? Mimi PMPS 127. +1 114 +3 56,- is STARVING (ate only 2 hours ago) +3.25 94

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mimis mom, Nov 8, 2019.

  1. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
  2. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    It Looks like you shot at 11:50 last night? This mornings should be 12 hours from that, unless you are going to try to get back on track with time, then you can do 15 mins earlier. and then 15 mins earlier for the pm shot.
     
  3. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Looks like you already shot? Did you get a test before the shot? its not on your SS
     
  4. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    No I did record it
     
    Sandra And Buddy (GA) likes this.
  5. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Nice drop today for Mimi!

    If you right click on that extra line in your SS, it will be highlighted and you'll see a drop down menu - you can click on 'delete' and it'll make that row go away...
     
  6. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Looks like Mimi is clearing another bounce. Best to get a +10, Rosa.
     
  7. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019
  8. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    what do you mean clearing another bounce? Like she's finishing one or about to start another one? (just double checking)

    her +10 is 81.. just fed her. ketones .3 (I guess anything below .6 is considered negative)
     
  9. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    also, what does "surfing" mean?
     
  10. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Hi Rosa, just a small favour to ask, can you please do one post a day, and link to yesterday's post. It will be hard to keep track of you since you have two posts going today. This subgroup forum is very busy, so it will help us to keep all of today's advice in one post, okay?

    What Marje meant is that it appears that Mimi is recovering quickly from the bounce that happened yesterday when she got to the lower 100s. Bounces can happen when the numbers drop too quickly or when they reach lower numbers they aren't used to. Their system kicks in (pancreas and liver) to dump extra "sugars". See a more detailed explanation if you'd like here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

    Another good example of when Mimi bounced was on November 6th. Lower numbers in the a.m. cycle resulted in higher numbers in the p.m. cycle. She then cleared those higher bouncy numbers the next day, as seen by the numbers progressively getting lower through the a.m. cycle.

    Marje wanted to see the +10 because she recognized that Mimi was coming down, by your +8 of 115. Some kitties linger in higher numbers and it can take usually up to 6 cycles to clear, and get back into better numbers. Mimi is already into better numbers, and still coming down. Does this help?
     
    Marje and Gracie likes this.
  11. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Yes, and her +10 was 81... getting nervous to test her at +12..
     
  12. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Can you please update your subject line to the usual format? We don’t know what DBT is and it’s better to just do the normal format.


    Clearing the bounce means the counterregulatory hormones that raised her BG are clearing out and the BG is going to drop. You can see it has started. You are going to be in for a busy night, I believe.
    I’m glad you fed at +10. Don’t feed anymore and please test her a little before her PMPS which should be 12 hours from this morning’s shot since you shot early, correct? Or are you shooting early 15 mins each cycle?

    Fun terms for you to know including surfing :D
     
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  13. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Also, I don't know how the order of the posts go- if I was now at the bottom or something, and her drop to 81 might need more attention. I also thought maybe enough time passed throughout the day I could post another?
    I just get nervous no one will see my post and Ill be lingering around nervous about what to do.
     
  14. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Mimis mom likes this.
  15. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
  16. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    All good, don't worry, it takes time to figure things out here :bighug:. If you need to get your post to the top you can just post your comment like I am doing now...some people just say bump, and that gets your post on the top of the posts. Marje has asked some questions and made some important comments on your other post, please have a quick look. She should be able to combine these two posts.
     
  17. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  18. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    when was the drop? do you mean because she recently bounced she would normally be in higher numbers for a while? (sorry still learning what everything means)
     
  19. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    I need to get back on schedule before sunday- I work at 10 am and I have a full book of clients, so Im hoping to get her back to 9:30 again.... She's 115 right now- and Im hoping to shoot her very soon- so I can get back, should I just feed her and do it? or no.
     
  20. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
  21. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    what about her reading right now.
     
  22. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Rosa, post a PMPS (15 minutes before the last shot time) and we’ll go from there. A lot can happen to BGs even in half an hour to an hour.
     
  23. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    I read the TR again and it sounded like I can shoot- she rose to 127 so I did it.. Hopefully she doesn't tank like she did the other day.. I only have fancy feast gravy lovers on hand- should I mix it with her raw to balance out the carb level in case I need it?
     
  24. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Hey I see Ming has chronic pancreatitis- how did you find that out?
     
  25. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Please get a +1 and +2.

    Do you have honey or maple syrup?

    That should be fine but use your last can sparingly. If you hit a lower number, please post here and someone should say how much to feed.

    Of course, if Mimi goes under 50, it’s usually 1 tsp of FF gravy and then retest in 20 mins. If she goes even lower and exhibits symptoms, then honey is your best option for a quick boost. But we’re getting ahead of ourselves right now.
     
    Mimis mom likes this.
  26. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    He had multiple pancreatitis episodes and have done some regular specFPL tests. Once he had active pancreatitis with zero symptoms.
     
  27. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    I’m going to run out of Relion test strips- 3 left - I have freestyle lite which I plan on switching to after this is done because it takes way too much blood and freestyle required almost nothing
     
  28. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    I have honey, maple syrup, and caro syrup. Should I just add a drop of the syrup to her raw to feed her so I’m not switching her to something cooked which she doesn’t eat anymore?
     
  29. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Honey doesn’t last as long in the body as opposed to HC but it’s doable. It just means you will need to test more in case numbers continue to drop after the honey wears off.

    Hopefully others will chime in with advice on feeding.
     
  30. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Rosa, can you update the title of your condo with the DATE and the latest PMPS number? You can delete all the numbers for the AM cycle.
     
  31. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Rosa what are the names of the FF gravy lovers that you have?
    They should be high carb and should be ok to use if Mimi drops down.
    Any higher carb food you feed, please document in the SS remarks column for people to see and for you to look at later to see what works.
    You can also add honey or Karo to ordinary low carb to get high carb.
    I found honey lasted a maximum of 1 1/2 hours in Sheba.
     
    Crista & Ming likes this.
  32. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Ah I see Mimi didn't get much of a food bump at +1. When you get a +2, can you post here so I get a notification?
     
  33. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Is it time for +2 yet, Rosa?


    Again can you add the date to your title.
     
  34. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    just missed it- I don't know what happened, I must have slept through the alarm. tested- it was 56- fed her some raw and some FF gravy lovers- inhaled it like she's never eaten in her entire life- is crying right now for more- WHAT DO I DO?
     
  35. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
  36. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Good job feeding. Can you test again now?
     
  37. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    got a reading about 15 minutes ago and it went up to 94- going to wait till its been 30 just so I don't drive myself nuts
     
  38. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    new reading 101- with Freestyle Lite- ran out of test strips for Relion. I know the Lite reads lower so Im assuming its higher than that. going back to sleep for a half hour? I am So tired, - delerious
     
  39. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    I didn't go back to sleep, and I ate some cereal to kick me awake a little. tested again- 88 (again with FS meter)
    Mimi is grooming herself- acting a little hungry but not ravenous like before. Its been about 30 minutes since she last ate.
     
  40. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    should I feed her more now? higher carb since we are reaching nadir and don't want it to drop too much or.
     
  41. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Hi Rosa. Sorry I fell asleep too! Give me 5 minutes to catch up.
     
  42. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    I would hold off on food for now since you’re about to test in 15 minutes just to see if she can hold her own. I just don’t want you to load her up on food and she won’t eat when we really need it.

    Normally I’d say go ahead and feed some LC or MC.
     
  43. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    I’m still here for maybe an hour, Rosa. Hope you’re able to test soon!
     
  44. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Just tested 129
     
  45. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    That's great! You didn't feed Mimi since the 88 reading, correct? If so, I think Mimi is safe and you can probably leave her some LC food if you need to sleep.
     
  46. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Might have eaten Batman’s food though - I had his feeder set different and I forgot to shut my door again. Currently so tired (me)
    Thanks for all of your help tonight!
     
  47. Mimis mom

    Mimis mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Dammit I don’t remember -
    I don’t think..: my brain is fried.
     
  48. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    When she went from that 305 at AMPS to 115 at +8 - that looked like a nice drop - just that she's gotten out of that higher unhealthy pink number and down to a nice blue number - we just say that numbers in the blues and greens are nicer because they're healthier numbers for kitty. Good that you're testing often and catch those great numbers - even a beautiful green yesterday as well! Nice job!
     
    Mimis mom likes this.

Share This Page