3/18 Squeaks; AMPS 112, +8 47-dose decrease?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sugarkitty15, Mar 18, 2021.

  1. Sugarkitty15

    Sugarkitty15 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
  2. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Hoping the experienced folks chime in here but if you are getting in the 40's TR states a definite reduction. TR states "If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25. Just hoping someone with Levemir experience will come on board soon. @Wendy&Neko, @Chris & China
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and Sugarkitty15 like this.
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Summarized here: Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

    Basically long term diabetics on TR earn a reduction by going below 40, which Squeaks has not yet. If a cat has a hard time holding reductions, you can use the three times on separate days between 40 and 49 method. If you think Squeaks is a cat who has a hard time holding reductions, you would reduce to 0.1 units.
     
  4. Sugarkitty15

    Sugarkitty15 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Thanks @Wendy&Neko, I think that Squeaks fits the bill of hard time holding reductions...so I will reduce to .1. Just to clarify, if he gets between 40-49 for 3 days after reduction OR goes below 40, we would be ready to try an OTJ trial??
     
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I forgot to include the other way he can earn a reductions that is mentioned in that post, a week in mostly green numbers. If he does earn another reduction, post here and we can help you decide if he's ready for a trial. For kitties with quite a bit of blue, they'll sometimes go on a drop dose first.
     
    Sugarkitty15 and Sue and Luci like this.
  6. Sugarkitty15

    Sugarkitty15 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Ok sounds good!! I feel like we’re making some progress here so fingers crossed! I appreciate everyone’s help in this forum so much!! :D
     
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Good luck. Squeaks is adorable!
     
    Sugarkitty15 likes this.
  8. Billyjoe A

    Billyjoe A Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2021
    Good luck Squeaks!
     
    Sugarkitty15 and Suzanne & Darcy like this.
  9. Sugarkitty15

    Sugarkitty15 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020

Share This Page