? Advice for Dak with Low Numbers (AMPS 188, +1 225)

@Wendy&Neko and everyone else would you all have any advice on insulin amount for Dak for his PM shot tonight?

We decided to go on vacation and have a pet sitter taking care of the pets, including Dak, and the pet sitter let us know this morning that his AMPS value was 188, the lowest he has been in a long time. The pet sitter did give Dak his full dose of 29 units and then checked him an hour later and his value went up to 225 (tracks as his numbers increase a little before dropping later in the day). We have asked our pet sitter to check him every 2 hours, to see what he will get to. Would you all recommend reducing his insulin amount at dinner tonight, or reduce it if he is at a certain value, BG wise for PMPS? He was extra wiggly for her and would not let the pet sitter re-test him before giving the insulin. She may have been 30 minutes to an hour late in giving his insulin also, due to sleeping in.
 
188 is a perfectly safe number. Without any other tests last night, we don't know if 188 is the lowest he got. Dak isn't used to blue - but we can celebrate that win! :cool:. Unfortunately not being used to numbers under 200 mean his body is bouncing hard. Your petsitter can stop testing until PS time now. He can get the full dose tonight. I'm guessing he'll bounce for a few days now.

How long will you be away? Typically we suggest that people reduce the dose for a petsitter if a kitty is seeing under 100. But acrocats post SRT are a special category.

If she was an hour late giving insulin, his PMPS should be only move back 1/2 hour tonight. You can move the shot 15 minutes per cycle, or 1/2 hour once per day. Tomorrow morning he could be back on schedule. Maybe that extra wiggly meant he was feeling better in blues.
 
Sounds good and thank you for the positive answer. Yeah, based on his 420 number midday already he is going ro be bouncing a good bit. We will let our petsitter know to keep the dose then. Unfortunately, we are day one into our 7 day vacation. We were excited for the blue number, but also worried as we were not there ha.
 
If he sees a mid blue or lower while you are gone, post again to see if we should lower the dose. Action can happen quickly (or slowly) post SRT.

Have a good time. Sounds like you've got a great petsitter.
 
Sounds good and will do. Yeah, she has seemed good so far (plus perks that she is a vet student and can learn more about feline diabetes first hand).
 
Update, Dak just tested at 89 and then 101 at PMPS. We told the pet sitter to skip his dose, is that the correct thing? Another question, is there a reduced insulin dose amount that you would recommend? @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Sorry, I was away yesterday. When following TR for dosing, I moved the reduction point up to 70 from 50 after Neko's SRT. It's OK you reduced, but you reduced by too much. Go down the amount you were going up which should be in the 10-15% of total dose range. At 29 units, a 2-3 unit reduction would work.
 
All good with not responding until now. We decided to play it safe/cautious with the insulin reduction for Dak, due to the pet sitter taking care of him while we are on vacation (why we chose the greater reduction amount in insulin). She is currently is not able to be at our house to frequently monitor Dak, like what we would be able to do when we are at the house.
 
Back
Top