TYLER'S JOURNEY #9

The difference is that your insulin is less concentrated than U100 insulin so at a dose of 1u of Vetsulin for example you would draw up 2.5 units of insulin in a U100 syringe because it is skinnier than the U40 syringe. This means that you have more markings on the syringe to make .2u adjustments with. We have a conversion chart so no math is required.....you just look on the chart and draw accordingly.

Your state is one of the 2 I believe that requires a script for syringes. Question - are you anywhere near the PA or NY border such that you could pick up syringes there?
 
The difference is that your insulin is less concentrated than U100 insulin so at a dose of 1u of Vetsulin for example you would draw up 2.5 units of insulin in a U100 syringe because it is skinnier than the U40 syringe. This means that you have more markings on the syringe to make .2u adjustments with. We have a conversion chart so no math is required.....you just look on the chart and draw accordingly.

Your state is one of the 2 I believe that requires a script for syringes. Question - are you anywhere near the PA or NY border such that you could pick up syringes there?
Please look at # 50 again I added to it. Yes I would need a script in N.J.
I am close to NYC Manhattan. I really wouldn't want to go to the City though. I always need to be close by for Ashley , I know it wouldn't have to go that often but I really don't want to go there @MrWorfMen's Mom I just found this on the group
3992453213_a2fb0c50c0.jpg


(Picture from Sheila and Beau's post on the old FDMB: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... ?8,1864962)

The green and red numbers(1.4, 1.0, 0.6, 0.2 on on the half unit side of the markings and 1.2, 0.8, 0.4 on the whole unit side of the markings) on the bottom insulin syringe is the U40 dose as drawn up into the U100 insulin syringe
.This sentence is from me now I really think I would get confused, and wouldn't feel comfortable using the U-100 syringes. I see there would be a conversion chart but I don't think I would sure about using it. I hope it doesn't matter to much staying with the U-40 syringes @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
one alternative would be to have one of the members here, mail you some of the syringes .. check the supply closet too

yes you'd have to pay postage as well, however I always figure what the cost of gas would be, often it is cheaper to get it by mail
of course there is also your need to stay close to Ashley, that overrides most anything

Walmart's U-100 syringes are about as inexpensive as it gets, for accuracy you might want to use calipers on those

I was using those U-100s the last few days shooting Vetsulin, to get a more accurate dose, since the U-40s I had didn't have half unit markings
 
I figured getting to another state was a long shot but had to ask. LOL! You don't happen to have a friend or neighbour who goes to NY periodically or even daily for work and might be willing to pick them up for you? You don't need different insulin if your vet is willing to write you a script for the U100 syringes. You need 3/10ml syringes U100 syringes with half unit markings and needle length 8mm (5/16th inch) gauge 31.
 
I figured getting to another state was a long shot but had to ask. LOL! You don't happen to have a friend or neighbour who goes to NY periodically or even daily for work and might be willing to pick them up for you? You don't need different insulin if your vet is willing to write you a script for the U100 syringes. You need 3/10ml syringes U100 syringes with half unit markings and needle length 8mm (5/16th inch) gauge 31.
I have been googling about buying syringes in NYC, from what I have read , I could be wrong, but it says you are only allowed to buy 10 syringes at a time without a script.The city is crazy, I could be walking around all day to find a store. There are so many drug addicts in the city and I would hate to even go there, it's crazy. I will do the best I can using the U-40 syringes.
Does it make me a bad kitty mom if I don't want to switch to U-100, now I feel horrible @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
one alternative would be to have one of the members here, mail you some of the syringes .. check the supply closet too

yes you'd have to pay postage as well, however I always figure what the cost of gas would be, often it is cheaper to get it by mail
of course there is also your need to stay close to Ashley, that overrides most anything

Walmart's U-100 syringes are about as inexpensive as it gets, for accuracy you might want to use calipers on those

I was using those U-100s the last few days shooting Vetsulin, to get a more accurate dose, since the U-40s I had didn't have half unit markings
Hi I think I will stay with the U-40 syringes, to much to go through for me to get the U-100
 
That may very well be the case in NY. All I could find was that you could get syringes without a Rx....it didn't specify numbers and I know a lot of states seem to have that 10 syringe limit. Well there's always calipers if you want to finesse the dose more consistently.;)
 
That may very well be the case in NY. All I could find was that you could get syringes without a Rx....it didn't specify numbers and I know a lot of states seem to have that 10 syringe limit. Well there's always calipers if you want to finesse the dose more consistently.;)
Ok now what the heck is calipers lol
 
Calipers are a measuring tool used by woodworkers etc. They measure in very small increments so some us use them here to finesse doses of insulin. You draw up a dose of 2u in your syringe and measure it with the calipers. You can then calculate how much fluid in the syringe is X units of insulin. Then you lock down the calipers at the measure for the dose you want to give. It's sounds complicated but really isn't hard. There is documentation here explaining it if you are interested. Digital calipers with locking mechanism are probably around $15 at the hardware store.
 
Calipers are a measuring tool used by woodworkers etc. They measure in very small increments so some us use them here to finesse doses of insulin. You draw up a dose of 2u in your syringe and measure it with the calipers. You can then calculate how much fluid in the syringe is X units of insulin. Then you lock down the calipers at the measure for the dose you want to give. It's sounds complicated but really isn't hard. There is documentation here explaining it if you are interested. Digital calipers with locking mechanism are probably around $15 at the hardware store.
I just watched the video here about it and read the documentation. As us Italians say Faget about it lol. I think I would really pull my hair out lol. I will just do the best I can with the U-40 and giving the 0.75 units.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda
SATURDAY 8-24-19
PMPS - 191 giving 0.75 Skinny
I wish this BG of 191 was this morning , I would have tried the new vial of insulin.
Like you said we wouldn't want to try it for the night time cycle.
It seems like now his PMPS tonight and last night were the same , instead of being lower like it was.
Do you think I should stay with the older vial tonight and give thecSkinny 0.75 and then wait till I get a BG of 150 or more at AMPS and then try the Full 0.75
Maybe it is loosing it's potency @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
I'd stick to what you know for tonight and make any changes tomorrow. Try the new vial and see if it makes any difference. You never know and your current one is about 4 months which I think is average usage.
 
I'd stick to what you know for tonight and make any changes tomorrow. Try the new vial and see if it makes any difference. You never know and your current one is about 4 months which I think is average usage.
Ok I'll stay with the Skinny 0.75 for tonight. I will see what his AMPS is tomorrow and we can go from there ok? We had beautiful weather here today , breezy and about 72 degrees. How about there @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom good morning Linda
SUNDAY 8-25-19
AMPS - 125 giving Fat 0.5
Last night's cycle wasn't bad at all using the older vial, Almost hit a green
NowI see on 8-3-29 pm cycle his BG Pre shot was 125
On 8-4-19 am cycle it was 129
On 8-14-19 am cycle it was 122 On all three we shot 0.10 and it did absolutely nothing
Do you think I should do a Skinny 0.5 or maybe on the line 0.5 or fat 0.5 This cats Pre- Shots are driving me nuts lol @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
If you are available for monitoring him I think you could try the fat 0.5u and give him a little push hopefully to high green.
 
If you are available for monitoring him I think you could try the fat 0.5u and give him a little push hopefully to high green.
Yep , I'll be here to monitor this big boy lol Every time that I think of using the new vial he does good with the same vial I'm using yet like last night and this morning.
I must sound like a broken record when I talk about using the new vial every time I see a higher BG or not dropping that much.
I'm still going to use the older vial I guess until I see really consistent high BG 'S or nothing at all going on in a cycle. Does this sound ok @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Yes that sounds like a plan. The problem is that our kitties change their dance steps every so often so sometimes you don't know exactly why the same dose isn't producing the same/expected results. It's a shame they don't make smaller vials so there isn't so much waste involved if the vial does go off. Since his numbers have improved for pre-shots again, I agree sticking with the open vial for now makes sense.
 
Yes that sounds like a plan. The problem is that our kitties change their dance steps every so often so sometimes you don't know exactly why the same dose isn't producing the same/expected results. It's a shame they don't make smaller vials so there isn't so much waste involved if the vial does go off. Since his numbers have improved for pre-shots again, I agree sticking with the open vial for now makes sense.
I'm glad you agree about the vial. I know what you mean about making smaller vials. I can't believe how much I have left. Well Tyler just better stay with the same dance steps if he wants to be on that show Dancing With The Stars. Lol I'm so corny @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Yup, I think that's a good plan. I remember Menace giving me the same reading for pre-shots for a few cycles and I'd have to go back and grab the meter to double check before updating the SS because I'd see the number from the previous cycles and think I goofed up! LOL! Tyler has got to be the most stable cat in more ways than one! :cat: I doubt he's going to do anything dramatic but as long as your ready, you'll be fine.
 
Yup, I think that's a good plan. I remember Menace giving me the same reading for pre-shots for a few cycles and I'd have to go back and grab the meter to double check before updating the SS because I'd see the number from the previous cycles and think I goofed up! LOL! Tyler has got to be the most stable cat in more ways than one! :cat: I doubt he's going to do anything dramatic but as long as your ready, you'll be fine.
Ok thanks Linda, We need to see a green Auntie Linda.If I don't talk to you later have a good night
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom right now I'm just sitting on the couch looking at him, his belly is nice and full, he got his insulin shot and he's ready to take a nice nap, sure you sleep Tyler and then have me up half the night looking to eat lol.
Boy they have the life don't they. Well now Perry just threw up on the carpet, how nice.
He must have eaten to fast, it happens sometimes. Why can't they ever throw up in the kitchen. These cats will have me put in the Looney bin soon @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
I get to watch 3 of them lounge the day and night away and have always said I want to be reincarnated as a cat in a household that spoils me as much as they are spoiled here. Then of course there is the lunch counter in my postage stamp size kitchen with 12 extra feet waiting for the cook, waitress and dishwasher to accommodate all their wants including cooking up steak and chicken breasts for my old guy. GEES! I really am a crazy cat lady but I wouldn't change it for the world!:joyful:
 
I get to watch 3 of them lounge the day and night away and have always said I want to be reincarnated as a cat in a household that spoils me as much as they are spoiled here. Then of course there is the lunch counter in my postage stamp size kitchen with 12 extra feet waiting for the cook, waitress and dishwasher to accommodate all their wants including cooking up steak and chicken breasts for my old guy. GEES! I really am a crazy cat lady but I wouldn't change it for the world!:joyful:
You make me laugh so much with the way you describe things, cook, waitress, dishwasher , you are too funny. My apartment is small, so I know how you feel. You forgot about pee and poop scooper upper lol @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda
MONDAY 8-26-19
PMPS - 195 giving Full 0.75
His last 4 PMPS have been in the 190's and this morning was 188
It seems like he higher at night now when he used to get lower BG 'S
I know I keep saying I will see what happens and then start using the new vial, but then when his AMPS was 125 on 8-25-19 I said to myself oh it must still be good.
If I were to start the new vial do you think for example when giving say a Full 0.75
or a full 0.5 at the same BG when I used the older vial , that dosage would be to high because it's a new vial. I hope you understand what I'm trying to say.
For tonight I will stick with the older vial since it's a night cycle. Now for tomorrow morning I will see what it is and let you know, even if it's like it was the other morning 8-25-19 which was 125 maybe you can help me decide whether to start using the new vial and how much to shoot. I think I'm trying to get the most out of the old vial . Remember when you said you were a cook, dishwasher and waitress, you forget to add pee and poop scooper upper lol @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Oh Thx for reminding me of my only unfavourite part of kitty parenting! :p

I think if I were you, I'd break open the new vial tomorrow and try it. If you can monitor, I'd stay with the same dosing regiment just in case it makes a difference but Tyler has a bit of room for a little more drop so I doubt the reaction would be that dramatic but maybe just dramatic enough. All you can do is try.
 
Oh Thx for reminding me of my only unfavourite part of kitty parenting! :p

I think if I were you, I'd break open the new vial tomorrow and try it. If you can monitor, I'd stay with the same dosing regiment just in case it makes a difference but Tyler has a bit of room for a little more drop so I doubt the reaction would be that dramatic but maybe just dramatic enough. All you can do is try.
Ok I agree, I have to get off the fence and just do it lol I will check in with you in the am, ok?
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom good morning Linda
Take a look at Tyler's results from last night 8-26-19
I decided to test him @+9 just look at how long the Insulin is lasting
This is when I say to myself maybe I should still use the older vial yet, but like we said he still has room to go lower so why not try the new vial lol
I will be testing him around 8 am, talk then @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Interesting. Tyler definitely gets the best duration and smoothest cycle I've seen with Vetsulin. Maybe a few more cycles with that slightly higher dose will help get him down to green for a bit.
 
Not sure I would have gone with a full 0.75u tonight. Check him at +2 and if he is dropping give him a snack to slow him down a bit. If you look at lkast night and today, he dropped 70 to 80 points by +2/3 and he started lower tonight. You don't want to let him drop much below 90 so you're going to need to watch him for a bit.
 
Not sure I would have gone with a full 0.75u tonight. Check him at +2 and if he is dropping give him a snack to slow him down a bit. If you look at lkast night and today, he dropped 70 to 80 points by +2/3 and he started lower tonight. You don't want to let him drop much below 90 so you're going to need to watch him for a bit.
@MrWorfMen's Mom I didn't shoot yet what do you think I should give and yes I said to myself boy he dropped a lot a lot@+2/3 @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Back
Top