. I hope he surfs some nice greens today! :smile:
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50

Yeah I hope he gains control of his numbers soon. I'm almost thinking that his dose is still too high because his shed should have released what he needed to yesterday from his shed so it should be to where it needs to be with the 0.25 dose yesterday (N/S yesterday morning). Now this morning he is dropping fast and I think if we didn't intervene he would have hit the 40s. Any feedback about this? I know my dose has changed dramatically lately but what does everybody think?

New number +2.0 50 getting Jodi to feed 1 heaping teaspoon of HC Food/Gravy (not really eating because he must be full from breakfast). Since he is not eating I got her to give him 2 teaspoons of HC gravy on the side and he is licking it up.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50

it would be great if Jodi could catch it with a test...u can still give food here - u know the routine!

He is doing very well, good kitty!
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50

Yep I'm feeding food right now (see above) but I'm going to try and keep his numbers in the safer area then below 50. Dillan isn't co-operating very much this morning with eating or ear pricks.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50

Mike,

I see your confusion about dose too high and I tried to explain it the other day but I'll try to do a better job of it.

First off, this cat has already earned a reduction to .1 tonight IMO. The 50 is early enough in cycle that you know a 40 is coming.

This is NOT like other cats coming OTJ, where we'd try and "feather" it down, supporting the pancreas, but allowing it to try and work on its own. Dillan has been on a freight train to diet controlled since you took the dry food away and the whole time since the reductions started have been a delicate balancing act of continuing the insulin so there is no backslide, and reducing it as quickly as fast as possible to avoid danger zones. Where the dose was too high was back in the 2u area where there was still dry food present. The shed was overfull when the food came away and we've been playing catchup ever since. So this is not a dose too high situation. Does that make sense? ANY dose is going to be too high for him for more than a couple cycles because his pancreas is pretty much functioning on its own and he's got a very good shed going. You have a very rare situation, this is not the way *most* cats come off the juice, but it happens.

Now, get your HC ready and see if you can talk Jodi into testing. If you can't, make sure there is NOTHING except HC put out for him today ok?
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50

Thanks Carolyn, I understand. Do you think that even with the 0.1 unit dose that he will approach 40's? Jodi is at home trying to get a sample but she can not get it and she has poked many several times with no results. I told her to give him some more HC gravy because it is the only thing he will take right now he won't eat his HC food. What do you think I should do?
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50

try not to overload on the gravy, little bits at a time, is Dillan reallly bugging for food?

could mean a bit of lowering...if Jodi can take a short breather, refocus, and try her best to grab a test, that would be very good.

it's funny cuz, often times, u gotta do the food dance, kitty wont eat the food, so u top it with a bit of gravy, back and forth like that - boy those were the days.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50 *Advice Please*

Yeah the HC food is covered in gravy and he doesn't want it, I got her to try a different type of HC food so maybe he will eat this instead.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50 *Advice Please*

Does Dillan have a tendency to feed lows?

Could try some karo/honey on a couple morsels food.It will raise quick but doesn't last long.

I agree with Carolyn, your next shot should be .1u (you wouldn't have to worry about low numbers as kitties can't hypo on a .1u dose, just not enough insulin)
Alot of these numbers are down to Dillan, not the insulin-Jodi will be relieved I'm sure! :mrgreen:

Notha thought-licking gravy of fingers-some kities like that too.

As a last resort and Dillan starts becomeing lethargic for example (hopefully you printed out the hypo signs list?)that Jodi sees, she could then actually rub karo/honey on his mouth-kitties don't like feeling dirty so will lick their lips (like we do with donuts!).

Dashing out door. Hopefully Carolyn is around if you need anything else.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50 *Advice Please*

Jodi may need to try to 'squeeze' out the gravy from the can. I hope you've got a few can's stockpiled if Dillan isn't all that hungry and won't eat the solids. The solids aren't where the carbs are, anyway.

Does Jodi test on the same ear that you usually do? One ear often bleeds more easily than the other.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50 *Advice Please*

Paw pads are a good place to test too. If she's having trouble with the ears, and she's game, have her try a paw.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50 *Advice Please*

this is such a tiny dose. i wouldn't be worried about a symptomatic hypo, but it's a good idea to get him to eat. someone mentioned kitties liking to lick gravy off your fingers... it's a method that works well around here. there's also some people food kitties like to lick like ice cream or yogurt. does dillan like cheese? parmesan cheese sprinkled on food can be enticing for some kitties. making his food "stinkier" by warming the food in the microwave may help. be creative. think about some of the foods he liked to eat before being diagnosed with diabetes.

another method which works around here... i make a tiny meatball of food and place it on the roof of kitty's mouth with my index finger... scraping the food off my finger using those little teeth in the front top center of kitty's mouth. i use my other hand to tilt kitty's head back slightly to prevent kitty from spitting the food out.

jodi, you can do this. :-D
it won't be long before dillan will be OTJ!
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50 *Advice Please*

Hello everyone thanks for the advice I'm going to leave work and go do a BG test to make sure where his levels are. Sorry I took so long to get back to everyone I was in a meeting at work. We have a type of pouched food "Whiskas" that has tons of gravy so it will be easy to just feed this if his numbers are low. I test on both ears switching it up each test and I told Jodi which part of the ears bleed better then the others, different sides on the two different ears, don't know why its just how it is :smile: Dillan will lick the gravy right from a plate so it will not be a problem to feed him that. Thanks for all of the suggestions and I will let everyone know once I have the test done, I'm expecting it to be up *crossing fingers*

Oh yeah I forgot to say that there are no Hypo signs as of right now and I've told Jodi what to look for. I should be there in time to get a +6.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50 +6.0 108

The test was a little high because of all of the HC but the main thing is that he was in good shape. He even started to eat food once I was there for some reason lol :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +6.0 108 PMPS 95

Good PMPS number especially with all of the HC we fed him this morning when we had our crisis. First dose of 0.1 units, its hard to tell that you even inject anything :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +6.0 108 PMPS 95

congrats on the dosecrease! That's a tough one, you can't tell if the syringe moved or not. :lol:
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +6.0 108 PMPS 95 +1.75 50

So I only injected 0.1 and now I have a +1.75 at 50. Do I not feed him for this because hypo attack can not happen from a 0.1 unit dose?
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +6.0 108 PMPS 95 +1.75 50*Advice Please*

I would feed him a little low carb food to help him surf. Test again in 30 minutes to see if that bumped him up (if not, then might as well break out the HC).
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +6.0 108 PMPS 95 +1.75 50*Advice Please*

Ok he isn't liking the LC because he has had so much HC lately so I'm going to put some gravy on it :smile: He just likes being down by 40 lately
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +6.0 108 PMPS 95 +1.75 50*Advice Please*

The carbs are in the gravy..If you can just get him to lick the HC gravy this will help bring him up..
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52

Dillan is starting to come back up again just a little bit but hey its upwards. :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52

Dillan has really kept you and Jodi on your toes today! That .1 dose is fun to measure, isn't it? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52

Yeah I think he is just doing this for he can have some more HC food. When I gave him his normal LC watered down he just ate for 30 secs or so and then left it alone until I put some gravy on it :cool:

Yeah .1 was definitely hard to measure but if anything I gave a little less just because his earlier low numbers. The only SS that I have seen that is close to mine for reduced doses is yours and Mally's
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52

hm 45pt drop in 2 hours. if you hadn't fed HC I wonder if he'd have kept right on going down.. wanna check with Jill about this before I commit to having an opinion. :razz: I'm a high doser so this stuff is not in my bag-o-tricks every day LOL

Dillan sure is manipulative isn't he? LOL
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52

Yeah, once Mally got off the ear drops with steroids in them there was no stopping her. She blew through the decreases like crazy and had me biting my nails a few times with some of her numbers.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52

Did you feed Mally wet food even before she had diabetes? Sounds good Carolyn just post when you know, thanks for your help. I'll be taking a +3 soon and I haven't fed him anything since +1.75
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52

My cats were fed mostly dry food with a bit of canned food in the evenings. From the day Mally was diagnosed, all of the cats were switched to canned food only. The hardest thing on them was taking away the treats they loved. But, it didn't take long for them to develop a taste for the freeze dried chicken and now they really gobble that up when they get it. I was really lucky that I had no problem switching all of the cats to strictly canned food.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52

Yeah Dillan didn't have any problems switching either he thought it was best thing ever, well at least until he got to taste HC :o But I'm going to try reducing the amount of water in his food for its a little more like food instead of soup :lol:
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52

I add water to the wet food too. I try not to make it too soupy because two of my cats use their paws to eat and they really make a mess. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52 +3 52

Now what kind of cat likes to surf in the 50's????? :lol:

I've never seen any cats eat with their paws before, that must make quite the mess :lol: :-D :lol:
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52 +3 52

Should I just let him surf here or should I give him some food? It is coming up to the point in his cycle where he should start trending up
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52 +3 52

Ok Mike.. wanna start your OTJ trial in the morning? ;-) If it doesn't work, we can always put him right back on it.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52 +3 52

Sounds good to me I'll try to keep his food intake low tonight for he can have a good start :razz: Woo Hoo :RAHCAT bcatrun_gif Dillan is joining the current OTJ club with Mally and Maximus :-D

How much should I test during the OTJ trial and what shows a fail when we go above 100 for one test or when he actually stays in the 100s and doesn't come down for a couple days?
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52 +3 52

Whoo hoo for Dillan! :mrgreen: Webber, Paige's cat, is also starting his OTJ trial tomorrow too so Dillan will have another OTJ buddy.

Congrats, Mike, Jodi & Dillan! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52 +3 52

don't worry about tonight's food.. if his pancreas is working as it should, it will take care of it.. and if he starts to go low, you will need that food.

test every amps and pmps.. you may well find occasional numbers over 100.. up to 120. Don't panic, just retest a few hours later.
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52 +3 52

Congrats Mike, Jodi and Dillan, a very lucky kitty. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 PMPS 95 +1.75 50 +2.25 52 +3 52

Thanks everyone. I just wish that other people that have been at it for a year could get on this trial. I can definitely feel for those people that have been trying to regulate, its no easy process but I definitely got a feel for what people in LL go through on a day to day basis.

I couldn't have gotten to this stage without everyone in Lantus Land helping me everyday you are all truly angels and guardians of all the diabetic kitties out there.

Jodi wanted to say that she appreciates everything that you have done for us and that we couldn't have done it without all of you.

I will be making a donation to felinediabetes.com to try and contribute my "two cents" to the website for it can keep on helping all of the diabetic kitties out there.

Thanks so much everyone,
Mike, Jodi and Dillan (OTJ -8 hours :lol: )

Oh yeah I was going to tell you. Jodi went in to the vet today to get some more Lantus from them (only purchased it there because we figured we might not need much more, never thought it was going to be this small of an amount used :lol: ) and they couldn't believe that we were reducing the dose and changing the food and everything they were shocked. Once again this wouldn't have been possible with out all of you. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top