TYLER'S JOURNEY #3

It's Ok that Tyler went down to 98. That is exactly what you want him to do. If you can get him to mix some of those higher dark green in with the low blue numbers, you have hit the jackpot and Tyler isn't that far from doing just that. How about if he is at 160 and you can monitor, you try a skinny 0.5u which is just at the top of the half unit mark. I know those greens are scary but if you can get him to hit those greens more often, then he'll get used to them and won't bounce up as high for pre-shots. I wish this was black and white but it's really about reading YOUR cat. Tyler is doing beautifully but if we could get him down just a tad more, he's be GREEEAAAATTT! :D
 
It's Ok that Tyler went down to 98. That is exactly what you want him to do. If you can get him to mix some of those higher dark green in with the low blue numbers, you have hit the jackpot and Tyler isn't that far from doing just that. How about if he is at 160 and you can monitor, you try a skinny 0.5u which is just at the top of the half unit mark. I know those greens are scary but if you can get him to hit those greens more often, then he'll get used to them and won't bounce up as high for pre-shots. I wish this was black and white but it's really about reading YOUR cat. Tyler is doing beautifully but if we could get him down just a tad more, he's be GREEEAAAATTT! :D
Hey Linda, how are you, I already gave Tyler his insulin 0.5 units at 9:00 pm
PMPS - 174

Here is what I don't understand, be patient ok lol
When it comes to shooting, you said

Oh now I understand. You're right. If you can monitor and get teststhen you can shoot those lower pre-shots. I'm hesitant to make it a carte blanche thing that you can shoot under 175, say 150 or above, only because if he suddenly decides to start throwing green numbers, then it wouldn't be safe. Today is a prime example. He's now down to 98 and he started higher. It's something that needs to be watched in relation to what Tyler has been doing for the past few days. Right now, knowing what he's doing today, I'd be reluctant to shoot under 175. Clear as mud right!?

With what you above , why am I giving insulin to him if his BG Pre Shot is under 175 and what does 150 or above mean when you said that? And only because if he suddenly decides to start throwing green numbers then it wouldn't be safe? When you said today was a prime example , he's now down to 98 and he started higher.
Can you please explain that to me again, sorry I'm just not getting it.
You said to maybe try 0.5 skinny tonight if his pre shot was 160, ok does that mean if he has a lower pre shot we still give insulin , only a lower dose, until maybe he might give a pre shot number of maybe 98 up to say 110 then we don't give any insulin at all?
I'm just trying to understand what you said @MrWorfMen's Mom
That 98 happened on 6-21-19 @+3 and you said that's where we want him to be, but then you said if he suddenly starts throwing green numbers then it wouldn't be safe.This is what I'm not understanding
 
Last edited:
You've got it. If he gives you a pre-shot under 160 you skip the shot. I'm saying that because we want to get his BG down a bit more but he dropped quickly with a pre-shot of just over 150. Dark green numbers are NOT unsafe unless they go too low. So you want to aim for high dark green numbers 80 to 99 but not much lower. Tyler is not going to go hypo unless he drops below 68 and my girl has been below that on her AT2 meter and never had a hypo event so 68 allows for a bit of cushion with most cats. 80 is where you want to call the cut off with Vetsulin because it can cause steep BG drops. That said, Tyler has the smoothest cycles I have ever seen with Vetsulin because he doesn't drop a lot quickly but he maintains a decent BG well.
I initially said 175 so we could see what he did. Because he doesn't drop a lot quickly, I think you can safely dose him at a lower pre-shot. If you are not comfortable with anything I suggest, that is fine. This is not about my feelings. This is about keeping Tyler safe and you comfortable with what you are doing so you are not worrying about him constantly. When you get a pre-shot of 98, you'll hear me partying up north here and know not to shoot!
 
You've got it. If he gives you a pre-shot under 160 you skip the shot. I'm saying that because we want to get his BG down a bit more but he dropped quickly with a pre-shot of just over 150. Dark green numbers are NOT unsafe unless they go too low. So you want to aim for high dark green numbers 80 to 99 but not much lower. Tyler is not going to go hypo unless he drops below 68 and my girl has been below that on her AT2 meter and never had a hypo event so 68 allows for a bit of cushion with most cats. 80 is where you want to call the cut off with Vetsulin because it can cause steep BG drops. That said, Tyler has the smoothest cycles I have ever seen with Vetsulin because he doesn't drop a lot quickly but he maintains a decent BG well.
I initially said 175 so we could see what he did. Because he doesn't drop a lot quickly, I think you can safely dose him at a lower pre-shot. If you are not comfortable with anything I suggest, that is fine. This is not about my feelings. This is about keeping Tyler safe and you comfortable with what you are doing so you are not worrying about him constantly. When you get a pre-shot of 98, you'll hear me partying up north here and know not to shoot!
Linda I am very comfortable with what you suggest, I don't want to give you the wrong idea at all. I honestly hope you are not annoyed . I was just wondering why I shot on 6-17-19 when is AMPS was 153 and on 6-15-19 his PMPS was 142. Thats why I was confused. I just have to stop worrying like I do. I'm trying to understand things so I don't have to bother you so much . Please don't ever think I don't feel comfortable with what you suggest, I just hope you are not annoyed or tired of me. You have been fantastic and I can't say enough great things about you @MrWorfMen's MomI hope you are still willing to help me with Tyler.

Monday 6-24-19
PMPS - 174
+2 - 127 he didn't want any food
+4 - 110. Ate small amount of FF
+6.5 - 128. Didn't want to eat @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Well look at the boy work that juice. I'm delighted to see that BG! Go Tyler!:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
Test him once +3 after his pre-shot meal and then take a break. Just like to see if he is holding, down at all or rising at that point with no shot.

Diane, stop worrying so much. Deep breathes. I have no problem with questions no matter how often they are asked. There are so many if, ands or buts in this sugar dance that it can be mind boggling at times. If I don't answer right away, it's either I'm off doing other stuff or trying to think of a better way to explain. :D
 
Well look at the boy work that juice. I'm delighted to see that BG! Go Tyler!:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
Test him once +3 after his pre-shot meal and then take a break. Just like to see if he is holding, down at all or rising at that point with no shot.

Diane, stop worrying so much. Deep breathes. I have no problem with questions no matter how often they are asked. There are so many if, ands or buts in this sugar dance that it can be mind boggling at times. If I don't answer right away, it's either I'm off doing other stuff or trying to think of a better way to explain. :D
Ok will do, thank you Linda, and again I feel totally comfortable with any suggestions you give me, I felt awful last night that you might have thought I didn't feel comfortable with any suggestions, I'll check him at +3 and post it , he better be a good boy lol @MrWorfMen's MomDo they give any awards out here for The Biggest Nut Case lol , I'll probably win lol
 
Last edited:
@MrWorfMen's Mom Ready Drum Roll
+3 with no insulin Are you ready lol
+3-. 111
So we have Tuesday 6-25-19
AMPS - 149 NO INSULIN
+3 - 111
If he wants a little FF later, like a teaspoon do I have to check 30 minutes after he eats it, or just wait and see what his PMPS is tonight @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
I am celebrating that 111.
animated-feeling-smiley-image-0234.gif
Obviously his little pancreas is working much better. No insulin, a meal and his BG is down! WHOOHOO! You can feed Tyler just as you usually do and you and Tyler can take a break from testing. Just wait and see what his PMPS is.
 
I am celebrating that 111. View attachment 45872 Obviously his little pancreas is working much better. No insulin, a meal and his BG is down! WHOOHOO! You can feed Tyler just as you usually do and you and Tyler can take a break from testing. Just wait and see what his PMPS is.
I knew that would make you happy, it wouldn't have happened if it wasn't for your guidance, , I thank you so much and so does Tyler, he told me to tell you thank you for helping my mama with everything , at least I don't have to get poked until tonight. Lol @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda
Well that was short lived , Tyler didn't listen to us lol
TUESDAY 6-25-19
PMPS-. 211 he hasn't eaten anything since I fed him his morning meal, he hasn't bothered me for any, do you think because he hasn't eaten since then that could be the reason why for the 211 BG, nothing in his stomach to make his pancreas do some work?
What dosage do you think I should give tonight @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Well I guess he needs a snack later in the day to get his pancreas revved up when his shots are skipped. I'm assuming he was quite hungry when you fed him tonight? No worries about the 211. I'd stick to 0.5u on the line tonight and test again around +3 after his meal.
 
Well I guess he needs a snack later in the day to get his pancreas revved up when his shots are skipped. I'm assuming he was quite hungry when you fed him tonight? No worries about the 211. I'd stick to 0.5u on the line tonight and test again around +3 after his meal.
That's what I was going to mention to you , as a matter of fact today I had to follow him around to get him to eat enough, he's a strange cat, he will eat some then walk into another room, so I have to get the dish and hold it up to his mouth for him to eat some more, he's a weirdo lol, and tonight he wasn't that hungry, I thought he would be also. He ate some, then I had to follow him and put some on my fingers and then he licked it off and then eventually he ate some more from the dish. Like I said he's a weirdo lol . He seems perfectly fine today, ok I'll give the 0.5 u on the line and check him @+3 @MrWorfMen's Mom



TUESDAY 6-25-19
PMPS - 211
+3 -124 @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
I had to follow him around to get him to eat enough,
Remember, as Tyler gets into better numbers, he is processing the food he takes in more efficiently and that generally leads to a decrease in appetite back to a more normal level. I know how frustrating it is to chase a cat around with their food bowl in your hand encouraging them to eat.....welcome to my world with a 21yr old with some dementia who loses his food bowl or forgets what he was doing, walks away and then howls at me to bring his food to him. LOL! As long as Tyler is eating a decent amount over the course of the day, I wouldn't be worried about him.
 
Remember, as Tyler gets into better numbers, he is processing the food he takes in more efficiently and that generally leads to a decrease in appetite back to a more normal level. I know how frustrating it is to chase a cat around with their food bowl in your hand encouraging them to eat.....welcome to my world with a 21yr old with some dementia who loses his food bowl or forgets what he was doing, walks away and then howls at me to bring his food to him. LOL! As long as Tyler is eating a decent amount over the course of the day, I wouldn't be worried about him.
Lol at least we get some exercise in chasing them around, How is Myster doing? I hope he is going to have a good day , I going to attempt to feed Tyler , I assume it's a NO SHOOT this morning @MrWorfMen's MomWell I'm not even going to get his food ready yet, he's not even bothering me, just laying on the kitchen floor rolling around
Since his BG was 150 this morning and a NO SHOOT let him get good and hungry. Like I said after feeding him I'll test @+3 like yesterday morning to see what's going on @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
WEDNESDAY 6-26-19
PMPS - 194
Well this morning was a NO SHOOT
I gave him a snack this afternoon around 3:30 hoping with the snack his PMPS might have been lower. What do you think about tonight's dosage, should we do the 0.5 u right on the line again? @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Yes I'd stick with 0.5 on the line tonight. I'm thinking though that the next time he is low in the AM like yesterday and tomorrow, that perhaps a 0.25u dose might be the ticket to keeping him lower at night. Let's see what he does tomorrow AM and if you can monitor, you can try the smaller dose at the lower pre-shot if you are game. ;)
 
Yes I'd stick with 0.5 on the line tonight. I'm thinking though that the next time he is low in the AM like yesterday and tomorrow, that perhaps a 0.25u dose might be the ticket to keeping him lower at night. Let's see what he does tomorrow AM and if you can monitor, you can try the smaller dose at the lower pre-shot if you are game. ;)
Ok Linda, , that's sounds good, I can monitor him all day tomorrow in the morning if I get a low reading again in the am, and I'm game ! Thanks so much @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Hot here too with mega humidity (it's already 77...feels like 84) but I am NOT complaining. We are supposed to reach 86 and feel like 93 later today. It's taken far too long to warm up here. It was a miserable extremely cool/wet spring so this is a welcome change as far as I'm concerned.
 
Hot here too with mega humidity (it's already 77...feels like 84) but I am NOT complaining. We are supposed to reach 86 and feel like 93 later today. It's taken far too long to warm up here. It was a miserable extremely cool/wet spring so this is a welcome change as far as I'm concerned.
Enjoy the heat, I'm staying inside lol The older I get the more I can't stand the heat, I'm an old fart now lol
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda
Just tested Tyler 45 minutes late, had a doctor's appt
FRIDAY 6-28-19
AMPS - 152
Not bad at all lol
Do you think we should try the 0.25 u like we talked about hoping that his PMPS might be lower when I test him? @MrWorfMen's MomWe were hoping the 0.25 u in the am might be the ticket to keeping him low at night. Will be ready to shoot if any at 10:30. Oh, I left a little food out for him overnight, which I never do.
Ok I'm going to have to shoot so I am going to try the 0.25 units and will definitely monitor him and see if this might give him a lower PMPS, wish me luck
 
Last edited:
Linda do you think it's ok if I happen to give Tyler his insulin at 10:00 pm tonight, even though I gave it to him this morning at 10:45 am today, had a doctor's appointment and got home late, or is it too early @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
If you plan to do your usual testing tonight, I'd try 0.5 just to the top of the half line so a 0.5 skinny. I like those 2 lower pre-shots today but would like his nadir down a touch more too. If not then I'd stick to 0.25u if you need a night of rest. And yes you an wait till 10pm actually shoot.
 
Last edited:
If you plan to do your usual testing tonight, I'd try 0.5 just to the bottom of the half line so a 0.5 skinny. I like those 2 lower pre-shots today but would like his nadir down a touch more too. If not then I'd stick to 0.25u if you need a night of rest. And yes you an wait till 10pm actually shoot.
Yep I can stay up to test him through the night, I thought you would like those lower pre shots today, ok 0.5 skinny, , a little confused about the skinny, I know I did it before, when you say just to the bottom of the half line , do you mean where the 0.5 half markings is I would go a little above the line? @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Back
Top