20/4 Mauer AMPS 83, +1 108, +3 88, +4 68, +5 63, +6 65, +7 63, +8 70, +9 59, +9.5 76

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by SashaV, Apr 20, 2021.

  1. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm sorry about your grandmother. I hope she doesn't get really sick and no one else tests positive. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
    I hope Mauer surfs safely today.
     
    SashaV likes this.
  3. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Thanks Carla.:bighug::bighug:
    We're still hoping it's a false positive.
     
  4. Hercule's mum

    Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    This dose seems to be working really well for Mauer! Nice and flat. very jealous :)

    Hope is a false positive! I take it she does not have any symptoms, then?
     
    Marina & Chico and SashaV like this.
  5. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Praying you and your Mom don't get sick. Also, praying for your grandmother. I hope she will be okay.
     
  6. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'm jealous of Hercs' low dose :p:D

    No symptoms. She wanted to go to her hairdresser and we have a corona passport so it was just routine...
    She was very surprised and it required some beers. My grandmother doesn't drink beers unless someone dies or get pregnant :eek:
     
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh, I am sorry that your grandmother tested positive for COVID. I hope she will not become very ill and will recover quickly. Does this mean you all are quarantining?
     
  8. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Thanks Summer :bighug:
    At least we have one day left with awesome weather! Already got my first sun burn... and an allergic reaction. Lovely :p
     
    Summer and Susie (GA) likes this.
  9. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What is a corona passport?
     
  10. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Thanks Suzanne :bighug:
    No, my mom is in quarantine since she was with my grandmother the day before the positive test. I'm free until and if my mom tests positive. It's stupid, but I'll stay at home as much as possible and avoiding others.
     
    Deb & Wink and Suzanne & Darcy like this.
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Wow. I've been going to the hair salon every 6 weeks or so since the end of April 2020 (as soon as they rescinded the total lockdown).
     
  12. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    An electronic passport showing you're vaccinated, either first or done with shots. If not, you'll need a negative test that's less than 48 hours old before you can go out dining, to the hairdresser and such. The passport shows you're testing and status. If one has tested positive in the last 180 days, it counts as being vaccinated and doesn't require a test.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hope it’s a false positive and that if she has it a mild case and that you and your mom don’t get Covid. Are all of you vaccinated?

    I was hoping that you would shoot but thought you had skipped last night. :D
     
  14. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Only my grandfather has gotten both. Grandmother one dose. None of us other then them is vaccinated :arghh:
    I waited until I saw a rise. Had decided on skipping, but I felt quilty :oops:
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You know what to do and how to manage him. While I was glad to see you did shoot, you know when you have reached your limit. :):D
     
  16. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'm way past my limit.... sleep wise.
     
  17. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Grandmother is NEGATIVE! :D
    What a relief!!!!
     
  18. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'm feeding every hour just to make sure she doesn't dip. I can't be gone longer than an hour. Five more days like these and she will have earned a reduction?
     
  19. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Stay flat, Mauer. Don't dip.
     
  20. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    So happy to hear your grandmother is negative, Sasha! Looks like you need some sleep unless you have help with all the nigh time testing. Stay safe.
     
    SashaV and Suzanne & Darcy like this.
  21. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I don't have any help, it's just me :oops:
     
  22. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    It is just me too. I don't understand how anyone can test all day, all night and get any rest. Bless you for your commitment to Mauer. I think in the evening I will feed a higher carb food so I won't have to worry about more than two test unless Sus shows a drop that is concerning.
     
  23. Marina & Chico

    Marina & Chico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    Great for your grandmother’s false positive (party)

    Mauer is doing great!! This is the longest she has been in such nice green stable values :cat: very happy you shot yesterday you must give yourself a loot of credit for the effort :bighug::bighug:
     
    SashaV likes this.
  24. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    And she keeps dropping without food :banghead:
    I know this is healing and good and all that stuff, but it's frustrating she just won't stay put :arghh:
    I do not want a failed reduction, I do not want to cheat and let her dip just because I want a reduction, and I feel like failing her if I skip. Feels like I'm running out of energy :(
    I need a vacation from my life..
    How am I supposed to get comfortable with her being low green, when I know she'd drop if I didn't feed every hour?
    She's not seeking food, when I go to bed she goes to the bathroom and sleeps there until I get up. Unless I put the food down within her reach, from where she's sleeping she doesn't eat... if she doesn't eat, she go below 50 in no time.
    Frustrating!!

    @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee any ideas?
     
    Summer and Susie (GA) likes this.
  25. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You can do what I did occasionally. I would take a "temporary reduction for sleep" for a couple days, and more importantly the nights. Especially if Neko was threatening to earn a reduction. Then once I had recovered with more sleep, or the numbers soared, I'd increase back. Occasionally the unearned reduction held. The take away I want you to get from this - we can't be slaves to FD. More importantly, you have to be well enough first, in order for you to take care of Mauer. :bighug:

    Great news about your grandmother's retest! I would have thought the one shot would made a difference.
     
  26. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Thank you so much WenWen :bighug:

    I'm leaning towards skipping in total, so no testing would be needed. I don't know what her numbers would look like, even if I just reduced 25-50%, so I wouldn't be able to sleep through anyway :oops:

    I would never have thought getting one full night of sleep would mean this much.
    Before this I would be cranky, bad company if I had a bad night with less sleep. Now I'm up at least once, rarely once... but still :p and no one can tell! It's like my body is adapting to the circumstances :woot:

    I think she's chasing a reduction, and before I know it she'll plummet and demand it. It kinda scares me... it's inevitable... going to happen no matter what. :nailbiting:

    The one shot should give SOME protection. On the other hand, it could also be the vaccine making antibodies? I don't know. But it feels like we've dodged a bullet!

    Now I might as well stay up the last 12 minutes to get a +1 :woot:
     
    Deb & Wink and Suzanne & Darcy like this.
  27. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    103 +1!
    I'm taking 3 hours and doing a +4.

    I hardly ever use the time anymore. Everything is just +1, +5. :oops:
     
  28. Hercule's mum

    Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    I think you are safe to go to sleep. She's gone up, she hasn't been diving. Get some rest! :bighug:
     
  29. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Wendy, I am curious. I thought with TR there would be no exceptions. I'm so glad to hear that there are exceptions for those folks who know their kitties well and need to adjust to their lives and to getting some sleep.
     
  30. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    52+5
    And she's been eating 17% for five hours
     
  31. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    It's not recommended to modify TR as a protocol, but skipping shots is encouraged if it's necessary for the safety of the cat and the well-being of the caregiver. If a CG hasn't slept for weeks like our dear Sasha here or if any CG isn't able to monitor because of work or illness, a skipped shot is often the safest thing to do for everyone. The cat might go into higher numbers but it will recover usually.
     
    Summer and Susie (GA) likes this.
  32. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    People go on holidays, and have their pet sitter give a reduced dose. People get sick, or have conditions or life events that mean they cannot monitor as normal. The number one goal over all, regardless of dosing method, is safety first. As long as ketones are not a concern, a temporary reduction is OK.
     
  33. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Weeks?
    10 months, and yeah I counted :oops:
    Almost 4 in the morning here :arghh:
     
  34. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    And if the temporary reduction holds? When will I know?
    How off would I be, if I just decided to reduce even though it isn't earned?
    It's scary I can feed 17% carbs and right after onset she hits 52.
     
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If the temporary reduction holds that becomes the new dose.
     
  36. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    When will I know?

    I'm going back to bed. Haven't fed anything until just now, she seem to be holding just fine on her own. She got some 11% carbs crappy Sheba. Ill be up again in an hour.
     
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If the bg numbers are good it becomes the new dose. If it trends up then yiu go back to tge last good dose.
     
  38. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    If you see green nadirs on the new dose, you hold it 10 cycles (unless she goes low), and see if you are getting good numbers.
     
  39. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Then I'm trying 2.5U tomorrow morning. I need more space between tests.....
    Oh well, 2 hours this time. 5.30 in the morning. She got a nice bump, and now she's talking like if her life depended on it...
     
  40. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    108 and back down to 81.
    She really wants to be green......
     

Share This Page