pm +2 111 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Very Active Member
Congratulations, Ronnie and Luna! Great thing to hear on our first day. Didn't see tour message on the +11 so missed it this morning. Guess that means getting up at 5:00am! :YMSIGH:

Yes I'll be home to monitor today. I'll test at +3, +6, +9 and +11. In subsequent cycles should I vary the tests by an hour to get a complete picture over several cycles?

I usually give Tess 1/4 can PS, 1/4 +1 to +2, a mid cycle treat if she has eaten everything and 1 or 2 treats when I test.
 
Re: 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Ann & Tess said:
Congratulations, Ronnie and Luna! Great thing to hear on our first day. Didn't see tour message on the +11 so missed it this morning. Guess that means getting up at 5:00am! :YMSIGH:

Yes I'll be home to monitor today. I'll test at +3, +6, +9 and +11. In subsequent cycles should I vary the tests by an hour to get a complete picture over several cycles?

I usually give Tess 1/4 can PS, 1/4 +1 to +2, a mid cycle treat if she has eaten everything and 1 or 2 treats when I test.

Hey good morning!
I only suggested the +11 as it is ur first day on lantus - just in case. Unless ur up an hour early before shot time, then +11 is ok to collect here and there.
Sometimes it is a good indicator of what to expect for ur preshot number...up to u.
Thank you for the congrats!:)

That's a good idea, to vary the test times - let's see what others suggest on that too!

Food sounds right, possibly add a food snack midday/mid afternoon around there?...but once ur data with lantus adds up - u'll be seeing a good idea of how lantus is going for Tess.


Ask more questions if u have more, anything ur not sure about - others will be along to offer suggestions and support!
Welcome to Lantus Land again and hope to see u posting often!
 
Re: 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Sounds like a great plan for Tess....varying the times gives you a more complete picture
of what is going on..and when... Good job!!
Will look for updates....is Tess going to Luna's party? Big day today for the kitties....they all enjoy parties!!
 
Re: 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

:lol: yes Ann.....it is a tradition here...OTJ Parties are open for everyone.... :mrgreen:

Tess is invited to hang out at Luna's big Party today....go back and join the condo that is marked "OTJ"
There is a video provided by D & Noisy and everyone is already there, partying their heads off!!!
C'Mon...you don't have a moment to loose...

there's cake and balloons and all the kitties celebrate the day when someone goes OTJ..
it is such a wonderful accomplishment. Today is Luna's big day...C'MON!!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Wow! Look at Tess and her pretty blue cycle!! heee heee :mrgreen: I peeked

Good job on your testing today Ann!
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Should have known it was going too smoothly. What now retest in 20 min, no food?
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Ann & Tess said:
Should have known it was going too smoothly. What now retest in 20 min, no food?

Sounds like a plan, we usually don't feed and test again in 15-30 minutes. Soon you'll be able to shoot numbers like this easily, but since it is your first day on Lantus we'll want to stall for a little bit before shooting.
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

What number should I look for before I feed and shoot? Or is just climbing good?
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Ann & Tess said:
What number should I look for before I feed and shoot? Or is just climbing good?

I look for a fairly significant rise. How's that for a non-answer? :lol: 160-ish probably. In the future you'll be able to shoot any rise (or even a surf, which is a number that is staying about the same), but for the first day I'd rather be more conservative.
 
Re: Help PMPS 131 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

how long can you stall tonight and still shoot at +12 after that in the morning?
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Tomorrow is no problem to shoot +12 any time. I need to be back on schedule by Saturday to shoot at 6:00am so I will have time to do a +1 before I leave.
 
Re: Help PMPS 131 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

ok good, we can work with that. Please test again 1/2 hour after the last test.
 
Re: Help PMPS 131 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Tess sure has a nice response to Lantus on her first day! Can't wait to see your next number.
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

OK, my brain is scrambled.I was right the first time the PMPS was 141 an I'm an idiot. Breath!

+12.75 = 126
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Tess is surfing!

How long do you think you can convince her to wait for dinner? I'd love to wait another 1/2 hour from this test, then we'll probably shoot. Is she driving you crazy yet?
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

She's not acting too impatient yet, just starting to think about it. Didn't quite eat all of her earlier meal. I took it up at +10.5. I've been giving her a couple of dried chicken treats after the tests. Next test at 7:20.
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

I'd say wait the 1/2 hour unless Libby suggests otherwise. If you have the time and Tess isn't chewing on your ankle, let her numbers come up a little more.
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

sorry, I had to step away from the computer for a little while. It has been almost another 1/2 hour anyway, so let's see what your next number is. Most likely we'll be shooting then. Looks great!
 
Re: Help PMPS 141 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Are you able to stay up for a +1 and +2 test tonight? And do you have any high carb wet food on hand (usually a Fancy Feast or Friskies wet food with gravy?).

this is a pretty convincing surf (she is not dropping anymore, definitely) and the number will rise when she eats (and will probably keep rising for the next 2 hours until the Lantus kicks in). If you can do the +1 and +2, and have High Carb food on hand JUST IN CASE (not because you need it now), I'm comfortable with you shooting your 1 unit dose now. I would totally understand if you want to wait another 1/2 hour too.

The other alternative would be to shoot a reduced dose tonight. Usually it is preferred to stall instead of reduce, especially if you are available to monitor. My personal rule is to try to always get insulin in by +14, because stalling any longer than that can mess with the "shed" for the next several cycles.

Up to you at this point, but I think you're ok to shoot whenever you are comfortable.
 
Re: +13:45 138 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

I will definitely be up for several more hours and feel good shooting now. Still have a can of W/D and a Trader Joe's Turkey / Chicken / Rice on hand as well as honey, etc.
I gave her the 1u, maybe a little short. She's been pretty perky today and hasn't had any more pee problems since Saturday. Vet said no UTI.

She didn't eat a lot, but usually eats less in the evening. Not used to it yet I guess.
 
Re: +13:45 138 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

yay, nice shooting!

See you at +1 (well, I might still be here, but if I'm not someone else will be). Remember that tomorrow's shot is due 12 hours from now, not at your regular time. The safest way to move back to your regular schedule is to move up by 15 minutes per cycle.
 
Re: +1 136 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Thanks for everything Libby!
Tess finished off most of her dinner and at +1 she was 136 . fingers crossed.

Now I am going to eat all the sugar she can't. :mrgreen:
 
Re: +13:45 138 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

well you've had an interesting first day, ann!
cassandra and i will be around tonight...
see you at +2.
 
Re: +13:45 138 1/19 Tess started Lantus AMPS 221

Nice work today, Ann! :smile:

Do you have a +2 for us yet? (yeah....I'm always impatient..... :lol: ;-) )
 
Her +2 was 111 and she made good inroads on the second half of dinner. should I check hourly or can I go 2 hours? She's being really good but her poor ears!
 
I would feed some LC canned here and then get a +3. Want to see if we can get her surfing in this range before we stop testing.

Will be here when you have the next test. :smile:
 
Talk about a baptism by fire! :shock:

Welcome Ann & Tess!!
As you can see, we have a great group here in LL...lots of support & feel good messages.
Hope you have an easier day tomorrow! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
And good luck with the +5!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top