What dose for what #'s?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes eating better this morning. Though he has played musical bowls this morning lol. My other 2 didn't eat the best last night either so knowing they would be hungry, gave them all pate lol. My picky turkeys actually ate it. Very good since the over weight one needs the lower carb food.
 
Good morning Meridith and Zeke. Thrilled to see those lower pre-shots and that lovely blue 152 mid cycle yesterday and that after the missed shot the night before. YEAH! I'm wondering if it might be an idea to reduce the dose to 0.5u for a few days and see what Zeke does. I can't help but wonder if he isn't still bouncing on the 0.75u. If you decide to reduce, do it when you can monitor because if it is a case of needing less, his mid cycle numbers will come down even more when the bouncing breaks. He's looking good! :D
 
I'm going to get a ketone test soon but none of our kitties are wanting to eat this morning?

Tried to get one last night but stuck the ladle under him too soon and he just looked back at the ladle then to me like "What in the world do you think your doing?!", then left the litter box before even peeing.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom @Yong

With his numbers today, especially after no shot this morning, would it be a good idea to go ahead and skip his shot tonight? I'm wondering if he is going to be staying lower when it is time for his PMPS, and even if he is a little over 200, if it would be somewhat like a reset going ahead and waiting til tomorrow morning and then start the .5u if he is over 200.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom @Yong

With his numbers today, especially after no shot this morning, would it be a good idea to go ahead and skip his shot tonight? I'm wondering if he is going to be staying lower when it is time for his PMPS, and even if he is a little over 200, if it would be somewhat like a reset going ahead and waiting til tomorrow morning and then start the .5u if he is over 200.
Post here when you have his PMPS. Did he eat better through the day?
 
Yes, he is a grazer so leave wet out most the day and evening. Most days he will eat at least half his serving at meal time and rest is left out for him. If anything is remaining in the morning hubby will pick it up when he gets up (2 hours before testing), in the afternoon, I will pick up by 5 if anything is left.
 
0.5U is popping in my head if it's too late to stall 20 minutes without feeding :) and getting a before bed test.

We have already fed. Also, with his numbers I am not sure if I would even feel comfortable doing a dose tonight. He was 245 this morning and dropped to 201 by +8. If I had given him a dose this morning he could have dropped too low without us being here.
 
Definitely don't want to push you out of comfort zone but he kind of stayed flat. Both of his readings today are within 20% variation of 245. I just don't think he's ready for another No Shot. Also, a 44 point drop over 8 hours is incredibly slow, it's roughly 5.5 points every hour. Would you consider 0.25U? A quarter of a unit. You did give 0.75U (3/4 of a unit last night on 258) which was more.
 
I agree that he should get some insulin tonight. A half unit should be OK but go with Yong's suggestion of 0.25 u if you're more comfortable with that.
 
Last edited:
I will do the 1/2u since yall don't think he will drop too much going by his current #'s. I will be able to get a +2 before bed, but after that can't count on being able to, new sleeping pill. :nailbiting:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top