11/16 Neko AMBG 59 AT PMPS 266 +5 172- she's home!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday's long day. Thank all you lovely people for cheering Neko on and sending vines. Having you on our team really helps. :bighug:

I'm still waiting for the phone call from the IM vet. I slept in - so that's what 8 hours sleep feels like. :) Of course I'd give it up in a heart beat. I'm sure my body was awake anyway, but the civie let me take my time getting up too.

I did call critical care and got a brief update from the nurse. She was only the day nurse so didn't have much to say. Neko is still in oxygen. I have no idea whether they tried weaning her off it. She has gotten up and gone to her water. Seems fairly bright, though a bit laboured breathing. She's had Xrays this AM. Nurse didn't know if she'd eaten cause she wasn't the one who put food out, though there was food there. Sigh. She also wouldn't tell me the morning BG, just said it was "too low" to give insulin, whatever that means. Said I had to wait for the doc to call for that number. :arghh:

Anyway, here is a pic of Neko last night in her O2 kennel. You can see where she's shaved for the tap. Poor pumpkin, it won't grow back. :(
NekoinCC1.jpg
 
Neko still looks beautiful
cat.gif


YAH for eye kisses!!

Continuing to send prayers and healing energy and lots of :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Cheering, vines, prayers continue from us. Such a sweet girl! I hope you get better and more complete information from the doctor later...
 
Such a sweetie! She is so so so beautiful!!! Sending so many hugs, prayers and so much love- and so so so glad that you were able to be with her last night for a good visit! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
(((((((Wendy and Neko))))))(((((Theo!!!)))) You have been through so much---sending my absolute strongest vines, prayers and hugs to you and your girl. Hoping you get good news from the IM real soon.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Such a gorgeous sweet girl. Sending you lorry load of vines, prayers and scritches for Miss Neko.

Hope they'll be a bit more helpful with the info later.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So good to hear that even in kitty jail, she was willing to send you some love. She looks pretty alert in the pic which is always good. Despite the lack of details, it sounds encouraging. Hopefully the IM vet won't keep you waiting too long to review the X-rays and get in touch. Waiting is the worst. We are all thinking positive thoughts and sending out all the vines we can for Mrs. Neko's speedy recovery and return to the comforts of home.

Don't think of it as a bare spot, think of it as a good sun catcher for those lazy days in the solarium;)
 
Awww even if she is The Kitty in the Bubble she is beautiful!! Sending hugs and vines, and again, and again...in an endless loop:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
That bare patch looks perfect sized for big nuzzly kisses:bighug::bighug:
Glad she sent an eye kisses message:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Kitty eye kisses! Poor girl, it must be so hard seeing her there. About the day nurse: Can't they read a chart and tell you what transpired from another shift? I hope you get the information you need soon. Hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just as I was saying to DH "I hope the vet calls soon", the phone rang. See the BG this morning above. :rolleyes: Yup, I'm OK with them skipping. She slid down overnight, they did a couple of tests. She's in the low 100's now (AT meter), 7 hours after that 59. On to the update - she is still struggling with breathing out of the oxygen kennel. They took Xrays again, and there is still a gas pocket around the lungs. The good news is that it looks pretty much like yesterday evenings Xray, so no worse. But enough gas that things go sideways without O2 and it's not going away on it's own. They are going to try one more tap to see if they can get out the enough air to send her home. Worse case would be having to do an operation to insert an operation to drain the air instead of having to keep tapping. And I really don't want to look at the bill today. :arghh: Just a bit annoyed that the cause of the last couple of days could have been from a procedure they did.:mad:

DH and I will go visit her in a few hours, after she's had time to recover from the tap and we can talk to Dr. M. I'll take in insulin, maybe shoot a little earlier for PMPS, and I think I'll take the dose down a bit, just in case she has to stay again. She is eating a bit, but not of course her proper amount.
 
Last edited:
I guess Neko is status quo. In a way that's good, but improvement would be nice Neko so you can go home. Scritches from us tonight. Have a good visit. She will be so happy to see you.
 
Love Love Love and More vines- Hope the tap works and that she can come home soon!
You are in my thoughts :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'll take in insulin, maybe shoot a little earlier for PMPS, and I think I'll take the dose down a bit, just in case she has to stay again.
Worry wart here putting unwanted/ needed 2 cents in. With the 59 on AT this morning and no one to watch her like you do I'd take it down more than a little bit but that's the biggest chicken around talking ;) Mega vines and prayers she gets to come home. More :bighug::bighug::bighug: too.
 
Still piling on the vines for Neko. I know she would agree that being in the bubble isn't fun. No bad news is a good thing in my book and I'm sure she misses being at home with her caring bean.
 
Worry wart here putting unwanted/ needed 2 cents in. With the 59 on AT this morning and no one to watch her like you do I'd take it down more than a little bit but that's the biggest chicken around talking
Surprisingly enough, vetty wasn't concerned about the numbers. Usually they panic at greens and that is below his general comfort zone. But with all that's happening, stress and lack of eating it's not unexpected. I have a lot of experience lately with dosing a non eating cat, unfortunately. Her dose is already down to what I call .5F, but is more like .25 units. Where I measure zero is higher than it should be. But she clearly needs insulin and I will take it down more, there just isn't a lot more room to move.

On a side note, we had a discussion of R yesterday, in case she went high. He had talked about dosing 1 unit, and I gulped until he said they dilute it either 10 or 100 to 1. Interesting.
 
On a side note, we had a discussion of R yesterday, in case she went high. He had talked about dosing 1 unit, and I gulped until he said they dilute it either 10 or 100 to 1. Interesting.
You know what you're doing but couldn't help my big mouth/ fingers :oops: Not sure what they mean or how/why they would dilute R...what's the point?
 
Last edited:
Diluting R means you can give very small doses for those that need just a little bit. If I was to give Neko R now, which is unlikely, I would be thinking in terms of a drop.

As for dose tonight, i have to draw the dose not knowing if she is coming home or not. So I am assuming the worst on monitoring, though we discussed testing schedules and the nurse put it in their iPad app of duties which is why I know she was safe overnight and nadiring at AMPS time.
 
:bighug:Hope you wake up after a good night's rest to good news and hopefully are able to bring your baby home tomorrow! Many prayers for healing.:bighug:
 
R or Regular insulin is a fast acting,short lasting insulin used to drag down high numbers. It's used in vet clinics in emergencies or cases of DKA to get blood sugar down. People owned by cats with high dose condition or whose cats are throwing ketones may also use R insulin to help keep numbers lower. It is an advanced technique to be attempted only with help by members experienced in using it.
 
R or Regular insulin is a fast acting,short lasting insulin used to drag down high numbers. It's used in vet clinics in emergencies or cases of DKA to get blood sugar down. People owned by cats with high dose condition or whose cats are throwing ketones may also use R insulin to help keep numbers lower. It is an advanced technique to be attempted only with help by members experienced in using it.
Thanks. Never heard of it before.

Hope Neko comes home tomorrow. I will say a prayer for you both. :bighug:
 
WOW on that 59!!!

Sure hope the tap tonight does the trick and she can come home soon! Nobody can take better care of Ms. Neko than you can!!

I'm with you on the :mad::mad::mad:.....just seems a little too "coincidental" that when they tapped to remove fluid, she's now leaking air. I mean I understand accidents happen and even the best doctor makes mistakes, but it sure would be nice if they'd just admit they may have screwed up

Of course it won't reduce the bill any :(

Sending more special LL vines Neko's way and prayers for her quick return to your loving arms!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh my goodness Wendy, I've just caught up on the last few days for your precious Neko - sending a million vines from Down Under to add to the pile :bighug::bighug::bighug:

How are you holding up?
 
Sending more Aussie vines to Neko and hoping this tap does the trick and you are able to bring her home.
You and DH must be feeling exhausted from the stress of it all.
I love the photo of Neko in the oxygen tent. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope they can get the gas out without surgery. I also hope she starts to eat a little better. Yes...59 on an ST is definitely a no shoot number!

I'm so glad you got some rest. It's remarkable what 8 hours feels like. I hope youmwill take advantage of it again tonight so you can be well rested when your sweet girl comes home to mama care. Glad you got a little love from her today.

More vines and prayers. She looks pretty good, BTW!
 
Yo Neko, You tell that IM vettybean to make the next tap a good one. We want you to come home very soon! I picked you a beautiful new bouquet of vines today and am sending them right now. One of the vines is catnip that I grow here myself in a pot in my papabean's study. It's good stuff!
~ Rusty

Wendy, we are thinking good thoughts for the next tap. I hope it will work so that Neko can come home. The eye kisses are so sweet. Your girl knows you are helping her.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
p.s. Why won't her fur ever grow back?
 
Sending more prayers and hugs and healing to you both... what a sweet sweet soul giving out those eye kisses... :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: looking forward to your update on your visit tonight
 
Why won't her fur ever grow back?
I was wondering that, too. You mentioned it yesterday and I forgot to ask.

Don't worry, Neko. If it doesn't grow back, Mama can just do a comb-over to hide it. ;) You might have to use sunscreen in the solarium, though. :p

I've been away from the internet all day and stewing that I couldn't get a Neko update, so I'm very relieved to see that things are, at the least, no worse than last night. I'm loading up more vines and prayers right now and sending them your way.

I'm with Marje: get another good night's sleep - it's amazing how much it helps you deal with stress!


:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So glad to have a chance to check in on our sweet girl! All in all, a pretty good report! Perhaps the newest kitty fashion will be the spotted leopard look, and Neko is simply the first in fashion! ;)

And eye kisses? What could possibly be better than a smooch from Neko!?! That tells a lot about how she's feeling. She was happy to see you and had to tell you. :D Way to stay green, too!

Another load of vines just went north for her. I hope she gets to come home soon, but in the meantime, enjoy sleeping. :bighug:
 
At the clinic, just saw Neko and the IM vet. Today's tap went well, 32 mg of air removed. She is coming home tonight. :joyful::joyful: Of course we have no kennel and it's raining.:rolleyes: After the last couple of days I wasn't expecting her to come home. She was glad to see us, DH here too, got up and almost jumped out the kennel. She's had a few bites to eat. Last BG was somewhere around 180. Her breathing is still not perfect but vetty figured we could do all the monitoring needed and she will do better at home.

PMPS will be food influenced and I am giving her a reduction. No benazapril until next week but good to go on the rest of her meds. No Leukeran this weekend of course.
 
As for the hair, she hasn't grown her tummy hair back yet from ultrasounds and echos. Maybe a chemo thing. Or an older cat with many issues thing.
 
YAY YAY YAY! That is awesome, wonderful, the best news ever!

I am so happy- and I bet Neko is happy! Maybe she just wanted you and DH to have a romantic anniversary at home o_O
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Woo hoo, I'm glad your precious girl can come home! I'm sure she (and you!) will feel better with her there. Healing and appy and everything needed vines are still coming your way (((Wendy))).
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
(PS, happy anniversary and congrats on the nice long time together with your DH:))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top