1/6 Purrdy AMPS 180 +6 126 Pic in his surfing outfit PMPS 157 dosecrease +3 113 +4 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS 180
+2 126
+4 117
+6 121
PMPS 128
+3 119
+6 119 - double checked, what a flat cat!

Increasing the dose:



    • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
      • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
      • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

This morning will be Purrdy's 6th cycle on 1.25. The whole range of numbers has dropped but he's still not spending enough time under 120 in the healing numbers and we've yet to catch any :D. He's not new to numbers under 200 and we haven't seen anything under 100 so I'm thinking that we increase by .25 tonight unless he goes under 100 in this cycle. The only hesitation I have is the aborted cycle on 01/04 AM when we fed some dry, however it didn't seem to affect him much.

What do you think?

Serryn
 
I would agree that a 0.25 increase is probably due. The last dose increase brought Purdy down, but not quite enough. You could wait for the 10 consecutive cycles, but I think with him staying in the blues with no hints of green, a 6 cycle settling is just fine. You are getting some good cycles with under 120 showing up early and sticking around, that extra 0.25 might just be the ticket for a little green to show up.
 
That is one F L A T cat! :cool: The dry food should be out of him by know - not that he noticed.:rolleyes: I too think you'd be fine on increase on a cycle your mum can monitor. Good luck with the increase.

Hey Purrdy - let's see green today or the beans are talking dosecrease!
 
I told mum what a good surfer Purrdy was and look what she got him...

ETA - dammit the pic won't upload for some reason, will try and work on that when I'm not at work.

Anywho - dosecrease it is on tonight's cycle, keep surfing Purrdy!
 
Purrdy surfer.jpg


Maybe it didn't like me trying to do it in 'someone elses' condo???
 
I don't have the reference on the B12 overdose. I think this was anecdotal -- someone telling me about a patient who was symptomatic and his MD on a whim ran levels and they were way in excess of normal. After stopping the B vitamin, the symptoms went away. I know I've heard here any number of times that it's ok to take lots of B12 because it's water soluble and will be excreted in the urine. It's sounding like that may not be entirely true.

The next time Purrdy is at the vet, I'd have him checked for arthritis. You could also try the equivalent of Cosequin (it's a glucosamine/chondroitin supplement) that helps with joint health and at least this product is formulated for cats. I don't know if it's available in Australia though. Has the vet definitely said that he has neuropathy?
 
Oh my goodness...cute little surfer shirt!!!

Last summer I started taking a B12 supplement and was poking around a bit, too, about "how much is too much". I was finding that it definitely is possible to overdo it on the B12...if I remember correctly symptoms of overdose include things like heart palpitations, twitching, diarrhea, nervousness, among other things. I was surprised, because I had always heard that you just pee out any excess B12, but apparently that's not true.

I hope you find the balance that works for Purrdy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top