Newly diagnosed with potential Cushing

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Daphne and Aida, May 24, 2024.

  1. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    Aida, my 16yo sweet girl, has been diagnosed with Cushing after an abdominal ultrasound. It was set to get her adrenal gland surgically removed, but we needed to have a biochemical confirmation of the Cushing, with a positive result from a LDDST test. It came back inconclusive, so for now, we're stuck.

    She's developed diabetes in the meanwhile. The vet first said that it's pointless to try and treat it since it's very difficult to control it when the adrenal gland is involved, and since she'll be having the surgery soon.
    Since the LDDST result, we started her on Prozinc.

    Kind of weird that the vet sold me the insulin and the syringes without making sure how we'll proceed with testing, maybe it's my fault: I told her that I'm planning on buying a glucometer and she was very happy about it.
    But she's let me a bit alone on the entire process: between me getting the insulin and getting a functioning glucometer, 10 days have passed, and I have yet to master the art of getting a drop of blood.
    Until I'm more sure with the testing, I'm giving her 2 units of insulin, and not the 3 that the vet prescribed. I'm dead scared of hypoglycemia.

    I've also found an alphatrak 3 at a somehow affordable price: is it preferred to have this glucometer instead of a human one? Should I buy it, or is it an unnecessary expense? I'm moving soon back to my home country, Greece, and I guess that it would be easy enough to get the test strips from the alphatrak but not the ones for the human glucometer.

    Sorry for the silly questions, but after getting a feline hyperthyroidism crash course, followed by hypothyroidism, hypertension, and CKD crash courses, all for my other cat, I'm just starting with the feline diabetes one, so I'm really not knowledgeable…

    I haven't yet included the spreadsheet in my signature: I have managed to test her glucose just once, so I haven't yet filled it out.

    Many thanks for any advice, and your understanding!
    Daphne

    Cushing ultrasound: April 10, 2024
    LDDST test: May 17th
    Diabetes diagnosis: May 15th
    Started with 1 unit Prozinc on May 20th, and I've slowly upped it to 2 units. Vet's prescription is for 3 units.
     
  2. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Welcome. Waving from Canada.

    Tagging @Wendy&Neko regarding Cushings.

    Tagging @Yanna and @Kokkinoulis regarding glucometers and strips available in Greece.
     
  3. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    Thank you Red & Rover!
    Testing the new signature with the empty spreadsheet (with labs added) as per Marje's suggestion.
     
  4. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Tagging @Suzanne & Darcy regarding ProZinc
     
  5. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Suzanne & Darcy
    Suzanne if you look at @Daphne and Aida SS it looks
    like she is only giving one shot only in the AM
    Daphne insulin should be given twice a day 12 hours apart
    I tagged Suzanne to take a look at your SS
    I see you did a few tests
    I see you are using the human meter which is good
    OneTouch Verio Reflect

    Edit @Daphne and Aida
    Suzanne Daphne is giving insulin twice a day per her post #11
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2024
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Daphne and Aida
    Hi Daphne we need more information about Aida to add you your Signature
    Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

    • Add info we need to help you:
      • Caregiver & kitty's name
      • DX: Date
      • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
      • Name of your meter
      • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
      • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
      • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
      • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
      • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
      • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
      • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
    Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
     
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Daphne and Aida
    If you tap on @Yanna and @Kokkinoulis and @Anna1
    Who are From Greece and look at their signature who will see which human meter they are using.
    Tap on their profile page then information and look at their signature
    I would stay with a human meter since that's what our numbers are based on
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2024
    Daphne and Aida likes this.
  8. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    When will you be moving from France to Greece
    @Daphne and Aida
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Carol & Rico and Daphne and Aida like this.
  10. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Hi Daphne, welcome to the forum!

    Which part of Greece are you moving to?
    I'm in Evia and I know members from Athens and Volos.

    You can get Lantus vials or pens from any pharmacy in Greece without prescription.

    You can order the BD microfine +demi 0.3 ml syringes online or ask your pharmacy to order them.

    We use human meters for testing. Pharmacies give you the meter for free when you buy the strips. I use Contour Next.
    Not sure if alpha track 3 is available in Greece at all.

    Vets here don't follow protocols regarding feline diabetes, they usually suggest dry diabetic food, caninsulin and 1 ml syringes.

    Careful with the 1 ml syringes, much confusion has been made about dosing with them because vets ask you to dose in ml not in units.


    Feel free to ask me any questions you may have. I'm happy to help you.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2024
  11. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    Oh no sorry about that! I do give her twice daily, I just didn't notice it because I hadn't managed to test her BG in the evening!
    I've added it now, so sorry about it!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  12. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    Ok, I had to have a look again at the Glossary :)
    One thing I couldn't find the meaning is LC wet, what does LC stand for?
    The signature should be ok now, I managed to test her again today before her shot, after breakfast, yeah!
     
  13. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    So, from what I understand, there is no reason to purchase the Alphatrak, that's a relief for my bank account!

    We were due to go back in June, however, with Aida's condition, I've temporarily put a hold on it. I'm lucky to have an employer that hates seeing me leaving and that happily got the info that I'd be staying a tad longer!
    But we'll have to be there by September at the latest. I'm starting to ask friends and vets to try and find a specialist referral clinic in Athens. The team I've found here is said to be one of the best in France, so I would rather have the surgery, if necessary, done here, it's not easy finding such specialists…
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  14. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
  15. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    Hi Yanna!

    Thank you for all the information! For FREE??? FOR REAL??? Here the meters cost almost as much as getting the Alphatrak, the test strips are a tad cheaper, however…
    Caninsulin really? That's weird…

    One of my closest friends has a good friend who's a vet, I'm contacting him to get some general information about Greek vets and their modus operandi… I was kind of hoping that they would be a bit better than the vets here…I remember, when I was living there, we had a very good clinic nearby, and a humane clinic too, but they were rough with the handling.

    I've found one cat-friendly clinic that will be easily accessible for us, my other cat Feloro was so mistreated that he dreads vet visits… but he needs to get regularly checked, the cat-friendly approach has been the best solution so far.

    Oh I will certainly need your help with all the dose-measuring that's sure!!! I already find it quite difficult to wrap my head around the difference between human U-100 and animal U-40 syringes!
    We're going to Athens, I hope that you weren't affected by the fires in Evia…

    Thank you so much!
     
  16. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    And Yes! Another test done! It never ceases to amaze me the level of trust they have for us, I've been pricking her ears for days now and she still comes towards me with no hate!
    I still have to prick her a dozen times, she runs away, comes back and then I manage it… I really really hope it's going to get easier!
     
  17. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Is it possible for you to try to get a test during the PM cycle? You're seeing some good numbers. Some cats have lower numbers at night so getting a "before bed" test will let you know if your kitty's numbers are dropping. Without the PM tests, you're missing half of your data.
     
  18. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Daphne and Aida
    LC means low carb referring to food. :cat:
    These were the syringes @Yanna was referring to if you ever switch to Lantus when you move to Germany from France
    [​IMG]


    The syringes hold up to 0.3ml of Insulin and are marked in clear half graduations of 0.005ml (1/2 unit) for easy and accurate dosing.

    Suitable for U100 Insulin only.

    @Daphne and Aida

    Here are some links for you, this one says for lantus , I know you are using Prozinc but gave it to you so you can see what the abbreviations mean
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-basaglar-levemir-isg-slang-dictionary.1903/

    Some Abbreviations for you



    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...portant-linksplease-read.224794/#post-2515254

    The syringes for lantus half the half unit markings since we adjust the doses by 0.25 units, these will make it easier to do
    • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2024
    Daphne and Aida likes this.
  19. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You can read about Prozinc here ,especially the dosing methods to chose from
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/
    I would suggest the SLGS method since you are just starting out
    I noticed on your spreadsheet you have
    115 @12.30 in the 4 cell ( or square)

    We don't use times ,if you meant 30 minutes
    Going forward
    You would enter it like this
    115 +4.5 and you would have to manually color code it to match the color codes up top
    15 minutes would be +25
    30 minutes would be +5
    75 minutes would be +75

    @Daphne and Aida
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2024
  20. Carol & Rico

    Carol & Rico Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2023
    Hi Daphne and Aida! Carol and Rico present as well. :) Do feel free to tag and ask about anything that worries you!
     
  21. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    Yes, of course, it totally makes sense!
    I'll try to do it, not sure if I'll manage today/night, but it makes sense. Thanks!
     
  22. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    Oh god I really feel like my brain fries…

    I need a break…
    After hyperthyroidism, hypothyroidism, hypertension and CKD, now diabetes… phew exhausted…

    I think I need to take my time to be able and assimilate it all…

    For now, I give Aida her shot at 9:30 am and pm, the same time I give Feloro his levothyroxine pill. It's separated from food intake. Is that ok?

    Many many thanks Diane for now, I'll come back tomorrow to see if I can master the courage to study it all!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  23. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  24. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I just read in this site about it for pets it said

    The medication absorbs into the body best on an empty stomach. Because food alters the absorption of levothyroxine, it is best to give the medication at a similar time or times daily and on the same schedule with regard to food
    Found it on this site
    https://veterinarypartner.vin.com/default.aspx?pid=19239&catId=102894&id=11642147

    I also take levothyroxine lol. My doctor always told me to take it on an empty stomach because it absorbs better , then if I have other morning meds to take wait about 1/2 hour and then take them
    @Daphne and Aida
     
    Daphne and Aida likes this.
  25. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    I'm so happy that I spent the entire day reading on this board! What felt like a draining experience that sucked all my mental energy to the point that I felt unable to read the numbers and understand their meaning, has paid off, I believe: her BG was just 60 in the morning, and, before her shot, it was just 97, despite her having eaten quite a lot. So I didn't give it to her. She just had a bite half an hour ago, and it is now at 177, so I'm withholding it. until the evening.
    I guess it's the Cushing that makes things unpredictable…
    Without the precious information here, I wouldn't have known any better and she might have gone into hypoglycemia…

    So!
    I'm ready for another round of education!
    The syringes I'm using are whole-unit scale.
    From what I got from the link of the SLGL, a dose is kept for a couple of WEEKS! I started with 1 unit and a couple of days later I increased to 1.5, and now I'm at 2. The vet had recommended 3 units. So, I'll need to go really slower, but now that I've got the glucometer, and that I start getting a hold of it (and Aida gets more accepting of getting pricked), it'll be easier to assess. I'll email my vet the first results that I've got so far tomorrow, with the hope that she comes back to me - she might be on vacation! …always think the worst of everyone…

    LC=Low Carb yes!
    I do give them food with a mix of fermentable and non-fermentable fiber, but I avoid starches as much as possible. Feloro has always tended to easily have diarrhea, and Aida constipation, but since I've introduced this type of diet they're both doing so much better! Of course, one can never be sure of what exactly the carbs in the commercial food consist of, it's never really specified (here in Europe at least, we don't even get told the percentage of carbs, we just get a % of fiber and nothing about what type of fibers!) But I don't have the time to cook for them often enough to ensure sufficient supply in the freezer - hence the combination of homemade and commercial. I want to believe that the food I'm cooking for them has a low glycemic profile. I hope I'm not wrong!

    Carol & Rico thanks!! I'll most probably manifest myself when faced with the reality of the Greek vets!
     
  26. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    Oh we were writing simultaneously!
    Yes, Levothyroxine is best absorbed on an empty stomach, the worldwide Guru of feline hyper- and hypothyroidism has conducted and published several studies on the subject!
    Thank you for looking it up though! There is a fantastic group, that runs parallel to Tanya`s CKD group, for hyper- and hypo cats, they've given me tremendously precious advice and I've managed to get my vet to learn something on this topic that is so unfamiliar to vets!
     
  27. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Daphne and Aida
    Daphne I'm no expert on dosing but when following the SLGS method
    It says
    Hold the dose for at least a week:
    • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
    • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
    After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
    • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
    • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmolunit

    • maintain the same dose
    • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
    Aida did drop below 90 twice I see I'm going to tag a few members and see if they suggest to lower her dose

    Tagging some members for you
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
    Daphne and Aida likes this.
  28. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi ladies, I know @Daphne and Aida kitty Aida is on prozinc she lives in France
    I just wanted to ask you a question. She's following SLGS and I see Aida has dropped under 90 twice if you look at her SS
    Shouldn't she reduce the dose.
    I wish she could find some U-40 syringes with half unit marking in France ,she's using the ones with whole units whole units per her post #25
    I'm wondering if she can use either of these, to make it easier for her found it on the UK information

    VetUK U40 syringes:https://www.vetuk.co.uk/veterinary-...nsulin-syringe-with-needle-box-of-100-p-11335
    Sol-Vet U40 syringes:https://www.petdrugsonline.co.uk/sol-m-u40-insulin-caninsulin-syringes-0-5ml

    Thank you ladies, I'm just trying to help her out
    @Suzanne & Darcy
    @Bron and Sheba (GA)
    @Bandit's Mom
    @Wendy&Neko
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2024
    Daphne and Aida likes this.
  29. Daphne and Aida

    Daphne and Aida New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2024
    Diane thank you so much for clarifying the SLGS method! Im going to print that one!

    My vet did come back to me, she was indeed on vacation. She approved everything, and told me that if Aida is too low before administering the insulin, I should go ahead and give her but a lower dose: 1U.

    We have an appointment next week

    she was not very keen about the idea of getting an Emla cream to numb the sting area, she said it can only be used from time to time. It’s a script medicine in France, but it OTC in Germany and I live 30min away from the border… just in case.

    But I’ve gotten better with pricking her, and she starts to realise that it’s not that bad, pfew!!
     

Share This Page