1/23 Zoot! AMPS=288; +3=342; +6=286; PMPS=263; +3=368

Cinnie Cole

Member Since 2019
AMPS was 288. He looked more unkempt this AM - and was voracious. He is eating and peeing a lot more (in volume) than a week ago and is less responsive to play and is laying around more. These are all normal signs that he is not doing so well, and I think he needs a dose increase.

Since the decision to start him on .25 when his trial failed was a bit of a guess, I feel I need to increase his dose to .5 now. Does this make sense to you?
 
I'd say he needs more insulin, but if you are following SLGS you are supposed to wait 7 days before you increase.
 
I'd say he needs more insulin, but if you are following SLGS you are supposed to wait 7 days before you increase.
I have decided to go to .5 now because there is no reason to let him suffer because of a protocol.

Maybe there is something more philosophical here - at some point my knowing he needs an increase has to weigh more than simply following the protocol because it is written down. The protocol does not specifically address what to do when coming off a failed trial. The dose should have been .5 unit like it would be if starting the protocol with a cat eating LC wet food (and taking his prior doses into account). I am not convinced that the initial recommendation of .25 after the trial was realistic.

Thanks for the feedback, but I need to go with what he needs.
 
With the amount of testing you do, I think you were fine to increase. If you can keep testing as you have lately, and are still feeding the low carb wet, you might want to think about switching to TR for a bit, to get him back to a better dose faster. You may have to end up going closer to the 1.5 unit he was on when you stopped insulin.
 
With the amount of testing you do, I think you were fine to increase. If you can keep testing as you have lately, and are still feeding the low carb wet, you might want to think about switching to TR for a bit, to get him back to a better dose faster. You may have to end up going closer to the 1.5 unit he was on when you stopped insulin.
Thanks. (Sigh) I will switch to TR since I have to test so frequently. He was PMPS=404 this AM almost as high as he was when diagnosed. We talk to our Vet today and he may want us to up the dose again. I will cross that bridge when I come to it. I will keep him on a steady dose through the weekend and test as frequently as I can.
 
Back
Top