Presto's AMPS was at 284, Is it safe to give usual dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clarissa

Member
This morning Presto's AMPS was at 284, but im worried about giving him the 2 units of vetsulin. I am still pretty new to this. Is it still safe to give him the 2 units or should i reduce the dose? jusst now, I have just fed him wet food only, no dry food mixed in. His numbers have been going way down since i've introduced wet food for the first time. The past few days it has dropped really low so ive been adding just a little dry food with his wet food. Not sure what to do about dosing.
 
I'm sorry you didn't get a reply earlier. The BG numbers you got today with the 2 u dose are just about ideal for Vetsulin. It's the nature of this insulin to drop BG quite bit from pre shot level to nadir (lowest point) level. You really don't want your nadir much below 90.
 
I'm sorry you didn't get a reply earlier. The BG numbers you got today with the 2 u dose are just about ideal for Vetsulin. It's the nature of this insulin to drop BG quite bit from pre shot level to nadir (lowest point) level. You really don't want your nadir much below 90.
Thank you for your response, I'm still checking his BG every 2 hours and so far it's been staying at around the 100s, lowest being 91 today. If his BG readings are below or close to 200 right before his PMPS, should I not give any insulin?
 
Thank you for your response, I'm still checking his BG every 2 hours and so far it's been staying at around the 100s, lowest being 91 today. If his BG readings are below or close to 200 right before his PMPS, should I not give any insulin?
If he's at 200 you could reduce the dose by 0.25 u. I say that because he drops significantly to nadir based on your SS data. If he's just under 200 (maybe 180+), try stalling without feeding him for 30 minutes to see if he reaches 200 and give that slightly reduced dose.

Have you read these dosing guidelines? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.186099/
 
How do I measure it on my syringe? I use the U-40 syringes. Yes I've read the dosing guidelines, it is very helpful. If Presto's BG is just under 200 and I decide to stall for about 20-30 minutes without feeding, would it be okay if it passes the time of when his PM insulin shot is due? If that makes sense.
 
How do I measure it on my syringe? I use the U-40 syringes
If your syringes have half unit marks you'd eyeball between a full unit and a half unit mark. If they only have full unit marks you can still eyeball as closely as you can manage and aim for consistency dose to dose rather than absolute accuracy.

would it be okay if it passes the time of when his PM insulin shot is due? If that makes sense.
That's not a problem. You have about an hour's flexibility plus or minus with Vetsulin.
 
Thanks, I just checked Prestos BG levels and it's at 274 now. Just to be sure, if Prestos PMPS are say, above 250, it's still okay to give the full 2 units, right?
 
I just checked Presto's BG and it's at 245. Giving the 2 full units should still be okay, right?
I'm only seeing this now. I would have said yes to the 2 u but Presto is suddenly much more responsive to 2 u than he was previously. You did the right thing giving higher carb food after the 63 last night. That's a little low as a nadir for Vetsulin. You could try either:
  1. dropping his dose to 1.75 u AM and PM OR
  2. dropping to 1.75 u if the PS is between, say 200 and 250.
I personally prefer to keep the same dose AM and PM, especially in the beginning when you're trying to figure out where his good dose range is. Changing doses AM to PM can cause more erratic numbers in many cats.
 
I'm only seeing this now. I would have said yes to the 2 u but Presto is suddenly much more responsive to 2 u than he was previously. You did the right thing giving higher carb food after the 63 last night. That's a little low as a nadir for Vetsulin. You could try either:
  1. dropping his dose to 1.75 u AM and PM OR
  2. dropping to 1.75 u if the PS is between, say 200 and 250.
I personally prefer to keep the same dose AM and PM, especially in the beginning when you're trying to figure out where his good dose range is. Changing doses AM to PM can cause more erratic numbers in many cats.
Oh okay thanks. His AMPS were right at 300, so pretty much anything above 250 or close to 300, i should just continue giving 2 units, unless its between around 200-250 i should reduce the dose by .25 u
 
Oh okay thanks. His AMPS were right at 300, so pretty much anything above 250 or close to 300, i should just continue giving 2 units, unless its between around 200-250 i should reduce the dose by .25 u
You can try that. Experiments like this are how you learn what works or doesn't work for your kitty.
 
You can try that. Experiments like this are how you learn what works or doesn't work for your kitty.
Hello again,
Presto's AMPS were at 360 and at +4 it was low at 69. I gave alittlee high carb food after the +4 reading and at +6 it was at 105. Presto ate only wet food with no dry food mixed in. I am thinking maybe i should start to reduce the dose to 1.75 just to see how it goes from there if his numbers still remain around 360 or less. Ever since i transitioned Presto from dry to wet food, his BG levels hasnt gone past 400. What do you think?
 
Hello again,
Presto's AMPS were at 360 and at +4 it was low at 69. I gave alittlee high carb food after the +4 reading and at +6 it was at 105. Presto ate only wet food with no dry food mixed in. I am thinking maybe i should start to reduce the dose to 1.75 just to see how it goes from there if his numbers still remain around 360 or less. Ever since i transitioned Presto from dry to wet food, his BG levels hasnt gone past 400. What do you think?
Yes, I think that giving 1.75 u both AM and PM for a few days is a good idea. Those nadir numbers, while still safe, don't leave you any "cushion" and this is something you want to have with Vetsulin.
 
Yes, I think that giving 1.75 u both AM and PM for a few days is a good idea. Those nadir numbers, while still safe, don't leave you any "cushion" and this is something you want to have with Vetsulin.
I don't think I'll be giving an insulin shot this time because Presto doesn't want to eat right now, when I offered the wet food he just sniffs it and looks away but when I offer the dry food he'll eat it but the dry food I have is high in carbs purina one. Presto seemed really tired today, he has just been sleeping most of the daybut he'll still play with you if you have a toy around. his numbers weren't too bad today. The last time he ate was around +6 but he did eat just a nibble around +8 after AMPS
Today around +6 I did give him 2 tablets of Zobaline for the first time. I realized I should've given 1 tablet at a time at different times within the day.
Update: I tried feeding just the dry food and thinking maybe to give his shot but he only ate a really small amount of the dry food so I'll just be monitoring him throughout the night. He's still a little playful when I try to play with him though.
 
Last edited:
I don't think I'll be giving an insulin shot this time because Presto doesn't want to eat right now, when I offered the wet food he just sniffs it and looks away but when I offer the dry food he'll eat it but the dry food I have is high in carbs purina one. Presto seemed really tired today, he has just been sleeping most of the daybut he'll still play with you if you have a toy around. his numbers weren't too bad today. The last time he ate was around +6 but he did eat just a nibble around +8 after AMPS
Today around +6 I did give him 2 tablets of Zobaline for the first time. I realized I should've given 1 tablet at a time at different times within the day.
Update: I tried feeding just the dry food and thinking maybe to give his shot but he only ate a really small amount of the dry food so I'll just be monitoring him throughout the night. He's still a little playful when I try to play with him though.
2 tablets of zobaline at once is more than his body can use at once. One tablet is already packing 3mg.
 
2 tablets of zobaline at once is more than his body can use at once. One tablet is already packing 3mg.
Yeah i should've been more careful :( right now presto seems to be himself again, maybe ill try to give him half a tablet in the morning and the other half at night. Or i should just not give him any tablets for today and then start again the next day, correctly this time.
 
Yeah i should've been more careful :( right now presto seems to be himself again, maybe ill try to give him half a tablet in the morning and the other half at night. Or i should just not give him any tablets for today and then start again the next day, correctly this time.
I often split it in half. Unless she had compromised kidneys two tablets can't hurt her, but it would mostly get peed out. Zobaline is pricy to just wind up in a litterbox. Lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top