? 01/06 JELLY BELLY PMBG ONLY 106 NS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Congratulations on getting through that, Rochelle! I'm sorry you had a PJ party last night but those numbers are fantastic! :D Did you have to feed high carb food to keep him from going too low?

A more experienced Lantus user would give the same dose of 0.75 u this AM. If you're too frightened to do that you could try 0.5 u. When in doubt, always test at +2.

Waiting for more input.
 
Congratulations on getting through that, Rochelle! I'm sorry you had a PJ party last night but those numbers are fantastic! :D Did you have to feed high carb food to keep him from going too low?

A more experienced Lantus user would give the same dose of 0.75 u this AM. If you're too frightened to do that you could try 0.5 u. When in doubt, always test at +2.

Waiting for more input.
He had a few temptations throughout but his normal fancy feast and a few temptations through the cycle
 
Ok so go ahead with low carb food and test him again for AMPS ? Then give a .75 and BG at +2
Correction:
  • that 167 is your AMPS BG number
  • feed his usual breakfast
  • shoot 0.75 u if you feel up to it or go to 0.5 u if you cave at the last minute
  • test again at +2.
He had a few temptations throughout but his normal fancy feast and a few temptations through the cycle
Those Temptations are great to steer BG - carby little devils!
 
Correction:
  • that 167 is your AMPS BG number
  • feed his usual breakfast
  • shoot 0.75 u if you feel up to it or go to 0.5 u if you cave at the last minute
  • test again at +2.

Those Temptations are great to steer BG - carby little devils!
So I don't have to test right before 8 am for Amps ? The +12 was enough and then a +2?
 
any number above 50 is a safe number....

if he gets in the 70's or lower, you just give him teaspoons of his canned food. ( not necessarily hi or med carb)
it encourages him to surf. I'd use that as first choice over the temptations.

see what the +2 is to determine next test time....



it would be good to have the amps, but if he's feeling aggravated ...
 
have you found any diabetic friendly treats? lots of freeze dried options out there.... even cheese would be better than the temptations.
But if that's his favorite, we'll work with it. It's just metabolized differently and less predictable.
 
have you found any diabetic friendly treats? lots of freeze dried options out there.... even cheese would be better than the temptations.
But if that's his favorite, we'll work with it. It's just metabolized differently and less predictable.
He's picky guy and has stopped eating all together in past and these he will take .... think he was raised on bad kibble and has addiction lol
 
Ok :) I can do this I am just so nervous of him getting to low what number do I want him to have ?
The hope is that he'll stay in blues for a bit, drop gently into a dark green or two and slowly rise back to blues by the end of the cycle - just like last night's.
IMPORTANT! Don't forget Marje's plan of feeding a little LC snack at +1/ +2/ +3. A teaspoon or two of LC wet food should be enough, no Temptations.

Here's your list for after his AM shot today:
  1. at +1 feed about a teaspoon of LC regular food
  2. at +2 test BG first and then give another teaspoon of LC food
  3. post BG here for advice
  4. at +3 give another teaspoon of LC food
  5. at +4 test BG again - no more LC
  6. post +4 BG number here for advice.
 
Next time you're at a drugstore get him some Polysporin ointment with pain relief to use on his ears. How often is up to you. It can be after each test or at the end of the day. The occasional kitty reacts to it with itchy, red ears but most are fine.
 
That's only time he gets them and he's picky about fancy feast but I researched the list by Lisa Picked all low carb flavours
I actually feed Teasel Friskies pate versions more than Fancy Feast. Some people shudder at the idea of that but I'm fine with it. I also choose to buy canned prescription low carb food (Purina ProPlan DM pate) from my vet that I mix the Friskies in with. Teasel's non-diabetic brother who was a little overweight also eats that prescription food and it's been great for his weight loss.
 
He was on that purina om weight management, but I cannot afford that I am a student and single mom of three and I have 2 dogs and 2 other cats on top of jelly bean and that's why replaced it with fancy feast
I actually feed Teasel Friskies pate versions more than Fancy Feast. Some people shudder at the idea of that but I'm fine with it. I also choose to buy canned prescription low carb food (Purina ProPlan DM pate) from my vet that I mix the Friskies in with. Teasel's non-diabetic brother who was a little overweight also eats that prescription food and it's been great for his weight loss.
e was
 
He was on that purina om weight management, but I cannot afford that I am a student and single mom of three and I have 2 dogs and 2 other cats on top of jelly bean and that's why replaced it with fancy feast

e was
There's no need to buy prescription food, Rochelle. In fact, if you find that those little Fancy Feast cans get too pricey for you, many of us feed Friskies pates. I think you're in Canada, right? Where I am in Ottawa, you can buy Friskies at Canadian Tire for 60 cents a can. I think there are a few President's Choice types that are good to feed and economical too.
 
I found Friskies pates come in 13 oz cans for only $1 at Dollar General/Dollar Tree or $1.08 at Walmart. I buy those instead of the 5.5 oz cans because it's cheaper per ounce and I cannot afford more expensive food because I have 4 cats.
 
There's no need to buy prescription food, Rochelle. In fact, if you find that those little Fancy Feast can get too pricey for you, many of us feed Friskies pates. I think you're in Canada, right? Where I am in Ottawa, you can buy Friskies at Canadian Tire for 60 cents a can. I think there are a few President's Choice types that are good to feed and economical too.
Can I find them on that food lists because yes a good food that I can afford be great
 
I found Friskies pates come in 13 oz cans for only $1 at Dollar General/Dollar Tree or $1.08 at Walmart. I buy those instead of the 5.5 oz cans because it's cheaper per ounce and I cannot afford more expensive food because I have 4 cats.
I will have to look into this and the carb count and see what's most cost effective I am paying just at 12$ for 24 cans of fancy feast and he eatable two and a half a day almost
 
If you have a minute, could you update your SS? If that BG of 167 was at +12 it should go in the AMPS box. As you do tests this morning, post results right away because your helpers will want to see what's going on when they read your posts. It's also important to put a note in the right hand comments section of the SS about the snacks, when you gave them, what food they were and how much you gave. This is important for future reference.
 
If you have a minute, could you update your SS? If that BG of 167 was at +12 it should go in the AMPS box. As you do tests this morning, post results right away because your helpers will want to see what's going on when they read your posts. It's also important to put a note in the right hand comments section of the SS about the snacks, when you gave them, what food they were and how much you gave. This is important for future reference.
updated i think ?? is it right?
 
I see 167 in both +11 and AMPS boxes. Then in your remarks section, you said AMPS was higher so you gave .75 units. I'm a little confused.
 
I see 167 in both +11 and AMPS boxes. Then in your remarks section, you said AMPS was higher so you gave .75 units. I'm a little confused.
I don't know how to fix the spreadsheet I can't that's the best I can do I'll have to wait to Marje comes online. Sorry
 
I don't know how to fix the spreadsheet I can't that's the best I can do I'll have to wait to Marje comes online. Sorry
You said somewhere in this thread that the 167 was a +12 test. Let's just assume that's correct. If you click on the box where you first entered it on the far right hand side of your SS the box should get a blue outline around it with a tiny blue square in the lower right corner. When you see that just hit "delete" on your keyboard.

The 167 needs to stay in the AMPS box to show that was the number you made the dose decision with. Make sense?
 
Hi Ladies, power is back on :)

Great job shooting the full dose this morning!! You Rock.:cool::D
Lovely, if a bit tiring cycle last night, you handled it beautifully.
I think starting with the +2 (10am test is a great plan), then take it from there, we'll need to follow his lead.

With the regards to the ears, over here in Europe we cant get the neosporin with pain relief, if you look at BFG ss you'll see I tested a lot (:rolleyes: I was a bit paranoid), anyways, George's ears looked great, I followed some advice from here on the board which was to use a cold wet cottonpad and applied firm gentle pressure on his ears after poking (I used to count slowly to 10) Here's an informative post that Marje wrote on this topic
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/testing-and-shooting-tips.85113/#post-1377750




So I don't have to test right before 8 am for Amps ? The +12 was enough and then a +2?
The +12 is the PS, if you got that 167 at +12(8amish) then that was amps, if you got the 167 at around 7amish, that would be +11
Do you think it might help you to make a note of what time you actually shoot? I used to note it in the units column, others make a separate column for shot time. I used to shoot within a half hour window, give or take, so recording when I actually shot helped me keep better track of where I was in the cycle, especially if I was tired (which after long pj nites I was) and couldn't remember if I'd shot at quarter to 7 or quarter after 7:oops:


He was on that purina om weight management,
not sure if the ingredients are the same in us/Canada as in Europe, I haven't done a carb calc, but with the first two listed ingredients being corn meal, and wheat, I would guess that's HC, George was also on a weight control diet from Hills, when he was diagnosed with Diabetes, when I did the carb calc on that in was through the roof:eek:. No wonder his BG was in the reds!
So I wouldn't worry about not being able to have him on the Rx food, IMHO like George he's probably better off not being on it.

Come on JB keep up the good work.:cool:
 
Hi Ladies, power is back on :)

Great job shooting the full dose this morning!! You Rock.:cool::D
Lovely, if a bit tiring cycle last night, you handled it beautifully.
I think starting with the +2 (10am test is a great plan), then take it from there, we'll need to follow his lead.

With the regards to the ears, over here in Europe we cant get the neosporin with pain relief, if you look at BFG ss you'll see I tested a lot :)rolleyes: I was a bit paranoid), anyways, George's ears looked great, I followed some advice from here on the board which was to use a cold wet cottonpad and applied firm gentle pressure on his ears after poking (I used to count slowly to 10) Here's an informative post that Marje wrote on this topic
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/testing-and-shooting-tips.85113/#post-1377750





The +12 is the PS, if you got that 167 at +12(8amish) then that was amps, if you got the 167 at around 7amish, that would be +11
Do you think it might help you to make a note of what time you actually shoot? I used to note it in the units column, others make a separate column for shot time. I used to shoot within a half hour window, give or take, so recording when I actually shot helped me keep better track of where I was in the cycle, especially if I was tired (which after long pj nites I was) and couldn't remember if I'd shot at quarter to 7 or quarter after 7:oops:



not sure if the ingredients are the same in us/Canada as in Europe, I haven't done a carb calc, but with the first two listed ingredients being corn meal, and wheat, I would guess that's HC, George was also on a weight control diet from Hills, when he was diagnosed with Diabetes, when I did the carb calc on that in was through the roof:eek:. No wonder his BG was in the reds!
So I wouldn't worry about not being able to have him on the Rx food, IMHO like George he's probably better off not being on it.

Come on JB keep up the good work.:cool:
 
i tested his sugars at 7 AM my time so I don't know if that's +12 hour +11 I'm confused I didn't test him again at eight I just went with the last one and Shaden .75 and I'm gonna post a plus to his blood glucose. And I'm going to feed the curve right now at 9 AM but I'm not gonna test and then I'm gonna test at 10 AM and feed the curve do I feed him before I tester after the blood glucose
 
i tested his sugars at 7 AM my time so I don't know if that's +12 hour +11 I'm confused I didn't test him again at eight I just went with the last one and Shaden .75 and I'm gonna post a plus to his blood glucose. And I'm going to feed the curve right now at 9 AM but I'm not gonna test and then I'm gonna test at 10 AM and feed the curve do I feed him before I tester after the blood glucose
And thank you so much for the encouragement and the good words and means a lot I'm trying my best this is crazy hard work kudos to all you guys who have gone through this before
 
The + hours are hours from last shot, so if you shot at 8pm last night then the 167 at 7am this morning was 11 hours later (hence the +11) 8am being the amps.

If you shot at 7pm last night then the 7am test would indeed be +12, and you would put it in the amps column, but as you actually shot at 8am then amps (had you got another reading) would actually have been 13 hours after last nights shot (+13).

What time did you shoot last night? I'm not 100% sure when I read through last nights thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top