Intro/Hello! & Bouncing vs. Somogyi Effect

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by bubbasmom (GA), Feb 3, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bubbasmom (GA)

bubbasmom (GA) Member

Hello everyone. I realize I never wrote an intro post, so here it is... in conjunction with some questions regarding bouncing vs. somogyi overswing.

My boy Bubba was diagnosed with diabetes in September 2022. I am so lucky to have such a cooperative & patient little boy... he takes his ear jabs with gusto and sits still for his insulin shots. I've had him since he was a wee 4lb kitten, so this diagnosis was devastating to say the least. He has been fed raw food his whole life - so nutrition isn't an issue for him, in the context of what is appropriate food for diabetic cats. He has no history of DKA or ketones. I'm a nurse... so I have the diabetes education and am comfortable with checking sugars & administering insulin.

After a few rocky starts on caninsulin, then lantus, then back to caninsulin - since Jan 5 2023 we have been on lantus. We started with the SLGS protocol for about 2 weeks with no significant decrease in BG #s/nadirs. Then on Jan 19 2023, we switched to the Tight Regulation protocol - with slow progress since then. You can view Bubba's insulin history on the 'Nov/Dec 2022' & '2023' tabs on his SS. I have been graciously guided by @Bandit's Mom & @Wendy&Neko and a few others, so thank you! If anyone else has any input, I appreciate your thoughts!