Hi, New member here
My cat has been on Caninsulin twice a day for a year. Following advice from the vet we've slowly increased her dosage, she was on 5.5 but after her most recent check up it has been increased to 6 units.
She's had a croaky cough and her breathing has become deep and wheezy. Her belly seems large, and tender when I touch it.
My cat lives with my parents so I don't have any exact numbers but think the last BG was 550.
Her feeding schedule is:
7:00 injection (fed 20 minutes before)
10:30 fed
13:30 fed
19:00 injection (fed 20 minutes before)
She's fed Felix "as good as it gets", tuna, prescription diabetic biscuits.
She's ravenous most of the time and will always go looking for my other cats food, what would be a good feeding routine with another cat? Staggered times or a timed feeder?
I was considering taking to another vet for a second opinion as she seems to be getting worse.
Will be sure to buy a BG reader, what are the recommendations?
I've been reading a lot of posts and getting more of an understanding of how to look after my cat and to work with my parents to get her stable.
My cat has been on Caninsulin twice a day for a year. Following advice from the vet we've slowly increased her dosage, she was on 5.5 but after her most recent check up it has been increased to 6 units.
She's had a croaky cough and her breathing has become deep and wheezy. Her belly seems large, and tender when I touch it.
My cat lives with my parents so I don't have any exact numbers but think the last BG was 550.
Her feeding schedule is:
7:00 injection (fed 20 minutes before)
10:30 fed
13:30 fed
19:00 injection (fed 20 minutes before)
She's fed Felix "as good as it gets", tuna, prescription diabetic biscuits.
She's ravenous most of the time and will always go looking for my other cats food, what would be a good feeding routine with another cat? Staggered times or a timed feeder?
I was considering taking to another vet for a second opinion as she seems to be getting worse.
Will be sure to buy a BG reader, what are the recommendations?
I've been reading a lot of posts and getting more of an understanding of how to look after my cat and to work with my parents to get her stable.