11/15 Neko AMBG 84 PMPS 393

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday's too much excitement day. Hugs to all you amazing people who visited and sent vines. :bighug:

I went to critical care to see Neko and give her morning shot. She tested at 84, down from last night's +2 of 434. I decided to skip her shot this morning. :rolleyes: She still hasn't been given any food and they hadn't done any BG testing overnight. She is in a makeshift oxygen tent, the rest of their oxygen kennels are full. But she seems better this morning, less panicked. Last night she was having episodes where it looked like she wanted to vomit or get something out of her throat. It was an upper airway thing. After the episode she would wheeze and have laboured breathing for a while.

I did talk briefly to the IM vet as I was driving back home. No answers yet for what happened last night. The plan today is to slowly wean her off oxygen and see how she does. Best case scenario she comes home this afternoon. Worst case they'll need to do X-rays and keep her some more. They will do periodic BG tests. On the positive side of things, her blood work was mostly a lot better. Creatinine down 100 points, phosphorus and potassium now normal. She is still a bit aneamic, though above his take action line. Her gums were a bit pale yesterday. Oh, and her BG was 63 on the b/w. Small worry that hypo was responsible for her symptoms, but it happened after she got home and was in the 80's.

So now, I wait some more. I will probably go back in the afternoon, regardless of the day's plan. This morning's visit was too short and during doctor shift change.
 
(((Wendy))), I just got caught up on what happened last night. Oh, how I hope that Neko will continue to get better today, now that she is improving. I'lll bet that the "snowball" effect was very hard on her. Cats are so intuitive.
Lots and lots of vines and prayers for your girl. Thinking of you all the time.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
(((((Wendy))))
Been keeping our paws crossed all day waiting for a Neko condo. Sigh of relief that she is doing better. And keeping everything crossed that she does OK as they wean her of the O2 tent.

Continued vines by the bucket full:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad Neko is doing better this morning. I hope she'll be able to come home soon and continue to improve. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
There are several possible causes for the anemia but with the creatinine better it's probably not from the kidneys. If it is there are drugs for that. It's so good she us responding to the insulin. Max didn't the last two days. Positive thoughts that your girl comes home very soon. :bighug:
 
You are one strong bean Wendy and glad to hear she is improving. Good idea to skip the shot without them giving food and testing. Continuous vines, prayers and :bighug::bighug::bighug:.
 
She is on chemo, which does impact her red blood cells, though we are taking at least a week off from the next dose. I will add a bit of B vitamins back in the mix, they helped before.

I forgot to mention, today is our 30th wedding anniversary. I expect a quiet night in. DH has a menu planned already. And it's exactly one year since Neko and I got on a plane for Fort Collins for her second round of SRT. Which means it's almost a year since her first heart block episode.
 
Glad to see that Neko is showing some improvement. What a terrifying time for both her and you.

Continuing to send prayers and healing vines and many many :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Happy Anniversary Wendy and DH. Hope you have a lovely quite evening in.
upload_2016-11-15_19-5-24.png
 
whew....
i've been so worried .
I'm glad for some improvements..... and praying she gets to come home.
Maybe the fluid drain yesterday caused the reaction....



Hope she gets home to celebrate your anniversary with you.....

Happy Anniversary!
 
Happy Anniversary. I'm hoping Neko is giving you the gift of coming home to celebrate together but if she gives you that in a day or two that will just prolong the party.
 
Very happy to read this update and see that it's mostly good news. I hope that Neko will continue to improve during the day and that she will get to come home with you tonight.
 
(((Wendy))) just catching up with last night's ER visit, I'm glad to read that sweet Neko is better today. I hope she is able to come home today to make your anniversary celebrations complete. Many hugs to you and your DH and continued vines and prayers for your brave little girl :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm so glad Neko is better. Been on pins and needles. Can't tell you how many cups of tea I had. It brings back to many memories.

Happy anniversary actually 2 anniversaries. So hope Neko is home to help celebrate it. Scratches for Neko. Hugs and prayers for you and husband. :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
I’m glad to hear a much better report today. Sending more prayers for her and that she gets to come home soon.

Happy anniversary. I hope you will take time to celebrate! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Happy Anniversary to you and DH! I remember when you took Neko on her plane ride and she did great. Hope she gets home soon.
 
upload_2016-11-15_13-1-25.jpeg
Wendy sending the best wishes, prayers and vines to you, DH and our dear Neko
images
Fritz is sending kitty hugs
 

Attachments

  • upload_2016-11-15_13-4-51.jpeg
    upload_2016-11-15_13-4-51.jpeg
    5.2 KB · Views: 75
(((Wendy)))
I am sneaking in from work.. Wanted to make sure I sent some more vines and hugs today:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am glad to hear she may get to come home.. I can't think of a better present both for you and DH anniversary ( sweet congratulations btw!) and for your anniversary with Neko on your journey..:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Could she have been hypo despite being in the 80's? could her threshold have changed? I know some cats show hypo symptoms at higher numbers than one would expect....

:bighug::bighug:making sure I close with more vines and hugs for you, Neko, and DH:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
ETA just realized Cat Stevens' Trouble was playing on my ipod while I typed this... seems so achingly appropriate....
 
I'm just awake and straight onto the computer to see how Neko is this morning.
I am so relieved to read there is improvement. That is good news her blood work is mostly better and she seems more comfortable.
Sending another plane load of strong Aussie vines.
Happy Wedding Anniversary.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I was so sad to see this post that Neko took a turn for the worse and needed to go back to the hospital. Lots of vines being sent to you both as I know you must be beside yourself with worry and tiredness. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Wishing you a happy anniversary and hope that you will be able to chill a bit together.
 
Happy Anniversary- Hope sweet Neko can be home with you. So glad she is responding well- Will keep the prayers and the light coming!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
{{{Wendy}}}

I, too, was anxious to get on the computer and see an update. I'm so relieved to see that the news is better. L&L Land vines are still working hard to bring more improvement and to get her home where she belongs.

I hope you and DH have a wonderful anniversary. I know the best present you both could have would be more good news about your girl, and maybe her sweet furry self in your arms. 30 years is such an accomplishment these days! Mark and I have almost exactly one year on you - our 31st is next month!

Another truckload of vines and prayers just headed up the highway toward you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Happy Anniversary!

So glad to hear that Neko is doing better. Sending more prayers and vines for continued improvement:bighug:
 
Good news that Mrs. Neko was doing better today at the vets! I as well was anxiously waiting for an update and sending out as many vines as I could. I hope she is able to come home for the anniversary celebration tonight.
 
This is the first chance I've had to pick my head up all day and I rushed to check on you and Neko. I'm glad she'd doing better -- I can't think of a a happier way to celebrate an anniversary. Sending even more vines that she stabilizes and continues to improve.
 
Wendy, Happy 30th Anniversary to you and DH! I wish you at least 30 more happy years together. The only thing better would be for Neko to be home with you to celebrate.
Vines and prayers to all of you. :bighug::bighug:
 
Update, Neko is struggling when they try removing the oxygen. She got more X-rays. They found air around her lungs, possibly from a small leak. That has caused the difficulty breathing. :( She hasn't been fed yet as they needed to sedate. That's over 24 hours without food. Last BG test was somewhere 160-170, not sure what type of meter. IM vet will call again in a couple of hours. I will be going in to show them how I dose Neko. That ought to be fun, digital calipers and magnifying glass, insulin about to the top of the zero line. She is so sensitive to small dose changes. Best case is now her coming home tomorrow. Don't want to think worst case, we had the "talk". :( On the up side, the fluid they removed yesterday showed no sign of cancer cells. I am worried the leak will not heal well enough and get more air leaking. Poor pumpkin.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I’m glad they found what was going on and I hope that it can heal. Did they say how that might have happened?

I don’t know how far they are from you but when Gracie was in the hospital, I drew her dose at home and took it over and gave it to her myself. There was only one day that I was so exhausted I could barely move that they talked me into drawing it up the night before with her PM dose and letting them keep it in a special frig away from where anyone else could bother it with cautions all over it. Then they gave her the shot the next morning and it must have all been fine because her numbers didn’t go up as if she got less insulin or a fur shot. Just an idea. I just didn’t feel I could trust anyone but Mike with pulling up her dose.

BTW, I have predrawn Lev (not Lantus) for three days. Theoretically, it’s not supposed to be done but when Rich stayed here with the kitters so we could have an anniversary get away, I did it and there was no issue. I think for extenuating circumstances, with Lev, it was worth it to me.

Vines, vines, and more vines. And of course, miracle prayers.
 
Oh Wendy....sending tons and tons of feel-better vines to your little girl and lots of hugs to you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
FWIW I too would draw Neko's dose and shoot it myself, especially if you're using callipers to get an exact dose.
 
My fingers are still crossed. The first thing I wanted to do when I got home from work is to check on Neko. Hopefully she just wants a little more time in the oxygen tent. If she hasn't eaten, can they give her some food or something..I'm just thinking of when J.D. was in the hospital for 8.5 days and wouldn't eat, that they must have given him something via all the tubes that were attached to him. I agree with Marje about measuring the dose myself and I would think about the number you would consider skipping the dose at. I am going to keep my fingers crossed and imagining that she is doing better. Sending fast healing vines for that leak. :bighug: to enjoy your meal with your DH and have a Happy Anniversary.
 
Oh Wendy - so sorry to hear about this - I hope the pneumothorax will resolve - is it where they did the pleural tap yesterday?
many vines and prayers
 
So So SO many more healing vines and love your way- Neko is held in healing light right now from us all!

So glad she is in good hands- and hoping that leak closes up soon!

Non stop prayers and love!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope it was just a bit of that might have got in after the aspiration. Jack and I are keeping you and Neko in our thoughts.

Mega mega vines for a speedy recovery for Neko
 
I’m glad they found what was going on and I hope that it can heal. Did they say how that might have happened?
I hope the pneumothorax will resolve - is it where they did the pleural tap yesterday?
Yes, it's possible it was a small leak from the tap yesterday. He was surprised it didn't show up as a problem for a couple of hours, but it could have just been a very small leak. Which I hope means it can heal quickly. They did tap again to remove the gas this afternoon, and she was better after that.

More and more I like the idea of giving them prefilled syringes. I will take a syringe filled for tonight's dose when I go, maybe tomorrow morning. Naturally they don't have Lev on hand. They are only 10 minutes away if traffic is good, it was 25 minutes in rush hour today. If I shoot, I can make sure she is tested before the shot, as this morning test showed is necessary. She tends to dive at the vet. Good thought on the no shot number, but if I do it, it's easy to control. As is, I also gave them a prefilled syringe for her buprenorphine, and will do the same tonight and for her budesonide. As well as her meds for the PM and maybe AM tomorrow too. Although, I do like the excuse to visit her.

She had not eaten yet, because the IM vet did not want her to eat before sedation, which he thought might be needed for X-rays today. I hope by now she's eaten. I've left some Recovery and will take a dish of Lamburgerini tonight too.
 
Thinking: "leak please close"!! Sending prayers and vines, a beautiful bouquet of vines for your girl. I hope they will allow Neko to eat soon.
Good idea about the pre-filled syringes.
Hugs and scritches,

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Yo Neko, I want you to feel better soon so you can get out of the hospital. KTSS will bring you the famous good care when you get home. I'm going to cook you a pot of my very best chicken soup.
Your friend,
Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top