1/24 MooCAT AMPS 298 +2 153 +3 65 15 min later 47 AT2

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Moocat, Jan 24, 2019.

  1. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I just fed moo some high carb 17% gravy after the +3 65. Need support!
    Last few days pre-shot readings were under 200 then shot up to 250 and 300 within minutes. I don't know if this info is helpful.
     
  2. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Test 15 minutes from last test and post.
     
  3. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    +15 min. 47 put honey on his gums he would not eat it mixed with food + 46 with honey fifteen minutes later
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2019
  4. Yvonne & Andy &BJ (GA)

    Yvonne & Andy &BJ (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Do you have a syringe - you can mix some honey and water and syringe feed.
     
  5. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    No syringe
     
  6. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    See if he will lick some honey directly off your finger. Do you have ice cream in the fridge? You could try that if he won't take the honey.
     
  7. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Test again after 15 minutes.

    What kind of food are you feeding? He's not ready to come off insulin so you may want to up slightly the % carb food for his regular meals.
     
  8. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I put it on his lips and he licked it up gong to test again in 15
    ETA next test after licking honey 67 15 min lateer +3.45min
    ETA should I keep giving him honey?
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2019
    Reason for edit: ETA -
  9. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I agree it doesn't look like he's ready to come off the insulin but it also looks like he's not particularly carb sensitive if that 17% gravy didn't bump him up at all from the +3 reading of 65.
     
  10. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Bump up his carbs to what percentage do you think? He is eating 7% carb right now
     
  11. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Test him again now. Honey doesn't last long. If he needs more boosting, I'd give him more 17% gravy.
     
  12. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Let me tag 2 people who may answer that better than I can.
    @Marje and Gracie
    @Wendy&Neko
     
  13. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    ETA should I keep giving him honey?[/QUOTE]
    If he were my cat I would probably give him a bit of honey in some 17% gravy since you want to get him up over 70 on the AlphaTrak. With meter variance, he could still be hanging out under that.
     
  14. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    just tested 4 minutes short of +4 73
    ETA- after 73 test tried to give him gravy food, he didn't want it. I then gave him his regular food he ate that about 1oz
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2019
    Reason for edit: ETA
  15. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    No more gravy food. Test in 15 minutes to see if he's holding and / rising without influence.

    Your doing good.
     
  16. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    The 7% may not be enough to keep Moo from dropping too low again before his nadir. Please test again at about +4.15 mins and post.
    Maybe you can cleverly bump up the food he likes by sneaking in a LITTLE bit of 17% gravy into it if need be.
     
  17. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    ETA -at =4.15 min 63
     
  18. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    he is now at back down to 63 I just did the honey again after test and food
     
  19. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I'll try that !
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  20. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Come on up, MooCat! You have made your point!
     
  21. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    He's being a stubborn little soul! Up MooCat! Up!
     
  22. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    The honey and gravy wears off quickly, when feeding him again to keep him up, I would give some his regular 7% food and add a tsp of the gravy in it. The lower carb food will hang out with him a little longer than just the gravy and honey.

    Good job catching the low!

    For the next time: The +2 was a big drop. That was an indicator that he was going down. A little mini meal at that time could have helped to keep him from going so low.
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  23. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I just realized I feed him mostly 3 and 4% carb- He has one food that is 7% that I just fed him right now- @ +4.5 66 he went down from 73 15 min ago
     
  24. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I gave him a mini meal at +2 because of the big drop, but it was 3% carb-( i thought it was 7% my mistake ) i just gave him a 7% carb food. He was still at 66 7 minutes ago +4.5 hrs
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  25. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Ok, that may explain why he was having such a hard time coming up. Good catch! You still want to get more carbs into him to get him up and over 70 though. You've got at least an hour or an hour and a half to go before his typical nadir (as it seems from Moo's spreadsheet).
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  26. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    7% is still considered LC so I would bump it up with some of that 17% gravy if he'll eat it.
     
  27. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Keep doing what you are doing. Yes, add some of the 17% gravy into the 7% food. You don't want him to eat so much that he gets full in case you need to steer him for another hour or so until you hit the nadir of the cycle.

    You need to get him to stay up over 68 without food influence for at least an hour to know that he is out of the woods .
     
  28. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    @Mandy & Rex , I have to sign off, can you hang with Moocat until they are out of the woods?
     
  29. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Can’t stay long, with mom at the dentist.

    What is Moo’s normal feeding schedule? How do you measure a drop?
     
  30. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I can.

    Is it time for +5 yet?
     
  31. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I don't understand why he responds to the insulin this way. I'm going to get fired for not showing up to work since this all started. I need some ways to safeguard so that I can go to work. I bought a timed feeder and have been using it, thought my problems were solved.
     
  32. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I depress the plunger on the syringe and let go while it is in the vial, then give him what is in there.
    ETA- I bought a timed feeder and set it for meals every hour during +3- +6 then one 2.5 hrs before I get home
     
  33. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I just saw the 41. Do you have anything higher than 17% to give?
     
  34. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    +5 was 50 only thought I had Freedom lite strip- theen found some more AT2 strips it was 41 - gave him more honey just tested at 5.5 he is at 50 used AT2 strip
     
  35. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Let's get Moo out of the woods with these low numbers today and then help sort all this out. I know it's very stressful! :bighug:
    It looks like Moo was clearing a bounce big time this morning and that's why he went so low (esp. since the mini-meal was only 3%) When Uncle had big drops after AMPS I often fed him some MC to slow him down
     
    Moocat likes this.
  36. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Do you have any food that's more than 17% carbs?
     
  37. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would give some more honey and test in 20 mins. You need to get him up over 68. I have to go out so can’t stay sorry. Will look in when I’m back.
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  38. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    No, I don't
     
  39. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    If he’s still under 68 at next test, give some more honey. Also h c if he’ll eat but definitely honey
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  40. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Karo is ok too if no honey
     
  41. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    He was + 5.75 44 gave more honey
     
  42. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    If you cannot get him up above 70 soon, you may have to bring him to the ER vet. How is he acting?
     
  43. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I just gave him more honey and more food his bg was 44. I will test to see if that helped . He's acting fine. Just annoyed with all of my testing
     
  44. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    He eats 1.5 oz before shot then eats about an oz @+2 i just got timed feeders and set them for every 1-1.5 hrs during insukin peak and then 2 .5 hours before I get home. Also I psh plunger into syringe and while in vial and release.
     
  45. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Your drop size should be fine.

    Do you have any stores nearby you can go to and be back within a few minutes so you can find higher carb food?

    I'm concerned about Moocat not coming up for a couple hours.
     
  46. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    He is definitely proving hard to get up to safe numbers today. I'm glad you are using the AT2 strips now Did you run out of FS strips? If so how many AT2 strips do you have? Just want to make sure you have test strips to last given how stubborn his BG is being.
     
  47. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Agreed, or maybe someone who could bring you a can or two of higher than 20%
     
  48. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    You can make higher carb food by adding honey to medium or low carb food as a temporary fix
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  49. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Can't stay on, but wanted to check on you. If you haven't, please give the honey and/or gravy with the 7% food. The honey and gravy wear off fast, but the lower carb food stays on board a bit longer.

    ETA: Have you tried that?
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  50. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I’m back home now. Have you tested again?
    Can you tell us where you are up to in the cycle please?
     
  51. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    No activity for an hour, last posted value on ss is 57 @+6.5 if I'm reading it right.

    I hope he posts soon!
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  52. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thanks. I saw the 57@ 6.5 but wasn’t sure when that was.
     
  53. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I think +7 is coming up in a few minutes.
     
  54. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Please let us know what is happening.
     
    majandra likes this.
  55. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I'm getting concerned as I'm sure everyone else is. Please update ASAP. We're worried about you and MooCat.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  56. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Yes , please update us when you can.
     
  57. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    63 @+7 has been added into the SS
     
    Moocat and majandra like this.
  58. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    He went up to 67 I had to leave, another emergency, I hope he's okay and on his way up. I feel awful. Have been in tears over this overwhelm.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  59. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Thank you for posting. When will you be back home?
     
    Moocat likes this.
  60. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Are you able to grab some higher carb food while out?
    Thanks for giving us an update
     
    Moocat likes this.
  61. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    You poor thing! Please update us as soon as you can and sending lots of prayers for all to be well.
     
    Moocat and Bron and Sheba (GA) like this.
  62. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Thanks for the update. More prayers and good thoughts coming your way. Update us when you can.
    While it doesn't look like MooCat is ready for an OTJ trial, he definitely would have earned a reduction today. The problem is how do you reduce the dose from a drop? If I were you, given the day you've put in with MooCat and the other emergency, I'd skip tonight and go back to the drawing board tomorrow. Others may have a different perspective. :bighug::bighug:
     
    Moocat likes this.
  63. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Yes, I would skip tonight so you and Moocat can take a break from testing.
     
    Moocat likes this.
  64. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Happy to see that 133 at PMPS. Hope your other emergency has been resolved. :)
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) and Moocat like this.
  65. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I just got home. Thank you. I am emotionally exhausted. I had to leave MooMoo even though he wasn't above 68, hoping that he was on the rise due to the hour it was. Thank goodness he is okay. I , however, am becoming worn from the stress over the major ups and downs. I am feeling a bit hopeless. I don't know how I would do this without all of the wonderful, caring people that chimed in today.
     
  66. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Bobbie and Bubba - I'm stressed out over this very much- thanks for all of your support he was @ + 12.40min 133
     
  67. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Get a good rest tonight. Being over tired can play havoc with your emotions and MooCat has definitely been putting you through your paces. I'm sure MooCat will appreciate the pokie break too. Let's see what his BG is in the morning and get some more input on how best to proceed.
    One housekeeping item......can you please remove the 911 from your post's title since the crisis has now passed. Thx.;)
     
    Moocat likes this.
  68. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Ha! Just removed it and got your reply- done! thank you again for the support. Yes we both need a break- he is turning away from me because he thinks that I want to test him again.
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  69. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Thank you for hanging in with me throughout the stressful day.
     
  70. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    You're so welcome. I've been there myself, so hard sometimes. You've been through a lot!
    Glad you're both getting a break tonight. MooMoo is SO cute, I'm glad he is okay.
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
    I might be totally crazy, but I'm wondering if Moo needs insulin. I was looking at his spreadsheet a lot today and wondering if the high numbers he's had lately are all bounces from going too low on the one drop. This would be a scenario I have never seen before, but it I think it would be worth asking someone very experienced about.
    I will reach out to a couple of people when I see that they are on the board and ask them what they see/think.
    Hope you both have a peaceful night.
     
  71. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I keep wondering that exact same thing. Is he bouncing like that because he doesn't need the insulin and it's taking him so low? Also his +2 readings in a couple cycles lately are 50 points higher than preshot then drop. Also, his preshot bgs have been at 191 then 2 min later 250 and 317. These things I've noticed have been unusual last few cycles. I would love to hear from some of the experienced members on what their take is on moomoo's spreadsheet. I thank you so much for your support and looking at my spreadsheet. :bighug:
     
  72. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    I think @Wendy&Neko is on. Maybe she has time to ponder this.
     
  73. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    A question, why have you been retesting at preshot? Also, are you using the AT2 test strips?

    Glad you skipped tonight, be interesting to see where he is in the morning.
    So you are doing the drop dose right. Not sure when his last meal of the cycle is and how big it is.
     
  74. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Since I've been using timed feeder, I set it last meal at 2.5 hrs before I get home. I get home about an hr 45 min to an hr before shot time most nights. I feed him 15 min before shot. In the morning, I wake up 2 hrs before shot time and take away bowl. I leave him about an oz of food for overnight. I don't know when he eats last meal for sure, just that it is set for 2.5 hrs before I get home.
     
  75. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I retest because I'm scared to give him a shot lower than 200. The last time I did that he went for a long dive like today.
     
  76. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
     
  77. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I used fsl strip for one test today because I thought I ran out of AT2 strips. Retested when I found new bottle of AT2 strips. FSL strip read 50. AT2 41. Not the same drop of blood.
     
  78. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    My opinion: I'd try an experiment of no insulin for a day to see how he does.
     
  79. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    So glad to hear that he is ok and that your emergency has passed! Hope you are getting some much needed sleep.
     
    Moocat likes this.
  80. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    He tested at 309 this morning. He hasn't eaten in 6 hours. I think I might try the drop dose again. I'm worried to let him go without insulin if he needs it
     
  81. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I just tested him at +23= 309 he ate nothing in last 6 hours. I did not leave food out for him overnight. I think I am going to give the drop dose today. What do you think?
     
  82. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    He's virtually at the same level as yesterday's AMPS right now and some of that number could be a bounce from that long dive yesterday. I wouldn't chance it unless you are going to be home to monitor him. I suggest you start a new thread for today and put a "? need dosing advice" in the title and a link to this condo to get some more eyes on your dilemma.
     
  83. Moocat

    Moocat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    I started the new thread- How do I link the old thread? I can monitor until +6
     

Share This Page