9/07 Jax - PMPS 55,+0.5 65,+1 62,+2 60,+3 84,+5 129

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by JaxBenji, Sep 7, 2020.

  1. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Yesterday

    A little return to the blues last night...and I chose sleep over an overnight test...hopefully, he'll come back down today and stay there :)

    Have a wonderful day and happy Labor Day to those in the US!
     
  2. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Nice side down last night :)

    Looks like Jax is picking up that lemon tree habit too...Get on back to the beach Jax.

    Have a great day Susanne!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  3. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    That was a quick return to the beach last night! Yay. :)
    Have a great day!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  4. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Heard! He's back on the beach for now :) Thank you for your sweet notes in the morning!

    Sure was! I thought he might come down since his bounce wasn't quite as high as last time. We shall see what today brings :bighug:
     
  5. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Hi! Jax likes to go low around PMPS. At AMPS +11, he's at 86. I think I should give him some MC to get him up a little before PMPS? Any guidance would be helpful :) thank you!
     
  6. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    So I just went ahead and gave 1t MC 15%.

    @tiffmaxee - I think I saw you online - am I on the right track? If he's still green at PMPS, feed MC for his meal?
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi. Just came on. Let me look. I’m confused. Are you at +11? If so you don’t want to feed him. Please update the ss.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  8. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I am at +11. I did update the SS...I just refreshed it and it's showing the 86 at +11.

    So guess my instincts were wrong :/ I already gave a teaspoon of MC. It's going to be an active cycle.
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ok. This is when you stall, don’t feed and see if he comes up by PMPS. Since you fed him, how off schedule can you be? Can you be an hour late?
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  10. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Okay - last time this happened, I remember someone saying to feed to keep him up. I just re-read and it was in reference to +10...whoops. Guess I'll be grabbing that one from now on...lesson learned.

    I can delay my PMPS an hour. Is there any need to test in between now and then?
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Test in an hour. Don’t feed him any more. It’s okay. There’s a big learning curve. The reason not to feed the two hours before insulin is you don’t want a food influenced preshot.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  12. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Okay - thanks :) Jax was pretty excited for a snack lol.

    I'll test one hour from the snack.
     
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You don’t need to test until PMPS in 2 hours.
     
  14. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Oh okay - Will see where he is at his adjusted PMPS.
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If he acts super hungry grab a test to make sure he’s not dropping.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  16. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Okay - he decided to take a snooze when I left him. I'll check on him in a little. If he's hungry and dropping, what's the usual plan? or depends how far he drops (if he drops...but he has a history of it...unless he's figuring out how to manage greens :)).
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Depends how low. With TR you can shoot if you can monitor as long as it takes. You can prop him up with 10% at +1 if he drops then. It will be your first Green shot perhaps. You up for it?
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  18. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Okay - i'll post where he's at :) and yes, I can monitor - and it would be my second green shot if he's still there at PMPS :) you helped me with my barely-green-first-one on 8/31.
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  20. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Sounds like you've worked out a good plan of action. Find out if he's dropping - once the food wears off. As Elise said, could be an opportunity to shoot your first green. Correction - 2nd green.

    Take a deep breathe and shoot if it's above 50...gotta start somewhere...lots of people shoot greens...it's the road to remission :)
     
    JaxBenji and tiffmaxee like this.
  21. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thanks, Sue! Yes, you are right. I was just reminding myself how flat he has been and how fast he came down from his bounce. All this newness can be stressful as you all know :) Learning lessons every day and so grateful all the reminders and help :bighug:
     
  22. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Yes, I remember it well...I was so confused! Hang in there..keep reading...and keep doing what you're doing :)
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  23. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    @tiffmaxee @Sue and Luci

    Jax is 55 at our delayed PMPS. Shoot and give MC? He's having a tablespoon of LC right now but haven't shot yet.
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We need to decide or he will drop. Feed him some mc. I’ve got others looking now.
     
  26. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020

    I shot. He's having 1t MC with a spoonful of LC. Maybe I'll give another t of MC. I'm sorry I jumped the gun. I re-read our convo and how Sue said to shoot above 50 and so I went for it. I have HC here too (20%).
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ok. Good for you. I just get a bit extra careful when it’s someone else’s cat. Give him some more mc please.
     
  28. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I will work on my patience, I promise. It's a shortcoming of mine.

    I gave another t of MC with a little more LC because he's hungry. Give another t of just MC (so 3t of MC total...plus some LC)?
     
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We need enough carbs to prevent a big drop but keep him hungry.
     
  30. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    He's will almost always eat so I think we have some room there. I think he's had about half or a little more than what he usually eats at shot time. I'm almost 30 minutes from his first scoop of MC (10 min to go). He's patiently waiting for more food but not starving.
     
  31. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Tonight looks so similar to 9/5.
     
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Okay. Good to know. You can give a little more. Get a +1 and +2. I’ll be looking.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. He just started a lower. It should be a nice flat cycle.
     
  34. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thanks - I was going to get a +0.5? or just wait for the +1. He's acting fine and I'll be with him if we wait.
     
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s up to you. I’ll never say no to testing unless a cat is all in black!
     
    Critter Mom and JaxBenji like this.
  36. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I couldn't help myself lol. 65 at +0.5. I didn't feed anything so I'll wait to feed more till +1 (he's sort of looking for more food but not being cat-annoying :)).
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    As I said I will never say don’t test.
     
    Critter Mom and JaxBenji like this.
  38. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    My two are so annoying they start meowing an hour before meals and try to trip me while I’m getting it ready. Three times a day every day. If ever one doesn’t eat or let me know the time I’m in real trouble.
     
    Critter Mom and JaxBenji like this.
  39. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Jax is pretty patient though I have to separate my kitties at meal time so Jax doesn't eat Benji's (the tabby in my pic) food. So Jax doesn't have the opportunity to annoy me when I get the food out :) Benji is my alarm clock in the mornings and knocks everything off my bedside table to demand breakfast (and every morning, I put it all back thinking the next morning will be different :p)
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  40. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I have to stand by mine while they eat. Mocha eats faster. I can’t turn my head. She’s done in less than a minute.
     
    Critter Mom and JaxBenji like this.
  41. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    +1 62

    Give t of MC(15%) and a little LC?

    PMPS 55 *2t MC (15%), 2T LC. 1t of MC (15%) about 20 min after PMPS.
    +0.5 65
    +1 62
     
  42. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    What are you going to feed ?
     
  43. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    1t of MC plus some LC?

    My MC is FF gravy lovers chicken feast (15%) and his LC is his usual FF pate + BFF 4eva (~2-3%)
     
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sounds good. :)
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  45. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    +2 60

    Rinse and repeated the same food at +1...1t MC 15% + 1T of his LC...plus ~20 peanut butter M&Ms for me :D

    Will test again at +3.
     
  46. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I like your thinking. See you in an hour. I’m going to eat dinner. Just made it.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  47. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    +3 84

    I didn't feed anything but I was planning to put the rest of his LC dinner down at some point before I go to sleep.

    Should I plan to get a +6?

    Also, does anyone watching happen to know what these PS drops mean? Usually in evening but sometimes in morning? I thought I read it could mean his depot is getting full? But Jax would still have to earn his reduction...
    ---
    PMPS 55 *2t MC (15%), 2T LC. 1t of MC (15%) about 20 min after PMPS.
    +0.5 65
    +1 62 *1t MC, 1T LC
    +2 60 *1t MC, 1T LC
    +3 84
     
  48. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Maybe you will know by +5.
     
  49. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I was debating if I could sleep or not before the next test. I probably will still be up at +5 so I'll do that.

    Think I should give any LC right now? or just give it at +5 if he's still going up?
     
  50. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Just here to answer my own question. We will make it to +5 with no food :)
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  51. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would. If he’s not dropping at +5 I think you could sleep. Wouldn’t that be easier than a +6?
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  52. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Not feeding will give you 2 hours not drop. Then you can feed and call it a night. I think he won’t be low.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  53. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I just remembered this from the other night! Thank you :) I’ll test at +5.
     
  54. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Really nice string of greens.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  55. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thank you! He’s doing great. It’s me that needs a little extra training lol. Meant to post this earlier - this is how he was waiting for dinner.
     

    Attached Files:

    Critter Mom likes this.
  56. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He’s so patient. Needs to teach mine. They are so loud and once they start won’t stop until fed. Jax is adorable. You are doing great.
     
    Critter Mom and JaxBenji like this.
  57. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    +5 129

    Gave him the rest of his LC dinner and said good job and goodnight :bighug:

    Thank you so much for your help & patience @tiffmaxee !
    --
    PMPS 55 *2t MC (15%), 2T LC. 1t of MC (15%) about 20 min after PMPS.
    +0.5 65
    +1 62 *1t MC, 1T LC
    +2 60 *1t MC, 1T LC
    +3 84
    +5 129
     
  58. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Well done you two. Good night.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.

Share This Page