TYLER'S JOURNEY #21

Good morning, Diane :bighug: Today for me the Big Dig continues in the basement :eek: Sure helps me to not buy anything else considering the mass of stuff down there that I forgot I even had :woot: My kids are very minimalistic but part of that’s because they have a bunch of their junk in our basement . I’m tempted to sell it on Craigslist :cool: Happy calm peaceful Thursday to you and yours :bighug:
 
Good morning, Diane :bighug: Today for me the Big Dig continues in the basement :eek: Sure helps me to not buy anything else considering the mass of stuff down there that I forgot I even had :woot: My kids are very minimalistic but part of that’s because they have a bunch of their junk in our basement . I’m tempted to sell it on Craigslist :cool: Happy calm peaceful Thursday to you and yours :bighug:
Hi Beth have a big garage sale in the summer, I would find things that I saved and would say to myself why would I have even saved this, in the garbage it would go.
Have a good day:cat:
 
Diane , I have always enjoyed our garage sales...enjoyed seeing people , old students /parents ( I taught first grade for years here ) but we basically gave stuff away, took hours to set it up.... we now box stuff up and give to local charity that cares for the elderly and supplies school supplies to kids in the fall . Such a relief and great that it stays in the community to help .
 
Diane , I have always enjoyed our garage sales...enjoyed seeing people , old students /parents ( I taught first grade for years here ) but we basically gave stuff away, took hours to set it up.... we now box stuff up and give to local charity that cares for the elderly and supplies school supplies to kids in the fall . Such a relief and great that it stays in the community to help .
That's awesome Beth, yes I agree that you give it to local charities
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom just a question
What exactly is a fur shot, last night 12-5-19 his PMPS was 160 then tested him @+4 and it wads 161. I noticed when I gave him his shot and made the tent I shot sort of higher up instead of lower down toward his skin , wondering if that's what a fur shot means only because @+4 he was only 161. Probably not going to test until AM because running low on strips
 
A fur shot is when some or all of the insulin doesn't go into kitty. Usually you would notice either a distinctive smell of the insulin (can't recall if Vetsulin has a distinctive odour) on the fur or feel some wetness around the injection site or on the other side of the tent if you accidently went right through to the other side.
It's possible you did a furshot or for whatever reason Tyler just didn't absorb the insulin the same last night. Have you tried using any other injection sites like the flank or side of chest or belly? Some folks have noticed insulin is more effective given in sites other than the scruff while others notice no difference.

cat_injection_site_selection_graph_wider.jpg
 

Attachments

  • cat_injection_site_selection_graph_wider.jpg
    cat_injection_site_selection_graph_wider.jpg
    21.7 KB · Views: 544
A fur shot is when some or all of the insulin doesn't go into kitty. Usually you would notice either a distinctive smell of the insulin (can't recall if Vetsulin has a distinctive odour) on the fur or feel some wetness around the injection site or on the other side of the tent if you accidently went right through to the other side.
It's possible you did a furshot or for whatever reason Tyler just didn't absorb the insulin the same last night. Have you tried using any other injection sites like the flank or side of chest or belly? Some folks have noticed insulin is more effective given in sites other than the scruff while others notice no difference.

View attachment 49592
@MrWorfMen's Mom morning Linda, I really didn't feel anything wet
Once I tried to pull some fur up on the side of his belly and first of all he tried to bite
me, as sweet as he looks when he gets mad he's like a wild animal lol. Once I kept trying to brush him and finally he had enough, he hates his sides touched and he wrapped both paws around my arms and he bite me and drew blood, then when I walked away he chased me and tried to wrap his paws around my ankles, but I still love him lol. second there wasn't much fur to pull up, I had no slack
Maybe I'll see if I can try the side of the chest or flank
FRIDAY 12-6-19
AMPS - 190 Shooting 0.75 Skinny @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Menace didn't like me fussing with her sides either initially but if she had her head stuck in a bowl of food, she didn't notice. You could try holding back a tsp of food and then getting Tyler to dive into that when you shoot so he's preoccupied with the food instead of what you are doing.
I never noticed any difference in the insulin's effect between scruff and other sites with Menace but others have so it's worth a try as long as you don't end up injured doing it.
 
Menace didn't like me fussing with her sides either initially but if she had her head stuck in a bowl of food, she didn't notice. You could try holding back a tsp of food and then getting Tyler to dive into that when you shoot so he's preoccupied with the food instead of what you are doing.
I never noticed any difference in the insulin's effect between scruff and other sites with Menace but others have so it's worth a try as long as you don't end up injured doing it.
I sort of just shot on the side of the chest, so we shall see, all of the other sites I just can't get any slack on him, not going to worry about it @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Good morning , Diane :bighug: Sounds like he's well hydrated which is awesome . I have always preoccupied Elmo with a small bit of baby food meat only ( think it's Gerbers 2nd) ...that's the only time he gets this treat ... and Ben comes as soon as he hears the jar lid pop when opened cos he knows he gets to lick the spoon :rolleyes:
 
Good morning , Diane :bighug: Sounds like he's well hydrated which is awesome . I have always preoccupied Elmo with a small bit of baby food meat only ( think it's Gerbers 2nd) ...that's the only time he gets this treat ... and Ben comes as soon as he hears the jar lid pop when opened cos he knows he gets to lick the spoon :rolleyes:
@Beth 73 morning Beth, oh he's well hydrated and fat lol. Wait until he goes for his check up soon my vet is going to flip. But she already knows that he's just a big bloib and not burning calories because he's just lazy. When he was diagnosed he went in weighing 18 lbs , he was 23 before that. Then little by little her started packing on the pounds. I weighed him the other day 20 lbs, will see if that's correct when he goes to the vet.
 
Diane, I have a curling tournament tomorrow for my Spec O team and will be leaving before you shoot in the morning. You know what to do with Tyler but if there are any questions, Beth has offered to keep an eye out for you. She used Vetsulin with Elmo during their first rodeo so you are in good hands. :D
 
Good morning , Diane :bighug: Hope is all well with you , Ashley and fur boys :cat::cat: Looks like we are on our own today :woot: It's all good ❤️ And you are an expert Vetsulin giver who could teach me a thing or two , I'm sure :)
 
Good morning , Diane :bighug: Hope is all well with you , Ashley and fur boys :cat::cat: Looks like we are on our own today :woot: It's all good ❤️ And you are an expert Vetsulin giver who could teach me a thing or two , I'm sure :)
@Beth 73 good morning Beth thanks for offering to keep an eye on me and Tyler, I truly appreciate you it. Enjoy your day and I will speak with you later:cat:
 
@Beth 73 good morning Beth thanks for offering to keep an eye on me and Tyler, I truly appreciate you it. Enjoy your day and I will speak with you later:cat:
We shall keep an eye on each other, Diane ❤️ Just so comforting to know others are fighting our corner with us ...that understands what it takes to do this FD dance ❤️ Glad you are here for me as well :bighug:
 
We shall keep an eye on each other, Diane ❤️ Just so comforting to know others are fighting our corner with us ...that understands what it takes to do this FD dance ❤️ Glad you are here for me as well :bighug:
Yes Linda is amazing, don't know what I would have done without her in the beginning and so are you for always checking upon on us, I will always be there for you , but not so much for dosing lol, you can always vent to me, tell me can out what's going on, etc, That 209 this morning irked me, his pre shots have been getting higher lately, when in the past they were much much lower. Tyler's appointment is coming up soon and I will bring my notebook with me showing her everything and tell her I would like to switch to Lantus.
 
I'm like you, Diane ... I can figure what to do for Elmo but am not confident enough to give dose advice ....thatsxwsy snove my pay grade :woot: But I can teach how to steer..I e become expert at that thanks to Linda and Bron ...their love snd guidance is without price ❤️ Guess you and I fillbthe role of listening ears and cheerleaders :joyful: But Linda does that too ... what a blessing she is ❤️
 
Will be interesting to see what vet says .. praying he/she is cooperative to your switching to Lantus ...should be no problem :)
 
Will be interesting to see what vet says .. praying he/she is cooperative to your switching to Lantus ...should be no problem :)
I have known her for over 15 yes or so, she usually goes along with me, so let's see.
When I wanted to order the U 40 syringes with half markings she ok'd it for a year.
She better not give me trouble lol will talk later
 
Hey Diane :bighug: Hope your Saturday went well . Here we are still in the 50s and no snow :( Yes, I am sad ab that o_O Give Tyler and Perry extra Scritches from me :cat:
 
Hey Diane :bighug: Hope your Saturday went well . Here we are still in the 50s and no snow :( Yes, I am sad ab that o_O Give Tyler and Perry extra Scritches from me :cat:
Hey Beth it's been really cold and windy here, all the snow has melted about 3 days ago
Make sure you give that cutie pie Elmo a big fat kiss on his wet nose . I just love kissing their wet cold noses. I'm nuts
 
Good morning. Got home around 6pm but was exhausted. These competitions are fun but tiring. Had some dinner when I got home and put my feet up to cuddle with Myster and went out like a light bulb. Woke up around MN and went to bed. There was only one other team in our division. We managed to win one game, the other team won one so we were tied till the final game when they cleaned our clock. There is another competition in January before the BIG competition early Feb. so we've got some work to do in the next couple of weeks if we want to have any hope of getting to the Tankard again.
 
Good morning. Got home around 6pm but was exhausted. These competitions are fun but tiring. Had some dinner when I got home and put my feet up to cuddle with Myster and went out like a light bulb. Woke up around MN and went to bed. There was only one other team in our division. We managed to win one game, the other team won one so we were tied till the final game when they cleaned our clock. There is another competition in January before the BIG competition early Feb. so we've got some work to do in the next couple of weeks if we want to have any hope of getting to the Tankard again.
I figured you were tired. Glad you won one game, the other team cleaned your clock, Linda you do make me chuckle all the time. Whip their butts into shape lol. Now tell me what is the Tankard, is it like our Super Bowl here for football @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
The Tankard is the Ontario Men's Championship tournament for the "pros". The tradition is that the Spec O teams compete to win the honour of playing a game at a Tankard venue. It's fun for them to see and sometimes meet some of the pro curlers but in some ways it leaves a bad taste in my mouth. They play during dinner break in the pro games so there are usually very few spectators other than family and friends. I wish they actually slotted them time in the schedule to allow more people to see the skill and ability of these folks. Now the Tournament of Hearts which is the Ontario Women's Championship is held at the same venue at the same time so there are even more pro curlers for them meet. Our curlers have fun though collecting autographs and taking pics and getting to watch the pros play in person.
 
The Tankard is the Ontario Men's Championship tournament for the "pros". The tradition is that the Spec O teams compete to win the honour of playing a game at a Tankard venue. It's fun for them to see and sometimes meet some of the pro curlers but in some ways it leaves a bad taste in my mouth. They play during dinner break in the pro games so there are usually very few spectators other than family and friends. I wish they actually slotted them time in the schedule to allow more people to see the skill and ability of these folks. Now the Tournament of Hearts which is the Ontario Women's Championship is held at the same venue at the same time so there are even more pro curlers for them meet. Our curlers have fun though collecting autographs and taking pics and getting to watch the pros play in person.
That sounds like so much fun for the kids to meet the pros and take pics and get their autographs. That stinks about the dinner schedule, I agree they should schedule it at a different time so more people can be there. I think I would really enjoy playing this game. I am very competitive lol. If they ever had women's football when I was in high school I would have definitely tried out.
 
Me too , Diane , ab football !!! Grew up with all brothers and played some with them ...in high school I played field hockey which is as close s I ever got to getting to smash people around :woot: I'd love to be a tackle on a football team !!! But I'm only 5'2"
 
Me too , Diane , ab football !!! Grew up with all brothers and played some with them ...in high school I played field hockey which is as close s I ever got to getting to smash people around :woot: I'd love to be a tackle on a football team !!! But I'm only 5'2"
I am 5'8" would have to love to have been a wide receiver or quarterback
 
Good morning , two of my favorite peoples ❤️❤️ Diane, Tyler and Elmo are both blue AMPS today !!! :cool::cool: Think that's signaling something special is on the way :cat: :cat:
 
So yesterday when Elmo was deep asleep Dan let spare kitty Boo out of our bedroom for some roam around time ...all was well until Elmo woke up and needed to pee so Dan tried to pick Boo up and she made a beeline for the Christmas tree and began shinneying up the trunk :woot: She has lived inside all her life since 4 weeks old .. never saw a tree much less climbed one ...that's just innate and was hilarious to watch her :joyful:
 
So yesterday when Elmo was deep asleep Dan let spare kitty Boo out of our bedroom for some roam around time ...all was well until Elmo woke up and needed to pee so Dan tried to pick Boo up and she made a beeline for the Christmas tree and began shinneying up the trunk :woot: She has lived inside all her life since 4 weeks old .. never saw a tree much less climbed one ...that's just innate and was hilarious to watch her :joyful:
Oh that's just too funny
 
I hope that tree is well anchored. :cat: Came home to one tipped over and strewn across my living room thanks to our 1st kitty many years ago. Tied it to the wall with fishing line after that. When we moved, lacking a discrete wall to screw hooks into, we started screwing the tree stand into the hardwood floor. Those holes didn't matter as they blended with the wood. :woot:
 
Back
Top