Mimis mom
Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...e-cycle-amps-296-pmps-70.233953/#post-2617214
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-got-home-from-trip-help.234089/#post-2619020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...nes-are-1-1-pancreatitis.234088/#post-2619366
So here are the links in case anyone reading this needs reference- the first one is before issues started happening.
Ill give a brief recap- I went away for about 32 hours- I started Mimi on a "vacation dose" of .75 (was on 1.5 before, earned a reduction to 1.25 because of numbers prior to that but hadn't taken new dose yet, just lowered to .75) - and before I left she seemed fine (appetite wise)
Came home to all 3 of her feeding trays still full (this was monday 8/24)- the petsitter misunderstood what I meant when I told her about amount to leave and left double in each tray so it is possible she ate some of it but I know my girl and she would have at least devoured the first tray - it looked like it wasn't touched too much. Tested ketones and it was at 1.1
I gave her turkey slices which she did eat but not very fast- as well as some sardines which she ate slowly as well...
following morning I noticed she had eaten most if not all of the food in the autofeeder- I can't recall what I put in there I think it was her raw formula, and seemed to have most of her appetite back but still wanted to get her tested for pancreatitis, so I made a vet appointment for 4 pm that day (8/25)
Vet forced me into a fructosamine even though I declined it, and did a full blood work up, with pancreatitis testing, administered fluids and gave her a shot of anti-nausea Cerernia.
She seemed to have her appetite fully back when I came home, ate a lot, still didnt go back to raw formula because I was nervous she wouldn't be into it, until dinner time PS when she got her regular raw which she seemed to eat. Ate again at +2, but shortly after that was meowing at me as if she was still hungry- she seemed hungry PMPS and forward come to think of it, but knew a +4 would be coming soon in the feeder to just let her wait.
Heard feeder go off at 3:30 am (which it was supposed to go off at 2 am- so not sure what happened there)
either way, I forgot to shut my door so mimi wasn't in my room at the time she was out in the living room with Batman, but didnt come running for the food even though she seemed hungry before hours ago now-
I tried giving it to her with my hand which she started licking a little but quickly lost interest, so I went right for the sardines in a can and she did slurp some up and eat a little but still, not my girls usual appetite- she can ALWAYS ALWAYS eat...
So now I am here wondering what is going on- we find out the test for pancreatitis tomorrow. Maybe thats what is bothering her, but in the mean time I thought the Cerenia would have helped with the nausea.
tested ketones 8/25 at 10 pm and got .7 - haven't tested again yet. Kind of nervous to because its my last strip until amazon sends me more and also it requires so much blood if shes not feeling well I don't want to do that to her right now. I can't imagine it went up that much since then though?
Why isn't she eating? Could it be shes sick with something else? The cerenia is supposed to last 24 hours, so what is happening?
@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Chris & China (GA)
@carfurby
@Critter Mom
(I can use all the help, input and support I can get right now, something is wrong with my girl)
going back to bed for now...
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-got-home-from-trip-help.234089/#post-2619020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...nes-are-1-1-pancreatitis.234088/#post-2619366
So here are the links in case anyone reading this needs reference- the first one is before issues started happening.
Ill give a brief recap- I went away for about 32 hours- I started Mimi on a "vacation dose" of .75 (was on 1.5 before, earned a reduction to 1.25 because of numbers prior to that but hadn't taken new dose yet, just lowered to .75) - and before I left she seemed fine (appetite wise)
Came home to all 3 of her feeding trays still full (this was monday 8/24)- the petsitter misunderstood what I meant when I told her about amount to leave and left double in each tray so it is possible she ate some of it but I know my girl and she would have at least devoured the first tray - it looked like it wasn't touched too much. Tested ketones and it was at 1.1
I gave her turkey slices which she did eat but not very fast- as well as some sardines which she ate slowly as well...
following morning I noticed she had eaten most if not all of the food in the autofeeder- I can't recall what I put in there I think it was her raw formula, and seemed to have most of her appetite back but still wanted to get her tested for pancreatitis, so I made a vet appointment for 4 pm that day (8/25)
Vet forced me into a fructosamine even though I declined it, and did a full blood work up, with pancreatitis testing, administered fluids and gave her a shot of anti-nausea Cerernia.
She seemed to have her appetite fully back when I came home, ate a lot, still didnt go back to raw formula because I was nervous she wouldn't be into it, until dinner time PS when she got her regular raw which she seemed to eat. Ate again at +2, but shortly after that was meowing at me as if she was still hungry- she seemed hungry PMPS and forward come to think of it, but knew a +4 would be coming soon in the feeder to just let her wait.
Heard feeder go off at 3:30 am (which it was supposed to go off at 2 am- so not sure what happened there)
either way, I forgot to shut my door so mimi wasn't in my room at the time she was out in the living room with Batman, but didnt come running for the food even though she seemed hungry before hours ago now-
I tried giving it to her with my hand which she started licking a little but quickly lost interest, so I went right for the sardines in a can and she did slurp some up and eat a little but still, not my girls usual appetite- she can ALWAYS ALWAYS eat...
So now I am here wondering what is going on- we find out the test for pancreatitis tomorrow. Maybe thats what is bothering her, but in the mean time I thought the Cerenia would have helped with the nausea.
tested ketones 8/25 at 10 pm and got .7 - haven't tested again yet. Kind of nervous to because its my last strip until amazon sends me more and also it requires so much blood if shes not feeling well I don't want to do that to her right now. I can't imagine it went up that much since then though?
Why isn't she eating? Could it be shes sick with something else? The cerenia is supposed to last 24 hours, so what is happening?
@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Chris & China (GA)
@carfurby
@Critter Mom
(I can use all the help, input and support I can get right now, something is wrong with my girl)
going back to bed for now...
