TYLER'S JOURNEY #21

Good morning , Diane , Ashley and kitty boys ❤️ Our day is starting out calm and cold ...no kitties up the Christmas tree ...pink to start our day after a temporary bounce to red .... DH headed to look at a piece of wilderness ( semi retired real estate guy ..we now buy and improve land and sell it ...he loves his John Deere)...Jenna doing her free lance job today ... and I continue the Dig, at least as much as DE ( dear Elmo:joyful:) allows... sending prayers your way :bighug:
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom not a good morning
Had to leave because the town is cutting a huge tree down next to us. Unbelievable!!!!
Ran home to give Tyler his shot
TUESDAY 12-10-19
AMPS - 156 shot 0.75 Skinny
Can you please look at #50 don't think you saw it
Will be home later on. Always something going on here. Poor Tyler is scared
Will talk later @MrWorfMen's Mom
@Beth 73 glad your day is quiet, as you can see ours isn't , will talk later
 
Diane, to be honest Tyler is a little bit of an anomaly. There are a lot of kitties on Vetsulin that I would hesitate to give insulin to at the pre-shots Tyler is getting. It's possible that if you upped the dose a bit more you might get some more greens but Vetsulin is known for pulling BG down quickly so you can't get too aggressive with dosing. Lantus is known for holding good numbers so you an shoot lower pre-shots and get them surfing in low blues and greens better. So I think Lantus would give you the opportunity to push Tyler toward greens more without the concern about whether he might suddenly plummet. His numbers are great and usually in normal range but high normal. Lantus should give you the opportunity to push BG down to lower normal.

Sorry to hear you have had to make another hasty exit. Hope you can get back in soon!
 
Diane, do you have Rescue Remedy and/or Feliway spray for the boys ???? Helps when stressed out like today .
 
Diane, to be honest Tyler is a little bit of an anomaly. There are a lot of kitties on Vetsulin that I would hesitate to give insulin to at the pre-shots Tyler is getting. It's possible that if you upped the dose a bit more you might get some more greens but Vetsulin is known for pulling BG down quickly so you can't get too aggressive with dosing. Lantus is known for holding good numbers so you an shoot lower pre-shots and get them surfing in low blues and greens better. So I think Lantus would give you the opportunity to push Tyler toward greens more without the concern about whether he might suddenly plummet. His numbers are great and usually in normal range but high normal. Lantus should give you the opportunity to push BG down to lower normal.

Sorry to hear you have had to make another hasty exit. Hope you can get back in soon!
@MrWorfMen's Mom of course he is an anomaly lol. I get what you are saying.
I will be making his appointment with the vet soon and will discuss it with her and show her his notebook that I have his pre shots , dosages and the testings for all of the cycles. I don't think she will give me a problem, I am going to tell her I am going to get a human meter because the price of the Alpha Trak strips are killing me. I have been going to her for over probably 10 yrs or so and have a good relationship, we shall see how good. She hasn't seen Tyler in over a yr so last time I spoke to the office to get another vial of Vetsulin which was August 31, 2019 she said she wanted to see him. I had to get my car fixed and short of money, that's why I haven't taken him yet.
Just so much more money having to spend on Perry with his 3 meds for the seizures and the cerenia which isn't cheap . He takes it everyday, 12 mgs or else he throws up non stop having kidney disease. I talked the head of the practice into giving them to me for 4 dollars a pill. I buy the box of 24 mgs and cut them in half (four in a box)
I buy two boxes at a time so its 32.00 dollars so I get 16 days worth. I love both of them like crazy, never thought I would have 2 kitties with health problems.
Between the 2 of my boys I am going broke. So just waiting a little bit longer to take Tyler in Ashley hasn't been doing good at all so that has been on my mind and very upset about it. Spreading to other parts of her body. I still can't believe this has happened to her. Never got a chance to live her life. All I could do is cry when I go to the store so she doesn't see me. It' like a nightmare. Things are just getting worse for her @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
@MrWorfMen's Mom oh did I tell you I did get the two pens of Lantus from Tom, good till 4-2021. Then I found a discount card called SingleCare for Lantus,
It would be 66.00 for one pen at Walgreen's or 71.00 at CVS. Just in case I don't want to charge it getting it at Marks. Trying to get these credit cards down.
I told the pharmacist that it would be for a cat and he said that's fine, just bring in the script. So I will only have to charge the new syringes. ADW will call my vet like they did for the U-40 half markings. Then I will just go to Walmart and buy the same meter and strips that Beth uses the ReliOn Prime @MrWorfMen's Mom @Beth 73
 
Last edited:
Sounds like you have the switch well planned. I think the box of 5 pens shipped from Canada might actually be cheaper in the long run. I think it's around $200 for the 5 pens shipping included and you could always sell any excess in the supply closet. Obviously it's up to you and that's way down the road if you have 2 pens from Tom already. Will that discount card still be good if and when you need to buy more would be my question or does it have an expiry date. Just food for thought.
 
Sounds like you have the switch well planned. I think the box of 5 pens shipped from Canada might actually be cheaper in the long run. I think it's around $200 for the 5 pens shipping included and you could always sell any excess in the supply closet. Obviously it's up to you and that's way down the road if you have 2 pens from Tom already. Will that discount card still be good if and when you need to buy more would be my question or does it have an expiry date. Just food for thought.
@MrWorfMen's Mom someone else asked the same question about the coupon because she just used it. I am going to call and ask them, If not I will just bite the bullet and charge it at Marks, Thanks for listening to me about Ashley, I can just cry right now, usually I am touch as nails but sometimes I just have to get it out. Yoiu are a dear friend Linda and you also Beth @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Diane, everyone who is caring for another person, thinks they have to be a rock but the truth is, you can't be all the time. Let it out all you need to and do something nice for yourself when things calm down a bit. It's all too easy to forget about yourself when you are absorbed in dealing with a loved one needing your help and care along with kitties who need some extra TLC but you can't be there for them if you don't let yourself let off steam and then find ways to recharge your batteries. I know it's easy to say and much harder to do but it does help to be a bit selfish once in awhile. At one time I was caregiver to 2 elderly folks and my SIL with Down Syndrome and was darn close to burning out. I enrolled in a yoga class and told everyone that Tuesday afternoons were mine and under no circumstances other than an emergency were they to be summoning me or expecting me to be coming over Tuesday afternoons or evenings. It made things a little easier to cope with the other days. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Agree with Linda :bighug: When I was caregiver for my elderly mom and my BIL sole caregiver for SIL with Alzheimer's we knew we had to take time to do something for ourselves. I returned to jogging ...even a brisk walk 3 x a week and my BIL enrolled in community center where he took yoga ...never would have dreamed he'd do that ...he is the classic picture of the stuffy professor :joyful: You cannot run on empty... praying for you to be able , if only for 3x a week, to go for a walk in fresh air , just for you . Our cars can't run without gas and we cannot " run" without some refilling....wish we were closer where we could come help cos we would ❤️
 
Last edited:
Diane, everyone who is caring for another person, thinks they have to be a rock but the truth is, you can't be all the time. Let it out all you need to and do something nice for yourself when things calm down a bit. It's all too easy to forget about yourself when you are absorbed in dealing with a loved one needing your help and care along with kitties who need some extra TLC but you can't be there for them if you don't let yourself let off steam and then find ways to recharge your batteries. I know it's easy to say and much harder to do but it does help to be a bit selfish once in awhile. At one time I was caregiver to 2 elderly folks and my SIL with Down Syndrome and was darn close to burning out. I enrolled in a yoga class and told everyone that Tuesday afternoons were mine and under no circumstances other than an emergency were they to be summoning me or expecting me to be coming over Tuesday afternoons or evenings. It made things a little easier to cope with the other days. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@MrWorfMen's Mom I'm know what you are saying and I agree. The tough thing about my situation is that during the day its actually impossible for me to leave Ashley at home alone because I never know who is going to do what around my block , if a plumber will come here to due work in one of the other apartments, any possible senerio. She hurts so bad that she can't even pick up a gallon of milk herself, cook because the heat makes her eyes swell, can't open a window, I'm not even exaggerating.
I know it's hard to believe, but it's true. Example had to food shop and the store is only 3 blocks away, went in the day and she called me, electrician was in the basement putting all new meters in, 5 of them. Had to drill for some reason, I had to leave my cart and get home ASAP to get her out of their, same thing in the summer with people mowing lawns, snow blowers, every thing. So I asked the town today, why does the tree have to come down, said their is a broken water pipe that needs to be fixed and the tree was in the way, I said are you kidding me, so next week the town will be back to jack hammer the street to get to the pipe, so will have to leave again. Probably beginning early this coming to start.

So I have to do everything at night, laundry mat, close to my house, once I had to leave there to go and get here out of the house.
When I have a doctors appointment I have to take her to my sisters and hope nothing happens there, if something is going on by there I have to take her with me and cage waits in the car because waiting rooms are noisy and TV is blasting. Not good when she hurting or got no sleep.
Just so many things we have to think about ahead off time. She has had it and doesn't know why she can't get the courage to end it. She is tired of living like this especially since there is no future for her. You can't escape sound.
Maybe at night I can manage to go to my girlfriends for a cup of coffee for an hour.
Other than that I can't leave her alone. She just wishes she could take a pill and go to sleep and never wake up,. Like the two drugs they give you for terminal people , Dying With Dignity, You don't have to plan out your death days in advance like taking Zofran a day before every 6-8 he's , stop eating a day before , then take call the drugs you have and hope it works. So you have a day or two to think about it.
I know this sounds so awful but that's the way it is.
Her girlfriend who I told you about was lucky enough she had the right combination of meds and it worked
I hope I am not freaking you out, but she has no quality of life.
I don't know what I would do without her, so now I just watch her suffer, she can't even cry because that brings on pain, I just don't know anymore. The loneliness and depression is killing her.
All she does is sleep all day and is up all night until about 9 am, then back to sleep
I am so very sorry I talk to you about this, I hope you don't mind, if so I truly understand my friend,
Nothing is easy. Will talk later @MrWorfMen's Mom
@Beth 73
 
Last edited:
Agree with Linda :bighug: When I was caregiver for my elderly mom and my BIL sole caregiver for SIL with Alzheimer's we knew we had to take time to do something for ourselves. I returned to jogging ...even a brisk walk 3 x a week and my BIL enrolled in community center where he took yoga ...never would have dreamed he'd do that ...he is the classic picture of the stuffy professor :joyful: You cannot run on empty... praying for you to be able , if only for 3x a week, to go for a walk in fresh air , just for you . Our cars can't run without gas and we cannot " run" without some refilling....wish we were closer where we could come help cos we would ❤️
@Beth 73 oh Beth you are also a sweet heart, taking a walk by my house is can good idea, at least I would be close by if she needed me . you and Linda are a blessing just listening to be.
 
Sounds like you have the switch well planned. I think the box of 5 pens shipped from Canada might actually be cheaper in the long run. I think it's around $200 for the 5 pens shipping included and you could always sell any excess in the supply closet. Obviously it's up to you and that's way down the road if you have 2 pens from Tom already. Will that discount card still be good if and when you need to buy more would be my question or does it have an expiry date. Just food for thought.
@MrWorfMen's Mom just called both pharmacy's and you don't need another coupon, they would have the SingleCare card on file , the only thing is that the price might change, so you can see what that would be ahead of time and if another place is cheaper just go there @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Good that the card doesn't expire and you have a choice as far as pricing on the insulin.

Don't ever apologize for letting off the steam valve. You and Ashley are in an impossible position. If you can't get away from the house then can you find something to do in the way of a hobby that lets you concentrate on something else for awhile? Even 30 minutes or an hour a day of "me" time can help you relax and recharge.

Is there any way your friend could come by periodically to keep tabs on Ashley in the case of any noise issues and give you an afternoon off to go do something for yourself? It doesn't have to be regular but sometimes we all need a break and it doesn't sound like you get one at all.

Just an FYI, have to go pick up SIL from a Xmas party at 8:30 so won't be around till 9 - 9:30pm tonight.
 
Good that the card doesn't expire and you have a choice as far as pricing on the insulin.

Don't ever apologize for letting off the steam valve. You and Ashley are in an impossible position. If you can't get away from the house then can you find something to do in the way of a hobby that lets you concentrate on something else for awhile? Even 30 minutes or an hour a day of "me" time can help you relax and recharge.

Is there any way your friend could come by periodically to keep tabs on Ashley in the case of any noise issues and give you an afternoon off to go do something for yourself? It doesn't have to be regular but sometimes we all need a break and it doesn't sound like you get one at all.

Just an FYI, have to go pick up SIL from a Xmas party at 8:30 so won't be around till 9 - 9:30pm tonight.
@MrWorfMen's Mom no problem, here was another surprise Tyler gave me, I tested him @+9 today he was 132 figure this one out lol. Never before has this happened
@MrWorfMen's Mom So let's see what he gives me for his PMPS @Beth 73
 
Last edited:
Good morning Diane, Ashley,Tyler and Perry ❤️ Sending prayers for a calmer day today ... for healing for Ashley ....and peace for your heart, dear Diane :bighug: Hopefully you can get a bit of a walk in today :bighug:
 
I think Diane and Ashley have had to exit the scene again. When Diane doesn't post, that's my assumption. Hope I am right and it's not something else. I seem to remember Diane mentioning they were going to be jackhammering the sidewalk but I can't for the life of me find it now. :(
 
I think Diane and Ashley have had to exit the scene again. When Diane doesn't post, that's my assumption. Hope I am right and it's not something else. I seem to remember Diane mentioning they were going to be jackhammering the sidewalk but I can't for the life of me find it now. :(
@MrWorfMen's Mom you are absolutely correct, the electrician's were in the basement finishing up the job from last week. This coming week will be the jackhammering , can't wait lol Just got home its 4 pm. Tomorrow I go to the doctors just for routine blood work, my appointment is for 10:30.
I did put Tyler's AMPS on the SS 155 Just tested him @+6.25 170 so he was OK
@Beth 73 I did get a good walk in ,lol every time I have to leave the house and go to my sisters I have to take 4 pillows , a blanket, a sheet, my pocket book, and hers, so its a good work out. She has to have her own stuff because she can't tolerate any thing like fabric softener on my sisters bed, or else her eyes blow ups, just another wonderful thing she deals with having this damn disease.
Missed you both, but I'm back @MrWorfMen's Mom
@Beth 73 didn't mean to worry you both,
 
Glad you're back home but seems the next little while is going to be problematic. :( Maybe it will snow (I know not perfect solution) but that might hold them up starting on the sidewalk! :rolleyes:
 
Glad you're back home but seems the next little while is going to be problematic. :( Maybe it will snow (I know not perfect solution) but that might hold them up starting on the sidewalk! :rolleyes:
@MrWorfMen's Mom wait, did you hear snow, please no, if it snows a lot then we have to leave anyway because of snow blowers, can't even go to my sisters because they will be snow blowing there. When it snows we just go park in a hotels garage, pretty pathetic right, then when everyone is done we come home @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
NO I didn't hear about snow in your area and I wasn't talking any major snow fall. Just a nice white cover enough to hold off the jack hammer guys but not need the blowers. I know, I'm delusional! :blackeye:
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda tested Tyler just now got 111 so I tested him immediately again got 121 I see on 11-18-19 got a 116 at night and we shot 0.5 on the line and no green
WEDNESDAY 12-11-19
PMPS 111 then got 121 Wound up shooting FAT 0.5
What do you think I should shoot @MrWorfMen's Mom
Had to shoot so I went with a FAT 0.5 since I wasn't sure shooting 0.75 Skinny
also since it was a night cycle @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Good morning, Diane ❤️ Sending prayers that all goes well with bloodwork . :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I take Jenna to airport early afternoon today ...takes 45 minutes to get there ..one of the few disadvantages of living in a small town far from bigger city ... but that's ok :)
 
Good morning, Diane ❤️ Sending prayers that all goes well with bloodwork . :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I take Jenna to airport early afternoon today ...takes 45 minutes to get there ..one of the few disadvantages of living in a small town far from bigger city ... but that's ok :)
@Beth 73 hey Beth, one good thing my blood work always comes back excellent
except high potassium. I have to drink this stuff twice a week , its tastes gross
Safe trip for Jenna
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
Are these the same amount of lantus in each pen
Why I was curious is because one says
Lantus Solostar pens. They are 100iu and have 15mls each
and the other describes it as
3ml Lantus SoloSTAR pens
Just because one says 15 mls and the other 3 ml are they the same
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20191210_192631.jpg
    IMG_20191210_192631.jpg
    40.2 KB · Views: 280
Diane we don't get the pens here. We just get the cartridges. That said, I don't know of any pen that holds 15mls. Are you sure it's not the package of 5 pens that is 15mls total?
 
Diane we don't get the pens here. We just get the cartridges. That said, I don't know of any pen that holds 15mls. Are you sure it's not the package of 5 pens that is 15mls total?
@MrWorfMen's Mom this is what I don't understand, I saw this other one on the supply closet it says
I have ordered way to many Lantus Solostar pens. They are 100iu and have 15mls each. Is this the same as the pictures I showed you
Why does it say 100iu and have 15mls each
Instead 100 units 3 ml @MrWorfMen's Mom what do you mean cartridges, not pens, I thought they are called pens like it says on the pic of the box, so what do you call what I got @MrWorfMen's Mom
On the box it says 5 by 3 ml. So does that mean 5×3 equals 15 ml is that what the lady was referring to in the supply closet that I just posted what she wrote
So is it 100 units ×15 equals 1500 units total for 5 of these
 
Last edited:
Back
Top