New Member 2/10/2021

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes please.


This is what concerns me. You fed HC for dinner and he still went green last night.
I know. It made me a little nervous, that's why I fed him the gravy lovers. It's weird because he was runnig so much higher the past few days and now this.. Maybe he needs to be back down to the 1u instead of 1.25... maybe he gets a bit stressed when I have to work.. I don't know..
 
I'll stay with you. Let's see what the MC does. You're ahead of it right now and we're just trying to slow him down before it gets stressful! You're in control. Get the tests and we'll see where he's headed.

Maybe he needs to be back down to the 1u instead of 1.25...

Yes, your right, back down to 1U for the next shot if he's high enough to shoot. We'll talk about dosing in a bit so you can concentrate on the numbers right now.
 
The drop has stopped. No more food for now please, let's see if he can hold it without more food. I'd test again in 30 minutes to see if he's holding, dropping or on the rise. We've still got a couple hours to go until the expected nadir for most cats using Prozinc - around the +6 mark.
 
The drop has stopped. No more food for now please, let's see if he can hold it without more food. I'd test again in 30 minutes to see if he's holding, dropping or on the rise. We've still got a couple hours to go until the expected nadir for most cats using Prozinc - around the +6 mark.
Ok, I will put his food up. Thank you so much for the guidance! Will retest at 1pm.
 
Looks like the MC is doing the trick and/or he's heading for a bounce. I'm surprised we didn't see higher bounce numbers this morning from the quick drop to green last night and feeding gravy lovers.

Last night you fed a higher carb for dinner (Not sure if the flavor was MC or HC). He had a really good food bump and then dropped quick to green. With only feeding LC for breakfast this morning and starting out at around the same PS as last night had me concerned.

I like to slow the fast drops and head off any trouble before they become a problem.
 
Last edited:
Looks like the MC is doing the trick and/or he's heading for a bounce. I'm surprised we didn't see higher bounce numbers this morning from the quick drop to green last night and feeding gravy lovers.

Last night you fed a higher carb for dinner (Not sure if the flavor was MC or HC). He had a really good food bump and then dropped quick to green. With only feeding LC for breakfast this morning and starting out at around the same PS as last night had me concerned.

I like to slow the fast drops and head off any trouble before they become a problem.
I fed him Friskies Beef/salmon prime filets last night. He does like those better than the pate's. So if he is under 200, should I feed him MC instead of LC? I'm still kind of new with trying to switch him mainly to LC. I can always mix some gravy into the pate. And should i test again at +6? I didn't realize how stressed I would get today but you definately helped calm me down!! I greatly appreciate it and want to keep my baby safe <3
 
I'd get a +6. Might tell us if the MC stays with him or is wearing off and/or if he's bouncing now.

I just looked up the carbs. Looks like Beef/Salmon Filets is 15% as compared to FF Turkey & Giblets 2%.

I wouldn't carb him up to shoot insulin - carbs wear off for one thing. But it does look like the lower carb foods are helping bring the BG numbers down.

You're doing the right thing by monitoring closely while transitioning. If he's high enough to shoot >200 and you can monitor I'd go with the 1u and lower carb food. Get an early cycle test and you know you can give him a bit of MC to slow him down if needed.

Have you seen @Deb & Wink +2 write up yet? It has some good information of what to watch for when you get a +2 test.
Why the +2 Test is Important - more detail information for Prozinc users by Deb & Wink
 
There's more good information in the Prozinc dosing sticky on how to handle lower than normal preshots when following the Prozinc SLGS (start low go slow) dosing method.
I'd use this as your guideline if he's <200 at preshot. If you have any questions about any of this let us know.
Thank you! I have read it but I will read it over again. I really want to get him in a good place, especially on the nights I have to work (I've been getting scheduled 5-6 nights in a row some weeks). I am gone usually 14 hours and bf is not comfortable testing his BG. Last week I woke up during the day to test him, just to be sure he was ok. I plan on doing this when I go back to work next week.
 
Thank you! I have read it but I will read it over again. I really want to get him in a good place, especially on the nights I have to work (I've been getting scheduled 5-6 nights in a row some weeks). I am gone usually 14 hours and bf is not comfortable testing his BG. Last week I woke up during the day to test him, just to be sure he was ok. I plan on doing this when I go back to work next week.
You're welcome :)

These few days off for you are a good chance to monitor closely while you transition the food (and maybe loose a little sleep :().

want to keep my baby safe <3
We want to keep your baby safe and get him to a good place too - we're here if you need any help!
 
Prozinc sequence is test, feed, shoot, all within a short timeframe.
You don't have to wait 30 minutes between food and insulin when using Prozinc. That is for Vetsulin(Caninsulin).
 
No, it's not bad that you waited to give Toe the shot until after he ate.

But if you have a limited amount of time, then compressing the window where you do the test/feed/shoot steps can gain you a bit of time. Good to know for the future.

Prozinc usually takes a couple of hours to onset, so a long as your cat eats before then, the BG levels should not drop too fast.
With Vetsulin (Caninsulin), the onset is much faster, so you want to feed about 20-30 minutes before you give the Vetsulin. So the food is already on board and getting digested and has some time to get into the blood stream before the insulin starts to bring the BG numbers down fast.
 
Hello @Deb & Wink and @Shelley & Jess! I know you 2 probably won't see this until tomorrow since it's midnight (EST) right now. I am so confused with Toes numbers today. His AMPS was 255, 1u was given, with an increase at +2 to 308 with LC feed this AM (he did not finish the 1 can of FF salmon pate) But then tonight after he snubbed the FF beef pate, I added half a can of FF beef grilled w gravy and he ate. PMPS was 276, 1u given again this evening, +2 was 165 and then
+5 was 99. I feel like his numbers should have been opposite with feeding kind of MC this evening... I have 3 or 4 more days to test him real good, then I'm nervous bc when I go back to work, my boyfriend won't be home (has to go out of state for the week for work). So I will be back to test/feed/shoot at 530pm. Then no testing until I get home at 8am the next day...
 
Reduce to 0.5u for 02/21 AM cycle and hold this same 0.5u dose for 3 to 6 cycles, unless he shows us he needs another reduction sooner. Do not be tempted to increase the dose if he has a high preshot.

02/20 AM cycle looks like a bit of a bounce, nothing you can do about this but wait for it to clear.
02/20 PM cycle by mixing FF beef pate (3%) carbs with half a can of FF beef grilled w/gravy (12%) you would have fed him LC last night too. Depending how much of the mix he ate even mixing a bit of the 3% with the 12% would bring it under the recommended LC range of less than 8% to 10% carbs.

You are doing a fantastic job getting those tests in! Prozinc doesn't usually start kicking in until +2, so again, last night, like 02/19 AM cycle that fast drop (40%) from PS to +2 is telling us Toes needs less insulin with the food change. For future reference, if you see a drop like this again, but still in safe numbers, please give a snack right away and closely monitor to make sure he doesn't keep dropping too fast.

You have a note on your spreadsheet Toes was begging for dry - many cats will seek out food when they feel their BG levels dropping.

While you are home, available to monitor closely, and trying to transition the food, it's okay to mix a bit of the FF grilled flavors (12% to 15% carbs) with the pate (0% to 3%). It will bump the carb percentage up a bit for the pate while transitioning and hopefully get him used to pate. If you think you can get him to eat the FF Roasted/Flaky/Chunky flavors easier they run between 4% & 6% carbs, nothing wrong with these carb percentages either.

I have 3 or 4 more days to test him real good, then I'm nervous bc when I go back to work, my boyfriend won't be home (has to go out of state for the week for work). So I will be back to test/feed/shoot at 530pm. Then no testing until I get home at 8am the next day...
To clarify, during this week you're PM cycles will be 14.5 hours and the AM cycles 9.5 hours between shots? Let's wait for @Deb & Wink for guidance with this.
 
We've thrown so much information at you in such a short time. I scrolled back through this thread and didn't see the food chart link posted. Don't know if you've seen it yet, so I'll post the link here so it's handy for you. This is where I'm getting the carb percentages for the food you are feeding:

Dr. Pierson - new Food Chart

It's from the pinned yellow Info thread Dr. Pierson - new food Chart at the top of the Feline Health (Welcome & Main) Forum.
 
Hello everyone! I am a new member to this community, but not really new to FD. My sugar baby was diagnosed awhile ago and was initially started on 0.5u Prozinc BID. He was gradually increased to 4.5u BID, which he is currently on right now. I honestly just went by the recommendations from my vet until recently a friend told me about a FD group on FB and I was advised to join FDMB. I know my baby is on a high dose of insulin that is not being weaned by the vet with his curve days (now only done every 6mo). It has been conncernig to me for awhile now. I decided to buy a glucometer and this evening was the first time I tested at home. So this morning at 8am (EST) I fed Toes when I got home from work, gave him 4u of his Prozinc after he ate some. I tested him +9 with him not eating for 2-3hours before testing. Glocose was 111 at 530pm. I fed him this evening at 630pm and did not give him any insulin.. I am so overwhelmed now and I don't know where to begin with making a spreadsheet, how often do I test his levels, ect.... I feel like a horrible cat mom and I should have began testing earlier than I have.. I am thankful he never had any serious negative reactions to "blind shooting" his insulin for this long. He is due for an all day curve with the vet next week and I plan on telling them I WILL be testing at home from now on, regardless of the vets reaction. I want to keep my baby safe and to hopefully get him weaned from such a high dose. So, so sorry for such a long post. I just want to do the right thing.
Welcome and good for you for learning to test at home. This is truly critical. ESPECIALLY the preshot testing before you give the insulin. This group will be a huge help. It is overwhelming at first. So much to read and be aware of. I am a newbie, too. I have only been on since December but I am so glad I joined. You would be surprised with some of the advice your vet might give you. Listen to the folks on this site and good luck.
 
Reduce to 0.5u for 02/21 AM cycle and hold this same 0.5u dose for 3 to 6 cycles, unless he shows us he needs another reduction sooner. Do not be tempted to increase the dose if he has a high preshot.
To clarify, during this week you're PM cycles will be 14.5 hours and the AM cycles 9.5 hours between shots? Let's wait for @Deb & Wink for guidance with this.

I wish I saw sooner to reduce this AM! I gave him 1u with his breakfast (FF cod, shrimpp pate mixed with water, took 20mins for him to start eating, but he did! lol). Around +2 and +4 I will test him again to see where he is at. And great to know what foods have what %carbs. He does like some of the chunky FF, so I will write some down today.

Yes, that is actually how it has been since he was diagnosed, he would eat and get his insulin at 8am, then I would have to feed him and give insulin at 530pm before I left for work. I initially asked the vet if that was ok, because his doses wouldn't be 12hrs apart. The vet said that was perfectly fine. Very glad he never had any serious events during those times.... My boyfriend is usually home, so I would have him feed and give insulin around 630pm, but he does go out of town for work frequently, so noone will be home. I feel like his reduction of his former 4.5u BID is a blessing, and hopefully he will be just fine. But now that I see his BS and how it dips a bit at night will have me worrying about him while I am at work..
 
Yes, that is actually how it has been since he was diagnosed, he would eat and get his insulin at 8am, then I would have to feed him and give insulin at 530pm before I left for work. I initially asked the vet if that was ok, because his doses wouldn't be 12hrs apart. The vet said that was perfectly fine.
This needs to be said......YIKES!!!
 
Okay, no real food bump. 226 & 249 could be considered the same number with meter variance - that 15% variance that hand held glucometers are allowed to have.

Feed a tsp of his LC food and another test at +2 please.
 
Okay, no real food bump. 226 & 249 could be considered the same number with meter variance - that 15% variance that hand held glucometers are allowed to have.

Feed a tsp of his LC food and another test at +2 please.
his +2 was 196. I gave him a few treats after his poke.. So the trending down, does that mean he should have gotten less insulin this AM?
 
Try copying to the pic to the clipboard and then pasting it into your reply. (The problem with the Upload a File button is being worked on by the FDBM webmaster.)


Mogs
.
GetAttachmentThumbnail


GetAttachmentThumbnail
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top