Re: 2/9 Dillan AMPS 113 +1 88 +1.6 59 +2.0 50
Mike,
I see your confusion about dose too high and I tried to explain it the other day but I'll try to do a better job of it.
First off, this cat has already earned a reduction to .1 tonight IMO. The 50 is early enough in cycle that you know a 40 is coming.
This is NOT like other cats coming OTJ, where we'd try and "feather" it down, supporting the pancreas, but allowing it to try and work on its own. Dillan has been on a freight train to diet controlled since you took the dry food away and the whole time since the reductions started have been a delicate balancing act of continuing the insulin so there is no backslide, and reducing it as quickly as fast as possible to avoid danger zones. Where the dose was too high was back in the 2u area where there was still dry food present. The shed was overfull when the food came away and we've been playing catchup ever since. So this is not a dose too high situation. Does that make sense? ANY dose is going to be too high for him for more than a couple cycles because his pancreas is pretty much functioning on its own and he's got a very good shed going. You have a very rare situation, this is not the way *most* cats come off the juice, but it happens.
Now, get your HC ready and see if you can talk Jodi into testing. If you can't, make sure there is NOTHING except HC put out for him today ok?