? 04/12 Djoko PMPS 457 +5.5 137. Should I be worried?

Marj & Djoko

Member Since 2020
Hello,
DJ normally has late nadir. He is dropping very quick - again.
Should I test him every hour or more often than that?
Why there is such a big difference between 1.25 and 1.50?
Thank you.
M&D
 
hould I test him every hour or more often than that?

I'd test again at +6 and see how he's doing....if you haven't already done it, you might want to give him a snack of his regular low carb food and see if you can encourage him to surf.

I won't be on much longer tonight, but hopefully @Bron and Sheba (GA) can check in on you since she's in Australia and it's earlier in the evening there
 
I'd test again at +6 and see how he's doing....if you haven't already done it, you might want to give him a snack of his regular low carb food and see if you can encourage him to surf.

I won't be on much longer tonight, but hopefully @Bron and Sheba (GA) can check in on you since she's in Australia and it's earlier in the evening there
Hello, I tested him at +5.5 and gave him 45 calories of low carb. I will test him at +6.5.

Will he alwyas drop quickly like this? Is there something I can do? 1.25 wasn't enough and now 1.5 brings him low too quick. I can be up as tomorrow is Easter but I cannot do it everyday.
I don't know what to do. I was hoping he would stabilize with time. I know this is still early but see the drop of tonight. He dropped a lot too yesterday during the day.

Should I feed him low carb until he can't eat anymore?

Thanks
M
 
Hello, I tested him at +5.5 and gave him 45 calories of low carb. I will test him at +6.5.

Will he alwyas drop quickly like this? Is there something I can do? 1.25 wasn't enough and now 1.5 brings him low too quick. I can be up as tomorrow is Easter but I cannot do it everyday.
I don't know what to do. I was hoping he would stabilize with time. I know this is still early but see the drop of tonight. He dropped a lot too yesterday during the day.

Should I feed him low carb until he can't eat anymore?

Thanks
M
Just give him a small snack of low carb for now and we’ll see what he is at the next test. We don’t want to fill him up too much in case we need him to eat later. He is in very safe numbers at the moment.
 
Just give him a small snack of low carb for now and we’ll see what he is at the next test. We don’t want to fill him up too much in case we need him to eat later. He is in very safe numbers at the moment.
I am about to test him and will update you as soon as I am done with the results.
 
He is now at 9.6 but at +5.5 I gave him 45 calories because he has been hungry the entire evening. Do you think he went up because of the food ? I am wondering if @5.5 was his nadir. They are normally later than that. I suppose I should test him in an hour?
 
Last edited:
He is now at 9.6 but at +5.5 I gave him 45 calories because he has been hungry the entire evening. Do you think he went up because of the food ? I am wondering if @5.5 was his nadir. They are normally later than that. I suppose I should test him in an hour?
Nadirs can move around and be at different times in different cycles.
He probably went up because he had reached nadir.
I would test in an hour just to see what he’s doing.


He is high these days and has lost weight. He is always in the kitchen asking for food!
How often are you feeding him?
If he is losing weight, he needs more food.
Unregulated cats can’t absorb all the nutrients in the food so are frequently hungry.
 
Nadirs can move around and be at different times in different cycles.
He probably went up because he had reached nadir.
I would test in an hour just to see what he’s doing.



How often are you feeding him?
If he is losing weight, he needs more food.
Unregulated cats can’t absorb all the nutrients in the food so are frequently hungry.
Because he is very high before his shot, I tend to give him between 80-100 calories. If he is not hungry, I can shoot him with 60 calories knowing that 1,5-2 hours later, he will be hungry,
Due to COVID19, I am working from home so he snacks the entire day. Vet said to give him same amount of calories every day to not elevate his blood level but he meows like he is dying of hunger, especially at night.
Suggestions?
 
Because he is very high before his shot, I tend to give him between 80-100 calories. If he is not hungry, I can shoot him with 60 calories knowing that 1,5-2 hours later, he will be hungry,
Due to COVID19, I am working from home so he snacks the entire day. Vet said to give him same amount of calories every day to not elevate his blood level but he meows like he is dying of hunger, especially at night.
Suggestions?
That is good he is snacking the entire day. Are you leaving him food out at night as well?
I agree with the vet that approximately the same amount of food generally each day...or cycle really...as the insulin is given twice a day. So you need the same amount of food each cycle.
If he is losing weight and asking for food all the time, then I think you need to increase the number of calories he is eating each day.
How much dose he weigh and approximately how many calories do you feed a day?
Also I’m wondering why you are doing SLGS and not TR method. You are testing enough to do the Tr and you would be able to increase the dose more frequently and get into better numbers.
 
That is good he is snacking the entire day. Are you leaving him food out at night as well?
I agree with the vet that approximately the same amount of food generally each day...or cycle really...as the insulin is given twice a day. So you need the same amount of food each cycle.
If he is losing weight and asking for food all the time, then I think you need to increase the number of calories he is eating each day.
How much dose he weigh and approximately how many calories do you feed a day?
Also I’m wondering why you are doing SLGS and not TR method. You are testing enough to do the Tr and you would be able to increase the dose more frequently and get into better numbers.

I am supposed to give him 120 X 2 so 240 calories per day based on their calculations but I often give him more because he is too hungry. I give him food at midnight (+4) before going to bed and wake up in the middle of the night to give another snack.Then he starts meowing for more depending on hig BG level. He was 4 kilos on Feb 17. I don't have anything to check his weight and something I would like to buy. He should weigh more than 4 kilos. He was fat before when with my mother and lost weight all of a sudden so this is how we knew something was off. He used to be an outdoor cat and then my mother moves to a condo so his life changed. Anyway this is off topic. He is with me now!
Do you think he should be a good candidate for the TR method? Have you seen many cats dropping very quickly like he does? His pre shot are super high and then BOUM in the blue.
 
I have seen cats start out in the black, drop to green, then zoom back up again. All in the same cycle. Djoko is not unique. If you can figure out what part of the cycle he does his biggest drops, you can feed him a small meal before that time, to slow down the big drops. The problem is that big drops can also cause bounces. Next time you see some black or red preshots, try getting some +2 and +3 tests, to try to figure out when those big drops are happening.
 
I have seen cats start out in the black, drop to green, then zoom back up again. All in the same cycle. Djoko is not unique. If you can figure out what part of the cycle he does his biggest drops, you can feed him a small meal before that time, to slow down the big drops. The problem is that big drops can also cause bounces. Next time you see some black or red preshots, try getting some +2 and +3 tests, to try to figure out when those big drops are happening.
I like testing him at +4. Seems to give a good indication. I could try +3 as well. I feed him at +2 and+4 in both cycles and around+7or +8 in both cycles as well.
 
alright. We fought to test his blood. I don't know if the stress raised his blood level but I guess I can sleep?!
 
Do you think he should be a good candidate for the TR method? Have you seen many cats dropping very quickly like he does? His pre shot are super high and then BOUM in the blue.
Yes I have seen many cats drop fast...faster than Djoko.
Sheba used to drop cert fast often when the onset of insulin which for her was around +3 or +3.5 because she was using levemir and it has a late onset.
i agree with Wendy. I would test +2 and +3 to find the onset to find it when the drops are happening. It is too late to do anything to stop a bounce once the drop has happened. You need to find out when it happens and then feed before that to stop it happening so much.
When Sheba was bouncing a lot I testing at +1 and +2 and +3 to find out when the drop started and fed her before the drop and that helped a lot with the big drops and the bouncing that always followed.

yes I think you could do TR. You certainly test enough.
 
Instead of waking up during the night, have you thought about buying an automatic feeder which will open while you sleep?
While he is in high numbers and losing weight, he will be hungry because as I said earlier, he can’t utilise all the nutrients in the food.
I would increase his amount for both cycles. Will he let you add any water to the food? That can fill them up a bit.
 
Yes I have seen many cats drop fast...faster than Djoko.
Sheba used to drop cert fast often when the onset of insulin which for her was around +3 or +3.5 because she was using levemir and it has a late onset.
i agree with Wendy. I would test +2 and +3 to find the onset to find it when the drops are happening. It is too late to do anything to stop a bounce once the drop has happened. You need to find out when it happens and then feed before that to stop it happening so much.
When Sheba was bouncing a lot I testing at +1 and +2 and +3 to find out when the drop started and fed her before the drop and that helped a lot with the big drops and the bouncing that always followed.

yes I think you could do TR. You certainly test enough.
Ok thank you very much for your advice. I injured his ears again. To the point where I am wondering if I have created the rise by testing him :S. I will start testing at +2.
Instead of waking up during the night, have you thought about buying an automatic feeder which will open while you sleep?
While he is in high numbers and losing weight, he will be hungry because as I said earlier, he can’t utilise all the nutrients in the food.
I would increase his amount for both cycles. Will he let you add any water to the food? That can fill them up a bit.
OK I will add water and check for the autmatic feeder. But that would be for dry food, correct?
 
Ok thank you very much for your advice. I injured his ears again. To the point where I am wondering if I have created the rise by testing him :S. I will start testing at +2.

OK I will add water and check for the autmatic feeder. But that would be for dry food, correct?
No the auto feeders can be used for canned food.
Do you feed any dry food? Because that would mean you could not use the TR method
 
No the auto feeders can be used for canned food.
Do you feed any dry food? Because that would mean you could not use the TR method[/QUOTE
Only wet food. I didn't know they made feeder so sophitiscated. I checked on amazon and there is the cat mate. Do you have other recommendation?
 
Ok thank you very much for your advice. I injured his ears again. To the point where I am wondering if I have created the rise by testing him :S. I will start testing at +2.

OK I will add water and check for the autmatic feeder. But that would be for dry food, correct?
Have you considered using his paw pads instead of his ears? Not all cats will stand for it but in the beginning when I started with Disco back in October, I was having such trouble doing his ears and he started to form hematomas so as a last resort I tried his paw pad. Now I know every cats not like him but all I have to do is sit him in my lap and each paw has the big pad and usually I can get blood from a few of the tiny pads too if need be so I rotate feet. Sometimes he even lets me do it without getting out of his cat bed. It made me wince at first because all I could think of was stepping on a tack myself but really it’s that initial prick and he’s very calm, he’s quite a head shy cat anyway so I couldn’t do his ears without having to prick 2 or 3 times sometimes.
 
Back
Top