10/05 Mačka AMPS 415, +6 82, +7.5 86, +8 114, +11 348 - Greens today!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Penelope and Mačka, Oct 5, 2019.

  1. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Hi all,

    it happened, Macka is in the greens... I'm panicking.
    I came back from work and found that he plunged from 415 to 82 @+6.
    I gave him 2 spoons of MC 12% and 1/2 can of 5.5oz recovery (3%), and one and a half hour later, he is at 86 (+7.5), meaning that he was on a mission to go further down. I just gave him 1 more spoon of MC 15%.

    I am not used to this and very scared. Should I test again in 1/2 hour?

    Also, I'm back on SLGS because I started working again (yes!!!!) this week and it's just too much. So he's getting a reduction tonight.

    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...rays-update-hepatomegaly.219936/#post-2453462
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  2. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Weird thing is, he was hungry, but would not go to his food by himself... That scares me for the times I'll be away :/
     
  3. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
  4. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    +8 114, so he's going a little up again after the spoon of MC.
     
  5. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    This is great news! it's exciting to see Macka in greens, it looks like he is breaking through his glucose toxicity.

    I think testing in another half hour is a good idea (10 mins from now?)
     
  6. Margie and Jackson

    Margie and Jackson Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    It’s scary, but 86 is perfectly safe and it looks like that was Macka’s nadir. Good job!
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  7. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    oh good, I would grab another test at +8.5 and if he is still coming up I would stop with MC and start with LC if youre worried. On SLGS that is a reduction.

    Congrats on going back to work Btw! that is great news :D:D
     
  8. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Thanks! yes, looks like it! I wonder how tonight's gonna look like.... :eek: I just tested (could not wait), 114 :)
     
    AmandaE likes this.
  9. Margie and Jackson

    Margie and Jackson Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    You probably don’t need to give any more MC, unless he drops lower. He earned his decrease according to SLGS!
    Congratulations on the job!
     
    Penelope and Mačka and AmandaE like this.
  10. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    I am stopping MC yes! It looks like he was going to go lower without it!
    Funny thing is, I had a feeling today it would happen. I asked my husband to leave food out for me this AM, which he forgot, and when I rushed home, here I find my cat in the greens...
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  11. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    I agree with Margie!! no more MC and a reducie!
     
  12. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Guys, my heart is pounding really hard. I can't believe I am getting there (maybe?), at least we are getting somewhere that is not flat pinks.
    What is the lowest I should shoot at tonight, imagining he does not go back to the pinks?
     
    Sonia & Leo and AmandaE like this.
  13. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Yeah! Go Macka!

    Good job catching those greens! Definitely new territory for him.

    Kind of good luck it happened today before you went back to work, so you could catch it and give him the reduction!
     
    AmandaE and Penelope and Mačka like this.
  14. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Thank you! actually I was at work and tripping!
     
    Sonia & Leo and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  15. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Oh, wow, then double good catch to pick it up right when you got home!!!!

    Maybe he was trying to tell you he missed you during the day ;).
     
  16. Margie and Jackson

    Margie and Jackson Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    I don’t think I have enough experience to advise. Jackson is really flat so I have a number in my mind for him only. The official rules say at 150 you could skip, at 200 you could reduce, depending on your cat’s response to insulin.
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  17. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Yes, that's a blessing to not have rollercoaster cycles! I don't think I can skip with a DKA, that's the thing. And also, I am not sure how he responds to insulin, since he was not really responding until this afternoon.... well, we'll have to learn along the way!
     
  18. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Looking at your spreadsheet, you've shot a couple yellows, but they were a long time ago on a much lower dose. I'd say, if he's yellow or lower, do a stall (don't feed, test again in 30mins) and post here for help. If he is indeed breaking through some glucose toxicity, you'll want someone with experience with that process to advise.

    That said, I'm betting that he will almost certainly go into a champion bounce tonight and it will be moot, but these kitties do like to surprise us!
     
  19. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Penelope, maybe grab a +11 tonight and post then, that way we will have a little idea on where Macka is going before anyone gives advice. In your post make sure to mention if you can monitor or not, and that you think Macka is breaking through some Glucose toxicity :)
     
  20. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Ok! Thank you all so much for your advice. I'll keep you all posted this afternoon.
     
    AmandaE likes this.
  21. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Congratulations Penelope, you did a great job taking care of Macka!! It's so good to see him in green! And to get a reduction. Awesome.
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  22. Margie and Jackson

    Margie and Jackson Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    Yeah, the reactions change pretty often. You just have to test to find out.
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  23. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Yeah! Finally a breakthrough from all those high numbers! Congratulations on that! Yes, I know the first time you see green numbers it's almost unbelievable isn't it!! But very exciting. So good that he's finally hit those healing numbers and spent a little time in the lagoon.

    Keep up the good work :)
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  24. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Nice to see those greens today. Good job handling things.
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  25. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    +11 = 348, I don't think I have to worry about shooting low today :)
     
  26. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You have no way of knowing that. It’s unfortunate you gave higher carb, cause now we don’t know what he would have done on his own. Normally we give low carb when they first see greens to help them surf those healing numbers. Higher carbs after nadir also shortens insulin duration, resulting in higher preshots.
    He wasn’t in the danger zone, maybe he didn’t feel the need to eat at those safe numbers.
    No, it says that for newbies, which Penelope no longer is. For experienced caregivers with data, no shooting under 90. Obviously you gradually lower the no shoot number to get there. As I expected, he will bounce. I think you could shoot anything over 150 in a similar situation, given the data you have, and if you can monitor.

    Green is good. Even better Macka was in no danger today. Congrats on the reduction, and the new job.
     
  27. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Penelope, wonderful to see Macka in some greens today!
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.

Share This Page