Newbie - 3 weeks in - advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry I wasn't on line to help earlier. The 0.75 gave a nice cycle!! I think shooting the 0.50 was a good choice. That is one nice thing about Vetsulin that you can adjust the doses if need be. A few tests tonight would be a good plan. Will check in later and see how you are doing. :bighug:
 
Sorry I wasn't on line to help earlier. The 0.75 gave a nice cycle!! I think shooting the 0.50 was a good choice. That is one nice thing about Vetsulin that you can adjust the doses if need be. A few tests tonight would be a good plan. Will check in later and see how you are doing. :bighug:
Idk what happened with the PM shot. Her numbers are increasing so I'm going to assume I didn't get her. She was sitting in a different position and I injected her the opposite way than I usually do so something must have happened. I didn't feel any liquid though on her fur . Try again tomorrow...
 
Idk what happened with the PM shot. Her numbers are increasing so I'm going to assume I didn't get her. She was sitting in a different position and I injected her the opposite way than I usually do so something must have happened. I didn't feel any liquid though on her fur . Try again tomorrow...
She might be bouncing after having those blues today. Try not to worry about it - it's part of the FD dance.
 
Can't look at SS right now but she was probably getting on the trampoline like Kris said if she had blues ;)
Sorry I couldn't check earlier. Herniated a disc in my back again. Having lots of quality floor time :P
 
Can't look at SS right now but she was probably getting on the trampoline like Kris said if she had blues ;)
Sorry I couldn't check earlier. Herniated a disc in my back again. Having lots of quality floor time :p
@Yong @Tuxedo Mom hello again! Hope all is well with you both.
I have been consistently giving Abby .75 and she tests in the 300s with dips into upper 100s at nadir. I only had one strip left that I just used so I didn't get a test in last night, but she tested 500 just now for her AM. I left a lot of food out overnight because she wakes me up to eat at various hours, so I assume she just has eaten it because she was not waking me up for food at the usual time! She was content and sleepy lol. So my question is - how much can food affect a bg score? Can it go up 150 points like that? She must have JUST eaten. She was not very hungry when I fed and shot. I have to run out for strips later this morning so I will test and repost later. I am back to work so weekends are my only days to get in extra tests. Thanks so much!
 
Good morning. :coffee:

Are you out of strips right now? How long until you will have more?

The high AMPS number could be from either a larger drop last night or having eaten recently or a combination of both. Some kitties can go up a fair amount with eating before the insulin kicks in.

It would be a good idea to get some extra tests in today since you are not able to do them during the week. Hopefully you will have your strips shortly (not sure what time it is for you there) so if you can do a +2, +3 and +4 that will give some good data on what is happening earlier in the cycle/
 
Good morning. :coffee:

Are you out of strips right now? How long until you will have more?

The high AMPS number could be from either a larger drop last night or having eaten recently or a combination of both. Some kitties can go up a fair amount with eating before the insulin kicks in.

It would be a good idea to get some extra tests in today since you are not able to do them during the week. Hopefully you will have your strips shortly (not sure what time it is for you there) so if you can do a +2, +3 and +4 that will give some good data on what is happening earlier in the cycle/
I just woke up so I will only get a +5 or +6 in depending on when I can go to the store for strips. Tomorrow morning i will run extra tests.
 
@Tuxedo Mom
At the grocery store looking at cheaper options than dm. I am spending too much money on the food. I can get any flavor of FF classics without too much worry about ingredients? I.e. Any Fish and chicken flavors are both ok to give? As long as it's classic pate, correct?
 
@Tuxedo Mom
At the grocery store looking at cheaper options than dm. I am spending too much money on the food. I can get any flavor of FF classics without too much worry about ingredients? I.e. Any Fish and chicken flavors are both ok to give? As long as it's classic pate, correct?
Yes, any of the pates are fine. Fish is best fed only once a week max. Friskies pates are fine too.
 
@Tuxedo Mom @Yong @Kris & Teasel
So Abby had been doing awesome with her diabetes...except today.
Woke up to her peeing small quarter size amounts around the room with tint of blood every so often. At one point she collapsed perhaps from pain and was panting. It is still going on. I didn't give her insulin this AM bc I didn't know what was going on at first, I figured a DKA event. Sugar was high but not that high. Researched online and possibility is UTI. She is having a harder time walking and when she is laying down she lifts her leg to pee a tiny amount usually tinted pink. Sent urine sample to vet and will find out tomorrow. I gave her lower dose of insulin this PM bc did not test her as she is in pain to the touch. She does have an appetite and is drinking water.
Either of you have experience with this?
If it is UTI they say antibiotics can mess with blood sugar. What an ordeal.
 
Last edited:
Hi Jena,
Sorry to hear Abby isn't feeling well :bighug:. If you can't test for ketones and you suspect a DKA event, you should really get her to a Vet ASAP. Have you done any additional ketone tests since 3 Sep? With her staying in pink PS's mostly, you should try weekly tests. Especially since Abby has been DKA before, that makes her more susceptible to developing ketones. There isn't much mid cycle data to know how the dose is doing but early on she was still having nadirs of high 100s so there is room for her to get an increase. However, blood in her urine and pain from straining to urinate could be a UTI and will keep her numbers higher.

If you have to go down to her to get the PS test, so you only have to touch her ears, then do that so she can get her insulin.
Remember the recipe for DKA is not eating + not enough insulin + an infection. It's good she has an appy right now but she's got 2 out of 3 and we don't want her going DKA again.

I don't have personal experience with antibiotics but if they start helping clear the infection, you'll need to get more mid cycle tests. As she starts feeling better, her numbers could start going lower. Keep us updated as you can and I hope Abby starts feeling better and stays safe :bighug::cat:
 
I agree with Yong. You need to be doing regular urine testing for DKA with a history of DKA in the past. Blood in the urine and straining to pee could very well be a UTI or possibly crystals developing and needs to be checked ASAP. An infection will cause glucose levels to rise as will any sort of pain. My other kitty was prone to UTIs and I used antibiotics a number of times, with no increases in glucose levels.

If at all possible try to get some tests in at mid cycle ( +3-+5 would be a good time) in order to see how low the dose is taking Abby. Without knowing how low she is going it is very hard to say whether the dose is adequate or if you need an increase. Because Vetsulin can drop the numbers sometimes very quickly earlier in the cycle it is important to see if she is dropping quickly or too low or whether the numbers are staying high through the cycle. However as Yong pointed out it is also important to do extra testing if she has a UTI and antibiotics are prescribed, as clearing up the infection can also cause numbers to drop as the infection clears up.

Do get Abby in to the vet and get things checked out.
 
Sounds like UTI to me. I'm surprised they didn't give you clovamax in the meantime. UTI'S are painful. Hope she feels better soon.
 
@JanetNJ @Tuxedo Mom @Yong
Hi! It’s been a long time! A few updates and advice needed:
1. Abby did have a UTI. All cleared up with antibiotics.
2. I stopped doing curves and testing daily as my sanity was wearing thin. It is not something i can commit to anymore so my spreadsheet is not up to date.
3. I have been giving Abby 1u of Vetsultin 2x a day. in the last month between vet visits she has lost too much weight and is a little above 6lbs. She is tiny normally but her bones are showing and she is basically starving it seems. My vet did every expensive test in the book and said nothing is alarming, and at most, her thyroid is only “slightly” elevated. I think Vetsulin isnt the insulin for her anymore and i want to switch to ProZinc so that she is lower for longer and she isn’t peeing out her calories/not getting nutrients she needs. My godmother happens to be a diabetes LPRN so she was talking to me about it too. Advantages and disadvantages of switching to ProZinc? I don’t think Vetsulin is giving her the longer lasting effects she needs. I increaed her to 1.25 just this week and her sugar is all over the place. From the beginning it did usually leave her system around 1pm. I am waiting for the vet to call back. Her diabetes is clearly not as regulated as I thought even though her clinical signs improved. The vet suggested switching her to Rx Hills food but it’s just too expensive.
What are your thoughts on A ProZinc switch?
 
Prozinc has been great for Callie. I asked our vet about it, but she didn't know anything about it. When I explained that it was the only insulin made just for cats, she faxed a Rx to the pet pharmacy. I like that it doesn't hurt Callie if I am late getting home. It is a slow acting very gentle insulin. I was using Vetsulin before the switch. Prozinc costs more for a vial, but it lasts longer and ends up costing much less per month.
 
I can't coment on the effectiveness of your dose without any tests... Can you do a curve this weekend? Many like ProZinc, so it's fine to switch.
 
I can't coment on the effectiveness of your dose without any tests... Can you do a curve this weekend? Many like ProZinc, so it's fine to switch.
I have to curve tomorrow bc something happened today with shot and her numbers are super high and unchanged. You would think after 6 months I could do this...after PM shot I will recheck her to make sure the insulin got in. I couldn’t tell you what happened...I just feel bad for her that her sugars are so high. I’ll write tomorrow.
 
I have to curve tomorrow bc something happened today with shot and her numbers are super high and unchanged. You would think after 6 months I could do this...after PM shot I will recheck her to make sure the insulin got in. I couldn’t tell you what happened...I just feel bad for her that her sugars are so high. I’ll write tomorrow.
Any chance you could get a+4 or 5 today or tonight?
 
I have today’s numbers but somethings not right as I said. I can def get some in tonight after her PM shot.
Ok so let's talk about the weight because that's the main concern right now. How many ounces a day of ff classic is she eating? How often do you feed? Does she look for food or seem hungry or do you have to coax her to eat?
 
Ok so let's talk about the weight because that's the main concern right now. How many ounces a day of ff classic is she eating? How often do you feed? Does she look for food or seem hungry or do you have to coax her to eat?
She eats two small fancy feast cans a day. She goes looking for food around noon and then eats a lot over night so I always put in extra. She does not finish whole can at shot time, prob half at most. But in an hour, she will revisit the bowl to eat and continue this habit throughout the day. If it is empty she will go find us but she likes smaller meals throughout the day.
My Vet did a thyroid test and said it is only slightly elevated, but perhaps for her it is a bigger issue. I think though over time her insulin needs changed and I didn’t pick up on it. With her it’s never an easy answer.
 
She eats two small fancy feast cans a day. She goes looking for food around noon and then eats a lot over night so I always put in extra. She does not finish whole can at shot time, prob half at most. But in an hour, she will revisit the bowl to eat and continue this habit throughout the day. If it is empty she will go find us but she likes smaller meals throughout the day.
My Vet did a thyroid test and said it is only slightly elevated, but perhaps for her it is a bigger issue. I think though over time her insulin needs changed and I didn’t pick up on it. With her it’s never an easy answer.
Sorry to clarify she gets her can at 5am and 5pm with her shots.
 
She eats two small fancy feast cans a day. She goes looking for food around noon and then eats a lot over night so I always put in extra. She does not finish whole can at shot time, prob half at most. But in an hour, she will revisit the bowl to eat and continue this habit throughout the day. If it is empty she will go find us but she likes smaller meals throughout the day.
My Vet did a thyroid test and said it is only slightly elevated, but perhaps for her it is a bigger issue. I think though over time her insulin needs changed and I didn’t pick up on it. With her it’s never an easy answer.
She may eat more mid day if it's fresh. Can you try a full can in the morning. A half of a new can in the afternoon. Another full can in the evening and another fresh half can just before bed. Kitten food is sometimes higher in calorie so you can try that.
 
Ok. I am a teacher so the midday feeding is iffy but yes that makes sense to entice her. I considered auto feeders but she is very arthritic and there’s not a lot of space in the main room she hangs out in for an additional bulky feeder and going up and down stairs a lot is painful for her. But there’s still the issue that if her diabetes isn’t under control her body won’t process the food anyway correctly. If it is somewhat under control which i will get a glimpse of tomorrow, then i am looking at a whole different issue. I’ll get some numbers on a Monday too my last day off bc I think tomorrow might be a bit skewed with the missed shot this morning.
 
She may eat more mid day if it's fresh. Can you try a full can in the morning. A half of a new can in the afternoon. Another full can in the evening and another fresh half can just before bed. Kitten food is sometimes higher in calorie so you can try that.
I also was looking at kitten food but a lot had extra milky ingredients which won’t be good for her. Do u know any reputable brands?
 
Ok. I am a teacher so the midday feeding is iffy but yes that makes sense to entice her. I considered auto feeders but she is very arthritic and there’s not a lot of space in the main room she hangs out in for an additional bulky feeder and going up and down stairs a lot is painful for her. But there’s still the issue that if her diabetes isn’t under control her body won’t process the food anyway correctly. If it is somewhat under control which i will get a glimpse of tomorrow, then i am looking at a whole different issue. I’ll get some numbers on a Monday too my last day off bc I think tomorrow might be a bit skewed with the missed shot this morning.
Well until she's more regulated she may need more calories. You could try freezing the half can portion and then by noon it should be fresh and defrosted to eat. I a teacher too.... It's been nice having the week to tweak numbers.

Really if you can get the preshots and at least one other test during the evening it would help so much. That's what I do. Two preshots and a +3 or 4 before bed. On weekends I try to get at least one more mid day.
 
This was the result from this PM:
4:15 380 1.25u
7:28pm. 183
9:15 248. Ate at 8:50 but I’m going to bed and couldn’t wait so I will get a AM shot tomorrow and do a curve and post it.

I did a curve today. This is what it looks like.

4:45 377 1.25u
6:30 358
8:00. 257
9:30. 190
11:00. 188
Vomit after eating a lot
Ate more around noon
12:33. 316
2:30. 392

Basically the Vetsulin only lasts tilabout noon then is gone. Here is my plan

1. Go with 1.5 tomorrow since I am off of work and take some numbers
2. I bought blue wildnerness after reading food chart- it is high in calories. I did see the tiki but didn’t see it on the chart. I will start slowing feeding her that until I can get hills from Vet.
3. As you said regardless of the food her sugar is not right so it won’t help. I asked my Vet about ProZinc after reading about it and she was hesitant to switch as she’s said it’s a human insulin when everything online says it was made just for cats..... I am calling them Tuesday and demanding that I switch bc she isn’t doing well on Vetsulin and needs a lower bg for longer. She has too steep a dive. Hopefully I can get that, and combined with high cal food and the insulin in a few weeks she will gain weight. I will pull some numbers for her tomorrow but it has been a pattern that by 12/1pm the Insulin is out of her system.

The vet also wants to draw urine to makesure there is no lingering infection afterher UTI.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top