Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Very Active Member
continued from previous thread which was #2
Ok so only going down 3 points wasn't that bad, I don't know why I was getting confused about feeding him at +2 , so I was correct in giving him food at +2?HERE is a link to previous thread.
Tyler may have gone a bit lower at +4 and is now on his way back up. That's OK. He's still in good numbers. The 96 point drop at +2 is a bit fast but not unusual for Vetsulin. He obviously slowed down thereafter. We'll see what he gives you for +7.
Ok will definitely stay with the 175. , Don't get aggravated lol let's say his AMPS or the PMPS is 165 would I give insulin if so how much?Given his BG of late, you might be able to back up your no shoot number a tad but certainly not to 95 which is very close to the lowest we want him to go. Feeding him at +2 will slow him down a bit but if he was already low APMS and you give insulin, it would take more than a snack to get BG up to safe levels if he started to drop fast/a lot. It might be OK to shoot at 160, maybe a slightly reduced dose but not sure I'd go any lower. For now I'd stick with the 175 cut off.
Ok I was just thinking the same thing , I'm over thinking to much. You better not disappear on me lol just don't get aggravated with meLet's cross that bridge when we come to it. It really depends on how he is doing at the time and for the past few days to a couple of weeks. Diabetes is not static and things change with time so we don't want to put the cart before the horse and decide to shoot any lower without knowing how he's been doing for a few days/week before.
Please don't kill me lol I'm confused again .we said No Shoot at 175 or under right?Meaning if it's 175 or under do not give insulinI'm not going to get aggravated. I tend to be a very patient person when it comes to this subject (not so much on some others LOL!). It may not be rocket science but it's not simple or even straight forward much of the time. Asking questions is the only way we learn so ask away.
I guess I should feed him again after +3 also? Did you read what I wrote on #11 please don't get annoyed with me @MrWorfMen's MomWhile Tyler dropped a fair bit in that 2 hours, the fact that he didn't feel the need to eat might be a good sign that he is getting use to being in those lower numbers. That doesn't make you feel better at the time but it's nothing to panic about. If you were to find that he was continuing to drop quickly, then you can always intervene with higher carb and if that means treats he will eat, so be it. As a last resort or if numbers are really low, rubbing karo or honey on his gums will give him a quick although short lived boost. He has a habit of doing the quick drop but he is surfing in decent numbers for a decent period too so I wouldn't worry about him too much. Not saying to become complacent but I don't think on this dose he is likely to nose dive unless he hasn't eaten his pre-shot meal well.
I see the drop again today. If you are worried about him check him again at +3. If he's fine at +3 then leave him go until +5 or +6 and check again then.
He did eat @ +2 I gave him FF, did you read #11 yet, I am getting confused about the 175 cut off .I'm sorry to keep asking @MrWorfMen's Mom or do you mean if he doesn't want to ever eat @ +2 then test again at +3If Tyler isn't hungry at +2 check again at +3 and feed him then. It's hard to give you hard and fast rules because kitty doesn't always co-operate as you found out. Relax. Tyler usually hits nadir between +2 and +4 so if he drops more than usual, my bets are that he will want to eat. You are checking him often enough to catch a big drop and if you see something out of the ordinary for him, you can always test again earlier.
Ok just tested @+3 98 What's confusing me is those numbers in page #11 weren't after pre shot @MrWorfMen's MomYes. Unless he's seriously low at +2 (getting down to 80 or 90), just let him be and retest in 30 minutes to an hour again depending on BG level. So if he is at 100 you can wait an hour...if he's at 85 retest in 30 minutes.
The 175 cutoff is for pre-shot readings only and tells you whether to give him a full dose or any insulin. We expect the readings after pre-shot to be lower.
Not sure I am explaining this well. Maybe I'm not understanding what is confusing you. Let me know.
Ok so what you are saying is with those numbers I posted on #11 I didn't have to give any insulin at all? So for the next few pre shots if he's under 175 do not shootOh now I understand. You're right. If you can monitor and get tests then you can shoot those lower pre-shots. I'm hesitant to make it a carte blanche thing that you can shoot under 175, say 150 or above, only because if he suddenly decides to start throwing green numbers, then it wouldn't be safe. Today is a prime example. He's now down to 98 and he started higher. It's something that needs to be watched in relation to what Tyler has been doing for the past few days. Right now, knowing what he's doing today, I'd be reluctant to shoot under 175. Clear as mud right!?
You are definitely going to kill me or stop replying to me , so if he might give me a PMPS tonight of 153 lower his dose, correct, what I'm confused about now if it is 153 or let's say lower why am I giving any insulin at all??, Is it to get him into the higher greens and lower blues at preshots so we don't have to give any insulin, you really must be tired of explaining things to me over and over again , yes I'm a hyper person lol @MrWorfMen's MomDiane, breathe. This is not black and white stuff. Some of it is gut feeling and a lot of it is comfort level along with history.
We initially say don't shoot if BG is under 200 (or in your case 225 to 250 because you use the pet meter) because when you are new and don't have data, you don't know what kitty will do and have little to no history to predict what kitty will do. Once you get some data to understand how the insulin is working for Tyler, we moved the no shoot limit back to 175 because we want to get those pre-shots down and get him surfing in decent numbers through a longer period each cycle.
Tyler did fine shooting around 175 pre-shots and didn't drop exceptionally fast or a huge amount so when he gave you lower pre-shot numbers it became a decision making process. Given how far he was dropping on the dose he was on from 175, I thought it was safe to try dosing him at 153 for instance because he wasn't dropping enough to get into trouble with 20 points less to play with (the amount of room he has till he hits that 80 to 90 goal.)
The last couple of days, Tyler has dropped a bit more in that first couple of hours so if he were to present you with a reading of 153 tonight, I definitely wouldn't give him the fat 0.5u. I might try a skinny 0.5u or less if you can monitor but otherwise I'd say skip. It's a bit of guess work but it's based on Tyler's current handling of the insulin. That's why the testing is so helpful. It gives you data to see what he is likely to do.
Does that help?![]()
Ok I think I totally understand, sorry for the late response, had to run to the vet to get Perry more Cerenia. I'll speak to you later and we will see what is PMPS so I'll know what to shoot, I always feel like I rely on you to much I know that you have your kitty's to take care of and chores. At least his +4 went up to 124 @MrWorfMen's MomYou are exactly right. You try to shoot lower pre-shots as long as they are not likely to take Tyler too low with the goal of getting Tyler to surf as long as possible each cycle in a range of about 80/90 to maybe 125 or so while on insulin and ultimately to get him off insulin completely. Unfortunately we don't have exact numbers for high acceptable levels for pet meters but my experience, doing side by side testing made me think I'd have a strong remission if I could keep her under 125 on her pet meter. That is just my experience not science. Even though we say normal BG is 68 to 150 on a pet meter, we don't want kitty sitting at the top end of normal if we can get them below that. If you skip shots it usually ends up causing numbers to go up and a cycle or two to get back on track. Once you have more data, you try shooting at a slightly lower pre-shot to see if you can push his numbers down. Remember our kitties get use to being in high numbers and their bodies need to be "retrained" to accept that lower numbers are good and the more we can maintain good numbers the more they stop bouncing and even out a bit.
You have to look at duration, nadir etc and put together a plan for each cat as they are all different. Pre-shot shootable numbers can be lowered, dose can be adjusted, giving reduced insulin at lower pre-shot numbers can all be used to try to get and keep kitty in ideal numbers for as long as possible through each 24 hour period.
Ok I am just about to shoot, will go with 0.5 u, did you find it strange what I said in #26 about his +9.25 being 187 and then at PMPS was 179Sorry Diane. I dozed off after dinner and just woke up. How about a right on the line 0.5u tonight if you haven't shot yet?
Ok I understand, so now he will have me up really late tonight. I wish now that I wouldNope because all meters have a 20% variance so those numbers are virtually the same and BG waivers around a bit all the time so not that much different if at all.
I was just thinking the way I never know when I have to leave the house with Ashley because of someone mowing their lawns, or for what ever reason , something always happens or if I have to do food shopping or errands at night, I wouldn't have to be home until 8:30 pm. It's just a mess lol between him and Perry I think it works out better when I come to think of it. At least if I do ever want to you told me how to. Thanks. P.S. who gave you the right to fall asleep lol you know I'm only joking with you @MrWorfMen's MomIf you want to back his shot time up to 7am/7pm or 8am/8pm you can do that easy enough. Tomorrow move everything back an hour and then on Sunday do the same thing again. That gets you back to 8pm.
You're too funny, I'm 63 and sometimes I feel like I'm 70 lolI'm older than you. I've earned it!![]()
Ok 0.5 units it is, but do you think I should have given a little bit of food at +4? Since I saw it came up at +4 after feeding him at the +2 that's why I didn't feed and wanted to see if his BG would come up on it's own .You got it. Stick with the exact 0.5u again and see what he does. As for not feeding Tyler at +4, that is something you can experiment with. If his pancreas is working it's possible his BG would go down by about 3 hours after eating but if he just ate at +2, I don't think he needed more food yet.
Guess what confused again, are you saying I should test at +2 and +3 are you saying when I tested @+2 and then fed him right after that and then didn't give any food since that +2 his BG shouldn't have gone up a bit and his pancreas didn't do that much work to keep it lower than that +5 number? So was that green number a good sign or bad sign? What do you mean when you said it doesn't look like his pancreas did any extra work from the food , sorry for not understanding it @MrWorfMen's MomNo I'm not saying you should have fed him. Testing about 3 hours after feeding to see if BG has gone down is a way to see if the pancreas is doing some extra work. You fed Tyler at +2 so 3 hours without food would be +5 and he was back up a bit so it doesn't look like his pancreas did any extra work from the food. His pancreas is obviously working better but it's still sputtering off and on by the looks of things given that green yesterday.
Ok will do , hope everything is ok @MrWorfMen's MomI'd try the fat 0.5u as long as you can monitor him. I'd like to see him get down to a dark green again. Will respond to previous questions shortly.![]()
Ok #41 did you find his BG's in #41 PMPS strange would you take a look nowFood will cause a rise in BG shortly after eating however the pancreas also notices this and pumps out insulin to deal with that extra glucose from the food. When kitty' pancreas is not working as well as it should, we have to give them insulin shots to make up for what the pancreas is not producing. The insulin we inject is going to work no matter what BG is but feeding when we know the BG is most likely to be dropping gives the insulin something to work with over and above the glucose already circulating. So with Vetsulin if kitty drops around +2 or +3, you feed then to slow down the drop so the insulin has something to work with. This also tends to help duration. Feeding in the last half of the cycle can shorten the cycle and cause higher pre-shots.
I think what you've been doing has bee working well for Tyler. He is not dropping off sharply but he is getting a decent surf in the early middle of the cycle. We don't want to shorten duration but the only way to see if feeding any later would affect his cycle would be to try it. While this theory works for many cats, every cat is different and you just have to experiment a bit to see what works best for Tyler. I don't think you are over testing but you could get a +2 and move the +3 to +4 periodically to give him more of a break between tests unless he is dropping off sharply at the first post shot test or do a +3 and +5 some days especially when he starts the cycle a bit higher (in the yellows).
Ok one last thing take a look at #47 , that's what's confusing me about shooting @MrWorfMen's MomI think I'd stick to an even 0.5u tonight. I think that yellow this AM might have been a bounce from possibly going lower than we are aware of last night. He's been pretty flat all day today so I'd definitely get the +2 to see what he up to tonight.
While his numbers in #41 might not be what you expected, they're really not that strange. All those readings are pretty flat and he's getting better duration in the cycle. Everyday is not going to look the same and there are always going to be those blurps that make you scratch your head a bit.