21/7 Fistuk AMPS 131, +2 103, +5 74, +7 63, PMPS 76, +2.5 94, +6.5 74::Anniversary

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-17-fistuk-amps-76-3-130-7-61-9-92-pmps-68-dose.292240/

Happy Sunday :)

Tomorrow is Fistuk's one year anniversary to diabetes diagnosis (tomorrow I'll be working all day and won't be able to post). I know some folks here say happy anniversary but I'm not sure I can say that wholeheartedly.

Fistuk is the sweetest boy. I'm happy he is stable, that he is happy and that we're able to keep him comfortable and supported.

The past year was a rollercoaster. The two ketone episodes that rushed us to the hospital are still a trauma I'm processing. I was so fearful for Fistuk's life. He was so so poorly. This community saved us, saved Fistuk. You were here for me when I was so desperate, when I felt so alone and had hardly any support from the vets.

I was under informed, ill informed and was treated like an idiot. This community of so many people who care deeply, gave me a way back to sovereignty over our life and Fistuk's health.

Thank you @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Gill & George @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Mikanmama @Staci & Ivy @cecile & bella @Jack & Mopem'sMom @Diane Tyler's Mom @Karen and Chispa @Nestel @Jason - Kona's Dad and many more who've been a regular support over the past year.

I couldn't have done it without you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I've never had such a deep connection with a cat. He's like a piece of my soul in four legs, wrapped in white fur. Diabetes changed him and changed our relationship and our house dynamics. I learnt about things I never knew existed, such a s cat diabetes. I also learnt about the power of community.

We sometimes get a glimpse of the old doolaly boy but the sweetness and the love emanating from his eyes has never dimmed. We are blessed that Fistuk is a full participant in his healing process- he allows us to test him as much as we need (or as much as mummy's poking addiction goes ;)), he tells us clearly which cat sitter he wants and which he doesn't, he takes all the vitamins we give him and lets us know when he goes low so we can keep him safe.

At first I was aiming to get him to remission. I'm still not giving up hope as this will take a lot of the load off. But with the mark of a year my goal is changing. The main goal will be to keep him happy and safe and for our family to have more life and more night sleep.

*

It's nearly a week since we're back from the holiday. I see that Fistuk's doing quite well with the holiday dose, 2U. But he still has a +3 bump that past numbers tell me he can do better.

The past two days been extra hot here and Fistuk was flat like a pita. I imagine this influenced his numbers. I started adding extra water to his food. Nadirs haven't been impressive in the past three days.

Any suggestion about the dose would be welcome.


Wishing you a lovely Sunday and may all the kitties be safe and happy :bighug:


In the pic: Fistuk and me in our morning routine. I sit him on my lap and sign to him and test him. He loves it so much. We have a special towel that we place only for morning and evening ritual and he knows it's for him. He comes to the kitchen for shot times, sits down and waits for me to sit him on my lap and start the insulin ceremony :kiss:

upload_2024-7-21_10-28-55.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-21_10-28-55.jpeg
    upload_2024-7-21_10-28-55.jpeg
    53.6 KB · Views: 213
Last edited:
What a beautiful wonderful post :bighug::bighug:. You are both blessed to have each other. Happy FD'versary :cat:

See what he does today, but there's room for an increase :)
Thanks, Angela :)
Looks like the 'I' hovering was enough to get him to lower numbers....

His poo this morning was rather dark and hard which teas me he was dehydrated in the past heated days.
Ill have to see how he develops from here, I guess :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,

thank you for this beautiful post! It is a bit hard for me to say "happy fd-versary" but I want to let you know, how impressed I am with what you achieved with Fistuk this last year! You are such a devoted and loving mum to him! And I loved to see how well you managed to keep Fistuk safe and comfortable while you travelled. That gave me hope as well! I wish all the best for Fistuk and you on your fd journey! May both of you be safe and well all the time. Sending big hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Shelly :bighug: you had a very difficult year but you have learned a lot and you and Fistuk are so strong now. I think you are very inspiring, the way you feel him and his needs.
I noticed that too with Bella, how bonding it is to take care of her like that. I had cats all my life but I feel closer to her than to any other, except the one I had from age 4 to 16, she was my soulmate. But I did not take care of her in the same way, of course.
Have a good day and I am sure Fistuk will keep improving and show you more of his old inside kitten.
 
What a lovely post!! If you look at the link to Gabby's Legacy (#7 in the thread) in my signature, I posted something similar at the time she crossed the Bridge. The process of having a diabetic cat does create a special bond.

With the one year point and given that you're following TR, a reminder. Your reduction point is now numbers below 40. If Fistuk is in normal numbers for a week, a reduction is also indicated.
 
Hi Shelly, this is such a beautiful post and you and Fistiuk have been on such a journey together.

You are such a wonderful Mum to he and Prince. You do a fabulous job and your hard work shows in how well he is doing.
I’m so proud of you, and I wish you only good things and good health.
It’s wonderful to see you posting and all of you doing so well:bighug::kiss::bighug:

And I love the beautiful picture of both of you :bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,

thank you for this beautiful post! It is a bit hard for me to say "happy fd-versary" but I want to let you know, how impressed I am with what you achieved with Fistuk this last year! You are such a devoted and loving mum to him! And I loved to see how well you managed to keep Fistuk safe and comfortable while you travelled. That gave me hope as well! I wish all the best for Fistuk and you on your fd journey! May both of you be safe and well all the time. Sending big hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Heike :)
I’m happy that our process is giving hope. It’s so important in this process :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Shelly :bighug: you had a very difficult year but you have learned a lot and you and Fistuk are so strong now. I think you are very inspiring, the way you feel him and his needs.
I noticed that too with Bella, how bonding it is to take care of her like that. I had cats all my life but I feel closer to her than to any other, except the one I had from age 4 to 16, she was my soulmate. But I did not take care of her in the same way, of course.
Have a good day and I am sure Fistuk will keep improving and show you more of his old inside kitten.
Thank you, Cecile :)
I too had a very strong bind with a childhood cat. She was Siamese cat and very smart. I have a scar from her scratch and I feel like she’s given me a gift for life. It’s so true that caring for a diabetic cat makes for a very special bond :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
What a lovely post!! If you look at the link to Gabby's Legacy (#7 in the thread) in my signature, I posted something similar at the time she crossed the Bridge. The process of having a diabetic cat does create a special bond.

With the one year point and given that you're following TR, a reminder. Your reduction point is now numbers below 40. If Fistuk is in normal numbers for a week, a reduction is also indicated.
Thanks, Sienna :)
I dread that day…. Your tribute to Gabby is very moving :kiss:

thanks for the info about the reduction point. I actually didn’t know that. I wonder is there’s anything else I need to know now that we’re long termers…? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I echo what others have said. It looks like he’s inching up so I’d think about 2.25. I hope you see more and more of his old ways returning. You have done a wonderful job in getting him well regulated.
Thanks for the feedback, Elise :)
I’ll see how he’s doing and come back tomorrow with the dose question. I too hope to see more of his old self but I’m teaching myself to be
I echo what others have said. It looks like he’s inching up so I’d think about 2.25. I hope you see more and more of his old ways returning. You have done a wonderful job in getting him well regulated.
Thanks, Elise :)
I will see how he's doing at PM+3 and tomorrow morning and will post here to see if an increase is in place.
I do hope to see more of his old self but I don't really count on it. His mobility has declined a lot. Today I noticed a kind of sinking in the high area, indicating the loss of muscle.
I'd be happy if that happened yet I'm focusing on loving him the way he is now.
And having him regulated I a big gift :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, this is such a beautiful post and you and Fistiuk have been on such a journey together.

You are such a wonderful Mum to he and Prince. You do a fabulous job and your hard work shows in how well he is doing.
I’m so proud of you, and I wish you only good things and good health.
It’s wonderful to see you posting and all of you doing so well:bighug::kiss::bighug:

And I love the beautiful picture of both of you :bighug:
Thanks, Staci :)
I should have also mentioned Prince and what a supportive brother he is!
I'm happy when I'm able to post here. I miss you guys and it's like something's missing when I can't find a spot of time or energy to visit here.
Thanks for being my companion in this journey :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,

What a touching post. We can certainly all relate.
And I can really appreciate how FD actually made my relationship to Mikan much much closer - such a special bond we all share.
One year since diagnosis - Let us toast to a year of special love and closeness!

Happy Sunday - have a wonderful week, Shelly! :bighug:
Kit, you brought tears to my eyes with your toast suggestion. I will def raise a glass to special love and closeness.
Thanks for being such joyful and encouraging presence in our journey :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Staci :)
I should have also mentioned Prince and what a supportive brother he is!
I'm happy when I'm able to post here. I miss you guys and it's like something's missing when I can't find a spot of time or energy to visit here.
Thanks for being my companion in this journey :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I totally understand. It takes a lot of energy and time.
I’m happy to have found your friendship in this journey as well :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
What a lovely post Shelly. :). I found the Annifursary date a good time to look back, and see the progress made. Sometimes amusing, or somewhat horrifying to read ones first few posts here. You (and Fistuk) have come a long way from initial DKA. :bighug:
 
@Nestle
What a lovely post Shelly. :). I found the Annifursary date a good time to look back, and see the progress made. Sometimes amusing, or somewhat horrifying to read ones first few posts here. You (and Fistuk) have come a long way from initial DKA. :bighug:
Thanks, Wendy :)
It's true that it's a good opportunity to reflect. And I'd like to keep that distance from DKA as far as possible LOL :banghead: I remember how frightened I was from the prospect of hypoglycaemia and now I can handle it with my eyes closed. But ketone were a nightmare that I hope we won't have to experience again. The animal clinic was very kind to allow us to pay the 5K we owe them in very small instalments. I count my blessings in this journey :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Shelly and Fistuk!
I'm sorry I missed this post. I wanna say happy anniversary, but you're right, it does feel weird.
Instead I will say happy year ahead. I hope this next year brings you what you're aiming for. I hope Fistuk remains happy safe. And that you will continue to create memories. Thanks for being a part of this wonderful community and also a part of my and Nestle's journey :cat::bighug::kiss:❤️ :cat::bighug::kiss:❤️
 
Hello Shelly and Fistuk!
I'm sorry I missed this post. I wanna say happy anniversary, but you're right, it does feel weird.
Instead I will say happy year ahead. I hope this next year brings you what you're aiming for. I hope Fistuk remains happy safe. And that you will continue to create memories. Thanks for being a part of this wonderful community and also a part of my and Nestle's journey :cat::bighug::kiss:❤️ :cat::bighug::kiss:❤️
Thank you for the beautiful message and kind words :bighug::kiss::cat::bighug:<3 :bighug:
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-17-fistuk-amps-76-3-130-7-61-9-92-pmps-68-dose.292240/

Happy Sunday :)

Tomorrow is Fistuk's one year anniversary to diabetes diagnosis (tomorrow I'll be working all day and won't be able to post). I know some folks here say happy anniversary but I'm not sure I can say that wholeheartedly.

Fistuk is the sweetest boy. I'm happy he is stable, that he is happy and that we're able to keep him comfortable and supported.

The past year was a rollercoaster. The two ketone episodes that rushed us to the hospital are still a trauma I'm processing. I was so fearful for Fistuk's life. He was so so poorly. This community saved us, saved Fistuk. You were here for me when I was so desperate, when I felt so alone and had hardly any support from the vets.

I was under informed, ill informed and was treated like an idiot. This community of so many people who care deeply, gave me a way back to sovereignty over our life and Fistuk's health.

Thank you @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Gill & George @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Mikanmama @Staci & Ivy @cecile & bella @Jack & Mopem'sMom @Diane Tyler's Mom @Karen and Chispa @Nestel @Jason - Kona's Dad and many more who've been a regular support over the past year.

I couldn't have done it without you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I've never had such a deep connection with a cat. He's like a piece of my soul in four legs, wrapped in white fur. Diabetes changed him and changed our relationship and our house dynamics. I learnt about things I never knew existed, such a s cat diabetes. I also learnt about the power of community.

We sometimes get a glimpse of the old doolaly boy but the sweetness and the love emanating from his eyes has never dimmed. We are blessed that Fistuk is a full participant in his healing process- he allows us to test him as much as we need (or as much as mummy's poking addiction goes ;)), he tells us clearly which cat sitter he wants and which he doesn't, he takes all the vitamins we give him and lets us know when he goes low so we can keep him safe.

At first I was aiming to get him to remission. I'm still not giving up hope as this will take a lot of the load off. But with the mark of a year my goal is changing. The main goal will be to keep him happy and safe and for our family to have more life and more night sleep.

*

It's nearly a week since we're back from the holiday. I see that Fistuk's doing quite well with the holiday dose, 2U. But he still has a +3 bump that past numbers tell me he can do better.

The past two days been extra hot here and Fistuk was flat like a pita. I imagine this influenced his numbers. I started adding extra water to his food. Nadirs haven't been impressive in the past three days.

Any suggestion about the dose would be welcome.


Wishing you a lovely Sunday and may all the kitties be safe and happy :bighug:


In the pic: Fistuk and me in our morning routine. I sit him on my lap and sign to him and test him. He loves it so much. We have a special towel that we place only for morning and evening ritual and he knows it's for him. He comes to the kitchen for shot times, sits down and waits for me to sit him on my lap and start the insulin ceremony :kiss:

View attachment 70595
Sorry to be late to the party but you’ve done a SUPER job, Shelly!!! With his BGs where they are, he is showing FD who’s boss. I do believe that all of us bond to our little sugar kitties really tightly. Here’s to every single beautiful day with him and may they amount years and years and years!
 
Sorry to be late to the party but you’ve done a SUPER job, Shelly!!! With his BGs where they are, he is showing FD who’s boss. I do believe that all of us bond to our little sugar kitties really tightly. Here’s to every single beautiful day with him and may they amount years and years and years!
Thank you for coming to the party, Marje :) and for your kind words and encouragement :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top