3/22 - Admiral Ackbar - AMPS 107; +2 57; +3 52; +4 59; +6 62

EvanVanVan

Member
Yesterday's Post: 3/21 - Admiral Ackbar - AMPS 270, +2 91, +10 105

I'm still learning on how to handle these low numbers and probably should have researched before giving him 0.5u, although according to the sticky: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! The no-shoot number for Lantus is actually 90mg/dL anyway, so I was a bit above that. I'll keep testing him hourly to see how it continues to drop.

I had a lot of links given to me in the my welcome post. What numbers are too low, assuming the cat doesn't want to eat? Or, is it preferable to test more often and try to let him ride it out rather than panic-feeding him? (if for no other reason than to see how he/his BG reacts and gather data while I'm home to monitor him on a weekend?)
 
He earned a reduction with that 67 last night and your new dose should be 0.25 if following SLGS. I’d be watching closely today with that +2…

Simply put, 50 is the take action number on a human meter. You don’t want him spending time below that.

Regarding the pre-shots, over time you’ll get more comfortable shooting low blues and eventually greens under 90.
 
He earned a reduction with that 67 last night and your new dose should be 0.25 if following SLGS. I’d be watching closely today with that +2…

Simply put, 50 is the take action number on a human meter. You don’t want him spending time below that.

Regarding the pre-shots, over time you’ll get more comfortable shooting low blues and eventually greens under 90.

Ok, thank you. Do I consider dropping his dosage down to 0.25u (which basically seems like nothing, I don't even think the plunger would move lol) from 0.5 if AMPS are low blues (and maybe, potentially, greens) and dropping his BG down so low at +2 already?

And I know I'm getting way ahead of myself and probably hoping too much, but what would remission look like? When do I try stopping injections?
 
Congrats on the reduction. You're new dose is 0.25units starting tonight.
How long since the +2? Did you feed anything after that test? If so, what % carb?
Just the question I was asking! Ty

30 minutes since the +2 test.. I mashed up the little bit of wet food left in his bowl and tried to entice him to eat, but he wasn't interested..might have to go for another Delectables treat, he enjoyed that last night
 
Ok, thank you. Do I consider dropping his dosage down to 0.25u (which basically seems like nothing, I don't even think the plunger would move lol) from 0.5 if AMPS are low blues (and maybe, potentially, greens) and dropping his BG down so low at +2 already?

And I know I'm getting way ahead of myself and probably hoping too much, but what would remission look like? When do I try stopping injections?
He’s doing really well! There are still a couple doses we can do below 0.25, so let’s see how he does with this reduction.
 
He had actually eaten some food before I went and got the Delectables. He just tested +3 52. I went and got him another can of food and he's not interested, so I put some Delectables on it and he still not interested.

He's also a little on edge from the testing. He's fine with the actual needle, but it's the massaging and tugging and pulling on his ears to get a good blood drop that he dislikes

Edit: Now he's eating one of these seared salmon entrees in gravy. It's not on the Google drive list so I don't know what the carb % is
 
Last edited:
He had actually eaten some food before I went and got the Delectables. He just tested +3 52. I went and got him another can of food and he's not interested, so I put some Delectables on it and he still not interested.

He's also a little on edge from the testing. He's fine with the actual needle, but it's the massaging and tugging and pulling on his ears to get a good blood drop that he dislikes
That 52 is still a safe BG on a human meter. Do you have any High Carb food or syrup handy (just in case) ?

Try not to give him too much food. Keep the portions that are offered to a teaspoon or two. We want AA to be a little hungry so you can monitor his cycle and feed the curve. Try again in about an hour to see where his BG is.

Here is the pic for 0.25 units:

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg


You can read more about it in this link https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
 
Beautiful.

Silly question, now that he's trending nicely... And just in general.. how often should I feed him? For his 11 years and 7 years before that with Darkness (who passed away a few months ago), they've always been free feeders.

I asked earlier and was told "smaller meals, more often" but how much should that actually be and how often assuming based on weight he should be getting two to three cans a day total?

It does seem like if I feed him his BG will spike, but I don't want to starve him either!
 
Excellent Question! Cats that were used to being free fed can do well continuing to free feed even after being dx with FD. In the beginning though, we suggest smaller more frequent meals/snacks so you can learn more about how your cat reacts to food and insulin together. Gathering the data so that you can learn onset, peak, duration, carb sensitivity, etc. We also suggest that you don't feed after nadir because that often leads to a shorter duration of the insulin. And we also suggest without holding food 2 hours before preshot UNTIL you learn how much of a food bump kitty gets.

Is AA at a good weight? If he's at his ideal weight, then you'll feed the amount of calories a day he needs to maintain it and spread that amount throughout the day. Look at the calories on the can not necessarily how many cans. Some cans are 3oz others are 5oz. You may also have two cans that are 3oz but vary in the amount of calories in that can.

Does he need to gain or lose any? Here's a good post for figuring out how much to feed and when https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/discussion-feed-kitty-as-much-as-they-want.31942/. If he's underweight, feed more. If overweight, then you'll want to lessen the total calories gradually. See this link http://catinfo.org/?link=felineobesity#How_Much_Do_I_Feed
 
Look at those greens! As a newbie you are in a really fortunate position to be having to ask questions about low numbers!
This sticky at the top has lots of info: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/
If you are like me you will need to read and reread this info, as you can't take it in all in at once.
Scroll down to the list of links near the bottom. See especially How Low is Too Low, Reductions and Why We Should Take Them etc.

This carb calculator can help you figure out what % carb food is: http://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html
That Fancy Feast one you linked to above works out to 10%, so borderline medium-carb. Gravy foods are usually higher than jelly foods.

I found a small desktop magnifier with LED light that has been a real help with those 0.25 measurements. If you are using BD brand syringes this template can help you double-check if you have the right dose: https://www.diabetes-katzen.net/insulinruler.pdf
 
Back
Top