Hi thanks for accepting me. My 13-year-old rescued cat Ike has recently been diagnosed. He is on Lantus. Three days after his insulin was increased to 2u he had a hypo 2.3 pre-shot. That was 2 days ago. I skipped the insulin that morning and then reduced it to 1.5 u, even though the vet did not agree to the reduction! His BG numbers are still high, 21 this evening pre-shot. No questions at the moment... Will need my son's help to figure out how to set up the sheet. Just recording his BG numbers on a sheet of paper at the moment.
Welcome! a hypo is scary and hood job on lowering the dose! Are you home testing now or using the libre? After a hypo or a low bg, cats will often get higher numbers, it’s a way of their bodies to protect themselves and it’s called bouncing so it’s pretty normal. Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help. what food are you feeding him now?
Tagging Bhooma to set up your spreadsheet , look for her message in your inbox up top @Bandit's Mom Thank you Bhooma
The sooner you fill out your signature the better , tap on the link Ale gave you above, I also asked Bhooma to contact you to set up your spreadsheet @Helga Gamp Spreadsheet We also use a spreadsheet to track our cats BG so we know how the insulin is working and how low they are dropping so we know when to either increase or decrease the dose We do this by following one of the dosing methods for lantus We adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time . We don't adjust the dose by going by the Pre Shots About the spreadsheet AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave +1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number +2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto +3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing +1 same as you do for AM cycle We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers I'll give you the link to set it up , if you have trouble just ask and we have a member who will gladly do it for you You can look at any members spreadsheet to see what it looks like, it's at the end of everyone's signature just tap on it Please read all the yellow stickys about lantus here https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
Hi Helga and welcome to FDMB! I can help set up your spreadsheet and signature. Will send you a PM with the details I need. Look for it in the Inbox at the top right corner of this page.
Hi Helga and welcome to the forum. What a gorgeous kitty….what is his name? Lantus is a very good insulin for cats. I’m very glad you are home testing the blood glucose and well done reducing the dose. I can’t imagine why the vet would not agree with a reduction. It was certainly needed with a BG of 2.3 pre shot. Here is an explanation about bouncing. It is very common in newly diagnosed cats so don’t be concerned. From the Basics on the Lantus page Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles). Ask as many questions as you like. This is a very supportive and knowledgeable forum and everyone is happy to help.
@Helga Gamp I see you have your signature and spreadsheet set up I noticed you are shooting 1 units at night and 2 in the day Lantus likes consistency You must be filling in the rest of your spreadsheet up to 1-19?
Well done getting the spreadsheet and signature set up. And adding data to the SS. Helga, are you able to get a test in each Pm cycle as well as the am cycles? Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, or lowest point t in the cycle…so you can see why it is important to test during each of the cycles if at all possible. Do you have a hypo kit set up. I will give you a link to it. HYPO KIT
@Helga Gamp Hi you need to add Lantus to your signature please Do you know what dosing method you want to follow for lantus? Please read them and when you decide you need to add that to your signature and spreadsheet I just saw you are feeding some dry so you will have to follow SLGS Here is the link for you to read about lantus https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/ I noticed you were shooting 1 units at night and 2 in the day Lantus likes consistency You need to stay with the same dose for both cycles for 7 days and then do a curve, unless he drops under 90 you immediately decrease the dose by 0.25 units We don't adjust doses by full or half units ,we adjust by 0.25 units at a time When you got that 41 BG you should have reduced to 1.75 not 1.5 units
I don't think I can clearly see 1/4 doses that's why I changed to 1.5u. Even that is hard to get it exactly between the 2 lines!
I was given one and a half boxes of TERUMO U-100. These are for 50 units and are quite long. I am using them up but I also bought some BD ultra-fine which are for 30 units and a bit easier to see.
Did the 30 unit syringes you bought have ½ unit markings? You can get 30 unit syringes that have ½ unit markings. ½ unit markings make it easier to estimate ¼ unit doses.
You might want to check with a pharmacist or look online for syringes. You want U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings and BD does make them and should be widely available.
I guess humans don't need 1/2u markings and maybe that's why they are not available at pharmacies here in Singapore. I can try online or get my daughter to send or bring them from Canada....