3/25 Mouzer: PMPS 109/+1 90/+2 58/+2.5 51/+3 58/+3.5 47/+4 62/+4.5 61/+5.5 64/+6 77/+10.75 103

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Cherryl & Mouzer, Mar 25, 2021.

  1. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    LOL If he is back to 51 next test, I am tempted not to give any food and see if he drops lower :D
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2021
  2. Margaret (and Pearl)

    Margaret (and Pearl) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Do not do that. I know you are joking.
     
    Cherryl & Mouzer likes this.
  3. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Thinking on your additional test mention ...
    I am going to try to hold his ear with blood from first test and use that blood for another test, that way no second prick.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  4. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    pmps +3.5 47 1tsp hc <<<reduction!!!
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  5. Margaret (and Pearl)

    Margaret (and Pearl) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    When are you testing again?
     
  6. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    I am doing every 30 minutes unless someone tells me I need a sooner test than that.
    Next planned test is 11pm EST.
     
  7. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Congrats! Now you just have to make it through tonight. :)
     
  8. Margaret (and Pearl)

    Margaret (and Pearl) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Let’s see what Katherine says I would test at 20 min now bc you do not yet know how your food is working and you say he is historically hard to pull up
     
  9. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    ahhaahahaahaahahahaaha All I can do is laugh!
    And do I need a sooner test than 30 minutes, not knowing if food is working?
     
  10. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    10 minutes either way will not change much. What percentage of HC are you feeding?
     
  11. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    20% HC
    I will wait as long as you think it is ok -- there is only nine minutes til the 30 minutes has passed.
    Mouzer is acting fine right now.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  12. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    It takes 30 mins for the food to affect the BG. If you don’t give it time and you find after 20 mins that he’s still low and give more HC, you can overdo it. Of course, he has earned a reduction so there is no reason to not give him a good helping of HC and get the numbers up.

    You are doing great, Cherryl. Lather, rinse, repeat as the saying goes. You’ve got lots of good help so I’ll bow out but just wanted to clarify that unless the BG is in the 30s, it’s best to give it 30 mins between tests.
     
  13. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    That reduction is to take him from 2.0u to 1.75u in the morning?
     
  14. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Yes and I added some to the post above so please be sure and read.

    Congrats! BTW, if he bounces up into yellow in the morning, you can test at +11 and if he’s still yellow, shoot an hour early. That will help get back on track.
     
    Cherryl & Mouzer likes this.
  15. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    I see edit and thank you and I do have to ask ...
    What is a 'good helping' of HC :D
     
  16. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    So Cherryl, I've got to head to bed soon, but let's come up with a game plan for tonight. You're going to get a +4 test. I think I would get a +4.5 and then a +5.5 and if Mouzer is well on his way up, then I would give him and you a break and call it a night. If he's still low at +4, give him two tsp HC (I think that's what Marje meant).
     
  17. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    A couple of tsp or a heaping tsp with gravy. You don’t want him to be overfull. And I am about to fall sound asleep so I don’t want to intrude here with all the great help you are getting.
     
    Cherryl & Mouzer likes this.
  18. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Thank You! And thank you for being here! Sleep Well!
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  19. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Go get some sleep! I will survive ahahahaahahaa
    Thank you and everyone else for being here! I appreciate you all so very much!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  20. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Happy to be of help, you're doing great! I always say that more than half of what happens on this board is intense psychological training for caregivers. It's hard to be told about hypoglycemia and not worry about it happening, but once you've gone through the low numbers scenario enough times, have the right tools to keep the kitty up, and collect enough data to know how your cat responds, you will find yourself panicking less.
     
  21. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Less panic will be fantastic :D
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  22. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    +4 62 1tsp lc
    +4.5 61 1tsp lc
     
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He has earned his reduction. If you'd like you can feed MC to take him up a bit more. So you can get to bed sooner rather than later!
     
  24. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    I would love to go to bed but my mind keeps telling me the longer he is green, the better the chances of remission.
    Am I wrong or is this so? Because if it is so, I will stay up and ride this out in hopes for eventual remission in the days to come.
     
  25. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Longer greens are always better in term of healing the pancreas. One can try for remission, but there's no guarantee of whether and when it will happen. Since he is new to green, you can stay up and see how this cycle plays out - any data is good data and all that. But you have to take care of yourself too - to be able to take care of your many furkids! :bighug:
     
    Cherryl & Mouzer likes this.
  26. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    His +5.5 is 64 and I gave him 2tsp MC ...
    Add 4 tablespoons of LC to that. Mouzer was hungry. He did not eat is meal time food this evening with the 1tsp at a time.
    The total PM food intake as now come out to his normal 6 tablespoons plus two teaspoons,
    which he does sometimes go into two more teaspoons above the 6 tablespoons, nearing 7 tablespoons for PM eating.
    I will call him at flat numbers now and go get some sleep.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2021
  27. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    One more test after Mouzer completed his pm intake of food and now I will get to bed ...
    pmps +6 77

    I think tonight has shown that food is helping to keep Mouzer's numbers up to where we need them.
    Just knowing this eases my mind. I hope it was the food, anyhow :)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I think you can feed and go to bed, Cherryl! He should be fine. :)
    Well done today - shot your lowest preshots - TWICE, two back to back cycles in the green, earned a reduction! Basically checked almost every box! :bighug:
     
    Cherryl & Mouzer likes this.
  29. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    I am comfy now at 100 and even 90 ... We will see about lower hahahaha
    I would stay up and continue filling boxes but I better sleep, so I can do tomorrow around this place :)
    You have a great day!!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  30. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    pmps +10 103

    I think I am in for another day even with a reduction :D
    I wonder...
     
  31. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    2 hours to AMPS or are you advancing the shot by half an hour?
     
  32. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Marje told me to test and see if he is in yellow, if he would have been in yellow, I could have moved back one hour, but he is blue lol so, I will only move back the 30 minutes. I will be at 6:30a/p est for shot today. I am fixing to go test again and be ready to give his shot. I wish he would have been in yellow, to get the move back a little further ahahaha I will be coming back shortly, with a new condo. I did just fix that to +10.75 :)
     

Share This Page