9/1 Naomi AMPS skipped dose +11 108 PMPS 120 +1 109 +2 79, +3,5 78, +4 80, +5 78, +6 97

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Yanna, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Get another test in an hour. Is zofran helping at all? You might need to syringe feed her more until she feels better. Do you have a digital baby scale to weigh her? If not it’s something to buy. I know you are starting it 3 times a day today but has she had it before. Poor baby.
     
  3. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    She had it about two weeks ago, not sure if it helped it was for a couple of days if I remember well.

    Yesterday she had two doses, today two doses already plus one more later. Tanya's site says 1mg twice or three times a day.

    It's so frustrating not to get help from your vet. I can't believe i'm relying on sites and forums, on people at the other side of the world to get some help. And at the same time I'm grateful
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I don’t think that’s a big enough dose. I’d try 2 mg if your vet agrees. When Max started in it I want giving enough so he needed an appetite stimulant. Once my vet increased the dose I didn’t need the appetite stimulant. Back then it was only given twice a day. They now know the duration isn’t very long. So if 3x at 1mg doesn’t help ask your vet about an increase. It’s so hard to manage CKD plus FD plus pancreatitis. :bighug:
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2020
  5. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    My vet had told me to give 2 mg once a day. Also had given her 200ml sq fluids.
    Another thing she did is she asked me to give her the injectable form of vitamin B complex orally. And I did so. Then the flare started and she stopped eating. So, I don't know....

    I'll try 2 mg twice a day starting tomorrow.

    What about insulin? It's 120 now
     
  6. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    If I remember right, we were trying to drain the depot a little with the skip?
     
  7. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I started work, won't be home in the mornings, I skipped this morning because she's not eating well
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  8. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I'm not sure about the shot in this case. @tiffmaxee?
     
  9. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Now we are in the PM cycle
    I can stay home to monitor if u think she should have some insulin
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Will she eat? Can you syringe if necessary? She has gone up so I would shoot if you can but you might need to be home for several hours.
     
  11. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Yes, that's not a problem

    She just ate 1tbsp Sheba

    Just to confirm 3.75, is that right?
     
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The problem with twice a day zofran is it might only work to get her to eat about 30-45 minutes after dosing and will likely fade in a few hours.
     
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes.
     
  14. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020

    Will cerenia work?
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s worth a try. Some need both cerenia and zofran but ask your vet. If okay you could try twice a day zofran and once every 24 hours cerenia. But again check with your vet. I do think 200ml fluids is a lot. Hopefully it wasn’t all at once. Check to make sure the pouch is totally gone before giving more.
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Cerenia and zofran work differently.
     
  17. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Haven't started sq at home yet, but I will soon

    Vet gave her 200 ml all at once
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Are you adding the meds or any supplements to her food that might make her not want to eat it?
     
  19. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Cerenia every 24 hours.

    Pill or injection?
     
  20. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    No I pop the pills in her mouth.

    Zobaline, d manose, corn silk are given orally too.

    Sometimes I put aluminum hydroxide in her food. Not every day because I don't know how much to give and if it interacts with Zofran and supplements. Vet had told me to give 2 caps a day. Each cap is 475 mg, but I don't give that much. When I use aluminum hydroxide that would be 1 cap maximum
     
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Well, the injection works better and faster BUT IT STINGS! I gave it once to two cats and just couldn’t do it. With Max I tried. Once. I was afraid he would then run from insulin shots. If you start fluids and put it in the port I’m told it won’t sting. Or put it in the fluid pouch. Again I never tried. Call me chicken. The pills do work but at a larger dose usually. It can be dose .50-1 mg per pound I believe. Max was 17 pounds and my vet said 8 mg.
     
    Yanna likes this.
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The binder needs to be given with every meal to work so you can open the capsule and add at each meal. If you pill it you can get empty gel caps and divide it that way. It needs to mix with the phosphorus in the food to work so must be given together.
     
    Yanna likes this.
  23. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I mix it with her food but she won't eat all at at once which means every time she eats she will have some binder too. Is it OK with supplements and medications? Does it interact with them?
     
  24. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Can I ask sth?

    I see that next to the title there's a pair of glasses. Other people don't have it. Does that mean something? Also Naomi's photo is next to Alice's photo? I watched that thread yesterday. Have I done something?
     
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. It’s fine. It just binds with the phosphorus. I would giving with an antibiotic.
    As I recall no issue with supplements. Double check tanyas on antibiotics. Thi May be helpful.
    http://www.iris-kidney.com/pdf/002-...ent-recommendation-pdfs-cats_070116-final.pdf
     
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did she eat any after +1. She’s come down so get her to eat. Get a +2.
     
  27. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Just checked.
    +2 79
    Hasn't eaten since PS
    I'll try again now
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  28. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  29. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
  30. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Is she eating? It will take about 20-45 minutes for zofran to start working.

    No problem with zofran.
     
  31. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    No she's not eating

    Just gave her 2mg Zofran
     
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Can you syringe at least 10 cc please. Have honey and h.c Food on hand just in case. Offer her any food she likes. She must get food.
     
  33. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Yes, I'll try again with something different. If I have no luck I'll syringe feed her
     
  34. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    She ate 1full tbsp sheba.
    25 min after Zofran. I'll try again.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Update please. It’s very early in the cycle. If she continues to drop and won’t eat you will need to rub honey on her gums.
     
  36. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Sorry I was with Naomi
     
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Thank you. It’s very important to get her to eat small amounts every hour and test hourly. I’m glad she ate on her own.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  38. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Not on her own. I spoon feed her. I grabbed one really large spoon, I don't know what u call it, we use for the soup, and put 1tbsp food mixed with water. I have to put in front of her and hold it there . She licks, then she bites, then she turns away. I have to repeat that again again so she can finally finish it
     
  39. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Will she eat straight out of your hand?
     
  40. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Haven't tried that. It's got some water in it. I'll try that and put a pad underneath
     
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    How about nice fresh fish? Most cats love it.
     
  42. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    She loves it, she had some a few days ago, but it's bad for her kidneys, isn't it? Don't know if she would eat it now , I can buy some tomorrow
     
  43. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Some fish are high phosphorus that is true. But when insulin in on board and she's turning down food you need some go to foods she loves. If the appetite continues to be a big problem her insulin will likely need to be decreased. Her high phosphorus is one reason she feels yucky that is true. I never knew until a neighbor had kidney disease how high salmon is.
     
  44. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Do u think I should try with medications, or give up and give her fish?
     
  45. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good she didn’t drop more. The site and/or my internet are sketchy. It would be great to test hourly and offer small amounts of food until past nadir. If she surfs here you can back off. I’ll keep checking back but wanted a game plan in case we can’t communicate.
     
  46. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If the nausea medication works and you can bring down her phosphorus that would be best. You do need a few go to foods if you can find some to temp her for times like this. Remember that zofran takes about 20-45 minutes to work so space it out so it’s on board when she really needs to eat. Two times would be AMPS and PMPS. My go to foods were baby food and a few high carb ones. You could try boiling chicken and putting in a food processor or cook chicken livers. A little of that a couple times a week is good for her but not more than that.
     
    Yanna likes this.
  47. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I' m not going to bed until +5 or maybe +6. When I do I'll set the alarm like last night. I was up every hour. I only missed +10 and +11 I think
     
  48. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m hoping you won’t need to be up all night. Let’s see if we can keep her surfing and get you to bed by +5-6 and if necessary grab a +11.5. The site is super slow.
     
  49. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    No I'm wrong. Just checked. Missed some more
     
  50. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Do u think we could change the PMPS a bit earlier? It's 00:10 and in a little bit I'll do a +4.

    My PMPS used to be 18:00, but after stalling and feeding one or two afternoons it moved almost 2hrs later.
     
  51. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You need to get enough sleep. We don't want you getting sick. :bighug:
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  52. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    First day at work today and I couldn't open my eyes!
     
  53. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You might need to with to SLGS or else just be less aggressive than TR. If you get sick you can't help Yanna. Just saying......
     
  54. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    If Naomi ate well I could do TR
    5:00 and 17:00 . By the time I would go to bed I would have got at least a +7.
    It's the mornings that worry me.
    Will she be well controlled in SLGS?
     
  55. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013

    It's possible but not as much as with TR. That being said while people do it and work, I couldn't have done it while working. With her other issues you have to think about what gives both of you a decent quality of life. Just my opinion. I know some go OTJ this far out but the only thing I would have done differently was not be as aggressive with Max after a year. He still got kidney disease being well under renal threshold and never went OTJ. Again it's my personal opinion FWIW.
     
  56. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I saw your SS. Very well controlled!
    I'll skip her morning dose for a few days as long as her bg is not too high.
    I'll consider changing to the other method. I have not an option. She has to be safe
     
  57. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Again, I am not in any way trying to influence you. I just know how hard it is to manage CKD and diabetes. I wasn’t working but I did need to be helping care for my mom which of course was my number one concern.
     
  58. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I totally understand. I see it myself. Thank you.
     
  59. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    do you see any signs of another pancreatitis attack?
     
  60. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Possibly. It's like back in June when she stopped eating.

    This time started after giving her CBD. I don't know if it has to do anything with it.

    In June had started after taking the injectable B complex vitamin in the vial orally. Have u ever heard of it? To take the liquid in the vial orally when it is supposed to be injected?
     
  61. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The inappetence alone could be from pancreatitis but also from CKD. That’s the question. His phosphorus is pretty high.
     
  62. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Never!
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  63. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    fluids would help both.
    never had a cat with panc. in humans fluids are pushed.
     
  64. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Max didn’t get them until CKD. I think with his numbers daily fluids are needed too.
     
  65. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Why did my vet told me to do this?
    It was written in the vial injectable, and she told me to give 2ml orally. Naomi fought back, drooling. It had an awful smell that couldn't go out even after washing your hands, hair etc.

    I really think that caused her her flare. She was diagnosed with pancreatitis in May, but this happened when the vet ordered more exams. She had no symptoms at all, her appetite was excellent. We were surprised when the test came back positive.
     
  66. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Very possibly the cause. There is a liquid oral B complex. It tastes awful. I like pills. If injected it stings.
     
    Yanna likes this.
  67. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    We're going to the vet on Friday for tests. I'll get the supplies and start
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  68. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    When did she last eat? Has she eaten at least 3/4 of normal?
     
  69. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    After the initial purchase of supplies check the drug stores and also pharmacies on line. It might be cheaper. It is in the US at local drug stores.
     
    Yanna likes this.
  70. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    She has eaten about half of what she should have.

    But I see she's more comfortable by the way she's sleeping, and she purrs when I go near her.
     
  71. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    This is good. If she stays up without food I think you should be able to sleep in an hour. Do you have the pill form of a BComplex? You didn’t repeat the oral did you? Do you have buprenorphine or anything else for pain? When you see your vet ask for some as pancreatitis can be painful. Will that be two hours without food?

    I’d like to see her be over 120 to stop testing.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2020
  72. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I gave it 3-4 times before her flare.

    Unfortunately there is no buprenorphine accessible in Greece. We have medrol, but I think is not as safe as bup. for a CKD cat. Maybe I'm wrong here.
    I can get pills of b complex.

    She ate 10 min ago 1 tbsp kd

    My alarm is ready. It's 3:10 now. I will be up 4:30, 5:30, 6:30 then have some coffee.

    Can we do the PMPS earlier tomorrow so I will have 6-7 hours ahead of me to test and still get a sleep?
     
  73. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If she’s high enough you don’t need to get up every hour. This is crazy! Go to sleep for at least a few hours since she’s surfing and she ate
     
    Yanna and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  74. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Go to sleep!
     
  75. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I'm already at work! ;)
     
  76. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Took my notes with me to update
    Have a good night!
     
  77. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I see you skipped. I hope the medication helps Naomi and she starts eating well.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.

Share This Page