8/29 Kirby AMPS 174; +6 453; +8 539; PMPS 584; 581= +2.5; 634 = +3.5 Alphatrak

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Staci, Aug 29, 2020.

  1. Staci

    Staci Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2020
  2. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Kirby is a bouncy boy!

    Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3)

    Although 174 isn't "too low", his body has probably gotten used to being much higher, so even though there's no danger of a hypo, his liver still reacts like there was and releases stored sugars and hormones to bring him back up. He also dropped almost 300 points in 4 hours last night so in Kirby's case, both reason 2 and 3 are in play. It can take up to 6 cycles for those hormones to clear out again.

    Bouncing is a normal (but frustrating) part of treatment, especially at first. Usually, as they spend more and more time in normal numbers, the liver re-learns that it's OK to be there and stops over-reacting so much so the bounces won't be as high and won't last as long.

    You might try to start getting a +2 or +3 on every cycle (if you can). A lot of times those tests can almost predict what's going to happen later in the cycle. If the +2 is lower than the Pre-Shot, that's a strong indicator that you need to plan on getting more tests in later in the cycle because he might be going much lower. Also, if he's dropping quickly, you can intervene with some food to try to slow down how fast he drops.

    Hang in there!!
     
  3. Staci

    Staci Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2020
    Thanks for that information! Would you recommend leaving his dose (1.75) the same for now?
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  4. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yes...you don't make dose changes based on bounce numbers. You just have to pull up those patience pants and wait it out.
     
    Staci likes this.
  5. Staci

    Staci Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2020
    Pants pulled up!
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  6. Staci

    Staci Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2020
    Kirby is going up instead of down this evening, a few hours after his shot. very odd
     
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Not uncommon on bounce cycles for them to go up. It means he's giving you permission to go to sleep. Take it, there will be times enough he keeps you up.
     
    Staci likes this.

Share This Page