11/18 Blaze amps 341 PMPS 79/86/94 +2 47 +2.5 47 +3.15 62 +3.75 67 +4.25 80 +5 94

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sarah and Blaze, Nov 18, 2019.

  1. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Good morning!

    We are back from vacation and back on schedule. I gave Blaze 1.25U last night and this morning. Going to give him a couple more cycles on 1.25U and then get back up to 1.5.

    Hope everyone has a good Monday!
     
  2. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Welcome back Sarah! Hope you had a great vacation! :):):)
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  3. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Hope you had a great time. I'm sure Blaze is happy your home.
     
    Sarah and Blaze and Sonia & Leo like this.
  4. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Welcome back Sarah.

    You can just go right back to the dose she was on vacation, the 1.5, you don't have to take it slowly.

    With the vacation dose you usually just take kitty right back up to the pre vacation reducie.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  5. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Thanks Gill!
    Okay, I can give him the 1.5 units tonight then! I was afraid to go back to 1.5U right away last night and have to stay up all night if he dropped too low. We had a five hour drive home so I was real tired.
     
  6. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I did wonder if you were feeling Whacked from travelling.
     
  7. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Thank you Paula! All three kitties are happy we’re home!:cat:
     
  8. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Ya, I posted yesterday and someone said if I gave the 1.5U last night, I would need to monitor him more closely so I could give 1.25U instead to be safe. I took the “safe” route because I was tired yesterday and had to be up at 6 for work today.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  9. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Thank you Sonia! We did have a good vacation, it’s good to be back home with the kitties!
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  10. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Welcome back! I hope you go back on track very soon!!
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  11. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I have another out of town trip in three weeks though so I will have to get him back on a vacation dose again a couple days before I leave for that trip.
     
  12. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Thank you Penelope! We’ll get back to business soon!
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  13. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Welcome back. I hope Blaze comes down for you soon.
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  14. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    He'll get back down...looks like he's already on his way! Ya'll gotta stop leaving this baby at home for those outatown trips...:)

    I hope he can get back to business quickly. I certainly understand about moving a bit slowly - especially when you're exhausted from being on the road all day. I understand that it's a good idea to get him back to his dose, but mom needs to get some rest so she can get back to work and get back to being a great caregiver for those triplets you got at home :)

    Have a wonderful day Sarah!
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  15. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Okay PMPS is 79, I tested again and it’s 86. I think I’m going to stick with 1.25U tonight and not give 1.5U like I had planned. That 79/86 PMPS seems like a major drop from this mornings AMPS at 341, even though it’s been 12 hours since his am shot:eek:
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  16. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    :confused: :confused: :confused:

    Guess he's happy your home and wanted to give you a green present????

    How late can you stay up tonight?
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  17. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    And how long did you stall between the 79-86? If you haven't fed and shot yet, maybe try stalling a half hour, just to see if we can get a trajectory for him.

    Blaze!
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  18. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    It’s a work night for me, I’m exhausted today so I can’t stay up late. Maybe until +4 at the latest tonight.

    I haven’t shot yet.
     
  19. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    OK, if you can stall the half hour, that would be great.

    Looking back, you did shoot another green once, and he pretty much behaved himself, so that's good, but we don't want to shoot a dropping green if we can help it.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  20. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I tested at PMPS and got the 79 and immediately retested and got the 86 so I will retest in 15 minutes (which will be a 30 minute stall) and see where he’s at. I’m comfortable shooting a green, but it startled me because he was 341 this morning at amps. I was gone all day at work so didn’t get any more tests in and didn’t get home until PMPS :confused:

    If he’s higher at the next test, should I shoot 1.25U? And if he’s lower, should I skip the shot tonight?
     
  21. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Yes, although even if he's still hovering around 80 like he was before (i.e. even if the number is technically a little lower), it's probably safe to shoot. We just don't want to shoot if he's currently heading down at speed.
     
    Beth 73 and Sarah and Blaze like this.
  22. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Okay got it! Testing in a few!
     
  23. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Got a 94 after 30 minute stall so I’m shooting 1.25U. When should I test again? +1? Wait till +2?
     
    Beth 73 and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  24. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I'd wait until +2, myself, but it's up to you on this one.

    Now I'm remembering... was the previous green shoot the DH episode? Which would make this one your own first green?
     
    Beth 73 and Sarah and Blaze like this.
  25. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I agree, I will get a +2.

    yes, the previous green was DH shooting so this is MY FIRST green shot!:D
     
  26. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    :woot: :woot: :woot: :woot:

    OK, Blaze, on such an occasion you need to behave like you did on DH's green PS! Be good!
     
    Beth 73 and Sarah and Blaze like this.
  27. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Your first green shot! YEAH! You earned these Sarah.

    upload_2019-4-17_18-5-3.jpeg
     
  28. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    :joyful::joyful::joyful: Thanks Linda!! DH got his turn to shoot green, now it’s my turn!
     
    Beth 73 and MrWorfMen's Mom like this.
  29. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Yes, I agree! He better listen to you Nan!
     
    Beth 73 and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  30. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I am glad you shot full dose.:D

    In general, the stall is for you, not the cat. If you stall too long, he could drop due to lack of food. And a late shot acts a bit like a decrease, so we try not to both delay and reduce a dose. Besides which, at least the first part of the cycle will likely play out the same if you reduce a dose, due to the depot. Any skip would be if you cannot monitor and cannot leave food out.

    OK Blaze, show us shoot low to stay low and flatter cycles.
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  31. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I’m glad I shot too!:D
    I would never be able to stall too long due to work, I have to stay on schedule because of the time I get up and leave for work in the morning so the longest I will ever be able to stall is 30 minutes. I can always leave food out since I have the auto feeder, but I’m able to stay up late to monitor on work nights. Blaze is a very reliable eater so I know he will eat the snacks in the auto feeder if I have to go to bed and am not able to test late on work nights.

    +2 is in 30 minutes so we’ll see what he’s up to!
     
    Beth 73 and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  32. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Okay, +2 is 47. I wasn’t expecting that...I gave 16% carb. Should I give something more? I have 20%.
     
  33. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    :banghead:

    Nope, can't say I was expecting that either! "Welcome home, mom!" says Blaze!

    The 16% is fine for now, but keep the higher carbs at the ready and test in 30. Let's hope this is just the last hurrah of the AM shot and he'll start heading up right quick!
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  34. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I’m confused. Blaze was on a vacation dose of 1 unit from 11/14-11/17 and even though the pet sitter was only able to get AMPS and PMPS, he seemed high during the time we were out of town. Who knows what his numbers were mid cycle though but his pre shot numbers were high at least. Does this 47 mean I need to reduce the dose back to 1 unit? I have only given him 1.25 U for 3 cycles now.
     
  35. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Good question-- yes, reduce back to 1.0U, even if you suspect that you may have to go up the dosing ladder again, he did earn a reduction.

    Not sure what's going on with him today, either. One of the reasons I advised a stall was that, because you have limited midcycle data for the recent past, we couldn't guess as to whether he might be in the middle of breaking a bounce tonight, so a stall is a good way to see if he's moving and how fast. Then he did his little hover for the stall so I figured we were good. Apparently, though, he was just gently bopping up and down a bit on the diving board before doing this dive :woot:.
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  36. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    +2.5 is 47...should I give hiM HC now?
     
  37. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Yup. Higher carb now, 30mins should be enough for the previous snacks to hit the system, just staying at 47 is not good enough.

    Blaze! Up, dude!
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  38. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Okay I gave him 20% so will test in 30. Hoping he comes up!
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  39. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Are you giving just gravy, or the whole mix of food? The gravy is generally where the carbs are, plus that way they don't get as full as with the food itself.

    And yes, hopefully he comes up soon!
     
  40. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I gave both food and gravy but will just give gravy next time. I have yet to see Blaze turn down food though, he’s a very reliable eater. But will do just gravy next time to be safe.
     
  41. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    It's kind of a balance. I'm always a little reluctant to do just gravy right off the bat, because I think some kitties find it too rich and getting lots of it by itself can upset their stomachs. On the other hand, at least so far Blaze seems in no hurry to get back up away from the sharks, so he might need those extra carbs tonight.
     
  42. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Ya I like to do food and gravy unless he’s not responding to that, then I go for just the gravy. Luckily, he seems to respond to the 20% food and gravy since he came up a bit at the +3.15 test. I gave him a little more HC and will test in 30.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  43. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    If he’s up a little more at the next test, is it okay to give him some MC?
     
  44. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Normally, once they're over 50 it's time to hold back on food to see if they're rising on their own. The goal is to get a couple safe numbers without food influence.

    Let's see where he is in a half hour, but I'm guessing you won't need to be administering any more extra carbs tonight. Though Blaze has already proven me a liar once tonight, so what do I know?
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  45. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    He’s just keeping us on our toes, you’re very knowledgeable Nan and I appreciate your advice and help tonight!

    next test is in about 10 minutes so I will hold off on food at the next test.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  46. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    You're welcome on the help; I am going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA), though, to see if she can help for the rest of these late-night (for me) shenanigans after this next test. Like I said, I think Blaze is just going to head up (his bounces are shorter these days, but this boy still loves his trampoline!), but on the other hand, we're just now heading into the heart of the insulin's active time, so he's still going to need some more monitoring, no matter what that next test is.
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  47. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Okay, thank you Nan!
     
  48. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    OK, that 67 is better, but still climbing very slowly, especially considering I think you gave him a bit more HC a half hour prior.

    So, hold off on food at this point, see if he can hold these numbers on his own. If he dips down again below 50, break out the HC and keep testing every 30. If he starts going up more quickly, you can test less frequently.

    I'm not sure if there's going to be anyone else here with you for a while-- the boards seem very very quiet tonight. I'm going to try to stay up until the next test to see how things go. How are you feeling?
     
  49. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I gave him 16% at +2 and 20% at +2.5 and +3.15 but no food after the +3.75 test. Next test is in about ten minutes.

    No worries that no one is on the board, I should be okay. I know it’s late for you! It’s almost 11pm for me and I’m needing to get to bed soon, I have to be up for work early tomorrow morning. I’m feeling fine, I’m not stressed about these numbers but I would like to see him come up a bit more quickly! Blaze is snoozing on the couch.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  50. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I’m here. Just looking at ss.
    Brb
     
  51. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Next test is in 5
     
  52. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Hi Bron! Good to see you, I'm fading fast.

    Blaze only dipped slightly below 50, but it was so early and he's needed so many carbs to start rising, I want to make sure he's going to stay in safe territory now that the insulin is really getting to work.

    Blaze my dear, you can start that bounce any time now!
     
  53. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Ok. I’ll watch for the next test.
    I see Blaze has earned a reduction.
     
  54. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi Sarah and Nan!
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  55. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    80 at +4.25
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  56. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Hi Bron! Thanks for checking in on us! Blaze is coming up a bit more!
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  57. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    How long since he has had food?
     
  58. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Since +3.15 test. We just tested at +4.25 so no food for the last two.
     
  59. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Thanks so much for sticking with us Nan! Get some rest!
     
  60. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    How long can you stay up?
    Can you get a +5?
    Don't feed any more yet please.
     
  61. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I gave 16% at +2
    20% at +2.5 and +3.15
    No food at +3.75
    No food at +4.25
     
  62. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I haven’t fed any more food. I will set an alarm for +5 because I’m needing to get to bed, I have to be up early for work. I don’t function well on little sleep and am already not going to get enough sleep tonight. Auto feeder is set with LC food at +6, setting an alarm for +5 test:)
     
  63. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Ok see you then. That's only in 35 minutes, yes?
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  64. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Yes. Well 20 now but just in case I fell asleep.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  65. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    +5 is 94!
    I’m heading to bed. Left snacks in the auto feeder! Thanks for staying with us Bron, I appreciate it! Hopefully he doesn’t bounce too high in the morning.
     
  66. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Ok that's good he's rising. I'd give him a small snack low carb now or is it too close to the autofeeder?
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  67. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Congrats on the reduction.

    Good Job tonight, he obviously didn't like us suggesting going back to the 1.5u:rolleyes:
    Sticking with the 1.25u was the right thing to do, the only thing I would have done different was get a +1 instead of waiting for a +2, mostly because it was a lower PS than normal.
    Hopefully the reduction sticks.

    George did this to me when I got back from vacation too, my petsitter was testing midcycle, and we knew he didn't go low.
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  68. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Sorry I didn’t respond Bron, I posted that last post and went to bed. These late nights kill me at work the following day. I gave him a LC snack at +5 and left snacks in the auto feeder too. Thank you for helping me last night!:)
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  69. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Look at Blaze throwing surprises. Congrats on the reducie. I wonder if this is just Blaze's way of saying how happy he is to have his peeps back home with him! Back to being able to relax with his full time servants available instead of having to wait for that other person to show up twice a day!:woot:
     
  70. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    That sounds pretty accurate Linda!!:joyful::joyful:
     

Share This Page